(2011/05) May 2011

morning!

happy w my checkup yesterday! :D

27w4d, bb almost double his wt fr last mth to 1110g now. healthy 4 chambers heart too. n i gained 2 kgs exactly in a mth!

i've also decided on csect w GA and 2 bedder

Morning Mommies!

Ash

Congrats! So why opt for Csect w/GA; just curious. Good weight gain [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple

Wow, where did you get your Durians? Im gg down to Geylang to buy, but I dunno which Lorong to go to.

Auroa

How u feeling today? My tum getting tighter.. Heehee... But hor, got some painless quick contractions on & off. Normal ba?

Dolly

Maybe for a start, u can offer your HP number to the form teacher 1st. Then share wz her your concerns on your gal.

I remembered; my boy that time becos cried until very badly every time I leave him at CC. So the form teacher at then was in the morning session, its easier for me to talk to her as well. Then she will sms me to inform me abt the hfmd updates la, this and that knowing sometimes I really no time / forget to read the comm book.

U can tell the form teacher/principal 1st and see what they say. Im sure should be fine wz just HP Number.

vv : they have our contacts le.. so i should give them my hp no separately to the form teacher & principal? i do tell them about my concern for my girl but they only assured me that she'll settle down over a period of times..

morning ladies =)

vv,

oh. if u planning to shift hse then hold back on the revamp ba. we initially wanted to do minor reno this yr but we shelve it for the time being too.

my boy see mood also de...sometimes he will finish sometimes nt...esp if hb is ard. he will keep bugging to play -_-'''

hahaha. aft food intake, baby got energy to kick u liao. hehehe.

i think the contractions if nt regular sld be normal as our body is getting ready for delivery esp we have less than 12weeks to go! u seeing ur gynae in another week++ right? just casually mention to her and see wat she says =)

for me, these 2days feel nausea...but i am still able to eat my normal meals + some snacks inbetween. kekeke.

Re:durian

yes~ durian season is starting soon! cant wait to sink my teeth into the flesh...oh so yummy!

am also looking for gold kiwi but cant find..haiz...

Dolly

Oh, hows the cramp now? Does it still have lingering pain?

Yeah, the CC will have our records. But you should still give your HP personally to the form teacher 1st. Principal maybe later stage if lets say Form Teacher cannot cope.

vv, feeling abit sad today as smacked my girl yesterday nite.. told her it's time to brush her teeth and get ready for bedtime stores and sleep.. kept on telling me "coming" but later when i went to find her, she's digging out all my stuff fr the bedside drawer and after she saw me, she went to hid under the chair and refused to come out.. in the end, i dragged her out and she wailed so loudly tat my hubby came and tried to calm her down but my girl pushed him away. Told my girl tat since she doesn't want to brush her teeth, there will be no bedtime stories and i went to shift her bed (her bed is joined to my side of the bed) to the corner and told her tat she will sleep on her own. She cried and begged not to shift her bed and wanted to sleep besides me but i refused and i went to bed. After a while, she stoppped crying and went to the bookshelf and took 2 books and put on the side of my bed and stand in front of me waiting. I pretend to fall asleep and she just waited and waited till my hubby calls her to brush her teeth but she refused to move away fr the bed... sigh.. i hve to get up and push her to the toilet and let my hubby to brush teeth for her and later put on diaper for her to sleep... later she just lay down on her side on her bed watching me till she closes her eyes.. sigh.. in the middle of the nite, she fall off her bed (luckily hubby already put mattress on the floor so tat cushion her fall and she sat there muttering tat she dun want to sleep there and look at me (still pretending to sleep) and later she just lie down on the floor mattress and sleep... when morning comes, she came to look for me and asked me whether i angry w her... explained to her why i so angry w her... arrugh...

