(2011/05) May 2011

Jenny dun let bb cry so long. When they get hysterical its more difficult to calm them down. Agree with Auroa, dun pick him up immediately let him cry about 5 mins or so if he still cry, go to him n comfort him or talk to him for 5 more mins, if still cry pick him up. Bb will feel more secure that u ate there. Major crying will also cause bb to take in a lot of wind which can cause tummy pain and result in more crying, so its a vicious cycle.

I also eat very fast now sometimes no time for bfast so i eat bfast n lunch together but this is the price to pay for having a baby but no regret as this is only temporary n it will get better as the day passes. So hang in there.

Auroa i wantedto tell u, the maclaren is very roomy so u may wanna get some padding inserts for it. I realised initially my ger didnt like to lie in it n i realised cos its too roomy n she end up rolling around n crying. After i get the paddibg inserts for the stroller she can sleep in there for so long cos the inserts secures her to one position. U can try.

Angie wah u have not bought a stroller? Many factors to consider like do u need to carry stroller n go out yourself etc. If yes u may want to get a lighter stroller.

Poo:

yeah! My baby finally poo abit today thou only a 50 cent coin big.. Hopefully he will poo more soon...

Cloud: hw to hv baby Grp pics outside where they can't even lie down on e public floor?? Hehe.. Or mayb we can carry them to take together (hv to expose them frm all e sling).. Hehe.. Can't wait to go aso but I'm sure my hb will nag me as he tink is far n inconvenient for me to go.. :p

little fly: mostly if cooking, I only cook for myself for lunch n mostly my hb will tabao dinner back frm his workplace.. Actually I tried cooked dinner for e family for e 1st few days but v rush as my elder kids will request me to fetch them frm sch in e evening.. Hence I dun like to cook halfway n go fetch them.. Worse still, I need to shower 1st b4 I step out of e hse.. Hence, no time for me to cook lor... Hehe..

Angie: I am using Quinny Sense, which i like it as it is really very easy to manuever and not very heavy. Initially gotten Zapp but when to change it as it does not cater for sleeping position & find it abit on the flimsy compare to Sense. You can go to baby hyperstore to try out the stroller. The sales stuff are pretty friendly and they do have other brand like maclaren.

Gathering @ Vivo:

I will give it a miss. Have a great time at Hannad place. My ger seems to have fun too when though she abit grouchy in the end. But the worse came when i brought her back home after going to my mum place after hannah house. She refuse to sleep after feed even though she's tired and finallu she sleep it will be a short while only. When she woke up it's more like she got a shock. Hand and legs flying in the air and sometimes will cry loudly and dare not open her eyes to see. Carry her on shoulder and cardle also no use.

Really pain me to see her like that. Any mummies got similar experience?

Auroa: thanks for sharing! at least ur girl is slightly older and can probably help out or comprehend a little when you explain the different treatment. i don't think my boy will understand ... 6 more mths oh no! hopefully things will improve when i return to work as i plan to take leave and spend one-on-one time with him while no.2 will be with her caregivers...

nobody warned me that having 2 kids will be so much tougher than one!

i truly salute those mummies with >2 kids :D

apple, ic.. maybe check w yr doc to see whether any concerns on yr girl as she recently started.

Jenny, understand how u feel. Not only food must fast fast eat/swallow even at home also must speak/talk like a mouse (dun want to wake up bb when she's sleeping) too. My hubby can't tahan as if we are behaving like a thief at home when we hve no1. But as they grows, it's easier to manage. Hang on there... we all going thru the same phrase. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

goofie, i agree to pick them up as fast if see their faces all red... actually experiences will tell us when to pick up bbs (some r faking crying) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya, not too gd if bb cries too long and winds goes in too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ann, u can try talking to yr boy. Actually his age, he will understand.. just tat he needs time to adjust. Keep on trying.. we have quite a no of no2 mummies here... can ask them how they manage too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Precious; 1st of all!! Congrats on ur Bb poo! Sounds weird to congrats but u can be relieved now!! Heee. Ya lo, can't have group Bb pic. But hopefully can ha e group mama & Bb pic.. But if nursing than abit difficult.

