(2011/05) May 2011

auroa : think you have mentioned about this colleague before... that's why i'm so pissed off with my appraisal... can't imagine i'm only with this company for only 8 mths.. and i'm sort of losing out to my partner... if i would to know i've a partner who loves to work beyond working hours... i'll not join this company le... it's really make me looks so bad... each day, i'm always the 1st one to leave the office on the dot...

my boy was like that too dont wanna go cc lately..cry like nobody business and my mil so worried..he tell my mil and sil he dont like his friends, dont like the teacher and wanna change sch..this only happened after cny too

vv,

paisay, missed out ur post. hmmm..if the form teacher is fake then v sian. or can u speak to the other teacher of ur boy? for my boy, he has 1 form teacher which teaches eng n another mandarin. i usually go to the form teacher but this time rd, i speak to both separately.

and take abt fake, i find the N2 teacher abit fake...and my hb commented she keep looking at him and he finds her abit teh kind! haahaha. i hope she will nt be my boy's n2 teacher! altho i have nv spoken to the N2 teacher but frm my observation when she speaks to the parents n when the parents arent ard, she behave differently lo. mayb i may be wrong =)

faith,

yup. delivering at KK and will be opting for natural =)

dolly,

yup. protecting urself is impt so just state B&W lo. to me, nw its a habit liao. hahaha.

great tat u have cleared most of the reports n backlog =) v soon can clear everything and relax abit le =) jia you =)

auroa,

mayb due to arrival of #2 as most of my relatives n friends said the same le as my boy also nt well behaved during cny. So far my boy has been quite nice to meimei la. nv says she notti or smack her. hehehe.

wah. think u may wan to rephrase ur words abt baby kicking u. coz we teach them tat kicking friends or others are notti behaviour ba. i told my boy, meimei is moving n dancing =P

talk abt washing the old clothings, i think i have to start in early apr too.

Val - can only tender resignation upon returing to work on the 1st day after 4th month of ML. I did that during my #1 and be SAHM, hehe..and like Hannah said I offset annual leave, but I utilise childcare leave off course.

#2, I don't intend to be SAHM, so I still dunno whether shd I venture out or stay put. Market seems like quite competitive now and those colleagues who left their package are beyond 30% up.

Auroa - that's y what I'm afraid..coz right now, I'm very flexi with this boss. Downside is I need to travel on biz which my hb thinks I shd stop after #2 onboard.

apple,

okok. thanks for highlighting tat to me. i am nt sure if i will tender or nt at this moment...mayb see if i can get a job tat allows me to wk frm hm 100% or a part time job ba. see how it goes.

mkt is gd now. venture out sure can get higher salary n package but for me personally i dun wan to give up flexibility for $$ if i have to put in more hrs at wk lo.

true lo. with 2 kids, if can dun travel aboard for wk will be best..mayb u can discuss with the new co how flexibility they can be? no need to travel for wk mah?

Dolly - everywhere u go tends to have ppl like that. Even my co. we also have colleague who simply workaholic and sending email over midnite! To a lot of others, he is aggressive in showing his performance so bosses will promote him. Anyway he is fr India, so sometimes we just ignore. He used to call me over the weekends or txt me to ask for something. I simply ignore him after entertained him a few times. Now I'll tell him weekends I'm very bz and I don't carry my BBerry with me, don't expect to see my response. Pls clarify with my boss if I'm on 24/7 or not if u think so.

Va| & Apple: Sounds like a tough decision to make. Maybe can use the ML time to think through and also source for new opportunities lor...

dolly,

enjoy ur lunch =)

hannah,

ya. tough decision. nw only brainstorming plans but nt doing anything concrete nw...sometimes, it nt possible to have the best of both worlds =P

Arghh, help.. I have been lying in been for 2hrs.. My braxton hicks keep coming on & off every 10-15mins.. Isit normal?? My baby keep moving & when he compress, I feel some sharp pain in my tummy.. Shld I be wry??

dolly, for my previous dept, all my colleagues leave on the dot as most of the married colleagues have 3 kids and the single colleagues saw tat we leave on the dot and they also do the same too.. i think tat's why other dept sees our dept as paradise as they thought we easy job and can leave on the dot but they never thought tat we bring notebook home and continue work after our kids sleep (miserable part when the whole house is sleeping and u r facing the notebook to work)... so when other depts sees this colleague works beyond office hrs regularly, they see her as hardworking and thinks she's doing the "extra workload"... quite pissed off as the "heads" compare us to her... at least compare us to some1 who is ard our level lor.. can imagine how u feel to hve such a colleague...

split, my girl also experiencing it.. hope it's a passing phrase and will pass soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, u r right... maybe i shdn't tell her tat.. it might give her a wrong idea bah... ok, i will start to tell her nice things abt bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, it's very rare nowadays to find good boss.. ya, after yr no2, travelling might need to cut down as yr kids will need u even more.. or otherwise, is yr current boss able to work out anything for u?

hello everyone.

