(2012/01) Jan 2012

Hi all, I've been hanging around, reading your posts and I think it's time I said "hi"! I'm currently 7 weeks 6 days pregnant, and I will go for my next scan tomorrow morning. Hubby and I have been ttc for almost 3 years, so this is a very precious one! Saw the heartbeat flickering on week 6 scan, but measured only 2.1 mm. Worried!

Ohmigosh im so tired im shivering. My colleagues have yet to know so i have to pretend everythings normal... Having an impt retreat nxt wk n helping out with so much things w/o them knowing my condition..Im in charge with doing something tht require me to walk ard alot.. Wanna say i cant but it isnt the right time.. Ohh.... Hope i can hang on... Feels real weak even b4 day ends everyday these days..

i dun feel my cup size increase, but just feeling tender.. I think we shd start to wear non wired bra already. This GSS can buy some

(X), thanks. I take note of the gavison. Will take it if i feeling terrible
Its more of nauseas..n easily hungry.

MS will have gals?? Hmm, i prefer a boy cos my #1 is a gal. Of course, it's fated. If gal, then she can have lots of nice clothing hand down from my #1. Save abit of $.. kekeke and perhaps can get more sisters clothing.. haha

i was reading circle of moms and saw this:

No offense though:

The 10 Least Favorite Girls' Names

1. Pamela

2. Brenda

3. Nancy

4. Regina

5. Sandra

6. Wendy

7. Ruth

8. Patricia

9. Becky

10. Susan

The 10 Least Favorite Boys' Names

1. Alfie

2. Larry

3. Walter

4. Arthur

5. Roger

6. Lachlan

7. Frank

8. Jerry

9. Harry

10. Bruce

http://www.circleofmoms.com/article.php?article_id=550&trk=digest_editorial_550&subj_id=391&email_enc=rtGdzNihnpmhptrHydXQYZyjz2be0Q%253D%253D&email_src=13074372487dd3940e749a51a7b81b533b98e89b8d&template_name=digest_weekly&has_fb=1&reload=1

Hi mommies, on MS = more likely to have a girl, I came across that in several websites. No guarantees of cos!!

"There are some women who are predisposed to morning sickness: those who have a family history of it or who have had it with previous pregnancies, women who are sensitive to oestrogen found in birth control pills, or those who suffer from migraines or motion sickness. Multiple births and girl babies are also high on the list of culprits."

From - http://www.bubhub.com.au/info/articles/pregnancy/top_tips_for_avoiding_morning_sickness.shtml

amaesing - welcome & congrats on getting preggers after TTC for 3 years
You guys must be estatic!

Hi mummies to be,

I'm in my 9th week, EDD 10th Jan 2012, just joined this forum and the discussion looks very happening! look forward to sharing and learning more from each other here!

Btw anyone got prescribed with utrogestran (progesterone) pills before for "an tai" purposes?
Any long term side effects and do I have to finish the entire course or I can stop when there's no more staining?

Yong hui we share same edd. but mine no 4th so gynae say will deliver earlier.. the pills just continue to eat cause it can save life..

FOR CAFFeine its up to individual. I dont pantang. i just eat n drink wat i want. my babies are born big n healthy..

amaesing: good luck to your scan tomorrow.

jowinbaby: hahah those names are popular names in some times i guess, I know people with those names in the list. if i count 13 names in fact are used by people I actually know.

I m new to this thread

My EDD is 22 Jan 11 - CNY holidays!
Now super STRESS now - cos hv to source for a gynea as I was rejected as she is away this period.

Was told that many gyna will take leave during this period
anyone faced this problem too??

btw, how u gals choose ur gynea?? cos my contacts are exhausted

halo mummies.. more mummies are joining.. congrats to all

no ms = girl? no leh.. my #1 i got bad ms and is boy. hmmm anyway to me, i dun care #2 is boy/gal as long as healthy can liao anyway my #1 is a boy which already shut up my mil big mouth of chanting to hv a boy.

ct,
wow u hv 3 boys and now u r trying for #4.. gd luck and pray hard is a princess but anyway think is already fix by now jus that we are yet to know.

x,
ur #1 also say #2 is a boy.. mine too.. he keep saying didi ;p

btw any mummies hire a confinement lady b4? what is the charges like? wat are the things she do apart cooking for u?

previously was done by my mum but now thinking to hire one.

so mummies pls share.. thanks

MayC: Yes we are! We tried several rounds of IVF and IUI with no success. This naturally conceived pregnancy is really a miracle!

JTML: Thanks!

Hi Yong hui: I was prescribed utrogestran in my first pregnancy. I didn't finish the course. Wen bleeding stopped I took for another couple of days then stopped. I was given injections as well n Ard that time was my gynea appt also so i wasn't too worried.

Cheer bear: my colleague got a cl at 1.8 k stay in n do everything frm cooking to cleaning and taking care of baby. She cook confinement food and normal dishes for my colleague n her hb. She washes everyone's clothes as well. She will bathe, change n take care of bb while mummy rests n feed if mummy isn't bf. Main purpose is mummy is supposed to rest fully.

