(2011/05) May 2011

hmm, about 3 weeks ago, when my boy was totally intrigued with his new found skill of flipping and turning on the bed, he fell thrice in 2 consecutive days...

Now we stack pillows around the bed like army barrack, he absolutely hates the baby cot..

sunflower: Thanks for the reassurance.

Very sian leh, my baby rejects ALL purees now! Even the ones he tried before. I'm so sian and tired. He's now only willing to take cereal. Even sweet fruit like banana he also dun like. Should I try a few weeks later than forcing him now?

THank you Mummies for all your well wishes.. So happy she cannot stop her medicine.. Been on it for nearly months..

LittleFly, I am going for my review on mon morning.. If you free during lunch, I can meet you up ?? Where will you be near ? If not, I will have to meet you next Fri.. Cause will be away from next tues to thurs..

Vicki, Don't mind meeting up for kopi, AMK or Yishun is fine for me.

Sat or Sun, I am all right too.. LittleFly, join us leh (if you can)..

Rest of the mummies, available ? Maybe we should leave bb at home and we can do some shopping too.. ke ke

Mimosa - My PD did not say anything about average weight.. But my girl is above 90% percentile = super chubby ! You should ask the rest of the Yishun Mummies they thought I was joining the wrong gathering.. Size of my girl don't looks liks a 6 months bb (turning 6 months in a week time)..

BUt I remembered my gf's bb around 6 months is about 6 kg plus and by 8 months is about 7 to 8 kg.. So you bb should be doing ok..

Jenny - My PD did mentioned that solid food will help bb on their acid refulx. My PD suggested that I start too, about 2 feeds a day.. I only started trying fruits and vegetables..

Maybe instead of pure puree, try to mix with cereal?

Deon: My PD also told me abt the solid food and reflux. Ur gal starting solids already?

I tried putting carrot puree in his cereal and he totaly dun wan! In the end I just dump away the whole bowl.

My boy used to be above 50% in his 4th mth but now he's only in the 50th percentile. Its good ur baby is chubby. Her arms are so cute! So many folds.

Deon: My office near Doby Ghaut. Can u meet me there this coming Mon?

Wow, 90% percentile! Ur Bb sure is chubby!

Vicki, Deon: I also would like to join leh but weekend I am at SK leh.

Hi Hi Mummies! Been such a hectic week I didn't realise the week flew by till I logged in here and can't find my last post!

Mimosa: My boi has 2 teeth emerging now! He's been doing better in the sense not so fussy, but he's still waking up in the middle of the night to play. My poor maid...

Jenny: I have a friend whose BB rejected purees too. She went straight on to solids. Perhaps you boi also the same. So dun stress too much about it.

My boi is at 8.3kg!!! Think the PD is going to announce him overweight again in his next jab...

LittleFly - I am having my checkup at Glenn so I can pop by for at Dhoby..

But you place the stuff at AMK rite ? Then you need to go to AMK and pick it up ?? Troublesome or not ??

Mummies, I brought my son for his 6 months injection yesterday. He weighs 8.6kg and is 67cm tall. Doc said he is on the heavy side but he's not tall. May I know if anyone has measurement like my son and if your PD mention anything?

Chewwy: how many weeks is ur bb? mine at 24 wks is only 7.7kg and 63 cm. PD said he's only the shorter end for length coz should be 67cm (avg). Think ur bb is doing well.

Deon: I can pick the stuff at AMK in the morning (dropping off my boys) and bring to office. Can meet u at Doby ghaut. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Avocados: will it causes tummy ache? bb loves it and finishes 2oz at one go. Then at night, he was crying v hard. I left it to defrost (with warm water) and the top layer turned brown. I scooped the brown part away leh. #1 loves avocado milkshake after I added cow's milk + sugar!

WT: Really? Actually I'm very scare coz my husband and I are very picky on food. We dun eat veg at all so I'm scare baby might reject veg. I just boied some porridge for him, going to feed him later. Hope he takes it well.

