(2011/05) May 2011

HI Mummies

long time no appear. I am back from Shanghai for almost 3 weeks in Singapore for the CNY holiday. supposed to go back last sun, but got to delay for a week as my 2 yr old gal kena hand foot mouth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. now i got to stay grounded at home to take care of her.

just wanna ask... is the glucose test in Singapore a compulsory thing or up to your gynae one? In Shanghai it is a standard test, but in singapore, i asked dr adrain about it and he say i dun need to do....???!! (initially intend to do in singapore since i am back).He say if my urine results ok then can skip wor... is that true?

val, apple,

guess tat i have to wait n see loh... if at later stage the bb is big... den got to consider c-section again... cos i dun intend to employ CL so really dun wish to go for c-section... later hard to take care of my bb...

Morning Mommies!

Split

I feel angry for u when I read your posts. You had already been very kind to your maid, gave her chance after chance and yet she dun appreciate; push her luck further. What I see is, she probably making fun of your boy to see his reaction. If for me, I will sure give her a piece of my mind straightaway without hesitation. U should start to look out for maids cos I personally feel that she may give u more problems later. By then if u wanna change maid, maybe a bit late liao; may clash wz your EDD & all.

I also hope am a SAHM.. Heeheee.

Yaer

Do u have maid @ home? If u have maid, dun really need CL. U have anyone to help u? Is this your 1st child?

Enchine

I did checked with my gynae nurses; if this GTT (GD test) is compulsory. They (the nurses very experienced) said, sometimes gynae may scheduled GTT/GD test due to other reasons, may not be becos of urine or BP. So for me, the nurses commented that, maybe my weight jump is a little on the high side lor.. for the last month, the weight increase was 3 KG. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dolly

Time pass fast this week! So did u ask your maid abt the used pc thingy last night?

Would like to ask anyone of u experienced stomach discomfort at times?

I had been feeling like some stomachache or some mild cramps that come and go since yesterday morning. The discomfort lingers for a while and go and come again, etc. Till today now, I still feel stomach abit pain here and there.

I realised when I start to walk a bit more OR slightly faster a bit (just a bit), I can feel some hardening of the abdomen.

{ANY ONE Experiencing the above?}

morning mummies... today is the 15th day of CNY, yuan xiao jie. Last day of CNY too, so this mean i can go buy shoes from tomorrow onwards.

Today is also my ger's lunar bday, need to go home early to celebrate for her. Got MIL to cook her mee suah with a big drumstick and 2 eggs! will try and get a cake after work. Just an excue for me to

VV: this GD test is not compulsory for my gynae but for my no.1 , my weight also sudden increase to 3kg during one of the visit, so i was put on it. I passed the test the 1st time too cos i know it was because i ate tooo much, thus the sudden weight gain.

How did u gain 3kg so suddenly? special food you taken the last month?

VV, my tummy discomfort is more when bb moves, sometimes, it can affect some nerves and cause discomfort and pain. U sure its not food poisoning? if unsure, call ur clinic and check.

Good morning..

Today is last day of CNY..time flies!!

Yesterday hb bought 2 durians home..yum yum I think durian season soon. Now the price still quite steep, I also dare not eat too much later bb big and weight also jump. I do not wish to go thru GD test :p

Wow starfruit, your gal borned on 15th of LNY?? The mee suah must be super yummy.

I also prepare home version of herbal chicken for dinner tonite and plan to boil mee suah to add in the soup..hehe

Starfruit

Yap, mine also not compulsory de. During my #1, I didnt have this GD test. This time #2, I was quite surprised when asked to got for GD test. I think I ate too much chocolates & everyday will eat sth for supper in Jan. Last year appetite was not good becos of MS & all. As for normal staple foods, I didnt eat anything extra, normal intake. Haz....

Yeah lor, dunno why leh. But no LS leh.

I see how tonight. If really pain persists after dinner, I may just pop by KKH Clinic instead. Becos my gynae not open in the night.

