(2011/11) Nov 2011

Ok the kid who was coughing at me w his mouth open tt day gave me the flu!!!! I cldnt sleep whole night coz headache since 8pm n then bodyache!!! Feel lime crap...any mummy recently got flu? How ah gp give u wat kinda med? I'm going to see another gp later don't wanna risk n go back to the rubbish one..

Vis - add u later when I get to a comp ok...the nurses did explain at my first appt but tt was mths ago during my first mc pregnancy. This round they never maybe they assume

I not new patient..I'll be almost 11 wks on sat I wondering they will allow me to go on package on must wait till next appt strictly

Hi ptsmallbear,

I see, thanks for the feedback about him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will help another forum-er,Caryn decide on her gynae too.

So far ok but the nurses aren't exactly friendly people.

thanks J and ptsmallbear for the feedback on Dr Wong.

anyone has feedback on Dr Chua Yang? noticed a couple of mummies have her as their gynae.

pst: how come each visit increase $5??? i thot with each visit, should be cheaper? No?

Vis: 2nd appt must choose how many bedded ward? So fast? I remembered last time i only choose when in 3rd/4rd trimester!

Looking foward to my gynae visit 2nite!

Good morning mummies,

Last night I finally ate 2 bowls of rice. First time ever since I'm pregy. Hope this is a sign of my appetite catching back. =)

Tml will be my OSCAR test at TMC, think have to drink lots of water today if not will feel dizzy when they draw so much blood.

tinyvoice,

I also dunno why they kept increasing price by $5, from $80, to $85 to $90. Somemore is the ultrasound that they increase price, not consultation. I tell my hubby, "Is it they upgrade the machine every week?" Also normally, from what I understand, first visit is ex, then subsequent visits will be slightly lesser.

My current gynae only charges $40 for scans!!! But his consultation is higher. So in the end, still would cost about the same. But at least I feel happier and more professional care over here.

The previous gynae dun even bother weighing me to see if I lose too much weight or what.

memorable - Oscars test got blood test? not just u/s scan?

iemik0 - this doc gave me zrtyec for running nose..some cough med n a med tt must dissolve in water for phelgm and also panadol for fever n bodyache..she said dont worry all safe for pregnancy..gonna take in a bit n go to slp...

memorablechocolate,

All the best for ur OSCAR. But drink too much water will "dilute" the blood or not? hahaha... I think just eat and drink normal. prepare a milo drink after drawing blood to "nourish", like what people do when they donate blood if u like.

Share ur OSCAR experience here ok? I 14 May doing my OSCAR, although still some time to go, but I would like to mentally prepare myself so I dun be too scare on tat day. I so big, still haven't dare to take blood test or donate blood before, cos I so scare pain. I had a good excuse of not donating blood cos I'm grossly underweight.

iemiko,

thank you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i just had the routine blood test (for HIV, Hep A/B, rubella etc...) when i got the oscar results so now hope nothing wrong with my blood.

you ladies done routine blood test already? i gave 2 tubes of blood for this.

memorable,

whoa! good appetite! eat more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iemik0,

I try not to drink too much gaviscon, so far, once a day, 10ml. I still feel a bit pain on-off, and prescription says can drink 2 times a day. But I try to hold it off if possible. First, the taste not fantastic, second, its medicine, still best to take lesser if possible.

But I tink now have to follow instructions given. Cos it hasn't go away since some time.

Last nite, I drink a small packet of milk and vomit out. Hate the taste of pregnancy milk powder and will vomit out disgusting lumps too. But I read that around now, week 11 or so, bones are forming and harding for baby. I should take more calcium.. How? Milk just doesn't agree well with me. Any other alternatives to intro?

Has anyone been sick w the flu n not felt their ms? I know I haven't felt ms since last night when this headache n bodyache started...normal?

smallbear,

i took blackmore's calcium gel caps. easy to swallow. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Caryn: Yup! I'm under Dr Chua Yang. She's very professional, patient with questions and generally nice. The only thing is that she's really expensive. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Looking at the other ladies' packages, I feel so envious. Don't really feel like changing doc now. Sighh...But if cost is not really an issue, then, she's good! :p

I'm getting a little nervous about my appointment on Saturday now. Haven't had any scans from Week 8 until now, and it seems as though anything could have happened in 4 weeks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

leikela,

Not sure about feeling MS while having a flu. U wanna call the doctor or gynae to ask if its normal?

I know its a bit scary, but I notice that when I cry (when I get moody) my nausea feeling would disappear immediately. But after that, it comes back again. So, maybe ur body is busy fighting the flu and u r experiencing something else more intense - headache & body ache, hence, u dun feel the MS at the moment?

My own reasoning lah.

Starry, are you still taking your homo pills after 1st trim?

