(2011/08) Aug 2011

Crystal: yr gynae said no tea, coffee & pineapple? Omg! MS is already suffering. I will have tea/coffee withdrawal symptoms if I dun get my daily fix.

Sus: u suffering from insomnia too? I also can't seem to sleep at night & by mid day, I am zombified but still need to keep myself awake at work. Terrible feeling!

Hi I have been just tested positive. I am four weeks preggies according to LMP. Any advise for early pregnancy care.

Is any one taking the Anmum Materna milk powder for pregnant mum?

Saw Ntuc selling at $20++. Duno should I be KS and buy to drink ?

Thanks Vonnes.

Gynae prescribed Folic 5mg 1 daily. Is there any other vits i should take and food to avoid etc etc

Hi Sarah

I am taking 1) folic acid 2) folate 3) iron daily

next will be taking 4) omega DHA fish oil 5)Anmum Materna milk.. should be more than enough for cell and brain development already

crystalJC> mayb you can try asking Dr Adrian if his machine can let you hear baby heartbeat? in my previous scan @ 7 weeks, he showed me something blinking and said that is the baby's heartbeat.. so i only get to see, not get to hear..

rachel> i drink sample of Anmum from the clinic, then i went on to buy 1 small tin of S26 (cos my mum told me i used to drink that when i was an infant). bad choice. doesn't taste good. personally don't like the weird smell.. happy to finally finish that tin. now i'm not drinking anything but i'm thinking of buying anmum again. i have requested for samples of dumex and similac online but have yet to receive it.

if you gals are interested in the sample, can go to the following url to register. I dun know how long it will take as i have yet to receive any samples till date.

Dumex:

http://www.dumex.com.sg/login?target=%2frequest_sample

(see banner at bottom left)

Similac:

http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/products/pregnancy/similac_mum.asp

(banner right in front)

Do recommend me any other brands if you know there is samples to try on too :p

Rachel: I'm taking anmum now. Main reason being to neutralise the excessive amount of bile in my stomach. It really helps since I would sometimes vomit bile. And I guess the extra nutrients won't harm.

Besides now I'm totally turned off by the smell of coffee. So I need a hot drink alternative.

SarahN: u could also get prenatal vitamins. It's multi vites so it'll contain the necessary vites u need. As for food to avoid, raw food is a no no.

I am expecting as well and I think my baby is gonna be due in Aug. Baby too small so doc says cannot confirm EDD yet.

Hi cac,

I tried the Anmum sample too. Chocolate flavour tastes better to me. I think Anmum brand is more well known as milk for pregnant mum than Dumex and Similac.

I will be doing more research on the omega DHA fish oil before I buy. Because this kind of supplement for BB brain development is not cheap...

bbpotato

mutton is cooling??? I have been having lambchops craving recently... =( But then again, I have been breaking many 'laws' eating stuff I cannot eat. Cos if I really don't eat, then there;s nothing left to eat! argh..

fleur

Sorry, I know this is obvious question. Anmum powder is milk powder which means it has lactose right?? Cos I am kind of lactose intolerant but I also sometimes vomit bile and am looking for hot drink alternative for my active stomach acids. Would you recommend it?

I cannot drink milo or horlicks or room temp plain water - I merlion everything out.

Hi bbPotato,

Thanks for welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How are mommies here?

I am having my 3rd baby but already forgotten all about being pregnant, what to eat, what not to .... The cycle starts again.

Now just started my MS ... *sian.

How to help ?

During my #2, I had bad MS, will vomit after I eat ... every comes out. eat till I very tired.

rachel> can share ur research if you found anything? :p

actually i did not know what to choose but i saw a brochure of fish oil supplement at Dr Adrian Clinic. it's Nature's Care - Natal Care Triplus. The nurse told me can think about this supplement later in the pregnancy. i just nodded when she told me cos i was overwhelmed with information. now that i think back, i don't know when should i start?

i'm taking folic tab, multi-vit tab (both precribed by Dr Adrian). and drinking 1 glass of powder milk. (i tot 2 glass is too much since i'm already taking multi-vit)..

will it be too much if i start fish oil tab too?

abit worried cos i read about too much vit A is no good but when i asked Dr Adrian about drinking powder milk + multi vit, will i be taking too much vit A? he replied that i dun have to worry... but i'm still abit uneasy about 2 glass of milk + multi-vit everyday.

rachel> btw, i think folic and folate is the same thing rite?

welcome to the new mommies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leenea> i only know raw food, coffee, tea, pineapple are no no... think there's alot more that our respective mums are telling us not to eat. for me, they did not tell me not to eat anything special actually. just the above few. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leenea> oh ya! my mil did ask me not to eat the long long green kind of banana...

bbPotato> thanks![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] is it harmful to start taking fish oil too early? so we take fish oil from 2nd trim till delivery?