my tummy also getting tighter too.. not sure whether it's bcos bb is growing bigger and no much space inside... the painless quick contractions on & off tat u experience is at which area? is it very frequent? if it's frequent, better inform yr gynae abt it.. the last time i hve pain at the left side (the entire tummy feels so hard and the pain feels like contractions and it come on and off) is abt 2 weeks ago... actually ate 1 curry puff, barley and vitagen and ended up LS... be4 LS, din know why the pain is so great and thought i going into labour.. monitor 1st and if still continues, might need to call up clinic to check..

dolly, seems like yr cramp is spreading to yr toe now.. think it's better to let yr gynae know.. when's yr next appt? btw, doc said tat by taking vitamin Bs helps to ease the cramp.. does yr multi-vitamins consits of vit Bs?

vv / auroa : the cramps have went off but the pain is lingering around.. my next appt is on 12/3.. yeah, my multi-vit do consist of vit Bs.. really help? have been taking it but doesn't seems to work..

auroa : did you ask your girl why she do that? omg.. poor gal.. maybe she's trying to get your attention too before didi coming...

Good morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly - I think every childcare has different practice. My gal's sch the principle is very ON type..she will sms or contact us directly on all matters. Only when she is away, the centre supervisor will step in. I like the way she handles all matters so she is aware on parents concern also the children progress & behaviour in sch. She is rather fierce, children all quite scare of her..hehe

vv - I bought the durians fr market stall which I normally go on weekends coz I knew the seller, he is more honest to us la..

Hb bought 2 fr Geylang 2 weeks ago..super ex! $35 each but the taste is so-so only..that's y I rather wait a lil longer to get fr my regular store. Last nite, I paid $60 for 2, but very satisfied with the result and my lil one inside keep moving non-stop after my durian feast!

auroa,

*hug* sometimes the kids really test our patience. so she is better aft u explained to her?

dolly,

cramps in the toes mayb due to poor blood circulation n lack of iron. i get it often way whether i am preg or nt =P do u eat red meat? for me i dun, thus i dun have sufficient iron.

usually aft calf cramps, the pain will linger ard for a few days before it goes off completely.

Auroa - I think your way of handling your gal on/off with cooling effect is quite good as she learnt to discipline and listen to u and not just simply ignore what u have asked her to do. I also punished my gal if she gave me the "wait and wait" nonsense.

I intro cane system at home too..so when I call her she doesn't move or glue on tv or games, I just simply take the cane out, she will be on "auto gear" already.

As for my hb, he always on the "hao ren" side, but once he is angry, my gal very scare coz he implement notty corner where he will push her into room, lock her there.

Ash - your #1 on GA C-sec? Hmm..actually epi is not as scary compared to horror stories u hear of after all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I would encourage u to go for epi c-sec to witness the child birth rather than GA..and GA effect is not good.

val : really? i seldom eat red meat.. but the multi-vit do have iron too... i can't imagine now my whole left leg is trying to recover the after cramps effect...

dolly,

this is wat i read la n my hb who is v active in sports n thus have some knowledge on those cramps told me.

toes cramps v common for me whether i am preg or nt. reason cld be due to poor blood circulation, lack of vitamins or constricting the toes too much.

calf cramps a few reasons:

-dehydration

-over exercising / insufficient warm up exercise (for us, it can be attributed to the fact that as our weight increase, the legs have a heavier burden to support the incr weight gain)

-Vitamin deficiency (esp iron)

Val

Yeah lo, thats the intention becos I dun wan to stay in this house anymore. This house was my PILs' de. So I dun like the idea of stay put in their house and they keep thinking its their house lo.

How come u feel nauseous? U ok ma?

I had told her abt the contractions I experienced before. But she said, its normal and ask me to insert utrogestan pills. But I didnt la since its normal.

Auroa

Heyhey... I can understand how u felt. *Pat You*

Sometimes they just drive us to our nerves. But seeing them like crying for us, heart soften again. I think now, she is just trying to gain more of your attention and that is why doing sth extraordinary than normal. Now, my boy likes to comment or tu me when I ask him to do this & that. Im finding a way to curb all his nonsense.

