(2011/05) May 2011

Goofie - How you know it is not colic and bb just being fussy ?? These 2 nights my bbgirl will cry non-stopunitl face red at about 10 plus and will stop crying after about half an hour or so.. Is it colic ?

I tried to put her over my shoulder and pat her, put ru yi oil on her tummy, massage her tummy also no use. She will just cry and then will stop after half an hour. Then she will drink her milk and sleep.

Preciousmum - Read something from Dumex's website, a mummy will steam apple until it is very soggy and feed the water to bb and they will poo. Not sure if it will work for your bb but can try ?

Mudpie: I too, feel like shifting to sengkang than canmeet up more mummies. Lol.

Poo:

If on breastmilk, can go as long as 6-7 days. Dun worry first.. I remember Val talked to me regarding hers and she did post up as well, saying Bb are absorbing the nutrients.. So, dun think too much first.. Maybe once they shoot, it'll be a massive bomb~ Haaaha. I remember my friend whose Bb didn't poo for 5 days, and when it finally comes, the business was so big that poopoo flow out from diaper, unto Bb thighs and tummy. Yikes, and she was outside!

Jenny/Deon: hang on there. I believed it's a phrase.. My Bb endless 10pm cries has ended a few weeks ago.. She was so horrible that nothing can appease. So, don't thing negative thoughts, we're all great mummies, k? :D

Vivo: I wanna go again! Same same, not very farmiliar to this place, which level ar?

I jus mad my cravings! MacDonal's twister fries! Oh!

Deon: when my Bb had Colic, PD prescribe 'dentinox' and it somehow went away for the first few nights.. The steps that my PD taught was

1) keep burping Bb, even wjen Bb had burp after her feed.. The reason for colic was accumulation of air and they always lie down most of the time, hence air hardly passed out from tummy.

2) before sleep, or nightly routine, clean Bb nose with ear bud. Lift her hands above her head and clean the exterior of nostrils. No need go until very deep, jus the exterior to remove dampness.

Deon: thanks for advice.. But I guess I will still wait patiently for his poo to come, I rem last time my experience with my #1 was 4 days n my #2 was 5 days then we got gp intervention.. So nw is only 2nd day I guess I still can wait..

PreciousmOm my past record for my no.1 was 7 days w/o poo after tat major erruption like wat cloud mention exploded out of diaper.

Anyway bb is still only 2 mths old i dun recommend giving apple water or food stuff cos worry may developed possible food allergy.

Ru yi oil a bit spicy. I dun dare to use cos my bb will cry cos too ' hot'

Cloudpoem..lol..missing out gatherings just makes me feel sian n looking 4ward to nxt..whahah...

Starfruit can dial 67773777 anytime..lol

Ok mommies,wil post swensen's addy Tmr.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mummies.. Waiting for my sleepy bb to wake up for milk and happen to see the recent discussion abt poo problem

My #1's record was 11 days w/o.. We went to 4 different pds as we were so worried but each one says bb is perfectly fine.. The 11 days wait was when we gave up finding pds and decided to wait.. Before that, different pds already tried stimulations like stimulation gel, suppository and finger insert..

All of them said they were not that worried cuz bb was on tbf..

But I found one stimulation method really useful u can try. Massage bb stomach like writing "I luv u" on bb tummy..

Step 1: massage from top downwards like writing "I"

Step 2: massage with 2 hands like drawing a heart shape on tummy

Step 3: massage with one hand like writing an inverted "U"

Finally move the legs like riding a bicycle.. Repeat a few times a day and bb shld poo soon..

Jenny& deon, when I was having my #1, my friend did told me , bb only know how to cry so dun get too upset w it. This phrase will pass thru without u realizing..

Really having lots of funs at Hannah's place n at the same time get to meet up w mummies that I nvr meet before..hmm think Val's spell trying to cause some effect for me, just spree some bags but it for myself! best is bb G slept from 7pm all the way till now n I have to feed him milk wo him asking for it.

Hope to rejoin thus thread. It has been a ling time since I last login. Everyday is pack for me, do housework, take care of baby and pump milk, really very tired. Not much sleep also.

I received the invite from mudpie, can I join as I am not familiar with all the new mummies plus never been to the previous gathering so kind of paisay. Vivo is near to me so more convenient.