Going for my Oscar next Wed...can't wait to c the bb but it's at TCM..sigh. Wanted to go NUH but Dr support TCM and he said hv to q quite long for NUH..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

leikela, perhaps headache, bodyache and flu had overcome your ms so you dont feel it. Don't worry, you need to hv more rest and u recover in no time ya..

leikela

oo. zrytec is non-drowsy. hehe. effective too. =)

starry

i did my blds ydae. 2 tubes of bld too. scan in mid may. long wait. =(

ptsmallbear

if heartburnt den beta drink. else more xin ku. now sm daes afta lunch i need to take as well. else no need to work liao. so unbearable.

ent29: don't mind me asking, how much was the package price? I don't mind going to Dr Chua if she's good and it's just a little more expensive, but if it's a lot more costly, then I might have to choose another gynae [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

p.s. I tend to worry like crazy in between checkups too. but don't worry, I'm sure everything will go fine with your scan!

do you know when we can detect heartbeat using home doppler? I bought a Luvion Doppler and tried yesterday... pick up some readings but cannot hear leh... i am now 10 wks and 4 day...

tiny voice,

yeah, there is another blood test for what i mentioned before.

ent29,

don't worry! seems like everything is going well for you. update us with u/s pics after your appt okay?

berrypie,

yes, still on eutrogestan, which shld end by this week. what he meant by need to q very long for NUH? mine was booked ard 2 weeks in advance. i was fine with the waiting as that time when i booked, i was only ard 10 weeks++. wait 2 weeks just nice for oscar.

iemiko,

did gynae say when blood test results back? i forgot to ask! my appt also in may, 3 weeks ++ from now. long long wait. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope baby kicks me more so that i feel more assured.

starry,not sure abt the Q but i din ask them to call NUH to find out last week. if i try to call NUH, do you think im able to hv a slot next wed?

hi berrypie

I called NUH before, they said they only will schedule those referrals from gynae, don't think they will entertain individual walk in. Btw, am with Woody as well and I requested the nurse to slot me for appt at NUH instead of TMC. You can try asking again, just have to be persistent. The nurse was reluctant to help me scheduled at NUH initially and i told her to go check w/ Woody, if possible anot, i don't want to walk in Q at TMC cos' there is no slots for the date they recommend me to do OSCAR. After my OSCAR scan at NUH...on the spot, the nurse there schedule me for detail scan. Tonight i will update Woody on my detail scan date at NUH so that they won't schedule me for TMC.

Huishan:

I went to the website and have a look on luvion doppler... It says 12 weeks onwards wor..

May for you, now still too early?

Hmmm... Tempt me to buy too... haha~!!

berrypie,

think tiny voice is right le. they don't entertain walk ins. need an official slip from gynae. and yes, be persistent with ur gyane too if you prefer to go NUH. one thing gd there is that you will know ur detailed scan's appt date directly after the Oscar too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone buying belly bandit?? i'm so tempted. :p

Fynn

I bought mine at SGD 138.. i think is worth la.. at least i dun have to keep on worrying...plus can use for next pregnancy also.. SGD 138 is a bit exp but worth la..

Huishan:

Yah... True.. Now keep reading online abt pregnancy till i will scared...

Now backaching like mad n my around my womb areas are hving pain... Lie down n rest but mind keep thinking is my bb ok... Haha!!!

tinyvoice,

does it ride up the hips/waist when you sit? i have one from guardian but very the material feels rigid and wear for long quite uncomfy. so thought of trying bellybandit this time.

Starry

Bld results veri fast one. Will be ready in 1-2days. I did mine ydae & todae got results le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iemiko,

u had to call up gynae's office to know results or not? my next appt in more than 3 weeks away. don't wanna wait so long to find out le.

Tiny Voice,

I just try my luck to make appointment at NUH.

They schedule me to book on 9 may..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fynn

yes!!i have the same feeling.. plus now like ms getting lesser liao.. worry even more lor.. vvvv scare next time go bb no more.... T.T

berrypie, good...tomorrow u call Woody's nurse, ask her to give you referral letter for NUH and tell her u already make appt yourself. hee hee! When is your EDD?

leilika: my EDD has changed to 4 Nov but i don't think should update now, cos i think after detail scan might shift again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

U can call up ur gynae & ask for d results. But d values cant tell u much. Muz mix wif scan results den 90% accurarcy.

Tiny Voice, not sure abt EDD cos based on my LMP is 9 Nov but my scan EDD is 18 Nov. Anyway, i gg for C-sec, hv not select the date yet. Prefer 21 Nov if possible.

Caryn: Dr Chua charges $1.2k for her package fr Week 16...Seems quite ex when compared to others leh...But my friend who recommended her was quite happy w her leh.

Btw what is spotting like? Discharge that has a very very slight pink tinge?

berrypie: me still debating if want to go for VBAC or C-sec, shall wait for nearer date then see how big baby is, i have small pelvic, ended up emerg-C last time, baby normal size leh, 34cm head circumference and 50cm long. If C-sec, i think will be 2wks earlier than EDD. your #1 is how old?

ent29: as long as u're comfy w/ your gynae most impt..then cost is secondary. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tiny voice,

lol! because i saw www.groupon.sg got $30 pupsik voucher for sale at only $15. valid for 6 mths from 30 April. so went pupsik website kpo and saw the belly bandit! heehee!! last time i bought the cheap one from guardian. it's really good for post c-sect (support abs so wound not that painful), but cannot keep on for long as the material kinda hard. the belly bandit looks more comfy, but very ex!

berrypie,

steady! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you will enjoy it there. comfy lounge! and remember to bring ur hubby in to see his little one also.

iemiko,

scan results? mine is routine blood test. oscar results already out.

tiny voice,

your baby is long! mine was only 45cm at birth. she was a petite little bundle. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Berrypie-Same same..My LMP is 9nov but scan EDD is 18nov then last visit delay to 19nov..How come like that izzit bb not growing..I am worried!

berrypie, littlebb,

don't worry.. all these EDD are estimates based on baby's length from head to rump (bottom). not 100% accurate 'cos length shorter if baby is curled up and longer is baby stretches out. difference by +/- 2 or 3 days is okay.

tiny voice,same same. i hv small pelvic n had emerg-c too. Not taking any risk and don't want to waste $$ to book the delivery rm...i rather used the $$ to upgrade to single rm.