I think tum tighter is tum growing. And also for me, its bloating becos I had not cleared my bowels for these few days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Hows yr bowel recently?

Dolly

Try to walk abit and not sit for too long.

You have to monitor for a few days and then see if u need to call up gynae. Your next appt seems quite long leh.

Apple

Im so tempted to buy eh!!!! Maybe I should indulge some durian rolls later or tomorrow. Wooh! Then Sat DURIANS! Yeah, Geylang Durians are rather exp. But some are good. Dunno which one to buy from leh.

Ash

Did u have your #1 via GA as well?

val : i hardly have cramps in my toes when i'm not pregnant..

vv : i need to walk about quite often in my office.. my last appt just passed last sat then don't have all these issues.. only happen after the appt..

Ash - I mean the effect is in long run..GA is rather strong and it stays in our blood stream for awhile. That's y some ppl after GA ops, their feet shrink and so on. Off course it is individual, maybe it might not affect u now, but who knows later stage when we are older.

dolly - I also think it is more like the bb weight pressure resulted poor blood circulation then the cramps comes and go. Maybe u wanna try to take a light stroll around your neighbourhood in the evening and drink plenty of water, see it helps. Other than that, u can try to get 1 bottle of Clarins Soothing leg cream which I'm using coz I got cramps on butt while I drive to work, so I have starting using this cream for awhile and it works well on me. Gynae also ask me to continue as the content is suitable for preg instead of the normal muscle rubs which not so recommended.

Ash

Ok, thats good. If for me, I would opt for Epi Csect loh to witness the bb.

Dolly

I used to have very bad feet/leg cramps during #1 preg. For this time, u walk and rest also. Dun carry heavy things, rem le. Drink more water. Could it be the water retention also causing the cramps?

vv,

true lo. if i stay in the flat tat arent under my name i also dun feel gd. so where u intend to shift to?

Ya, just feel nausea but ok la. still can stomach food although nt craving. hahaha. i just eat lo coz i nd to eat =p

dolly,

actually calf cramps n toes cramps now can be attributed to the fact that the legs need to support the extra weight we are piling on now. the muscles group is wking harder than before. if u feel uncomfortable, you can talk to ur gynae abt it. if nt, can do some simple toes exercises when u are sitting or resting. just wriggle ur toes, massage will do.

dolly, my multi-vitamins consits of lots of Bs and i taking red meat frequently (abt twice a week now).. think it helps leh as my fingers cramps is better and only the numbness.. at least i can use chopsticks to eat liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe u want to try it out 1st [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my girl: sigh... dun know why nowadays i can't seem to get her moving.. i hve to call her till i shut at her then she will get moving or she just wait there and wait till i comes over and ask her what's wrong and hold her hand then she will move... sometimes i explain to her and she's into this habit replying me "huh" and "huh" till i explain till i want to vomit blood.. there's a time tat i told her tat there must be something wrong w her ears and i pulled her ear and she screamed... then i told her, i thik yr ear is ok and can u hear me now and she immediately said yes and after a few days, she dare not chu pattern but hor, after tat come back again.. arrugh... last nite think she saw my hubby in the study rm not sleeping and she thinks tat she can play for a while, she took out my things and asked me what's this (when i found her sitting on the floor running thru my things)... arrugh... last nite both of us din sleep well.. i looking at her occassionally and she's looking at me too...

vv, my bowel ok.. can poos once or twice a day.. lately started to drink HL marigold milk (actually not supposed to as previously got bloated feeling, contractions and LS)... now drinking doesn't give me those but loose stools only... i treat it as clearning bowls lor... taking half cup per day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe yr contrations is caused due to not clearning yr bowels... is it the left side of the tummy?