Little Fly: I threw away the avacado which turned brown coz looks very scary and I smelled also a little weird.

chewwy: My baby is now abt the same ht as ur boy but wt is 1kg lighter than urs.

Hello mummies! It's a cold rainy Sunday today. Do keep yourselves n bbs warm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny: yes it's like wad little fly mentioned, got Adrian pang, kym ng, Dennis chew n etc [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehehe.

Littlefly n mummies: Yes definitely a great movie to catch. Do catch it when it's out! :D

Mimosa: thanks for e advice on purée [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehe cos I hardly have chance to feed purée to bb cos scared dirty his costume. Hmmm yalor when he fusses no choice have to wait, n sometimes he falls asleep while waiting. But when he's awake everyone plays with him n he's v happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SOS! Chk w u gals, how do u increase cereal to b thicker? Currently mixing 30ml of milk with one third spoon cereal. Now half spoon cereal, but the manual says one thirdto half spoonfor 30mlmilk. But still so runny & he's impatient fr it. Can jus addmore n more cereal to The milk like that?

My bb still hving rashes fr semi solids but pd say tocontinue cos 6 mth already. I gavehim cereal + milk in the morning, veg puree in mid morning, afternoon apple puree before nxt feed as per pd's advice. Anyone doing the same? Worry he can't tk it hence the rash

Also ibought those small organic pumpkin fr cold storage n read that cut fruits or veg shld b consumed immy or steam/puree then freeze it. Is freezing m kept over so many days still fresh for bb? Is it ok to keep the cut veg n ask maid prepare it hot everyday?

Good moring mummies!! Monday again!! Let's jia you!!

My bb yday night refuse to drink milk from the bottle (even when we tried to dream fed him when he asleep), my hb said bcos i always latch him during weekend at my mum place, so he dun wanna drink from btl liao... haix... so means i cant latch him during weekend liao.. sad =(

vicki: my fren who also staying in Yishun, he said got a direct bus to come to SK leh, quite conv & fast he said, cos last time he came to see my bb =)

Viman: i heard there r alot nice food near Siglap! my fren staying at east side always say they wont get used to it if they stay at e west, hehe...

Jenny: ohh... bb J really active wor, lol... then u really diff to do ur thg... btw his bouncer dun have strip? he cant really flip with e strips on right?

mummyzen: lol... i can imagine ur bb having fun in the army barrack! haha... anyway, i saw some mummies suggest to put some mat or mattress on e floor ard the bed, at least even they fell also on sth soft =)

Meetup: my mum going oversea on 8th of Dec, so i can meet up at AMK/SK/Yishun during weekends after that =) but i am afraid i have to bring bb along, i can put him in bb carrier, we still can shop la =)

Deon: Your gal really cute lah!! her arms exactly like michelin!! lol...

WT: ya lo, u seldom log in now leh, ur work very bz ah?? wah, ur boy so fast! very good leh he nvr fuss when he teething.. my boy still 'bo geh' (no tooth) =(

LittleFly: yeah! ^5! my bb also loves avocado, i mix it with BM and no tummy ache for him wor...

Jenny: glad to know ur bb taking solid again! =)

Steph: Wah, sounds fun!! so ur still be attending those 'Premiere' right? =D

bunnymum: I tot we can just adjust the cereal to the consistency that we prefer? no nid to follow the instruction so strictly bah =) most impt is what ur bb likes!

My fren told me her nutritionist told her freezing puree is to freeze the nutrients at that point in time, when the food is the freshest, by cooking it, and not buy in one go and cook over few days. HIH =)

Morning Morning! It's a nice feeling to be home on a Monday morning and be log in @ leisure! Hehehe!

Mimosa: Yeah, work is hectic. No time to pee even. Sometimes even forget I need to pump! My boi fusses, but I think I'm lucky I got a maid that helps a lot and my boi is more of the active type than the crying type. There was only one night where he wailed and wailed after waking up halfway and that's about it. Now he's always reaching out for things and wanting pple to carry him here and there. Is exhausting to look after him.