I am just back from gynae routine check. Didn't detect bb heart beat. Gynae didn't say anything, say come back 2 weeks time.

Summer, I remember we ovulate ard the same time, you can hear bb heart beat and even feel it liaw? hmm.. am I normal?

From the scan pic, it grow from 2 wks ago of 9.25mm to 23.86mm. Embryo 4.83mm.

Anyone like me? Getting worried as I BD once only on 30 Nov when tested OPK +ve. So, say troops met egg on 1 Dec, it shld also be 7 weeks liaw right? Doctor said according to the scan, embryo/sac is just 5 weeks. But according to ovulate date, it should be 7 weeks. According to LMP, it should be 8 weeks. I feel really worried. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Another 2 weeks to wait... aiyo... i oredi in pain and can't tahan liaw la. so sad. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

BB, you must stay strong ler, mummy waiting for u... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] feel crying... very emotional ...

By the way, i oredi started Annum maternal milk 3 weeks ago.

My gynae told me limit to 1 cup of coffee or tea is fine. So, i will continue as i got those crave too.

Cac,

Yup fr 2nd trim to delivery, not sure whether is there any side effects or not, but 1st trim, bb is deriving nutrients fr mummy, not fr e food mummy eat, so mayb nt so useful @ e moment.

Thk nw better to build up on calcium instead.

Baby dreamy closet, since e bb is growing fr e last checkup shldn't b much of a concern, if not your gynae would hv alert u. Try to eat more and rest more @ this point. It could a cause of late ovulation or fertilisation, cos u nvr knw what actually happened in there.

Like for me, I tested 14days after e day we BD, -ve, ended up still preggy, as on dat day had a dream that I m preggy as #3 pops out of nowhere, furthermore it's a boy, was a nightmare to me. My friend said it's a phophecy, end up, e phophecy came true. Now can only pray e gender part dun come up true again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Babydreamy Queen,

Sorry type ur name wrongly above, juz to let u knw, I knew of frens who bb hb was detected till quite late like 8-10wks, so hv faith in your little beanie. He/ she is also fighting hard and staying strong in there.

Stay positive.

bbPotato> u have 2 boys already? actually i heard from my ex coll who seem to swear by this "ci xi tai hou" chart that supposingly u conceive in that month, u will get the gender you want. but i've never seen that chart and when i asked, she keep forgetting to send me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] searched online, see differing information on which month what gender (not sure if those chart is the "ci xi tai hou" chart that my ex coll talked about also)...

Babydreamy> i agree with bbPotato. since gynae did not say that there's anything to worry about, then don't worry yourself. just stay positive and try eat well, rest well. everything will be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thk babysee posted e gender prediction previously based on lunar age and mth 1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all MTBs for AUG 2011 bbs,

I am new to this forum, felt quite lonely as i m not able to share with anyone within family and friends about my pregnancy yet, hence thought about coming to the forum for a chat.

I just had a miscarriage back in Aug 2010, and not quite prepared for this second time pregnancy, I am in 7 weeks now. I was planning more for next year to really start trying. But the more you plan, the more it doesnt happen, and vice versa.

Just wondering, anyone had miscarriage before, and now going through first baby pregnancy again? Am feeling very pessimistic and not holding too much hope, as i started to have spotting fr 6 weeks onwards, and now having MC at home. Almost same experiences as first time. Hate the feeling of waiting and not sure if all is well, very worried. Next doctor appointment is one month's time, I should get myself bz with work and dont think too much about it and let the weeks pass by?

Any positive advices and encouragement are welcomed.

Sweetpaine,

Welcome! We are here to share and learn fr each other. Do feel free to drop any queries. M sure some1 will reply promptly.

Hv friends who went thru same experience as u, but now m happy mummies with kiddos. One is preggy with her #2, also due in Aug'11. Try to be positive, and minimise movements and carrying heavy stuff. At the same time, do remember to take your hormones pills timely.

One of my friends, she had spotting thru-out her 2 pregnancies, so she's on hospitalisation leave after confirming her pregnancy. Now her kids quite big liao.

Soulvacation: If you're lactose intolerant, then anmum may not be a good choice. Perhaps u can clarify with your Gynae. How about Ginger tea? One cup of tea per day should be fine. Furthermore ginger helps ease bloatedness.

