(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Enmummy: my boy makes the very "sng" face when I gave him a sour kiwi too... Damn funny.. And immediately he closed his mouth tight when I tried to give him another pc.. Haaa ... Actually seeing their every ittle expressions really make our day.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmmmm the crabstick menu seems yummy.. Wana go try for my boy too..

you are welcome babywonder! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sorry no i haven't used marmite before...i usually use silverfish powder or scallop stock...or sometimes just natural stock from the mushrooms i put...

evelyn: ya lor so funny hor...i never get tired of seeing their little faces! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so kissable...hehe...

enmummy : I hv been using silverfish and soyabeans all these while to cook her porridge, maybe tts y she has gotten tired..hmmm... she's still on Soy milk now and I think i gotta postpone her MMR tmr again.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

junvis : Im still pondering whether to buy anot..haizzz... everytime walk past the shelf at the supermarkets i will paused at it for awhile... pls share if its gd once u start to give ur bb ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thks!

Hi mummies.. Does marmite contains any MSG or any other preservatives..? Have always wanted to buy and put in my bb porridge too. But my hubby says NO.. Coz he feels hv alot of MSg in it.. Haha my hubby seems more fussy than me..

Enmummy - Ya they are so huggable and kissable.. Cant help kissing my boy everyday esp his cheeks.. Muahaaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bluesoda: Does ur bb like Marmite??? Hmmm... I was oso

thinking whether it contains alot of MSG too... but I know Marmite is yummy when mixed with porridge.. :p

My girl took MMRV last Wed, had fever (~38deg) since yesterday (started day 7), hope she recovers soon so that can bring her out for shopping. What about any mummy here experience the same case and until which day the fever will be gone?

haha! now our kiddos are into another phase of their life and mummies have to be veri bz improvising their menu...can b quite a headache cracking what to cook..

yup my mum gave my son marmite. But can b veri salty.Juz put a little for taste..Even i eat the marmite, i find it is veri salty..use natural source for taste will be the best [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, talking abt MMRV.

My ger took it on 21Feb and got fever on the 2nd day of dose and got it again on 7/8/9th day. Today is the 9th day and she's still got fever this am. I called the nurse to ask why fever so many days, she said some kids can have fever up to a week depending on child. Her fever is about 37.8-38 and comes on and off after about 6hours interval from med.

Any bb also experiencing fever like mine?

Gd morn mummies! If bb who has fever after taking MMRV can try giving them Ling Yang water...

I always give my girl pao sheng water before injection. Then, after jab, i will give her Ling Yang water. So far (touch wood), my girl never experience fever after taking jab.

Babywonder: Marmite should be fine for baby. It is 100% natural is better than adding salt. Anyway, just add a little to the porridge for flavouring. You can try dried scallop. My girl now prefer dried scallop to marmite.

Bluesoda : Thks!! Shall try it out soon! My ger was suppposed to go for MMR today but postpone it till nxt tues n hope everything turns out well... Btw, I understand there are many types of Ling Yang so which to give?? Thks!

Babywonder: ya dried scallop is easy...just add some water n boil 1-2 (if big size ones)....let it cool...break it into smaller parts n store in a glass container in fridge...then scoop some everytime into ur porridge (scallop & stock together)....or u can chop a fresh brown mushroom into porridge for instant mushroom stock...it goes very well with pumpkin...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah anyone at motherhood sale...the q is crazy!!! Last year i din even need to q....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hapiee - thanks for info, noted. Hope fever goes off soon!

Bluesoda - yupz i also gave ginseng before each jab but this MMRV too power liao, still kena fever. I got lingyang but my ger very problematic she recently had hives so i dare not anyhow give food that she has not taken before. I guess even fish also cause her diarrhea, faintz.

Babywonder: Go to chinese medical hall and they will tell u which ling yang is gd for babies.. Some medical hall only hv those pre-packed ones. I got those fresh from the bottle. The person told me its btr for babies.. Those pre-packed type are good for adult n older children.. But I really dunno just listen. So far my boy hv ling yang one day before his jab and on the day after his jab.. So far so good.. Touch wood no fever [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh I heard the crowd at the Mothercare sale is scary.. Its like a mess there.. Haha like machiam everything is free..

Enmummy& Evelyn: This for the advises n info!!! I will try to add in her porridge n see if she wants [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Shall go to my neighbourhood medical n ask them abt the Ling yang..

I think everytime sale is like kena tornado type...everything so messy n sooo many ppl.... haha...

Preparation for childcare:-

Can those mummies whose bb going to childcare share how you all prepare your bb for their 1st sch?

Im now trying to adjust the sleeping and nap time so that my girl can wake up early for sch. And im training my girl to eat on her own. eg biscuits and small pieces of bread. As for the pacifier, she still need pacifier at nite.

