(2011/08) Aug 2011

i have a couple of things to sell..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5119403.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5119404.jpg]

Selling bellybelt combo kit at $15. Retail at $29.90.

condition 10/10. only used 1 belt less than 3x.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5119405.jpg]

Summer Infant Heart-to-Heart® Prenatal Listening System

Preloved - Selling for $30, Retails at $58.90 - the Box is intact and batteries included.In very good condition. 10/10. used less than 8x

The Heart-to-Heart™ Prenatal Listening System from Summer Infant is a wonderful way to hear and share the precious sounds of your unborn baby’s tiny heart. The unit does not use ultrasound technology, is safe and non-invasive. It is the perfect way to start the bonding process with your baby. Recording cable allows you to record the heartbeat to your home computer to share with family and friends. Heartbeat sensor allows you to start listening to your baby’s heartbeat, hiccups and kicks starting around the middle of the second trimester.

Features:

Hear unborn baby's heartbeat, kicks and hiccups

Includes 2 headsets for Mom and loved one

Includes cables to record precious sounds that can also be emailed

Volume control

Convenient waist strap included

On/off button

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5119406.jpg]

Selling Avent moisturising light oil at $15 Free postage. retails at $29.90.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5119407.jpg]

Selling Jolly Jumper Wedge - Eze.

Provides comfirt and support in a variety of positions. Wedge-Eze may be adjusted to provide back and tummy support to hold mother in doctor's recommended side sleeping position.

selling for $30. Retail price at $58.90. condition 9/10

the covers are machine washable.

Self collection in Sembawang only. as item is bulky.

interested, pls PM me. thanks

Anyone else did the CVS? experience any bleeding after

Many hours? I just did. At shower time,the plaster suddenly become red ... Also experiencing some back ache, dunno related or not.

Stretch mark cream: I used mustela for no1.. Din apply regularly but also no stretch marks... This time round, don't intend to buy one.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pump: used medela previously.

Sterilizer: got the pigeon one during taka fair less than 3yrs ago... Now with my friend... Still working..

Bb body wash: used California baby for my girl frm nb till now.. Like it... Also tried johnsons and pigeon... Pigeon smells v nice and lasting... Johnsons v mild scent... Overall still prefer California baby.. Thought of switching to pigeon after the current bottle of California bb...

Sel,

same same .. Used California baby for my son and just switch to pigeon recently.

Love the pigeon body wash smell.

I eat halfway then went to puke then came back to eat again .. Will I puke again later ? I bet yes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

flowerie123

I heard fr a mummy friend of mine that Ameda is comparable to Medela Freestyle and PIS.Now I'm tempted to get Ameda instead.I saw that Robinson is selling at $388.

Pipi,

For bb products in term of bath use,I'm using sebamed body wash,body lotion and face cream for my #1 since newborn till now.It's very mild and gentle on bb skin which was recommended by the PD.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As for the Steriliser,I used Avent.So far,so gd.Even the Avent steamer cum blender to blend bb food(for later stage when they start solid)is super useful and can make real fine purees.

I used to be like u,don;t know what to get as 1st time mummy.I rem buying those like mittens,booties,PJ,cloth napkins(is useful where u can swaddle the bb),pillows,playpen,blanket/receiving blankets etc.Those like body wash,wet wipes,diapers etc can get later stage,ard 1 mth before delivery.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies using dual pump before.Is it neccessary to use both pump at the same time,or we can just use one pump at a time,no doubt it's dual pump?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mama guai,

I just had stir-fried beansprouts, and tofu soup(light dinner)...and they all ended up in toilet bowl. i am already in my 15 wks...still puking...i already give up when those aunties and my mum say it will be better by this month, that month...they all bluff one...

shrrl

So far 2 mummies recommend sebamed. I will wait for more to reply then decide, am doing up a list of what to buy. i realized maybe need to spend alot.

yes,,for 1st time mummies,it's like this,to get quite a couple of things.Once it gets to #2,lesser stuff to get since some of the things can be passed down except bottles,bath products.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shint - maybe you should check with your dr to play safe. I did amnio, not CVS. With amnio, no bleeding thereafter. This is at the injection site? Backache should be pregnancy symptom?

Pipi, some morning sickness ends in 16 weeks. You're almost there ... jiayou!

On the baby products, I bought and received a lot of generic shampoos, body wash etc but ended not using them as I later realised my baby has eczema. You may want to try those in sample packs first before buying in bulk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pipi, i puke till 20weeks when having #1, so I assume this time will be the same again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

let's hug hug ba.....