Bunnymum: We don't keep to the proportion of milk to cereal strictly cuz we find that some cereal are more 'soluble'. Have to judge on our own and mix to the consistency that BB's likes. Often, we top up the mix with more cereal if turns out too watery, otherwise BB don't like. Also as they progress, they prefer thicker feeds and ultimately it's a sign they are ready to go beyond purees.

Jenny: BB may just not like the texture of puree, or even just the mix. Doesn't mean he don't like vege. My boi initially didn't like pure vege puree so we mix into his cereal. Now he takes pure vege puree and don't like pure cereal. His taste changes all the time. We just have to keep trying all kinds of combi! And always remember now he don't want, doesn't mean in future he won't. We just have to try and offer repeatedly.

Mimosa,

Yes, I love Siglap! I have lived in the east for about 8 years, ever since I graduated! I had moved to Clementi for a year when I decided to do my Master's course in NTU, and I misse the east so much I couldn't wait to move back! My place is 10 mins walk from the beach so it's convenient to take bb there in weekends. This weekend couldn't because of the crazy crazy rain!

Avent steamer-blender:

Hb made apple purée yesterday, bb seems to be ok, neither loves it nor hates it. Started using the baby cubes too, very convenient!

Stephanie,

I have read that movies with babies are very difficult to shoot cos if baby is cranky or sleepy, everyone has to wait? Is it true? Trying to imagine the entire unit waiting for your boy to wake up, kekeke! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks mummies! So freeze or jus put in fridge will do? Then put in pot n cook again or just put warmer heat up? I'm sure my mil has something to say abt this again.

Viman

How did u use the avents steamer to mk apple puree? Tried blending it without steaming so that bb can hv fresh fruits but it got stuck all over n couldn't blend. Also do u feel there's a machine smell fr the blending? My maid used it n I always smell rubber smell fr it

Bunnymum,

Apple needs to be steamed before blending. Only very soft fruits like banana and avocado no need to steam. The steamer uses very little water, so don't worry all the fresh nutrients will still be there because the same water is used for blending.

I didn't get any machine smell leh... Rubber smell could mean that machine is getting overheated... This one need to wait between processes, eg between steaming and blending, to cool the machine down...

Mickey, Mimosa: bb also scream loudly at night while sleeping. My bbsitter said my bb needs solids else milk cannot fill him.

Jenny: Good ur boy is taking porridge very well.

Mickey, Vicki: Have you started adding more for your bbsitter to let ur bbies take solids? I am thinking to start mine next month.

Bunnymum: better to serve fresh if you have helper.

Mimosa: I think I can try meeting SK 10-11 Dec weekend? Especially after 2pm when my #1 is sleeping. I just sneaked out with bb.

Stephanie: can place big bibs around his neck if u try purees. When i see the cast (Adrian, Kym, Auntie Lucy aka Dennis Chew), i want to giggle already but I think bb is the real star of the show! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Veg puree – do you mix with milk or water?

WT: ya, so lucky of u to have a helping maid! My boy also keep reaching for things, will grab anything that is near his hands, lol... and now e latest trip to make him quiet and stay still, is to give him a piece of apple and he will grab and 'bite' it for quite sometime, haha...

Viman: yah lo, yday was raining like cats and dogs!! wow, ur place so near e beach, so envy @.@

puree: at least she nvr hate it, that is a good improvement!! =D

Bunnymum: i warm it up using hot water, like how we warm the BM. Put warmer also can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple puree: steam for 5 mins will be more gentle for their stomach, but my mum just give directly to my bb, he seems ok with it, lol... Ur apple got stuck maybe bcos it is too dry, maybe u can try to add in some water.

rubber smell: I also smell it! oh... so we nid to wait for it to cool down first ah, okok... will do that next time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lil fly: so did u try to give him solid during dinner? does it help?