Seems like maid giving problem again to mummies. I was thinking of getting a maid after my #2 is out but my hubby was out of job in Jan so now, gotta hold on this decision. Hearing the scary stories of maid problems here, kinda worrying...

Work problems, yeah, my new mager (not really new as already here for almost a year?) still cannot make it. Everything push down to us to do then dun even bother to understand or know if we are coping. Already work till veri xian aly, thinking of looking for new opp during my ML, after tat dun hav to face her again... heeee

Dolly

I can understand how u felt.

I cant imagine if I have a colleague like her. She is like your back up buddy issit? Can change buddy? U take care yeah and dun over work. Must voice out liao if matters turn worst.

My previous maid has FB acc and used my PC to access. Haz, nowadays maids are getting smarter and savvy too.

Val

My boy now in N2. Dunno issit coincidence, I also find that N2 teachers quite one kind. So now, I hope that the switch of school may do him some good.

Why the N2 teacher keep looking at your hubby?

Some teachers are like that de, in front of parents act like a saint. Behind the teachers, they are so infeeling to the child. I realised there was a rise in teachers from China. I find that those China Teachers been working for very long de (at least a year or more) are better than this batch newcomers from China. Dunno issit the local employment agencies lower their standard in foreign workers or wat..

Auroa/Val

For now, my boy had started to talk about his meimei so often; every night he will ask me where meimei sleep, why meimei cry (to him, meimei is like baby, so in other words ask why do babies cry); then will ask issit mei mei hungry when I told her Im hungry. When I eat, he will ask me issit mei mei eating the food AND my SALIVA??!!! Then I said Yes. He said, he doesnt like saliva. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Guess maybe we are all right, their sibling is coming soon, so they become super Kan Cheong and wanna get more attention from us?

Auroa

U not KS la, cos I also bot my #2 full month clothes liao. Hahahaaa. COs u see, its only 1st month ma, buy early better. Me now only left all the necessities nia. Still pondering what brand to buy, where to buy.. Me kinda fussy.

Kaykay

U ok ma? Better go see your gynae if this persists.

For me, my left side bottom abdomen also feel pain when am out for lunch. I told myself should be bb weight. I will have to monitor and see what happens. Plus the pain is causing my limb and joints to be pain too, dunno issit SIATICA (dunno how to spell, or maybe is Scatia)

Hannah - Yea, I been thru the struggling period when I tendered to be SAHM during #1. Imagine I'm going thru another episode after 5yrs! Hb wishes I open my mouth wanna be SAHM :p but I doubt I'll do that..haha I don't want to lose out my market value after being SAHM. Now the job market is pretty good and stable.

Auroa - I agreed not easy to get a good boss. I got a lousy boss b4 that's y I treasure my current boss. Hmm my job is regional role, without travelling it doesn't make sense at all. I know if I sound to my boss, he can work on something but it may not what I want to do and I won't be happy..by then if I resign, it will look bad on me ler

My boss connection super wide, I don't want to spoilt my value just like that..haha world pretty small ya

hey, back from lunch..

apple : true lor... everywhere we go will bound to meet this kinda ppl..

auroa / vv : really dislike this kinda pple... maybe to her, she don't mind to stay back.. you know even lunch time... she can wait till 4-5pm then go for a short 20 mins lunch... omg...

told my hb... will look out for opportunities after ML... if worst, will be SAHM for the time being if my maid's getting out of hand...

apple : true... if be a SAHM, will lose market value. indeed, market is picking up...

apple / auroa : my current boss is not as good as compare to my previous... mentioned it before, he doesn't seems to like his female staff to go for ML... that's why he prefer my buddy...

Apple

I agree with you. It took a lot of courage to decide to be a SAHM. There are pros and cons. So it all depends what are our priorities. For me, I would prefer to work until I have no more value. Hahahaaaa...

Dolly

Wah, she really spoil market leh. So far my office, the latest time my other colleagues go for lunch is about 1pm plus to 2pm de lor. No one will go so late lunch.