I used California baby to my son because he got sensitive skin but condition is getting better when he is older so I chg to pigeon, have been use pigeon for quite sometimes and so far so good.

Thanks to all yr warm welcome. How to get fb account ahhh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'm still not feeling alright n a bit giddy now.... I also Juz sprained my ankle.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sob sob

Shrrl,

Yes, u can use e dual pump as single pump for both avent duo and freestyle.

For freestyle, u can attach the suction head back to the tube. For Avent, juz dun attach it to the pumping parts.

good morning mtbs n welcome new mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wow, the list is getting longer!

busy with work and hardly hard time to log on to FB @ home... missing alot of "action" in fb secret society :p

cp240, u dun accept PM and i cannot access yahoo email at work... pls sms me if u r interested to join the prenatal yoga this sunday -- one mtb cannot make it. i will sms the address to u.

pipi,

1) clarins stretchmark cream for day and huile tonic oil for nite

2) i m using pureen shampoo n body wash for my #1 -- like the smell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

3) i used avent manual for #1 and will use it for #2.

4) my mum who did confinement for me used boiling hot water to sterilize the milk bottles -- so i din get the sterilizer.

Hi Carole,

Pls help to update my details.

EDD: 30 Aug 2011

Child: #1

Gynae: Dr Jocelyn Wong

Hosp: TMC

Have added you in FB... pls help to add to the secret gp.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks

actually do newborns drink water? i read some website all the water babies need when u r breastfeeding actualy comes from your milk! no need for them to drink anymore water!

Actually if you do total breastfeeding, water is not necessary. Water will affect the milk intake as it also fill up the space in the tummy, leaving less space for milk.. I'll feed a lil water if on partial bf/bm...

yes... if total Bf-ing, water can be taken out... but if u are doing half bf and half FM, u will still need to feed bb with water as FM is heaty.

sus, thanks! thats really helpful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shrrl, icic, think im gg to shortlist Ameda for my breast pump too! but waiting to buy nearer to EDD cos of e warranty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi gals, how many weeks+days will u all be when u do ur detailed scan? my appt is booked when im 22w1day. initially supposed to be 1 week b4, but cos we changed e date to a sat, the nurse gave us this date. i read fr the other threads tt DS supposed to be before 22nd week. Is it true? worried now...

Pipi...Any income will be good. Why dont u think u can take 9-5pm job? If u do full time, does ur job req alot of OT?

For bb products, I use Avent and Sebamed for my #1. I like both but Sebamed more ex. If u go JB frequently, can buy from the Guardian Pharmancy there, its much cheaper!

Sterilizer I use Pigeon one. Its good.

Breastpump - I use Ameda. I like it! Can get from Robinsons during their sale.

Stretchmark cream - I use clarins. But very seldom apply...lazy

Re: Water for newborn

Yes its true that total bf bb dont need water. However, when the bb is a few months old, it wil be good to feed the bb a few spoons of water a day so that he can get used to the taste of plain water.

Thks bb potato,

I hope all dual pumps can work as a single pump as well.currently eyeing Ameda more than Medela.

Flowerie123,

Yes yes,I think most likely getting ameda too like u.Jus that im looking for Ameda feeding bottles,but cant see any selling in Sg no doubt we can use other brands of feeding bottles while using Ameda pump.

CP240,

I heard Tommee Tippee feeding bottles are gd,not too sure abt the pump thou.

BeFabulouslypositive,

U are also staying at Coris,buangkok?

Im currently using Medela feeding bottles for my #1,so might be using Medela for #2 or change it to Ameda feeding bottles.

pipi me using medela Pis for pump, pigeon sterilizer, & for baby wash, we use onie water cause my ger got eczema.. we tried many brands of wash after she turned 1, but didnt work until i got a sample of phyto petite, which is 98% naturale tht finally works for her.. each child is different but my ger got expensive skin loh..hahaha

cp240.. i tried tomee tippe bts before but dun know why it keeps leaking so i went back to dr brown.. then playtex came to SIN so i using playtex bts now which is cheap & good..