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv, the sypmtoms tat u described, i only hve it when i hve tummy pain (like want to LS) and go toilet after tat, ok liao...

vv : does it feel like mense cramp? if do, please go and check with your gynae..

i've yet talk to my maid yet about the pc thingy.. but understand from my mum that rgd their pay rise.. it's not yet confirmed lei.. cos of the maid levy.. if they increase their pay, gov got to reduce the maid levy.. does it sounds reasonable?

apple, yeah, i ate for 14 days of the CNY before delivering her on the 15th!!

wow your herbal chicken sounds delicious!

I was eating the durian paste at merchant court hotel on sunday, ate 2 big bowls!! hahaha.

Ash: i kept reminding myself not to buy shoes.. hahaha.. so now finally can buy. HB need to replace his shoes too.. so he can;t wait for CNy to be over.

VV: same for my #1's time, all of sudden in 3rd trimester, my appetite became super good and with no MS, thats why i had the sudden jump in weight. I think ur case similar to mine, so dun worry, results for your GD should be ok.

Hi mummies! Thanks for all the encouragement. I checked with my mum about her work yesterday and she said she was ok and was very hardworking. I saw her when i came back from work looking seriously tired. I think too long never work so hard liao... Haha... (sounds so evil...)

Well, I'm gonna observe her more lah.... still not so automatic at times but I'll wait and see. If she slack again then no more chance liao. Next monday will be the end of her 1st month. Hubby on leave and i already standby him to send her back if she still "eat snake" these few days...

starfruit - durian paste added sweetener..better don't consume too much! I think eat the real fruits better.

My home version of herbal chicken is simple all in one dish for us coz my maid still can't cook dinner for us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dolly - u better sound to your maid re the old laptop. She thinks ur hb is her resource of getting things for her meh! I'm surprised ur maid is so up-to-date ler coz normally Indon is a bit lay back type unless they have been expose to other countries like HK/TW. Re the salary of Indon maid, it is between employer & maid if u renew your maid, but for new maids the salary has been gradually adjusted. I heard some already set at $400.

vv - I forgotten to tell u, if u need to source for Phil, better do it now coz the process time is about 5-6weeks coz now all documentation gotta go thru their Embassy.

Hannah - all maids the same, after we "brush" them, they will tend to be more hardworking. Thereafter, the old pattern came back again! If u intend to send her back, don't let her know. Don't give her warning at all. Just get her out of the house without packing. U can always send in the baggage later to the agency.

starfruit...wow durian paste! i miss the one at merchant court hotel... the one in Rendevous Hotel also not bad, can taste the flesh.. so nice.. ever since i heard pple advising not to eat too much durians, bb will be too big.. i stopped.

what kind of herbal chicken soup are you all drinking? sounds nice? i duno how to cook chicken soup, also duno what herbs we can eat now..

Starfruit

Yeah lor, we have the same experience; my MS quite bad during 1st trimester. Didnt have a good time. But when come to 2nd trimester esp mid of it, my appetite super good. Hahahaaa... Thanks, hope really turn out to be fine, will keep u updated yeah.

Dolly

The pain not really menses pain but more like stomachache that kind of pain. At 1st I thought dunno issit like those early labour signs... Scared me last night.

Uhm, if they decrease the levy with increased pay, still not too bad lah. Some agencys are not following suit yet, I called up one yesterday - they said the maid pay will change weekly. So this week Indo maids @ $380-390 for them.

Hannah

Seems like your maid is a better now, hopefully she will stay the same. Maybe she "wakes up" le leh, realised must work harder so as to work longer to earn more $$.

Apple

Yeah, I intend to go down this weekend to see le. Yesterday I was browsing thru some websites, see those maids putting reason to come to SIN work, some put becos want earn more $$ for their kids education, some put want earn more money for dunno etc.. blah blah. Come back to reality, I dun understand why in the end, some maids forgotten their aim/goal & started to go out of the line.

starfruit: Yep, is transfer maid. =) I saw my bb on Monday liao! SO happy to see her grow and kick... And my #1 also saw her through the monitor... Dunno she understand or not.

apple: Ya, i am aware of that. I'm just thinking that if it's like she slack off after one or two months, i can understand. But if it's after a few days only ah, no need to keep liao.