Good news to share: I finally bottle feed my Bb. She allows me to feed. Hopefully it's not a 1 time thing

starfruit, ya, the maclaren xlr very roomy.. great stroller esp for big bbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya, i put a stroller pad.. those tat can support the head which will not let his head "sway fr side to side" type. Initally he resist sleeping inside when i took him out to downtown east to eat lunch... now better liao... hope he can tahan longer trip, ie, MRT rides, otherwise, i can't come out of the house. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa- yup. Agree. There are some cries which are dream cries. No need to pick up immediately.

Angie- I m using quinny Zapp extra. Cannot use it for newborn so u need a maxi cosi. Personally I think it looks good. Also the wheels are smooth. But if alone and take cab or driving alone, it's tough to keep it. Cos need to dismantle the whole pram

Janice- hihi... Same pupsik pouch mummy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yeah I too noticed that my boy no sleep whole of yesterday afternoon after I brought him home. Only sleep like 10plus. And have to spend lots a time coaxing him to sleep. Wonder why. But today is ok Liao.

Btw, cannot remember if u are the mummy wo told me abt buying milk powder cheaper at medical shops? Wanted to ask u ifvtge medical hall is at river vale mall?

thanks, auroa, will try. its just very heartbreaking to watch him become like that.

pupsik pouch - btw, for those mummies using pupsik pouch, is the baby supposed to be very buried inside? cos i find that when i put my baby in, she will end up being covered by all the cloth for her face! i'm using a M and i'm abt 1.65m, 55kg... just wondering if i'm supp to use a S instead but i think i shd be considered as M size right??

Cloud: yeah! Nw is my turn to congrats on ur 1st bottle feed.. Hehe.. Regarding my baby poo.. But tis small amt is not enuf to cover those 2 days poo leh.. Hopefully is cos he is absorbing e nutrients n not constipation..

Goofie: Yeah same pupsilk design. I am not the mummy who told you about buying milk powder at medical shop. But i do have a contact at Rivervale plaza which sell milk powder cheaper than NTUC. Let me know if you need the contact [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann:The pouch is based on carrying person weight. So for your weight, you should be using M ah.

Ann u pull the cloth so bb face upwards. Dun let bb turn too much incase suffocate. Its ok to be burried inside.

Auroa i got this insert padding with 2 big cushion left n right so giap her tightly in the stroller. My no.1 and no.2 coshare the stroller when we are out.

Re baby crying & not sleeping after outing

I think it could be over stimulation for the bb at the gathering thus they dun sleep well. Babies will hum bin ( means startled n wakes up crying) if they are over stimulated or played too much in the day. Cos their brains cant slow down n shut off to sleep. This is all part of growing up lah. So nothing to worry.

starfruit, u mean no1 and no2 sit together in the stroller? wow, yr stroller can take 2 kids at the same time? I thought of doing tat but will the older kid "crash" the bb?

goofie: ya lo...so scary...hai...so now dun really wish to bring bb out esp during weekends.

starfruit: haven le...been pondering for so long haven buy yet. which one are you using now?

precious: I am sure he is...so chubby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cloud: Hee...tt is wonderful!

Angie i have 3 strollers, a combi which i got during my no.1 time and 2 maclaren (daytripper. & XT)

The combi is super light weight abt 4.5kg only i use this when i am along w/o hubby cos can just sling on my shoulders n even go up the bus. Also use this extensively for travel. I use my maclaren XT when i go during the weekend with hb. This stroller can take nb as can fully recline as well take weight of up to 20 kg so both my no1 & bb share this stroller when we are out during the weekends. For me weight very impt. Cos i dun like strollers tat are too hravy.