I didn't feed my #1 any water till he weaned at 6 months old as he's on total breastmilk.

bur

Phyto Petite is super ex! Have you tried cetaphil for your girl?

hi there, sorry for being MIA a while.

pipi, my sister juz got a BB. she is using sebamed.

as for stretchmark cream, i m using palmer cocoa butter lotion. used for about 3 weeks now, so far ok.

carole,

kindly change my EDD to 11th Aug 2011.thank you.

i have juz added in my facebook.my email is [email protected]. add me ya to the secret society. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

elmo,

If I do FT, then my job will definitely requires me to work OT everyday. Cos pre-preg I go back around 8pm-10pm. Plus this is not a good time for me to go back too as I heard someone resigned...so if I go back...I will be working longer. As this is my #1, I think I want to really have a stress free 9 mths. Maybe if I have #2, I will work as per normal.

Pigeon Steriliser is a popular choice.

Ameda and Medela are both very popular. Is ameda widely sold in sgp (major shops)

umm if ameda is good i'll consider, but i read that mums who have used both medela and ameda say medela is much much better, esp in terms of portability... bring to office etc walking around with the pump around the hse..

shrrl: yeyes i'm at buangkok 266a. r u staying here too?

pipi,

for me:

1) Anyone using mustela cream which prevent stretch marks... i'm using bodyshop the shea body butter

2) pigeon vs johnson - which product is better for baby? i used johnson & johnson

3) Breast pump? Which brand is good? i prefer medela.. been using it for 1yr for #1

4) Steriliser? Any brand to recommend? - prefer pigeon, my pigeon steriliser is passed down.. till today still using for #1 no problems at all

RE: Ameda

I heard some ppl feedback that the suction is not as strong as freestyle or PIS. As Medela has another dual pump which is Medela Dual Plus, which I have tried previously, the suction is not as strong, so mummies considering Ameda, pls do some research b4 committing to it, as a breastpump do affect yr BF journey, unless u r latching on full time, pumping not so frequent.

Sterlization

I am using old method of sterlization !!!

- i boil my bottles in a corningware. Even till now, my #1 is 4yrs liao, we still boil his bottles. And i change his milk bottle every 3 months.

Breast Pumps

I gave up BF in my first week of my confinement. Before that, i was so hopeful that i can breastfeed. Then turns out my milk supply is very very low. Buy so expensive breastpumps also no use! Hubby only say me.. "ho kua, bo eng". Cos i have fairly big breast, but low milk supply one. (I am C cup).

oh no, now in a dilemma..

i read that medela e suction is quite strong, n it kinda hurts.. or does that apply to the medela mini electric only?

Medala mini electric is not a very good pump in terms of efficiency

Hmm.. I haven't used PIS but so far Ameda gives me good let-down. The suction is variable and so is the pump speed. Well.. there are some places that let you rent pumps to try out before you buy e.g. by breastfeeding mother's support group (http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html).

All the best!

Hello Carole,

Please help me to update:

1st baby

EDD: 18 Aug 2011

Gynae: Dr WK Tan

Hospital: Thomson

Thank you very much.

I've PM you about in FB too.

flowerie123-the Medela consultant said that with the medela mini electric, you'll need to massage yourself first to encourage letdown prior to using pump so it wouldn't hurt. i used the medela swing and was quite happy with the performance albeit the fact i got to pump each side separately which took 30-40mins each pump :S

Went for scan on this tues, 14w 2d liao.. yeah.. and guess what.. doc ask me wan know the gender or not... then he says my bb looks like boy and he seems confidence, can know gender so early meh.. LOL.. i was quite surprise.. but i tink he say LOOK like.. so not sure if pointy thing has grow out.. haha.. those with doc woody, did he mention abt the gender? Oh and my bb size is 7.6cm at this stage, is it small huh.. cos im a small size mummy.. below 40kg pre-pre.. haha.. so got concern on bb size.. then my doc is like rushing and rushing, haiz, didn’t even catch a gd glimpse of my bb during the scan.. he got too many patient liao..

At 2nd tri, everyday will experience headache too and i have lots of phlegm (since i conceive), whatever i eat also have phlegm, really worried.. but mums here doesn’t seems to have this problem. Whatever i told my gynae he says its normal and full stop.. duh.. then no more advice or remedies....

Also, my tummy is bigger later part of the day and in the morning when wake up is smaller.. really leh.. haha.. u all also?