Yeah la, in fact during yr maternity leave, u can start to look out for job liao. Like what Apple said, job market now is rather stable. My company just had a few resignations after taking VB. So well, u can see how good the market is now.

vv,

my hb jokes tat she must have found him attractive! wahhaha! anyway, my hb look younger than his age la and he is those sunny sporty type although i wldnt say he is v handsome - presentable =P the n2 teacher quite young. i think in her 20s.

I actually heard her shouting at the kids alot of times when i was there 1 week settling my boy. When the parents are ard, she is actually quite gentle n nice lo. And thee is this indian gal in her class everyday sure see her cry all the time but she nv console her or carry her at all. i feel so sad for the gal lo.

mayb those teachers in sin longer le so know the wking culture here le ba. new ones still adapting ba.

hahaha. ur boy v curious ask u so many qns. my boy nv ask me so much. I hope i will have excess BM to feed him and he dun reject! =P

dolly,

ur current boss married or got kids nt? some managers who arent married or no kids will say some nasty things when we go on ML de. i have another manager whom when i told him i am going for 4mths ML ask me "why u so special always take ML?" i was like WTH? this is only my 2nd time taking ML le...

Val

Wah lao. If given me hor, I will sure SUAN him and say - Not becos Im special but Im pregnant lor. BUT of cos, thats provided I already intend to tender le lah.

vv : ya lar.. i'm really a fool when works together with her... if you as a boss/employer... which will you prefer? one who keeps working even forgot to go for lunch and stay back so late.. while the other one has to go back on time... of coz, if your boss is a understanding boss..

vv,

i nv suan this manager coz i am nt very close to him and he forms a part of my appraisal giving -_-'' but i did told him plainly its only my 2nd delivery le and its my entitlement =P

val : he himself has two kids too... elder one is 3 while the other is 1... he's really double standard... last year, i've voice out thru here that told him i'm 12 weeks expecting.. his face turns black liao.. expected that coz my the other colleague who was pregnant also have the same treatment too..

when i'm just joined this company, didn't realised this.. all my colleagues here are mostly men and above 40, not much of ladies here.. till this pregnant lady told me that coz he don't want ladies to go ML... and those men don't need to serve reservist... see how stingy he is..

dolly,

since he is a father himself he sld be able to understand females colleagues with family better...anyway, 1001 kind of ppl in this world. some ppl although are parents themselves, they still behave selfishly.

during my 1st preg, i was given 10days mc for my 1st trimester n ordered bed rest at hm or be hospitalised. i called my colleague to ask him to cover me. he being a father then was v nasty and said "wah, u v shiok huh. get preg only take mc ho". haiz...sometimes, really duno wat these ppl are thinking.

vv - u r in logistics industry rite? logistics always a market leader no matter good time bad time ler..

dolly - your current boss seems like working in China man ganster company rather than foreign bank! I think u have good opportunity to venture after ML coz recently my colleague got an offered fr foreign investment bank and she is doing pretty well there after 2 months. And the package is so so so attractive!!

val : he's not only selfish and try to save $$$ for company... guess what his wife is working as a headhunter.. he don't fight for staff welfare..

sometimes really don't know what are these men thinking about..

apple : he has been with foreign bank for many years, really can't imagine he's acting this way.. he himself is a head of dept and being so selfish & stingy.. till now i've yet to drink a cup of coffee/tea from my current boss... compare to my previous co.. my head of dept is more generous than him, he buy us xmas lunch, cny lou hei dinner and buy x'mas gift to each of us.. as for this boss/company, we don't even have xmas lunch/lou hei from him... sigh..

Val/Dolly

I think sometimes it doesnt mean if the man is a father, he will understand de. Some very KNS de. In fact, I find some ang moh bosses are more understanding to pregnant subordinates. Thats what I heard. Asian are rather stingy lor.

Dolly

My office here got 2 staffs always work OT until very late when they already have notebook. Frankly, they can bring back home to work. So some pple think they are trying to show to bosses they v hardworking. Haz. I also dun like this type of pple lor.

Apple

Yes, I am. Aiya, I work until sian already. Sometimes I really hope to "retire" soon. Hahahaaa... But fact is, we still have a long way to work for our children.

vv : true.. my hb advice me to lookout opportunities on european bank rather than asian bank... my hb's boss is a finnish who's much better than my boss..

this kinda pple is a threat to us when we have family.. even if i don't have a family, i don't usually stay so late way before i got married...

wow the thread move so fast in less than 2 hrs.