Goofie, u can try this online shop for milk powder. Google Luvbabies. The owner of website go the supplies from the cck medical hall. Free delivery for more than 200 purchase, their diaper are cheap too. I normally go to the medical hall to get my things as my pil stay nearby. Cck mummies maybe know this shop at teck whye.

bubble/goofie: I ordered fr luvbabies too. $10 cheaper per tin compared to ntuc

Otw home fr isetan. E sale nothing much for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Janice: I think my boi finally found his thumb today too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'll try hard to stop him sucking cos learnt my lesson fr #1 who is still sucking at 4yo!

Ash: How to prevent bb from sucking fingers? Mine will suck till got sound somemore to let me know she is sucking. Btw, luvbabies only sell milk from stage 2 onwards and their petpet diaper is more ex than NTUC. NTUC selling at $5.95 for 32 pieces and they selling at $7.

starfruit: wa so many strollers! Haa i tot of getting one for all purposes but very hard cos it's either light but smaller or heavy but can last till bb is older.

Janice: Haa mine too...loud sound while sucking...he sucking the whole hand...not only fingers...will always pull his hand away.

Angie & Starfruit, can u imagine 4pm then we returned home fr Mt A after seeing TT!! The nurse called me at 2.15pm ask me can make a trip down..and I only gets to see him at 3pm. The afternoon appt & walk-in already line up in the clinic..my goodness

Auroa, PD gave her a nose spray & ask me to give her medicine for another 5 days. I asked y she has sensitive nose where both of us do not have this prob. PD said it is related to sensitive skin as well..so she inherited me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Happymum, I have Delphine vacumn cleaner & it has air purifier function which am using. Not sure still wanna go for another air purifier..my hse no place to put.

Btw, TT did accessment for my gal, her eyesight was bad..gosh need to send her to children eye specialist at Paragon to do a thorough check..sigh, most likely she will be on specs! Daddy said no more ipad for her.

Janice: keep pulling out their hands if catch them sucking. Mine also suck loudly.

They hv stage 1 milk too, it's under unlisted only represented by codes. U can email them to ask too

Ash: Will try it out when i hear her sucking. My ger also like to stuck out her tongue. Bue tahan her. Looking at luvbabies website under unlisted, if i guess correctly F1 should be Friso stage 1 @ $37. I got it at $36 from the rivervale mall.

Angie: Glad to know that it's not only my ger. Hope she will not put her whole hand in.

Ash& Angie: Does your bb face have red small spots? Mine suddenly have lots of red small spots on her whole cheek. Not sure if it is due to her sucking her fingers and irritated her face.

Apple: soo long! Both of them never fuss? That is why I m worried the nx review w tt how...need to wait so long then bb fussing around makes me even more impatient n gan chiong...busy mummy need to run around...hopefully she dun need specs ar...

Janice: mine dun hav le...I always got ready a small hanky to pull away his hands n wipe it clean when he is eating his drumstick...need to act fast...haa

Hi Mummuies,

Brought bb to PD today as she has been crying non-stop for past 2 days. PD found nothing wrong with her and most probably her crying is due to colic.

I just hope it will go away soon, her crying is stressing me out. Plus, nothing I do can pacify her...

Janice: I also think red spots cld b due to saliva. My mom warned me liao so I'll wipe his cheeks n mouth if I see any saliva

Ash, she has no complain & sch teacher also never feedback [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh..all thanks to iPad

Angie, I din go down until the nurse call me. If waiting down there cham lo..so long wait

After my turn, TT rush to ward..1 patient need drip! After us, still got 2 more morning walk-in patients my gosh..dunno what time he can finish seeing afternoon appt

Ash & Angie: Noted. Will standby a handy in hand so that i can wipe her hand.

Mummies:

Does anyone have nanny to recommend to look after my ger. Prefer Hougang area and any idea what the market rate. As i need help from 9am to 5pm and weekdays only.

starfruit: I dun dare to let baby cry too long. I will run over and carry him immediately coz if I dun run over, he will end up screaming. I'm super sensitive to baby once he makes any sound and even before he fully wakes up I'll know in advance.

auroa: luckily my baby is not scare of noise. If not sure die coz my house here got tons of planes, esp now NDP coming even worse! But at nite my husband will take very very softly that I cun even hear. Very funny, like what u said behave like thieves in our own house.