Veg puree: If too dry, can add some water. not sure abt milk, will it taste werid?? =P

Yeah! sure sure! Maybe we meet for shopping & high tea? Any other mummies interested for e meet-up too? will AMK be more centralised?

10-11 Dec meet-up:

lil Fly

Mimosa

Mimosa,I tot 11dec d mommies r havin Xmas gathering?but I not gng cos got wedding to attend

10dec initially I got a gathering but there might b a change of date so waiting for my friends to reconfirm or mb have to come back office to work haiz. I juz dun understand y yr end is d most bz with wh sales n yet they have to choose tis timin to shift office haiz.ooh wat bus fr yishun?

Lil fly,yes,I'll b increasing nanny rate tis wk(cos our cycle is 23) to start her cookin porridge. I've pass her cereal like cerelac/Bellamy,ey yan sang si sen brown rice but seem tat my gal nt too interested so might start her on porridge c if she take it better.yes,milk dosent fill my gal up since duno when.

I wan complain,my gal has been up to no gd recently.previously she slp usually ard 9+pm till 5/6am+. in between got wake up to latch either at 11+pm / 3/4+am but usually those timin is dream feed. Recently she wake up ard 12+am n continue to play til 2/3am wic is crazy.d worst part is she refuse to latch,eat pacifier,drink fr btl.so when I ignore her,she can wiggle non stop left/right like a worm,kick,scream,scratch her botak head/face/ears.d worst is she can scratch til her ears bleed else cry juz so I can talk to her.I m getting quite frustrated due to lack of slp n nearly miss my alarm a few times..hopefully tis is a phase else I will go crazy soon.

Mimosa: The belt is useful coz can keep him occupied. When I need to leave for a while I just give him the belt and he will start eating the belt. Belting him doesn't always work coz sometimes he will turn him to the side and almost fall from the side. Waiting for him to be stable and can put him on high chair.

The apple u give ur baby is fresh one without steaming?

WT: Thanks for the advice. Will still persist on giving him puree, esp the veg ones.

Cereal: I add quite a lot of cereal to milk coz my baby loves the thick ones. If 1oz of milk I'll add 1.5 scoops, that's the standard that my baby will take, anything less or more he will spit it out.

vicki: I hope ur baby can go back to slping well again. Recently my boy also waking up and cry every hour, and just now in the morning cry every 10 min. Luckily I dun have to work. Do u wan to try putting mittens for her so that she cun scratch her ears? Mine always scratch his nose until bled too.

I was actually laughing when I read ur baby wiggle like a worm coz my baby also does this in his yaolan. I read in an article before if a baby learned a new skil like crawling, he/she will wake up in the middle of the nite and do not wan to slp coz they want to crawl.

Sleepzzz even coffee can't wake me.

Mimosa: I am ok on 11 Dec (Sun) onwards. I am committed to 10 Dec for another Xmas party. Are you able to make it for Dec 2 gathering?

Solids - i have not tried giving solids at evening time coz scared indigestion. Maybe will do so coz he seemed go hungry very fast these days.

Vicki: Oh ok, my nanny is more eager than me to start bb with solids. Did your gal sleep alot during day time? Maybe can ask your nanny don't let her sleep too much in the afternoon?

I think for Yishun, bus 85 comes to SK ?

mimosa, i got the nursing covers from her... twice... both times r fast ... mayb u call her hp 9768 7676 to check ... some other mummies here also get from her ... her nursing cover is good ... i like it ... big n can cover alot ...