I told my hb your method of sending maid back and he was impressed. We will execute it based on your recommendation. =)

vv: Hopefully lor... *cross fingers* I told her that it's good she worked hard yesterday and reminded her today to keep up the work. Hopefully she gets it....

apple, really ah, got sweetener.. gosh it was so delicious!!

bunnymum, that was my 1st time there and 1st time trying as well. I have heard so much about it.. hahah and it was indeed delicious!.. haha

Hannah

Yeah, hope she will. But u still need to monitor.

Apple

Yeah man! Ever since my maid knows she can go home earlier, she started to be hardworking nowadays. Why leh, becos can go home le mah, so work a few more months, no need to slog liao. KNS hor.

Bunnymum

So far, I cooked white chicken or black chicken soup. I only put Red Dates (Seedless de) & Wolfberries nia. U can try, very tasty and nutirtious.

starfruit - yea! Orchard hotel sometimes also serving durian puree on their buffet spread and my colleague told me they added sweetener to make it more tasty..faint!!

vv - at least she is hardworking k and not slack like u wanna whip her up! usually when maids know that u wanna sent them off or going home they will "keng" and slack on their work :p

morning ladies.

paulyn,

sorry i cant give u much advises on pumps coz aft i give up on medela swing, i nv tried out other pumps already. I trust my own hands better.

however, my friends who tried FreeStyle has high recommendation for it coz it has stronger motor. some of my friends also used manual pump. so i dun have much personal exp or advise on other pumps to recommend u.

mayb some of the mummies here may be able to help u out.

dolly,

usually those who dun have family commitment tend to be more of a workaholic le...she stays so long in office then hw cum she didnt help u out with the stuffs??

vv,

2nd week aft cny break that my boy fuss n cry...dun even wan my mum to send him to sch and resist to go sch...headache for me...

hmm..sometimes i have stomache discomfort but it goes off the next day wo.

yest evening went to see my gynae. baby at 1.1kg..and my weight gain quite consistent now - 1mth 2kg. so total 4kg for 7mths le. my gynae told me its normal for me to feel the kicks n movements are low or lower than #1 time as uterus n muscle looser aft delivery of #1 but it doesnt means low placenta la...so ok lo.

next gynae visit will be booking hosp package le =P

starfruit,

during cny cant buy shoes?

my dad cooking a feast tonite. =)

happy lunar bday to ur gal =)

RE: durian

hehehe. i will start to feast abit on durian aft my gynae visit then control abit before the next visit =P

Good morning mummies!!

Vv:- I also have the same thing happen to me last 2weeks, but condition better le, maybe due to our bowel loosen or weaker now, preparing for labour le yea..

I tot scare early labour signs.. =(

Then nowadays experience a bit menses pain at my hip & leg-joint area.. So pain.. Cramp loh.. Walk le will pain loh.. Esp the bones near cervix..

Apple

Yeah, some will chut pattern / spots and kay siao keng. Maybe becos Im more to the fierce type, she a little scared of me lah. Heeheee... But I know some Maids very KL de. Haz, now keeping fingers crossed for my new maid (again). Sianz.

Val

I think your boy having some separation anxiety... Maybe u try to talk to your boy again and ask him why dun wan your Mom send him to sch and also why dun wan school. My boy more weird. Today 2nd day he cried in the sch and refused to stay in the sch. When walking him to sch, still ok. But come to reached school, very sticky to me. Haz.

Oh ok, so bb low a bit is normal ah. Haz, the discomfort is making me very tired. And lazy to walk nowadays. I already done my pre-admission & book hospital package le few days ago when I was doing my GD test, got free time so go n book 1st.