Just now when I was having dinner I placed baby on dining bench beside me. He played for a while then start whining. Then I removed one of his mitten to let him play. After a while he whine again and I removed the other. Then after that he whine I turn to him and look sternly at him and say NO. Then he dun dare to cry. But after I finish eating he started crying. But thank god I'm able to finish my dinner. Now slinging him and he's sleeping. The doc is really good!

Ash, she has no complain & sch teacher also never feedback [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh..all thanks to iPad

Angie, I din go down until the nurse call me. If waiting down there cham lo..so long wait

After my turn, TT rush to ward..1 patient need drip! After us, still got 2 more morning walk-in patients my gosh..dunno what time he can finish seeing afternoon appt

Sigh.. Need to vent my frustration here..

As mentioned in e thread tat my hb n I hv decided to send our baby to infant care instead of letting my babysitter (who ask for more $) instead..

But today had an arguement wif my hb as I really worried thou we r paying lesser for infant care but it may cause more frustration to my hb.. Cos mostly he will b e person to fetch e baby n e 2 elder kids at 2 separate schools n if it rains, it may b v troublesome as there is no shelter to both schools n I told him baby will sure to cry when he is Hm if no 1 attend to him if my hb is showering e elder kids..

But my hb said is ok.. He said at most will cry awhile as he will try to attend to baby asap n he will leave all e unpacking after I m back frm work.. Really worried he can't handle it n suggest tat I shall pay for e balance of wat he 1 to give to babysitter n he angry n ignored me... M I wrong to worry? Cos I Noe his temper, he will cane e elder kids if they r v noisy or naughty n if e baby cries ar.. I not sure if he still able to control his temper or not.. I do not 1 to save $150 per mth but in e end, my kids suffer in his hands..N when he cane/beat, he will not control his strength lor.. Hw ar??? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sucking thumb: bb at this stage is playing/exploring w their fingers, thus they will put their fingers in their mouth. If they suck too often, will need to stop as it will become a habit and it's not good for the fingers too.

apple, oh dear! She often use Ipad? My girl recently started on IPAD.. previously IPOD but thought it's too small screen for her.

Eye check up: rem last time there was free check up or babies. Anyway my boy also always on iPad as both my dad and hb have it so recently he started blinking a lot and rubbing his eyes we got scared and went to the eye centre at mt E. Doc say it is not vision problem but rather allergy as he got stuffy nose and cough for long time. Also advised against swimming in public pool until 9 yrs!

brought #1 to PD today for his cough and runny nose...he banged the ipad2 in the carpark. Hubby chided me for bringing it out, told me should have given him the ipad instead coz it has a rubber sleeve [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now a teeny tiny dent in the corner [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but it was tough for me lugging 2 kiddoes out to the PD on my own, not to mention #1 is heavy enough to lift him out of the car seat...urgh...

Preciousmum: Wah. I understand what u trying to say Cux my HB also similar to urs.. If the man is this case, I would rather I deploy the nanny.. It's the extra $150 more a month that put our mind and heart at ease... If everyday gotta worry if he can handle, than that would be headache..

Cloud: but e fact tat my hb die die aso dun 1 to use babysitter lor.. He said unless she only charges e same rate as e infant care.. Which is super impossible lor.. Nw ar., I not sure if 2molo I shld go n pay e deposit or not n as there is only 1 vancancy left, if we dun hurry, it may not b available soon.. His idea is only infant care, if wana bbsitter, then dun wana discuss further to me.. Sigh... I really buai tahan... N oh ya.. I really regretted letting him buy e super thick cane n nw plus he can't control his strength.. E cane wound they had after few days later will become blue black 1.. I guess I hv to find 'normal' cane to replace it... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] super unhappy today....

Starflower - Understand your fustration. When bb was crying for past 2 nights I got chided by my husband. I called him to come back and help out, he came back but face black black.