Dec 2 (Fri) AMK hub

I cannot find the names compiled earlier. Can i ask mummies here again who can make it? Its a Friday gathering coz planning to take a break from work too.

vicki: oh ya! u reminded me! haha.. I already promised to go for the Xmas gathering! oh, u not going ah... yr end really alot of wedding.. lol...

lil fly: hmm... then 11 dec can't meet liao =( how about 17-18 Dec that weekend?? Btw, y not u also join the Xmas gathering on 11 dec? =)

Dec 2 is a Fri leh, so i cant meet =(

vicki: haha... sry me and my hb laughed when i read to him ur comments even tho u very cham =P it shld be a phase la, hang in there, jia you k!! my bb recently also esply more cranky, yday dun wanna drink milk frm btl then 5am+ keep crying and refuse to slp bk... my mil told me this morning he keep crying, even his fav bath time also cry, hmm... thinking maybe he teething, but feel nth at his bum leh.. =\

Jenny: haha... u so funny lo, purposely give him e belt to keep him entertain, lol... then u must wash it v often ba? else like full of his saliver, lol...

ya, my mum lo, say nvm, die die wanna give even i told her must steam first... but my bb seem ok after eating, so i just let him lo... save time, lol... we just cut it in to half and use spoon to scratch it and then feed him =P

Ling: Thanks.. i email her this morning, and she sms me liao, she told me she mailed it our on 7th Nov, but till now i still havent received, so sad.. must be lost liao T_T i also heard some mummies here said good, just wanna check if got other mummy also lost e item during mailing... seems like only me so 'suay'... =(

hmmm... how come today nvr see 2ww and mickyboy come 'bao dao' huh? strange, they seems MIA since last Friday, haha...

aih, finally find some time to "bao dao"... boss will be away again, fr tmr onwards, hopefully this will be a relaxing week for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so most of the mummies have started giving cereal or puree. think i'm behind schedule, given cereal only so far, but bb doesnt seem to like it. will start adding some vege into the cereal and try again. wanted to try banana n avocado last wkend, but then all not ripen yet, didnt manage to give any in the end.

mimosa,

haha i m here! but i m not meeting 2ww to go shopping leh, though we MIA tog since last fri huh.. i was busy following-up after the stupid mtg on fri [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya, yr end full of wedding ar. 17-18 Dec, is my turn to attend my fren's wedding dinner, so i wont b ard in that wkend.

amk/sk gathering, i will prefer amk for sure ar, if possible. but seems like not easy to cfm a common date now...

All mommies going for the Christmas party? A bit far for me, but I will see how. Any idea how much $$ it will be per head? If I go, will need to take someone else along to manage my little rabbit. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jenny, r u ordering the thumb drives at BP? so vicki, steph & deon, r u ladies ordering too?

jenny, so we must hit how many pcs to entitle for the 10% disc? when will we receive?

Viman: I bought e sippy cup also, but my mil nvr let my bb use, so we just keep it... maybe shld ask her to let him try.. u let ur bb try to drink from it already?

Mickyboy: Finally see u! hehe... ya lo, seems a bit diff to have a common date, better if we all can attend e Xmas party! =D

Thumb drive: how much each huh? if cheap maybe i can consider getting a few =) i remember they hit 100 pcs to get e 10% disc and free registerd mail.

lil Fly: it is quite a old post, i try to find to find it but fail... and no one creat the Event yet.. hmm.. strange, lol... Maybe later I post in fb to ask =)

Viman: Come la! as ur hb to come also so can help to take care bb =)

mimosa, i think the thumb drive is about $10 after disc. wah 100 pcs, i doubt a few of us can hit that... me getting at most 5-6 pcs i think.

wah u r fast, so fast posted in fb to ask le. oh YL is asking too. where is the venue huh?

Mimosa: i accidentally deleted the text and press 'Post'. Haha. Meant to say Xmas party venue a bit far for me. I still root for SK/AMK meet-ups. Heehee.

Viman: now my bb uses right hand mostly so i think he will be right hander next time. My #1 is left-hander, never got corrected to right hand. Yes, very creative....esp with excuses for mis-behaving or not doing school work. He also has imaginery siblings.

Mimosa,

Yeah! But SAHM mah... Must look at cost also... Hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How much was it per pax at the Halloween event?

Mickyboy: got 5% disc if 20pcs and above =)

Nic posted the detail already, it is near Novena!

Lil Fly: I am still in spore lah! i also wish i am shopping in HK right now...