So many new ppl, I've missed so much today. Just a short note of "Welcome all!"

Perhaps a fun qn: With M-G Chan Chun Sing, acting MCYS minister saying he'll focus on low fertility rate, what will be your wish list from the govt so as to encourage us to have more kids?

Not so gd news here. Seen gynae this afternoon, detected bb heartbeat slowing down. Slim chance. Given a jab n home rest for the week. Will go back on fri to see how things go. Very upset, I "ren" very hard at clinic n broke down when I reached home. Stopped crying now as it doesn't do us good. Hope that miracle will appear.

Ive a question - is it alright to ignore your hungry pang? is it your body or is it cos the little one got to do something with it? My hungry pangs comes at night often these days..n at the rate im going, tsk tsk...dowana say! Anyone knows?

Coyote - do seriously rest more this week and eat your folic acid regularly....take care....hope to hear very good news from you this week.....jiayo!

Cheer Bear - for my #1 who is a girl, ive no ms and never bloat, retention...only my tummy is round...think they say if tummy round2, is girl...if tummy low and oblong..is boy...most time i envy those who from behind look normal but when see in front, only carry the bump...so sexy looking...hehe

Coyote: I'm very sorry and sad for you to hear that. But there's still a chance, jiayou and rest, there may still be a miracle?

Btw, what led you to go c the gynae today? You're not due to see gynae until much later right?

Blue_Y: Hmmm I don't know about ignoring your hunger pangs.... Poss for you to drink a hot, filling beverage before you sleep? And see if that can manage ur hunger pangs at night?

Amaesing, top tat up with more baby cash and forgo the rule tat we have to top up for gov to give equal amount.

Actually he should Decrease the time to wait for flat for young couples so they can start to have bb earlier.

Also increase subsidy for IVF and other fertility treatments in private and gov hospitals. More childcare/infant care centers and child friendly facilities.

Thanks gers, I am still hoping for miracle.

Carpe diem, u r right. Not my appt yet. it started ytd morning having spotting. The amount increased and after lunch I was having cramp. The feeling was like menses cramp and it was on-going. Not those once in a while cramp. Gynae told me b4 to go to him immediately whenever there's spotting. I called the clinic but he was not in ytd afternoon. Nurse also very nice contacted him to tell him my situation n he made a trip back to the clinic to see me.

Coyote, rest well. I am also taking 1 week bed rest too. I know how you feel. Both of us stay positive and jia you! R u given any hormones pills like duphaston and utrogestran? Besides, i need to go back weekly for hormone jab too

lebebe , welcome. We have the same EDD. Yes, its CNY period. CL and gynae may not accept. I foresee myself to deliver 1 week earlier hee hee.

Cheer Bear, i called my friend CL yesterday. Her charges for CNY period is $3K. As long as our confinement touches CNY, its almost double. It will be expensive. Imagine those ingredients going to buy like fresh fish etc etc, will be expensive during CNY too.

Amaesing, welcome and congrats! Going thru IVF is very tough and glad that you conceive naturally
Happy for you.

hahaha , 1 yr paid maternity leave. LOL. I think alot of employers will stop hiring woman. 4 months of maternity leaves , alot of employers already not happy. I quit my job for nearly 1 yr to take care of my #1 and bond with her. I think for #2, very tough already. The expenses for 2 children now gonna be high. Cannot afford. :S

Yong Hui, i m prescribed with utrogestran now. Have to eat a pill once a day. I am having MS,so cannot differentiate is it the side effect anot.

JTML, wahaha. Yup, i have friends with those names too. Its more to my age or slightly older. Nowadays the names for children are creative.

Welcome new mummies..=)

Coyote: Stay positive! As long as got heartbeat means got hope. Ganbatte!

Blue_Y: If it's late at night, i normally will ignore my hunger pangs (coz i too lazy to go to the 1st floor to make something to eat =P). But if realli cannot tahan liao, i will eat some biscuit or have a milo.

morning mummies

thread move so fast nowadays!

coyote: take care... be strong. if your bb is meant to be, it will fight on.

hi lebebe: welcome! my gynae in RH... so far ok lei. think she very hardworking, hardly take leave.

amaesing: wow! congrats on yr little precious. think somehow when we stop trying then it comes..

re caffeine: took coffee before i knew preggers. after that feel sick just thinking of it. but i still take tea and chocs once in a while. same for last preg too. think in small amounts is ok.

coyote - hang in there & think positive thoughts! Sometimes that helps & fingers crossed baby is a fighter & will pull through! Hugs.

amaesing - sometimes, nature works in wonderous ways! I know of someone who conceived via IVF after like 7 years, then within months after delivering #1, she got preggers naturally with #2. I think the stress of trying & not succeeding & the IVF took a toll on the body, but once they stopped stressing, everything happened naturally for #2!

Cheer bear - I had a confinement nanny for #1 (about $1800, excluding flight cos we had to fly her in from Medan). Am gonna skip getting a CL this time round & just order healthier tiffin food. Babies pretty much sleep alot during the 1st month, & my CL was v free - ended up going out for walks at the mall every afternoon! Plus she ate & slept more than me. Ours would be during CNY period, so if you are gonna get one, I think best to book already!!

