(2011/11) Nov 2011

i would think that esp with little children around, it better to settle them to childcare with the new born around or else dont know how to handle 2 young ones men

how do you ladies find infant? and which infant care do u all use?

i was looking at learning vision coz there is 1 near my work place but their infant care is very ex..1500 before subsidy etc..i heard of places near my hse that is maybe around 900 to 1200...hmm..

ent,

my gynae delivers at MAH and TMC also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't PM you 'cos you don't allow PM. anyway, you can call to make appointments:

Dr John Yam (Acufem @ Boon Lay MRT)

Tel: 64743821

he's at JP clinic on mon, tues, thurs evenings and saturday afternoons.

leikela: infant care are pretty popular and packed so must booked with them earlier. I feel that it will be good to go visit the center and the teachers too to make sure that u are comfortable in placing yr kid there

leikela,gov will subsidize $600 for infant care so let say after subsidy it's $900, i would prefer a nanny instead...nanny cost ard $600..the cons is the you have to pay cash and had to find a trustworthy one and no tv is difficult. Wherelse, CC can be paid by baby bonus and register under MCYS so you know tt your bb is well taken care but the cons side is you bb will fall sick very often.

here's a mini checklist for infant care or childcare which i copied from my oct 2010 thread from a mummy..

1. Teacher to student ratio - for infant it's usually 1:2 or 1:3 for playgroup it's abt 1:5 anything more than 1:8 is too high for me.

2. How they bath the student? 1:1 or they send in the whole class to bath at the same time etc. This is v impt cos if it's the whole class together, there is a higher chance of them catching a cold. Also got Aunty to change clothes for them etc

3. If they are not able to self feed, will teacher help to ensure that they finish the food?

4. Check on any major outbreak of contagious disease in the ctr such as chicken pox, dengue fever n hand foot mouth.

hope it helps you ladies a bit.

Ent, yeah glen better than mt E ;o) I normally go mt E to do detailed scanning by my gynae's brother.

Am also keeping infant care as an option cos my mil will be occupied with my 2 kids. There is one infant care at my workplace but air con and compound very small ;o(

Ent, RH's price is just a little more than TMC. Cheaper than Gleneagles.

Berrypie, my son is also in infantcare. He went in when he was about 3.5 months old. Will be moving over to PG when he turns 18 months old in end August.

JMI, my sister-in-law had 2 of her kids delivered at raffles too, indeed very nice, for 1bedder even got buffet? I remember she told her maid to help herself to the food heehee!

Ent, I think a good and experienced gynae is very impt, just in case complications arise. I like Dr Fong Yang for his skills, I had a quick and painfree amniocentesis under him, then after delivery I recovered fast from the stitching. only thing I dun like is the long wait at his clinic and that he has no night clinic. But I'm still sticking to him in case i decide to do amniocentesis (i may choose to skip it though, since I'm keeping the baby no matter what) Hope u find a good gynae!

hmmm then i better go enquire at the infant care tt im interested in..

berrypie..yah balance 900 but then the 900 can use the CDA account to pay..so its kinda like further subsidised by govt again..whereas..purely 600 for nanny is out of pocket...hmmm but my neighbour is a nanny so also an option..i guess if infant care no space then no choice lor..extra out of pocket also must fork out...

Naturally, I had 2 really nice midwives assisting my gynea during delivery. They were really encouraging and wonderful. A gf of mine is seeing the same gynea also agrees with me.

Food wise I don't remember a buffet (not unless you're at Raffles Healthscreeners, I had breakfast buffet there after my bloodtest when I went for my bi-annual healthscreening).

I am new here! Just went to Gynae on Monday(6weeks), Already c bb with yolk sac and heartbeat! This is my number 3.