I think I'm gonna down with flu very soon..super sien!!! A lil sore throat now with stuffy nose attack..sigh dunno issit the durian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

apple: any procedures will hv their own risk. hope that we are the lucky ones [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple : doubt i'll have time & energy to go out for a stroll le.. but every alternate days, i'll soak my feet with bath salt to relieve tiredness..

vv : i also have lots of cramps during my #1, but this time seems to be much serious.. both legs cramps together when i'm trying to change sides while on the bed.. my hb was not beside me to help me to relieve my cramps...

auroa : what's the mg of Bs your multi-vit consist? think will have to ask my maid to cook some red meat le...

val : haiz... can't imagine left calf and rite toes cramp together..

apple, maybe try drinking honey with water or coke with salt.. it helps in sooting sore throats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, my gynae gave me the Mum-2-B vits which consits not only the fish oils and also others

B vitas consits as belows:

Vitamin B1 - 750mg

Vit b2 - 900mg

vit b3 - 9.5mg

vit b5 - 5mg

vit b6 - 1.3mg

vit b12 - 2 mcg

vv:I forgot which lorong, but there is this super fat guy who is selling, he is quite honest, bought from him quite a few times. U won't miss him, he is like sumo wrestler...haa....

apple:u didn't take some salt water after eating durians? drink more water, it might help,

dolly: I heard soak in salt warm water helps too, but they say must use the higher grade salt for better effects. How abt using a pillow to elevate your legs during sleep? Heard tt is useful too.

auroa:your gal is such an angel sometimes, can imagine her innocent look while she is being scolded. You are perplexed with your gal issue, whereas I am both excited and worried abt the arrival of my first boy. Dunno how a new addition in the family will cause what changes to all of us....dunno if it is the pregnancy hormones, been feeling very Worrisome lately.

angie, there r bounds to be lots of changes when the littles ones are here.. take a step at a time.. 1st 3 mths are hard and needs lots of time to adjust as both of u are trying to adapt to each other... it's also the fun part too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, maybe check w yr gynae whether need to top up 1st and whether any recommendations for yr current conditions.. my gynae gave me this type as i complaint i can't hold chopsticks and eating burgers for my meals.... he tried not to laugh lah and said tat need to take vits to ease it...

the weather is so hot outside... feels like going out to buy bubble tea to drink.. arrugh

Auroa - I'm taking lime water with a pinch of salt now.

Angie - yes I did drink some salt water right after eating durians..maybe too heaty or bcoz now is flu season..not too sure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, my hb bought fr the "sumo" ler..the durians doesn't taste as good like the one we bought last nite. Maybe 2 weeks ago the season is not there yet..that's y

Dolly: erm...hopefully taking the supplements help. Try to massage daily too? Now the thing I look most forward too is the massage by my husband every night while watching tv...help me massage away the water rentation and hopefully the fats on the legs.

Aurora: ya...really can't imagine having a small one around. Your gynae sounds so 'si xin'...mine very chop chop one...everything to him like very normal. I asked if I can go japan in my 33weeks he also give me the go...ha...

Apple: ha ok, ya but he will tell me beforehand if nice or not n let me taste before buying. That one time I specially down n he told me he dun want to sell me cos not nice. But since I m here, he give me one free to try n it really taste horrible.

Hi folks..

Anyone know of any infant care that is around Seng Kang..? Initally mum agreed to take care of the little one but seems like there is a change in plan.. sighz

Heard from my frens that some of them book when they are 3-4 months pregnant... Didnt know this is so popular...

ash epi c-sect is not as scary actually, i went thru 2 epi c-sect..the first round i didnt even know my gynae already started..as he was telling me he wanna test if i got feeling..den when he abt to finish i even ask him if he is starting soon..he reply saying he is finishing soon..

anyway i heard a very scary story abt GA c-sect thats y i dont think i will ever tried that..though this happened long time ago..my friend once told me it happened to her sister when giving birth using GA..

her sister said she feel the pain thru out the surgery despite on GA, yet she cant move or speak so she gotta go thru the whole process in pain..