Hello morning mummies..am gonna bring bb D to see TT later. Hb not comfortable seeing my boy crying & struggling during milk time and rejecting milk. Also, we gonna bring my elder girl to see TT also she has been having sensitive nose. Time to review

Little fly: ya mine is like tt...i tot so young they dunno how to 'ren' places yet...but he become very restless and doesnt slp much in the hosp. Tt's why we cant wait to come back.

Apple:think tt is off today?

happymumtobe: so long never see u here!

cloud: haa i just had twister on mon too...must dip in the curry sauce to complete the taste. Recently I've been craving for milkshare...super sinful!

Re: gathering

So many cute babies ytd...I'll try to make it next week...not really confident of bringing bb out alone yet.

Gymboree

I have a 10% code, any mummies interested? If we got more orders we can use intl shipping. Pm me for any orders.

Thanks Val for the RL loots...luckily i order bigger size...my bb can wear the 9 months le...faint...

Hi mommies, have not been in here for a long time.. so busy with work, housework and babies (4 of them including hb). LOL

Anyway, jia you to all and I love seeing all the pics in facebook. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon- u can check out this web on colic symptoms http://www.babycenter.com/0_colic-the-basics_77.bc

Apple- my bb too is like that. Either he cries and sounds like those frustration cries - feels like he's scolding me during feeds or he sleeps and I hv difficulty having him drink milk. Each feed for me is more than 1 hr.

I m also thinking of bringing him to see another pd in Sengkang on Friday. To get 2nd opinion. And also to get the 6-in 1 jab. Otherwise I will go crazy everyday

Angie- yesterday was my first time bringing bb out alone. I went to gathering at hannah's place!! Now I m building more confidence in bringing bb out. U can do it too. Jiayou!!

Hannah- maybe I can swing by your place to pick up the teats or if too troublesome, I will just head down to any shops to buy one and try. But thanks for highlighting that I can try pigeon. Cos I tried avent and does not seem to work.

goofie: haa cos during his 5-6 weeks me and hb went PS...wa so crazy tt day...need to change diaper and all nursing room full...i was like a madwoman carrying a screaming bb rushing around to find alternative rooms...and have to bear with those stares...so thereafter I nv bring bb out to shop le...too much for me to bear...tot when he is older more stable then venture out agn. Have u tried Nuk? Also very good...

Re: strollers

I am going to get one...any mummies got any advise btw Quinny buzz/zapp extra? I love the 3-wheelers kind but quite heavy...or actually there is no need for stroller at all?

morning mummies, haven come in for quite some time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angie, i got a 2nd hand maclaren xlr stroller. I'm also using a carrier and sarong sling to bring my bb out when sending no1 to school. For longer trips, will prefer stroller as bb can sleep and no need to carry (my boy is ard 6kg and getting heavier to carry w one hand). Another advantage abt stroller (which hve fully recline) is tat u can use it as a changing station to change diapers w/o going to nursing rm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

saw the FB's photos at Hannah's house. Arrugh, missed it... i'm only available on mon and fri.. missed so many gatherings... think majority organised on a thurs. Next gathering also a thurs too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

happymumtobe: come come! dont worry lah.. since we are already chatting on forum, meet real person no need paiseh lah! hahaha!

Angie: u got nursing cover? than can nurse him public.. and like what iloveparis mention, u can nurse with ease with so many mummies around.. its me la, dun dare to nurse even with nursing cover.. hahahaaa...

stroller:

actually, i have stroller but i seldom use.. i prefer hand carry or sling. but preference again.. my mil use it more than me. but seeing so many mummies zoom ard with strollers do look good. Quinny is good, cux u can move ard very easily. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] depends on u.. than if u're alone with bb next time, get a light weight one.. than easier to load on & off ba.

although Vivo not near to my place, but i'm so going this time round! cux i wanna take pictures!! not myself but with babies! lol! wonder if we can have a group of babies pic again?

starfurit: order twister fries la... yummy.. hahaha.

I love twister fries! Can juz order tis without e meal?

Juz assembled my cot mobile, got music but not moving! Argh!!!! Can we send fisher price things anywhere for repairs? I dun wan to buy new o e cos it's still so new

Hi Angie,

Yes, really a long time, think about 2 mths. Been taking card if baby, doing housework all by myself. Sometimes my mum will help me take care in the afternoon so that I can rest.