Nick: tingsly

EDD: 7-Nov

Gyane: Dr Fong Chuan Wee

Hospital: Gleneagles

BB#: 3

Boy/girl: ?

naturally>> o u r joanne!! thanks so much! hehehe i got my good news from your strips but confirmed with one more from guardian (KS hor lol) =) aiyo this pregnancy i test so many times haha so paiseh coz i had 1st test negative then faint lines appear twice, then finally last weekend got firm line.

oops touch wood hahah i dun think i wan MS afterall! my girl also extended her stay (and ours) but hers was becoz of jaundice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hope this time round all smooth oso!

snowpear, starry>> wow your #1 all so young! so good, mine already 2.5 yo :p

ent29>> my gynea lady lolx so no comment since u prefer males

Jmi>> wow walk in the park! so good! hahah so your #2 should be the same i believe. normally #2 easier right

tingsly, snowpear>> welcome and congratz! =)

Jmi, will ur son get sick often at the infant care? my son was always sick every 2 mths, hv to pay so much for his bills(*-*)!! Burn one BIG hole in my pocket liao...

Tingsly, welcome and congrats! Same as happymum, it's her #3 too...salute to both of you, handling 1 is alrdy vy tiring for me...

Berrypie, initially. The centre supervisor already warned us. He had mild case of HFMD back then and also got rotavirus eventhough already taken vaccine.

Jmi,

Huh...i din know still can got it even thou you hv the rotavirus vaccine...my son hv all the vaccine including chicken pox.

babyrabbit,

mine was a surprise pregnancy when my girl was only 4mths old. so sort of "no choice". but hubby and i are very very happy!! actually 2.5yo is good leh. can look after the younger sibling lor. my girl will be 1yo when #2 arrives. don't think she will understand at all.

tingsly,

welcome and congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jmi,

how come will still get rotavirus when vaccine was taken? thought won't after vaccine. some more the vaccine quite ex.

Congrats tingsly! Your gynae same as my friend ;o) Like berrypie said, am also with #3 hee

Berrypie & jmi, it must be tough for u all. I think infantcare is like childcare thus easy to fall sick. Jmi, rotarvirus not easy to take care cos keep diarrhea rite?

Actually now my both kids also visit clinic almost every mth, siong for our pocket too.

mummies, just to share about this friend of mine who went to the states and placed his son in childcare there. same thing, caught flu bug and had to bring him to the docs. but the doc there didn't give any medication since it was diagnosed as normal seasonal flu, so in no way dangerous. he told my friend to let his child get well on his own so that he will develop immunity, rather than keep giving medication.

even in japan, children in childcare fall sick easily and parents don't rush their kids to the doc. instead they let them recover at their own pace. same reason, to develop immunity. of course gotta be wise. if running high fever, then have to give fever medication. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happymum, like most ppl said the more often they got sick, the stronger their immunity will become...but vy heart pain when u c them suffer...some mothers ask me to buy cordyceps powder for my son to eat..

Starry: congrats on ur baby no 2...u are really fast...Im from May 2010. My baby is going to turn one soon. How you managing your baby and pregnancy? Must be tough ah...

Im going to plan for No 2 at the end of the yr...

That's true. One of my friend also believe in letting child self recover if condition is mild.

For my kids, am very worried about fever. Somehow, both have febrile fit ie will develop fit when high fever, very scary so normally we'll keep on sponge them and have to shower them as their fever cannot go beyond 39 degC.

Berrypie, I also heard about cordyceps, good for immunity and for lungs. It's just so ex.

anne,

hi! i've been back to work for nearly three weeks already, so my mum's taking care of my girl for me. when i pick her up in the evening she's usually a bit sleepy and will only play awhile. weekends are more challenging but so far manageable. hubby helps carry her a lot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] also hoped to have a longer gap in between but it came as a surprise. haha!

starry, it's really depend on the situation...intially i din go to the dr when my bb caught a flu but nowaday, I urge my child to take his medication even i just a flu cos the flu became worst and later dr had to insert tiny tube into his nostril to suck out his muscus. There are also times when flu and cough got worest and develop bronchiolitis. He had to put on the neubilizer for a week...so do let them take the medicine before they got worst.