Angie - 33wks u r no longer allow to travel on air rite? Airlines will not accept u to be on-board if not mistaken..your gynae rather funny!

Hmm..re the durians, my expectation very high coz that "sumo" usually recommended good ones..that's y rather disappointed on the outcome of the 2 durians which cost $70.

Dolly: hee that is great! Hope that relieves your feet.

Apple: actually can le...before 36 weeks can board the plane. But need the doctor's approval. But my friends were saying it is quite cool if baby can get japan citizenship too. Haa...

Ya! I also very picky with durians, esp when I pay so much for it. But he allow exchange le...tt time I order 6 for abt $200, 2 not nice, he give me foc 2 when I told him the next time.

auora,

maybe you can try taking bananas or more calcium? my gynae said calcium works for leg cramps.

vv,

just curious, how do you know it is painless contractions and not baby moving?

Angie

Aiyo, really arh, but I need to find out more from my frens too. Cos I will be gg down to my mom on Sat to look for Durians le. Cant get my hubby moving cos he hates the smell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dolly

Yeah I can undstd. What u have to do is, lie your legs curl up for a moment. I dunno good or bad but thats what I did during #1 and it worked as it shorten the pain period. My cramp pain can be as long as 5-10 mins de. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] After the cramp ended, u have to try to massage gently.

I realised age played an important role too. This time round, I didnt suffer alot alot of symptoms but Im super tired and also felt so much heavier even though tum was not as big as #1. Did u realize this time more xin ku?

Auroa

My boy also like to "huh" me nowadays. And when I try to speak to him softly, tell him not to do this and that, he still do it purposely until I use SHOUT. Then he will show frown face and started to bawl say why I shout at him! So fed up. Then when I started to tell him that he should listen to me in the 1st place, and not make me shout, he will say "HUH". Issit their habit? Then after that when I hug him, he will lie on my shoulder like a small boy like that, make those bb sounds; trying to melt my heart. Haz.

Split

Your gynae so funny & cute. And the way u describe so hilarious. Seems Epi Csect is more challenging eh. Heehee.

Apple

Haz, I will start to dream about durians later in the night. I didnt get to buy any Durian Rolls just now... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

auora,

maybe you can try taking bananas or more calcium? my gynae said calcium works for leg cramps.

vv,

just curious, how do you know it is painless contractions and not baby moving?

Bunnymum

Uhmmm for me, the fake contractions are hardening feeling. The hardening is very quick de. Then change position again...

Baby moving, u will know de. The feeling is like some air inside your tummy moving, then some rolling inside feelings. And as we progress, we can feel or see our tum starts to change shape becos of a punch out from bb inside. And the pain is not the hardening type, its just pain.

Auroa

Yeah, my tummy pain used to be on left side lo.. So means never clear bowels thats why like this?

Auroa

When u gonna place order on the confinement food? I was reading the web and it needs mailed order + cheque...

vv,

oh okay, so i always feel tummy changes shape left and right and some vibration movement are all from baby..thanks thanks..

does any mummies here know of any good and affordable wireless survelliance camera? Was just told my nephew is 'abused' by my MIL for not eating what she cooks. I hope to set up one to check on my MIL and maid next time..hehehe!! Maids are so hard to hire now too and MIL is always at conflicts with maid too, never know who is right or wrong.

I saw the singtel one, looks quite good. any mummies here know anything abt it?

Bunnymum

I think M1 also have the webcam thingy. IM using DLINK Wireless Tilt & Pan Camera. So far ok bur recently, seems like spoilt as I cant do as wireless but wired. When u do a google search on "Wireless IP Camera", I think there will be some brands available. Depends on what u like & prefer

Dolly

Yeah lo.. This morning esp, I can feel the hardening quite frequent and was irregular. Then it stopped le. When did u feel yours? Yours painless also?

vv - I think natural fruits is better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] go for real durian feast this weekends when u pop by your mom's place. Durian puff/roll err..I personally think it is too sweet & high cal, not so healthy.