Apple, I remember there are a few occasion whereby my #1 reject milk and we are very worried, check with pd he says us normal then out if a sudden after sometimes hd resume drinking again. But think best is you check with TT. I vexed most when baby dun drink milk or put on weight very slowly.

Cloudpoem, Ok, will come but might not be on time. So far u hv not bring baby out myself, maclaren techno xt too heavy for me and dunno this time rd using ergo not as smooth as last time.

Ash, my fisherprice cot mobile also not moving, only have music and light, I also need to repair. Really ex to buy a new

one.

Mummies, I hv very little milk now, only able to supply 3 feeds then the rest fm[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angie, if we go out, we give fm, easier to manage. My boy very impatient and ebm takes a long time to warm up. But best if you are latching, no need to wait and bring lots of things.

Angie, TT is off on Fri. I'll bring my 2 kids to see him later. Done pre-reg via phone hehe..

My nanny said I abit abit go PD no wonder TT treats us well :p faint

Happymum, I scare reflux so better let him check on D. Also, I wanna bring my gal to let him check whether she has sinus or just sensitive nose. I see her sneezing early morning this few days..

ash, u mean the McDonald twister fries? think can order bah but u might want to order more items if u ordering it to be sent to yr house as there is a delivery charge of $3.. might as well add some more food items [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Precious: Still, it is not easy to manage 3 kids on your own plus housework and cooking. Kudos to you!

Apple: yes, hope this transfer maid will be appreciative as you ‘save’ her out of her current predicament if what she said is really true – big house and all that cleaning and late dinners etc.

Ash: Same same, my CL told my maid to be appreciative and stop comparing with others as we are quite easy going with her and there is not much work too.

Dolly: Keep it that way with your maid! I heard too many accounts from my friends/ relatives to be very skeptical of them.

Sylvia, Jenny, Deon, Nicole: hope this phase of bb fussing will pass sooner than later. Btw, how you bring your bb out if they are fussing? HB drove us back to my mom’s and throughout the journey, he was whining again for nothing. Normally bbies enjoy car rides and would even doze off.

Pupsik Mummies

Can bb take kangaroo carry when he’s only 7weeks plus? I tried the cradle carry and he tried to turn and sleep inside but can’t and end up whining. Maybe my method wrong…

happymumtobe/ash, my fisherprice cot mobile is somehow "stuck".. it will move halfway and "stuck" and need manually turn then will continue to move.. thinking whether i hve store it too long liao. U thinking to send it to repair?

apple, my girl got sensitive nose... same as daddy (he got sinus)... early morning wake up will hve running nose or itching nose.

hello mummies!

i've been a silent reader all this while .. was wondering if any mummy of 2 could share your experience with me on how u deal with no. 1 acting up with the arrival of no.2? my no.1 is almost 2.5yo and has always been v easy since birth. however, ever since i had no.2 and after the cl left he has become clingy, whiney, needs to be carried constantly, toss and turn in his sleep and wakes up hysterical in the nite asking for milk. any advice on how to make no.1 feel secure and happy again? thanks in advance .. from a feeling-very-guilty mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little Fly: My baby used to be really good when I bring him out coz he will sleep throughout since he loves to sleep when we carry him. But these few days when carry him out he still awake but luckily only cried once in the car. So scare of him screaming in public transport. I've taken him on bus and mrt before.

Actually if baby fuss for a certain time of the day I still ok. But baby is fussing for the whole day once he wakes up and he sleeps very little. He doesn't sleep in the daytime at all. Yest he also slept after midnight. Dunno what time coz I went to sleep and husband taking care of him. Then today after his feed at 8.30am he still cried. Carried him and rock him in his yao lan he still cry on and off. In the end after 30min of rocking he finally slept but only for 30 min and started crying again. Then rock and rock and rock and beat his backside then he finally willing to sleep and I went to take my lunch. Very hard to eat when he wakes up. So later in the noon when I hungry just grab some biscuits which I can eat when carrying him. But tonight sian, husband OT. Dunno if I can eat dinner anot. -_-

Btw, how do u guys manage to eat when baby is crying? I find it extremely hard to eat. Sometimes after a while baby stops crying but I already no mood and appetite to eat. Just throw the food away.