YoYo, your white n black chicken is whole chicken freshly bought from the market?

Can i check with you gals for confinement period, what type of sesame oil do they use? I heard there are black and white types? I went to see there are so many brands and all, duno which to get. I heard will use up alot so must get more than 1 bottle too.

dolly/vv,

i think ang mo style and asean style still varies lo. ang mo more relax type. of coz cant deny there are gd asean bosses as well =P

dolly,

hahaha! i think the thread moves really fast whether we have things to complain - maids/boss watever watever. hahaha

Hahahaha... That seems to be happening...

By the way, did anyone send their child to My First Skool before? Can share your experience? Might put my girl there if the maid doesn't work out...

val : true la.. actually not every ang mo are good too.. in my previous co, there's a expat boss in the other team which i heard he's quite stern to them...

i should say, i'm really damn suay to join this organisation... can you believe it that i've yet receive my VB...

there are good asian boss around but it's whether you are lucky enough to bump into them...

dolly,

conclusion: nt all ang mo bosses are good and not all asean bosses are bad. hhahaa. actually v much depend on individual boss. In every wkplace, sure gd gd n bad colleagues, same goes to boss(es) lo. got gd n bad. cant be so perfect to join a co with perfect boss n perfect colleagues. this is life - nthing is perfect =P

val : true.. but can you imagine if you have this kinda colleague working with you... we already have enough of headache and she's adding spices into it... unless don't bother about her, and just do our own work.. don't care about our appraisal, just take our pay and go home when it's time.. maybe one day will ask us to pack and go... who knows...

dolly,

u cant stop her frm staying late in the office rite? so nthing much u can do also la. i have my own share of problematic colleague who is backing me up too in management role...all i can do is make sure i do my wk, no major mistakes, perform for my projs and fight for myself when needed. If i can stay i stay, if i cant stay, i look for greener field elsewhere lo....

no one is indispensible de la.

Bunnymum

I buy the chicken from NTUC only.

For White Chicken, I bot the 1/2 chicken type.

For Black Chicken, I bot the whole chicken.

You can also check wet market for it. Also, u may wish to check out this website for pregnancy soups. I love her blog.http://www.thechinesesouplady.com/pregnancy-soups/

Val/Dolly

Yeap, it depends on individual and the culture of the company. Some very pro-family de will be more encouraging. For mine; perhaps its cos of MNC - and alot of pregnant women around lor. Maybe thats why nothing for the bosses to rant about.

I just feel that sometimes bosses dislike preggy women like us because of our previleges and maternity leave. But they fail to understand the pregnancy woes we are going thru.

Val

I think Im gg to KK woman clinic later in the night becos I trying to dong the pain I have in my stomach. So Im not gg to my gynae there as long wait and need to take leave especially tomorrow Friday. I find the pain quite unbearable like that; come and go. Dunno issit constipation or what leh.

Dolly

Thanks, I dunno why suddenly have this discomfort. Hope its just mere bloating & perhaps constipation ba.

Apple

I think they have this normal night Clinic or sth issit? I had been before ages ago. But cant remember.

vv,

me also in MNC le but that manager still commented stupid remarks =P

hmmm...KK A&E for those up till 22weeks if i dun rem wrongly. For 22weeks preg n above, have to go delivery suite le. This is wat is stated on my apptment card wo...mayb u wanna give them a call before u go dwn?

KK A&E: 63941199

KK Delivery Suite: 63941260

Val

Aiyo, really? I thought they have those like inpatient clinic for walk-in customers de? Yeah, will check it out. Thanks eh.

Vv:- I also monitoring my contraction & pains now.. And yes, abt 2x weeks de they most probably put me in the delivery suite cos the last time I had constipation they put me there after knowing I am actually 2x weeks. Before then I always go to their 24hrs clinic, nt A & E now, they change it to O & G le..

Remb to bring extra jacket cos its v cold there... =(

vv,

walk in de is A&E nia lo. Think they have another name for it - KK 24hrs Clinic which is also the A&E lo. hehhee.

Mommies

Thanks all. But I got this info from KKH; means what ah?

For expectant mothers who are at least 22 weeks into their pregnancy, and with concerns such as waterbag leakage, vaginal bleeding or signs of labour, please proceed to our Delivery Suite, located at Level 2 of Women's Tower, directly.

Kaykay

Oh issit? So u go to the delivery suite to do what ah?? They made u lie down arh? Then what are the charges like? Same like consultation fee?