Durians, Only eat that durian roll and dun dare eat any more liao, cos my gynae appt is next TUE. Better control abit. Haz, dun remember I have this control last time during #1 leh.

Kaykay

Really arh, then how u cope? My calf there also feel pain suddenly and esp if I walked too much. I dunno if can dong anot @ Taka Baby Fair. Haz.

starfruit : nope we only buy things like panadol other than that she has to buy at her own expense.. i'm quite shocked too..

apple : maybe she saw us has few laptops at home.. so tell her daughter about laptop so tell my hb that her daughter also wants a laptop.. told my mum y'day nite about her request.. she's shock too..

will ask her during the weekends...

vv : hope the goverment will adjust the maid levy during the budget...

val : ya la... she knows i'm not around for almost two weeks, didn't even bother to help me with those filings.. just let those documents lying on my intray... worst still, she'll come to my intray to search for documents.. after searching.. just left the mess behind and walk away... my hb told me that's a typical m'sian... i'm so pissed off...

vv,

yes, he is facing separation anxiety but this is 2nd week aft cny le...he was ok n have settled in sch prior to tat...so now all of a sudden again...he says teachers angry with him but i spoke to the teachers and they told me they arent angry with him but with his classmate...he wans only me to send n fetch him and to be in his sch lo...i am nt sure if its coz he can sense meimei coming soon thus he behaves like this. The teachers have assured me nthing happened in sch...so i am giving him more time to get used to sch n etc...just hope he will get better la...

My gynae says is normal la and he assure me placenta nt low lo. He expert i not expert so i just listen la. hahaha! My gynae dun let me book till i am officially in my 32weeks lo. And i also ask him to cfm again is gal as i wanna buy clothes the he laffed at me. did the scan tell me cfm can pink clothes. haahah.

Oh, since u have gynae apptment next tues u better control abit still. aft tt then feast =P

val, my girl same as yr boy.. after CNY go back to school quite cranky and fussy.. this week onwards is ok than last week except she said tat she dun want to go to school and no friends for her (last week cried and this week only fussy). Asked her why and she said tat she's upset tat her friends dun finish their food or dun listen to teachers (i'm thinking what has it got to do w her).. yesterday she even tells me tat she dun like her form teacher as she smacked her.. when i took my girl and asked the teacher, my girl shook her head and said no such thing.. almost fainted and cried as she dun want to go home yesterday as she's watching "Aladdin" and wants to finish the show before going off. Arrugh.. the teacher asked me whether there's any major change or event at home tat caused her behaviour.. sigh... super sian..

Vv:- there nth I can do but to rest in bed.. Now I am experiencing the sharp pain at my cervix de bone there.. Like bones gonna break soon! Arghh.. My gramdma still ask me go walk.. So pain.. Lie in bed first.. Maybe is becos baby sitting on some parts.. Keep kicking me.. =(

My baby kicks getting stronger that now will pain le lurhx.. =(

auroa,

quite headache for us when they behave like tat lo. for me, nthing much major at hm le. everyday have to rush to wk aft sending him to sch...then rush hm to assure him i will be hm on time =/

then my mum says, bcoz i am too close to him thus he fuss n cries for me. -_-'''

Dolly - My maid also told me she has FB & email a/c, I just pretend never hear her..haha coz I don't wanna offer her to use our laptop.

Val - I think he is still facing seperation anxiety, also attn seeking coz he knows meimei coming out soon.

My gal is getting excited over didi coming out soon but I can sense after I delivered, she will tends to have jealousy & so on coz now she has the whole wide world at home.

Dolly

Hope so, but how much can they lower... Haz. Heard they have a new package coming up for parenthood during this Budget. So see what this govt got instore.

Your colleague sounds very messy and lazy type wor. You should tell her off leh, cos she comes to your desk find things but made a mess out of it.