auroa: I try not to order fast food delivery except pizza cos fries will not b nice liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ya, I think my cot mobile also keep too long, 4yrs! If can b repair at cheap price then it's ok. My #1 dun appreciate e mobile n dunno if #2 will appreciate anot

Auroa - do u bring your girl to treat her sinus or sensitive nose? My girl can't sleep without aircon or else she will broke into rashes on her body if it is too warm at nite. If she is having prolong sinus, she is not permitted to zz in aircon room..headache!! Better seek prof advise.

goodfie - my nanny said she has not came across bb behaving like this. If your bb taking 1hr to finish the milk still ok..mine just cry and cry can't never finish the milk..when the milk eventually cool down, he will merlion. I don't want nanny keep reheating the bm eventhough just 2oz..so quite taxing la. We have been throwing a lot of ebm coz he can't finished. Imagine if he is taking FM, we gonna be very broke :p

Jenny, maybe u can sling or pouch your bb to walk long corridor or the park downstair? At least get some fresh air instead of staying indoor all the time. My bb these few days also never sleep well during the day coz he is not drinking! argh..so I brought him for evening stroll after taking bath to have some fresh air.

dolly, u still hunting for crocs for lil J? My friend sent me a mail asking me whether i'm keen to join her to get the crocs..if u keen let me know i forward u the mail.

apple: my baby can sleep in the sling but once I put him down he will wake up immediately, if not in two min time and start crying. Very sian. My baby also have heat rashes. If bring him out everytime come home will have even more rashse. Sometimes I so cold but cannot off the aircond coz baby needs the aircond.

Did you eat durins during pregnancy? Not sure isit durians that caused our babies to have heat rashses

Apple: haa...but tt charges really on the higher side...I dun like some of the nurses there...attitude...hope bb b yr gal will be better after seeing tt!

Happymumtobe: taking care all by yourself really not easy...gd tt yr mum got help out...

ann, you are not alone. My no1 (girl, 3 yrs old) also going thru the same as yr no1. Previously gave her cup to drink FM and w/o diapers for daytime. Now she wants the same treatment as bb and drinks fr bottle and even poos in her diaper (on diaper during nite). Need lots of explaining on the differences between her and bb's treatments. When she's been good, ie: she helps to play w bb while i went to bath or prepare dinner and after tat i will praise her.. my girl even demand tat i give her stickers for her good behaviour (so i stock up lots of stickers now). My friend went thru tat phrase and told me hers lasted for 6mths... so i enduring now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ash, i just ordered Mc delivery. Ya, the twister fries not nice liao.. somemore some parts got "burnt". Not nice at all. I can't go out to buy today as bb dun know why dun want to take his morning nap.. keep on looking at ceiling and amusing himself and after awhile cry bcos too tired... he just dozed off. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

apple, previously bought her to see GP and she said she's too young and can't give treatment. Said tat it's called chronic disorder (??). My girl will hve running/itchy nose whenever weather turns cold (my side when approaching morning will be terribly cold.. that's why morning she cannot take bath as she will caught a cold).

Jenny, understand how u feel. Wat i do is tat, i carry him to bf while i eat w a spoon (my kitchen's windows at the other side... so can't see wat i doing inside the house). Or otherwise, i let bb cry and i hurry to eat (or rather swallow) and pick him up. Sometimes too angry, will scold him and he will keep quiet liao but depending whether he wants attention or milk (if wants milk, no matter wat i do, he will cry non-stop). [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple is right.. u can put yr bb in a sling and walk ard the house or corrider. I find tat the rocking motion puts them to sleep easily or quiet them too. Sometimes i just put my bb in the stroller and walks ard the house... i treat it as a form of exercise lor.

jenny, i took 2 durians puffs during pregnancy and this week took 3 durian puffs (shiok leh). Dun think it will give bb heat rashes. My bb dun hve it leh.

btw, when yr bb cries, do u pick him up immediately? Personally find tat by doing so, bb will know wat to do when they demand to be carried. I normally let him cry for awhile (not more than half an hr) then see wat he wants before picking him up. my bb will cries non-stop when he wants milk.. other times, he made noises for attention and when i pop by head to check on him, he will keep quiet liao.. i think he just wants to make sure tat some1 is nearby him.