The worst part is by the time he reached home, bb usually has stopped crying and he will tell me off that I too gan cheong.

Like today when we brought our girl to the PD (being first time mummy), he suan me infront of the doctor for being too gan cheong.

Was super damn pissed. When we reached home bb started crying again, I was so angry I left bb with him and told him to take care.

Sometimes they do not understand how tough it is to habdle bb for the whole day.

Preciousmom - Had the same problem, wanted to put bb with a nanny or infant care. But I though nanny was a better idea and do not need to rush to pick bb up after work. But my husband was against it totally and insisted that my mum take care of bb instead of leaving her with nanny or infant care.

I guess a lot of convincing is needed.

Deon: u still can convince ur hb if he willing to listen.. For mine, just awhile ago, I asked him abt e decision again, he totally ignored me.. Earlier on we still talked abt other things.. Really feel like giving him a 1 tight slap.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh.. Anyway, I told him if he can't give me assurance, then I won't go to do e registration tomolo lor.. Infant care has to fetch by 7pm n is like 2 busstops away while nanny only stays upstairs n can by 7:30pm.. But he dun1 lor.. His final reason still being is exp lor.. Sigh.. I not sure having such a 'miser' hb is gd or bad thing...

Preciousmum: sigh.. U guys need to end the cold war than can further discuss.. Maybe he felt that he could handle than don't want spend the money.. U guys try first? Since only left that vacancy.. When u starting wrk?

Precious: nanny will def b more ex then IFC cos it's more personal n like 1 to 1. Unless u want to give him more reasons to discourage like babies will fall sick often in IFC n he has to take leave etc?

Ash, cloud: e thing is my babysitter is not 1 to 1 at all.. At current, she is looking after 2 kids which 1 of them is her granddaughter.. Both of them r 2 yrs old.. Her hse is like childcare centre lor cos last time when my #1 was there.. Her highest record was 8 kids in total wif e help of her dil...actually I dun mind to send to IFC, just only worried on them during e timing of 6pm to 8pm where I guess I only b back by then....n regarding sick, he said is ok to take leave lor.. Btw, I shld end my ML earlier bah.. May go back after national day..

Apple, try not to let them play iPad or iPhone so often, I know its difficult to do then say. My #1 also like to play w my iPhone a lot but now I control his usage. Keke, he still dunno how to key in my passcode n he will whine in order to play w it , u just have to ignore. After cold turkey 2-3 days they will be ok liao

Cloud - she is doing 5yr old assessment @ PD, so incl eye check..then PD found her eyesight reading not so good so refer us to see eye specialist.

bubble - my gal is 5, she knows how to deal with passcode and so on :p and put the blame to daddy..buying her the gadget!

hihi, i'm a MOT. my #1 is nearly 40months n #2 is 11wk old. Both r girls. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

#1 is a wilful child, but she adores her little sis. I sent #1 to CC, so morning is quiet for us.

#2 will be taken care by my mom.

At the tail end of my ML (taking only 14wks). Hope to meet up with some mommies here, to gain support over our common challenges and of course to share our stories on our triumphs every now and then! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

preciousmom, i think you have a great hb. He's responsible dad. YOur kids will grow up to remember how their dad picks them up from cc/ifc. Personally, I dun like the old school method (as in the cane), both hubby n I didn't get any cane from my parents, n we grown up being good kids (at least that's what we think!) so we dun practice that. At most, it's a gentle batting on the little hand, if #1 persistently repeats undesirable behaviour. I guess, would be best to first settle the parenting style with your hb, and you wont have to worry.

$150 is a good saving - for your kids future education! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby poo..

my #2 is on TBF. when she was 8 weeks old, she gone for about 5-6 days without poo. PD/GP all agreed it's normal as long as bb is feeding well, and has wet diapers. Was told can be as long as 7 days without poo. So I took it as she was a cost-saving baby, she helps me to save some diapers!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Nowadays, she could go without poo 1 day or 2.