Taking rotavirus vaccine doesn't means won't get. It just reduce the chance. It's 2 doses of oral vaccines.

Pneumococcal jabs are the expensive ones!

Starry: its good and be happy... Did you BF your no 1? and can still can get pregnant? puzzled...

happymum, i really hate to deal with fever..medicine taken but my son's fever still goes up to 39 degC in the middle of the nite, had to rush to KKH,took medicine, temperature drop to 37 degC, reach home at 4am, slept for 2hrs, check my son's temperature again, HIT 40 degC , i almost had die of heart attack...hv to keep sponging him for 1.5 hr till the fever drop...

anne,

i stopped bfing my girl when she was 3mths old 'cos my supply kept dropping. once i stopped bfing, my period came back. that's how i got pregnant again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

berrypie,

saw babies who contracted bronchitis before. really very very poor thing. heartbreaking.

seems like kids will fall sick easily when in childcare... or maybe its the flu bug right now where a lot of kids are having cough and running nose and germs are spreading around

Starry...hahahah!!!enjoy your pregnancy...planning on no 2 end of the year. So they have at least two years gap...

thanks, anne. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope you strike on your first try!

Actually kids can catch viruses anyway. My friend's kid got HFMD, grandma looks after her.

babyrabbit & Starrymonmmy, Thanks!

Berrypie, I love the feeling during pregnancy even with MS.. me & my hb love Kids and we plan for 4!

happymum, yup my first 2 is with him too, he is very experience and always on TV.. and his stitching skill is very good..

Berrypie, both my kids caught bronchitis before and my girl is a wheezy kid so always need to be neb, not easy. Yeah pneumc jab most ex but worth it.

Jmi, true, both my kids not in childcare, in 3hrs kindergarten also catch virus now and then. When my boy 18mths that time, caught hfm and he did not go to childcare.

Tingsly, I salute to u ;o) actually I closed shop at 2, this one is a surprise hee.

tingsly,

good! have more kids! they are such joy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hubby and i are thinking of having 3. if can support financially, we won't mind having 4 either! 2 boys and 2 girls sound very good. haha!

Starry/Tingsly, both of you must be still young...i'm going to hit 35 this year...don't think hv the energy for the 3rd one..

tingsly,

Wow, 4 kids are gonna be so noisy in a GOOD way. I grew up in a family of 10 (total 6 siblings)... I always LOVED the noisiness when all of us r at home... Hence, when I got married, and shifted out... With only the 2 of us... Our Home Sweet Home is always so quiet... So not used to it in the beginning. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

berrypie,

hubby and i both are in our mid-20's so still got the energy to run after kids. we hope to close shop by 30! haha!

Wow starry, u're so young, it's good to settle before 30yrs old, better for your body also.

Piglet, very soon, you'll have your little one bringing fun and laughter.

Berrypie, am about your age too ;o)

happymum,

hubby and i got married young. we were only 24. we had our girl when we were 25.

piglet,

wow! so many siblings! it was only my brother and i at home. pretty quiet too.

Starry, I married at 24 yrs old too ;) but had my no. 1 at 27yrs old cos that time told hubby want to enjoy first hee. Now at 34, I realized really straining for my body...

Thread moving very fast!!!

Berrypie and happymum, I'm same age as u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babyrabbit, our kids are same age! My boy is jul08 baby, slightly over 2.5yr now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have you told your child that a sibling is coming soon? We asked Nic if he wants didi or mei mei, he says meimei! But think it's because we only have mei meis among our neighbors so he dun really know what's a didi haha!

About catching virus in childcare, yes I also agree it's good to let kids build up resistance and immunity naturally, what I hate most is the cough medicine, machiam no use and always make kids gong gong, then end up also got to let the cough run it's own course. So nowadays I only feed panadol for fever, and I supplement with cod liver oil and multi-vit. And then I try to let my boy go outdoors more often, get more sun and fresh air, and run around for exercise.

Starry, u are so young ah! Wah good good, carry on make more babies to reduce our aging population problem hee!