Jenny, yes I took lots of durian but I doubt the heat rashes related to durian as my #1 I don't take durian & she was hot bb too!

Angie, agreed TT charges on high side & long waiting time but I hv tried many PD & they not as gd as TT. Today he came in late @ 11am, the nurse told me I can only get to see him in another 2hrs..faint!! Lucky I nvr lug everybody there to wait.

Auroa, my gal only recently having the sign..she sneezing in the morning but perfectly fine when she goes to sch.

Auroa: I also always swallow my food. So sad last time can eat slowly and enjoy. I rem after my confinement I bought a cake from coffee bean. Bt in the end have to swallow to eat coz baby crying. In the end I told my husband we dun buy coffee bean cake first coz so exp yet we cun enjoy.

I picked him up immediately, think already spoiled him during first few days. There's once I let him cry coz I too sleepy, can't carry him if not sure drop on the floor. After 5-10 min he scream louder and louder and almost drop to the floor coz he kept kicking when screaming.

Sometimes my husband bth him also let him cry and he said want to see how long baby can cry but baby nv stop crying. He will only scream louder and louder even if he cries for nothing. But I think maybe its due to NUH. He has no oxygen when he came out, not crying. In the end have to send to NICU. I think over there when he cries nobody bothers abt him, so he learnt how to scream to get attention. Very sad, I'm also the cause of it coz I"m unable to push him out, causing him to be entangled with the cords.

Ash, no leh, bb G not sleep that long most of the time. Most of the time, he sleep from 10-12 and all the way to 3-4am but I will try not to give him milk as I want to train him to sleep thru.

Cloudpoem ,, I also like taking pix of mass bb gathering! But think if outside will be a bit difficult as no place to let bb lay down n most mummies are slinging.

Angie, u can try to bring stroller? It can double as changing area.For me, my stroller is always in the car boot as I v lazy to use stroller n prefer sling more

Ash, no leh, bb G not sleep that long most of the time. Most of the time, he sleep from 10-12 and all the way to 3-4am but I will try not to give him milk as I want to train him to sleep thru.

Cloudpoem ,, I also like taking pix of mass bb gathering! But think if outside will be a bit difficult as no place to let bb lay down n most mummies are slinging.

Angie, u can try to bring stroller? It can double as changing area.For me, my stroller is always in the car boot as I v lazy to use stroller n prefer sling more

Apple, that is a long wait. Mayb you can get an air purifier? I bought a honeywell one and is doing gd on my boy as he has sensitive lungs, used to hv bronchitis. After using the air purifier, seldom attack and now totally outgrow. Now I put the purifier in my room for baby.

Hope TT can give you gd advice and solution[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa, I dun know where to repair, just that ash mention it, I need to repair also. My #1 does not like it at all but #2 loves it. He will smile and kick his leg when I on the light and music. Then I hit the fishes myself to make it move.

Apple: aiyo wat u gg to do while waiting? Ya true he is very sensitive towards parents feelings and patient with kids.

Jenny: dun blame yourself...I m sure u tried your best then...do u give bb pacifier? Me too training my bb now tt he can't be carried all the time. Cos he will have those fake cries...asking for attention kind...n those real ones which mean he is hungry or need to change diaper. If it is those fake cries I will not carry him immediately.

Angie- yes I m using nuk latex now. Wah.... I think that episode must be quite terrifying for u.

Apple-- so nice!! U actually help me check with ur nanny. Yah lor I hv been asking around, no one came across scolding babies before. I m not kidding. It's more scolding than crying.

Auroa - I read that it's better to pick bb up as fast the they cry. Cos it will help them develop a sense of security. Dun let them cry too long. Not too good.

Apple so long wait for TT today? Maybe all rushing to see him since he is not around tomorrow.

Re gathering at vivo

I will try n make it down.

Angie- yes I m using nuk latex now. Wah.... I think that episode must be quite terrifying for u.

Apple-- so nice!! U actually help me check with ur nanny. Yah lor I hv been asking around, no one came across scolding babies before. I m not kidding. It's more scolding than crying.

Auroa - I read that it's better to pick bb up as fast the they cry. Cos it will help them develop a sense of security. Dun let them cry too long. Not too good.