Sweetpaine: Were u given duphaston or progesterone jabs for your spotting? If not, u may want to do so to control the spotting. In the meantime, stay positive. I know it's easier said than done, but worrying too much may add undue stress to your pregnancy. Everything will be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sweetpaine: all of us hated the wait. as long as you eat well and rest well. minus all the tough and heavy stuff everything should be well and fine. I lost one in between my #1 & #2, now im expecting #3. just that mindset. Be positive, stay positive and think positive. Eat nothing cooling at this pt in time.

NEW Mummies, pls pm me with the following so that i can update the list :p

Nick: xxxxx (xxxxx)

LMP: (First day of your last period)

Gynae/Hosp:

With your LMP, i can "estimate" your EDD based on 28 days cycle. If the EDD is wrong, you can always correct me inbetween :p

bbpotato productive.. whahaha 2 boys! she told me... symptoms the same.. whaha maybe another PRINCE!

yes i m having my #3... duhz... i m thinking how m i gng to split myself with 3! when my 1st 2 already so demanding.

BBDreamQueen: if you are super worried, i suggest u to go for 2nd opinion. really. the 2ww is gng to be a killer to you.

Thanks Ochamilo, Bbpotato, Cac, Carole, and everyone here.

Beside stay +ve and try to not think abt it, nothing else can be done.

Last time when TTC, the 2ww is oredi a killer. Now, again and again de 2ww. Is really a killer lo. But what to do? We don't have an ultrasound machine at home. I hope i can "feel" bb's hb like the rest of you did. Then I will knw bb is fine. Now waiting for 20 Jan to decide again.

My gynae is Dr Kek LP at MT E. She is quite assuring actually, but her 1st impression when doing the v-scan is so hard printed in my mind, like shocked to see no heartbeat. Then she switched to tummy ultrasound, also can't see anything beside the sac. Then she keep saying no spotting no bleeding means ok.

I have seen 3 gynae actually. So, may be just me too panaroid. Hubby said just have to wait.

Just now 6pm went for a nap, have a bad dream and frightened up at 7pm. Hubby said i have bad dream coz the doctor's words keep playing in my mind, that's why. Hope it will not be true lo. ZZzzz....

welcome Genial & Leenea..

BabyDreamy Queen, dun worry too much..

Sweetpaine.. i had a m/c in may2010, and now going thru my 1st pregnancy.. guess i am more worried than u, cos i am currently in usa, going back in few days time.. had not seen gynae yet, just tested +ve on my own... u dun worry too much, just get enough rest, eat well..

congrads and welcome all new mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

moonyuki, bbdreamy queen, sweet paine, take care and rest well... you will hear good news soon! jia you!

i, too, had a shock when gynae cannot detect heartbeat on my first visit -- 4 weeks instead of 7 weeks pregnant... given the hormone jab and pills... two weeks later (this monday), i went back to see him and viola, can see my bb and hear the hb! based on bb size, i m 7weeks now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the blood clot in my womb is lesser now and gynae said nothing to worry *phew*

carole, pls update my EDD as 16 Aug. thanks muchie!

soul, i m lactose intolerant, too. during my #1, i managed to drink half a cup of similac mum daily. maybe you can try small portion...

my #1 super gluey.. think she has sixth sense that another bb is coming... cannot imagine when #2 arrives! really peifu those mummies having #3!

mutton is very heaty tts y old wives recommend not to eat. but as always, everything in moderation. my gynae says can eat anything, just no strenous exercises.

if u feel like u gonna puke, drink sweet drinks and eat sweets. strictly no milo (according to doc), horlick or hot chocolate. i don't have the puke-type of MS but those things make me super nauseous.

babydreamyqueen & sweetpaine

dun worry too much unnecessarily.. certain things r really beyond our control so why not we face everyday as happy as we could?

I had a miscarriage 1 cycle before I conceived my #1 & surprisingly, we strike again right on the next cycle! I survived the whole pregnancy & she is now a healthy & nottie 18mo gal! Every pregnancy is different so shouldn't link one with another..

Well, I admit it's tough not to think abt it & easier said than done but let's put it this way, when my baby 'left' me, even my gynae couldn't explain why.. but when in time that we least expect for my #1, baby would just decided to 'stay'.. so I also worried for nothing last time hehe.. but I guess the feeling would better when we've passed the 1st trim..

Just do our best to take care of our little one inside (dun overtire, eat healthily, stay positive, etc), and let God take care of the rests.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning ladies, I have a serious question to ask...

Is it normal for pregnant ladies to have rashes during pregnancy? Im having some rashes on my hands and legs (feets) but not all over.. just some areas... is it more on I ate the wrong thing or was it my hormones? It is my first time having this kind of rashes....