Val

Same here lor. My boy also suddenly these 2 days cry. Eh, come to think of it, our boys seem to have same "anxiety"?? I also thought maybe he can sense meimei coming soon. At 1st I thought of asking the teachers, but 2nd thoughts, I just put it off cos I dun think its the school problem leh. My boy doesnt seem to be able to give me any reason. Whenever I asks him, he just brushed it off but throwing temper.

Heeheee, actually my plan is also to ask my gynae to double confirm the gender next Tue too leh. Cos till now, I havent really buy much things. I only ordered carters bodysuits long & short de.

Ya la, we have to trust our gynae yeah.

My gynae dont have package de, so the package I booked is actually the bed package - used credit card to secure the package price. But room based on 1st come 1st serve lor.

Kaykay

Just now I experienced the same pain too, sharp pain at the cervix pelvic area too. Haz.

dolly,

thot msians usually quite hardwking de? normally when u are on leave, does she help u?

apple,

the separation anxiety came along due to cny long weekend? coz before tat he was ok le.

i am nt sure if my boy is excited abt meimei's arrival or nt but so far he has been a nice korkor. sometimes he just out of a sudden will kiss my tumtum and says "meimei". at times he will sayang my tumtum and at times he will sing to meimei. When i told him i am buying clothes for him and ask if i can buy for meimei, he says yes.

Yes, i agree with u. I am sure when the younger one comes along sure will be jealous no matter how well we have prepared them. COz they have to share attention and parents with the younger one le.

vv,

talk abt new package for parenthood...tml will be budget announcement! hehehe.

i will sit my boy down n talk to him n ask him lo. And i actually speak to the teachers daily whenever i am there to find out if somewhere something went wrong...In a way gd as the teachers also help me to talk to my boy so when at hm, he will tell me "teachers say mummy got to work cant go sch. I am a big boy i cant cry. AH ma bring me go sch bring me home". hahaha. mayb u sld talk to the teachers n have them talk to ur boy too.

wah! at least u ordered bodysuits le. i havent. hehehehe. Now can start to shop for korkor as well as meimei le. hehehe.

my gynae dun have consultation package. its the hosp/bed package in which i book him for delivery and the bed/ward. upfront 1x cash payment then the rest will be medisave =P will go for 1 bedded still this time rd =)

vv : she's indeed very messy... i can't comment that she's lazy coz she's gave pple impression that she's very hardworking... coming back to work even on leave... or even half day leave, she'll work till 4-6pm... my boss & other team heads favorite her so much...

val : she only help out if those needs to follow up but doesn cover those filing, opening up of mails from customer/supplier.. she'll just mess up my table/intray when i'm not around...

dolly,

mayb next time when u go on leave, u email her if u nd her to do filing etc. And ask her to keep your intray tidy. CC ur boss. Black n white =P

dolly - Your co mgmt concept abit out eventhough u were at foreign bank. To me, ppl who stay back and come back even on-leave to clear her work is consider inefficient. I think if she works under me, her rating will be very bad..haha

My co some dept also practice this way coz the boss is workaholic, but the subordinate will be suffer! Lucky my boss is pro-family and flexi, or else I think long ago I tender liow.

Lately we just had a case, I seriously having doubt how pro my HR is..haha how can a HR communication with significant error yet publish to the whole AP..faint big time.

Anyway I'm thinking whether shd I stay put after ML or heading elsewhere coz I was head hunted recently with such an attractive package which I know my co can never match, but the other hand, am I going to lose my flexi here bcoz of $$! sigh..

apple,

dun mind me asking. Assuming u take 4mths 1 shot n intend to resign aft ML, do u resign on the 3rd mth of ML or u will tender aft 4mths of ML?

got to see which is more attractive/impt to u ba - flexibility or $$.

apple : that's what my hb said too... to him, she's consider inefficient too...

val : haiz.. don't know what to say... these shouldn't be spelled out... it's really up to her if she's initiative enough to help out.. when i'm covering her.. i'll try to keep her desk clean & tidy... have been working together for so many months.. she should know le, isn't it?