Hey and thks for all the list.. seems like Ameda and Medala are popular brand for breast pump and pigeon for steriliser.. but got a concern, if i buy the pump before give birth, scare later no milk supply then become white elephant.. haha

For those experience mum, do u all have a list of what to buy before birth and also what are the stuff to bring to hospital during delivery.. can share with us

Hee.. Carole.. maybe its time to add a Gender column to our list already.. since some mummies already know whether theirs is a prince =)

Sus> tks for the info, will go take a look at the bb products and pumps...

So happy to see my bbs today - both sleeping & wiggling :)

Re: medela pump

went to take a look at the medela pump @kkh pharmacy - $399.00 per unit... Any cheaper alternative???

Shint (shint) : its a secret group in FB, only the group will be able to read what you wrote. others from ur Friends list will nt be able to read or participate :p

add me and tell me who you are. :p and i will add u into the secret group.

CrystalJC,

U need not b concern abt the growth at this point, as some bb grow very fast during e initial stage, some @ e later stage. So enjoy your journey now.

Like my #2, during e initial stages, he put on quite fast, gynae expected to b quite big, but 3rd trim, some how, it become slower, when nearer to edd, instead of growing further, his weight dropped, although my placenta is healthy and water fluid level still @ gd level. Guess he must have grown sick of the amount of durian mummy is eating. During that period, almost every few days I m eating the durian.

Crystal,

I am in my wk15 d4 now...I still got feeling to puke. I don't know what you mean by phlegm but if I dun have anything to vomit out, I will vomit out bubbly saliva..(quite salivary)

You are pretty lucky, you still know the size of your baby, I don even know. My gynae just told my hubby that it is still very small the other time. I am seeing my gynae next Fri, so hopefully we can know his size and gender. My dh keeps saying its boy...kind of pressurizing for me cos what if its a girl. (I told him M/F, depends on his sperm, not my egg after getting quite pissed)

I am also a first time mom, and was weighing ard 47.8kg last month..not sure how much I will weigh. I keep drinking carbonated drinks, ribena cos my mouth got this sourish taste. Not sure if I am weak, I get giddy when I see many ppl walking past me...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Joyjoy,

you can look out for Ameda pump. I know Medela is most mum's top choice..but $ wise, think Ameda more friendly. You can go this website to try their demo pump:http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

Actually I am waiting for antenatal class to check if they will have any recommendation/promotion.

MTBs,

May I check if mothers can breast feed if they have C-section? I know 2 relatives that had c-section and they didn't bf. Dunno why.

Befabulouslypositive,

Yes yes,Im at Coris as well,264B.We are so near!!

Thks bbpotato for the feedback,

Hmm most likely i will go for Ameda as I dont really pump,will do latch on most of the time(as Im a sahm) jus like what I do to #1.

Actually the Avent manual pump is not bad,jus tat now,i will be handling 2 children at the same time,so need to invest a pump wif electric tat save me the trouble and time in using manual pump.

Btw,those attending Mrs Wong class,she really teaches a lot on breastfeeding.She teaches how to latch bb on pretty well.

So when I gave birth to #1,i did total latch on for the first mth,2nd mth then i start to pump ard 2 to 3 times,the rest of the time is on total latch on.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i had Csec for my #2, and i still bf him till i was pregnant with current. I only started bf him on the 3rd day.... no problemm, more impt is your determination :p

PiPi> Medela pump not bad but price too steep, maybe will look @ other brands to compare again... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will u also be taking KKH Antenatal class, i intend to sign up soon too but will chk out the schedule sometime nxt mth.

Crystal> so good at least u get to know your bb size. I am too excited to see my bbs today and have forgotten to ask the doc with rgds to the size of my bbs... haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] am going back for review on 2nd March.

Re: Baby Gender

I am fine with both (girl girl or boy boy) as long as they are healthy and that's the most impt, hee hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mommies, congratz!

Started shopping for maternity clothes yet? I've 2 very well taken care of for your consideration. PM me if keen. =)

Let me know your budget :)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5123229.jpg]

Pre-loved Mother-en-Vogue Signature Halter

(Bra pads included)

Color : as per picture

Size : S

Condition : Well taken care of and in good condition.

Original price $59.90 as per website

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=61

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5123230.jpg]

Pre-loved Mother-en-Vogue Anna Jane Top

Color : Light Khaki (PM me for photo if keen).

Size : S

Condition : Well taken care of and in good condition.

Original price $62.90 as per website

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=127

Hi Carole, can help update my Edd to 9/8/11. Went for gynae checkup today n gynae suspected baby is a boy. Hopefully it true but still have to wait for detail scanning to confirm.