Blue Y - I think the old wives tale about the tummy shape is quite correct too! Can usually tell if someone is carrying a boy/girl by the belly shaped from about 6 months
#1 was a boy & mine was sharp & pointy too.

Wish list from the govt - Zero income taxes for working mommies & way more subsidies for childcare fees. For mommies with no help, infant care at CBD areas can cost up to $2k/month!

Anyone here have will feeling breathless & giddy? I don't y but recently will suddenly feel breathless & giddy. Then need to sit immediately, if not realli will faint. Normal? Not like that for my #1, duno y #2 alwaz like that. =(

A slight tweak from MayC's wish list: I think it can either be zero income taxes for working mommies or less income tax for fathers, up to family's choice!

Also, I think for the 4 months maternity leave, I would also prefer if the government allows up to half of that maternity leave to be transferred to dad (So it can be for example 4 months maternity for mom; 3 months maternity for mom and 1 month for dad; 2 months mom and 2 months dad)

Coyote: I know it's hard but try not to worry and think positively. And rest more, this will be the best thing you can do. Also, do you talk to your bb? Try to speak encouraging words to the bb, encouraging him/her to fight and persevere on, I think it will help you to feel good too.

Having children is a mindset thing. No amount of "help" from the govt can entice those determined not to have any, or to only have 1 or 2 kids to have more.

Of coz... for us, who have decided to procreate, it's additional bonus!

(X): That's true. However, it is also ideal if those with children (read additional financial burdens) are given some relief so that having a family is not burdensome, right?

After all, our children will become future taxpayers...

X: Agree with you. Like my best fren, she is already firm abt not having kids. So when i tell her abt the incentive & stuff, she is not 1 bit "moved" to have a kid at all.

Coyote: Sorry to hear what you're going through. My thoughts are with you!

Jowinbaby & Maddie: Thanks!

An update after my doctor's visit today. I'd been quite worried because I had been experiencing spotting on and off but at 7 weeks 6 days today, the little bean (it really looked like a bean) was 15.6 mm (only!?) and its little heart was beating at 170 bpm. Doctor said it all looks normal and to just be careful. Due date: 19 Jan 2012!

Ms Carpe - i want to try n ignore but ridiculous.. Had dinner as norm... Then nearing bed time, i feel growling n super hungry... Yternite, i gave in n cooked bland maggi noodle(more water less msg powder).. Ate up n sleep.. This morn, at 7, same hungry feeling.. Think il heed ur suggestion.. Gonna try drinking hot milo b4 sleep nighyly. Hope it helps...tq...;)

X - yah.. I hope to make it a routine to drink milk... Not easy cos i don drink fm milk but now trying the milk for mtb.. Taste yucky.. Hehe

Maddie - i like fruits too esp oranges.. Is there any side effect to eating too much oranges tht will affect bb?

MayC - yah... Wonder why the shape differs.. Afterall all babies r born almost same size n has everything same except with or w/o extra genitals.. Hehe

My sense of smell started to become more sensitive recently.. Used to be alright with foodcourt smell, hubby's cologne, mrt smell.. Now all makes me giddy n juz simply headachy... Now esp fishball noodle smell makes me turn green but cant vomit... Anyone share same experience.. ?

Coyote: be strong. same for me during my 1st preg. I have injection with pregnancy hormones every alternate 2 days over 2 weeks. just get petty of bed rests as the injection will make u feel unwell.

after that my boy is ok and a born a big baby 3.7kg.

amaesing: my bean was 11.9mm at 7 weeks so think yrs ok liao!

blueY: dunno what the old wives tales abt oranges and baby lei. think generally encouraged to take more fruits to help with constipation also. my sense of smell also more sensitive. sometimes feel sick but no vomit.

BLue_Y: I feel the same! I can't even wear perfume anymore. Makes me sick. My hand sanitiser smell also makes me wanna barf.

Maddie: Thanks! Very reassuring!

Wah. (x): my bb is small as compared to yours at 6w+, I think mine was 6w3d, 5mm only... But it seems ok at 8w6d, ard 2cm. Hmmm... Hv to wait till next gynae check up at end of this month!

Acute sense of smell - I have always had a very sensitive nose - most times its a curse, esp in the MRT, when people fart etc! Don't think it is more sensitive now, but the thought of some foodstuff (just thinking about it, no need to even smell) makes me gag - e.g. parsley (which I used to love) & processed meat.

Baby sizes - so envious that everyone has already seen their babies & got their measurements. They really do grow v quickly - you can check the length here - http://www.webmd.com/baby/guide/your-pregnancy-week-by-week-weeks-5-8?page=2
At week 8, it is about the size of a grape -- 0.56 to 0.8 inches from crown to rump (1.5-2cm). I only saw my #1 for the 1st time at 9w5d, and by then he was already 3cm...hopefully #2 would be about that size when we see it too!