DOlly

I agree with Val. U should list down the things u need her to follow up on email when u gonna go on leave or MC. Sometimes just have to be hard on these pple, otherwise, she will be in her own comfort zone forever de. Then somemore now she is the apple of your bosses' eyes. The more u should back your ownself up. The impression I have of her is like; she is rather sickening right?

Val

Haz, talk about talking to the teachers. Dun need le lah. The current form teacher is very fake lor. Thats also one of the reason why I decide to pull him out of this CC. In fact, on TUE when I went to the CC to complete registration - I find the receptionist & principal so nice to talk to. I hope it will be a good start for my boy.

Aiya, cos I thought prepare bit by bit first. But I havent book confinement food, post-natal massage, and also havent buy the rest of the stuffs. I intend to buy the rest at Taka Fair. And wash bb clothes by April.

Hee, me too. I booked single bed this time too. Cos I think thats the only time we can rest, so we must pamper ourselves ma. After discharge, bo time to rest le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dolly,

sometimes no choice if they dun get it then have to spell it out in black n white to cover urself.

Sometimes, partner may be initiative enuff to help out but sometimes when u get 1 tat is not, then have to specified lo. Better to be specified la and give instructions in b&w so there will nt be any disputes. I learnt this the hard way too. So now i will give specified instructions in B&W, cc my boss also altho we have been working tog for yrs.

vv : exactly.. imagine that your buddy is a m'sian.. your appraisal will look very bad if the boss will to compare the two of you togehter... if he prefer someone to work behind at extra longer hour...

apple / vv : my maid's daughter has a fb account.. but no sure whether she has it?

Va|: Cannot do anything during maternity leave. What i did for #1 was that I tendered on the 1st day i went back to work after maternity leave and then used my leave to minus off the month i need to serve. Some companies may just decide to let you go without serving notice coz they dun wanna waste the time to get you to lobo...

Hannah,

oh. cant tender during ML ah? I thot possible as 1 of the mummies from my another thread tendered on her 3rd mth of ML and served the 1 mth notice as the 4th mth ML. So i thot is ok =P

For my #1, i also tendered on my 1st day back but my boss kept me and worked some flexible arrangement so i stayed.

dolly,

can get a partner who is zi dong is bonus la. But still, i think its best to spell things out in b&w. Its gd for u coz if anything goes wrong, u have b&w to cover urself rather than ur partner says u nv give specified instructions lo. just take it as part of ur scope to tell her exactly wat to do ba. aft all, diff ppl diff style too.

val : true lor... well, have to protect myself le.. no choce by writing all in b&w... this week when i'm back to my workstation... really faint... don't even have time to go for toilet break... rite now, have cleared most of the reports & backloads...

val, i sort of suspect izzit bcos tat bb is coming tat my girl is behaving differently nowadays... sometimes she will pull up my shirt and said bb naughty and smack my tummy or sometimes she will tell bb tat she loves him and kiss my tummy... *scatch* i dun know whether she's affected or overjoyed abt it but she definintely dun like it when i tell her tat bb kicks me and she will even scold bb not to kick mummy and even said "u naughty, dun kick mummy, i dun like u", etc words lor

apple, my neigbour also headhunted and tendered resignation in Dec (she wants to spend more time w her toddler son) and now with the new company. She said tat the new co promised her flexi working hrs and of course, the package is good too. Thus, she joined them but hor, in the end, she work even later than last time and even need to work on suns too. I guess u might need to weight the pros and cons before coming to a decision.

vv, me 2 haven order the confinement food and some of the bb's stuff. I finished buying bb clothings, including full mth celebration clothings too.. super KS.. i also plan to wash the old bb clothings in april.. hope still got time to do it

dolly, yr colleague sounds like my previous dept colleague... always seem hardworking in front of others, work beyond working hrs and seems to be very prompt.. only our dept knows tat she slow in her work and not able to perform.. whenever she got probs, she will ask us or ask us to help, when comes to claim credit, she will said she did on it on her own.. *phew*