Bluesoda, I have not prepare Xhin for anything yet. He will be in cc in July. Currently his nap time is at 2pm to 3+, while I understand normally nap time at cc is from 1-3pm. So, I think still ok. I am just worry about the meal nia. Cos most cc encourage solid food and will avoid preparing milk for toddler. But in case your child still on milk alot, probably can highlight to the teacher. My boy is also not toilet train yet. But I believe if he is still not toilet train by then, the teacher is able to help out. And ya, he is still not able to feed himself with a spoon yet, just play with it very kiam. He normally will use fingers to pick up bread and put into the mouth.

Have not posted for awhile.

Saw the Nan Pro 3 having an offer at NTUC. Where you get a carton and can get a ybike. Anyone knows how it works? Lucky draw or all will get? Nan Pro 3 is out of stock at 2 NTUC I went!!

My girl is going IFC at LV now. Thinking of switching her for playgroup. Anyone knows if growing up gifted has Full day Programme and cost?

It's alive again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Koori: hope your girl's fever subsided. There may be outbreak of rash FYI.

Ermmm: GUG has Nursery classes right to k2. If I'm not wrong it's only half a day. My friend's kids go there. She said her kids are happy.

Bluesoda and Junvis - my boy will be entering CC in Apr when he turns 17mths. Manage to get mcys special approval.

I,too didnt train him. But tis 2 wks he show signs of droping his morning nap and taking onli 1 nap anytime btw 1pm to 3pm. and nap for 2 hours. I suppose his body is fine tuning..

As for toliet train, mine too, issit train yet but i ask the teacher in the CC, they says its ok. i believe most CC will help to train.

As for milk, my boy's cc says we must highlite them should we wan to gv our own formula, otherwise they will serve their brand of full cream nespray (not sure how to spell)to the kidds.

And if u are fetching ur kiddos late,like after 6pm, she oso advise me to put extra qty of milk or bites in my kiddo's bag as their in house cook will knock off at 4pm. There after, there will be no food.

Ermmm- Heard GUG is good but its usually quite full for weekend programs. I dun tink there is full day programme. Its those like 2 or 3 days a week classes, duration of 2 hrs or so each time.. So I guess its good for those SAHM.. Guess working mums can only bring their kids for the weekend classes... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

GUG : yup, checked with a friend and found that its only half day. Maybe will send her for kindergarten and convince my mum to take care of her for the other half.

Nan pro 3 - ybike promo : it's a nestle promo where can get a free ybike for first 200 households with purchase of 6 Tins of milk powder. Can find on Nestlé website. Started on 1 march. Hopefully, I'm within the first 200!

R ur babies walking? Mine still love to hold the furniture, n support, refuse to let go. If they have to move still crawling, anyone's bbs still like tt?

hi caro...how old is your baby now? mine just started walking too...when she is 16 months day one...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my girl also refuse to let go of our hands and furniture for the longest time...but one night she raised her hands up (like "surrender" position like that...haha) and walk 7-8 steps from one point to another a few times...then the next day "officially" she started walking liao...she dun even realize she is not holding onto anything...it will occur quite suddenly when your baby feels ready...don't worry too much...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yupzz enmummy is right! When bbs know they're ready, definitely they'll surprise u! Mine doesn't really like to hold our hands n whenever I do so she'll try all ways to struggle free n end up with a fall when she walks too fast ... as thgh there's no braking system installed... lol...

ya babywonder...now that they know how to walk they dun wan to be restricted liao...very headache when go out...hahaha....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh ya caro, you are the mummy with twins isit? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] or am i mistaken?

hi mummies, to update my girl's fever due to MMRV injection. Finally, it is over liao! It takes exactly 5-days to recover, what a relief!

My girl is now able to walk herself, she likes to walk "slope" and "step" very much, don't know why, hehe

May I ask here, do your turn on air-con when your boy/girl sleep during the night?

Anyone can PM me the facebook link? Thx

Caro: all babies develop differently. There must be something that your girl already are at it and ours half-way there or haven't even started. Don't worry, a few other mummies' babies also started to walk only at 15/16 months.

Mbgirl: good to hear that your Bb is well now. Take care.

mbgirl: glad that your girl is fine now....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my girl sleeps in air con too....every nite...why do you ask?

Hi enmummy: bcos my girl can't really sleep soundly throughout the nite, she will "awake" in the middle of the nite, and she likes to scratch her body or her hand. She don't like to cover blanket as well, I think she is a girl that get warm easily. Normally we turn on fan and air con together, fan is more for room ventilation, air con temp set at 25 or 24 (more comfortable), what about your case?

P/s: thanks everyone for the concern [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mbgirl: we also on the aircon at 25 degrees....its very cold for us already...hehe...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and i still dress her in long pants, long sleeves and socks! haha...with a light blanket...think your girl is likely feeling warm...or is she scratching because she is itchy? bedsheets and pillowcase have to change often too...my girl also will whine in the night...but most likely it is because her pacifier drop out or she wants to drink milk...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Carol - Different babies walk at different time.. Its ok. My mum told me that when I was young.. I started to walk fully on my own only when I was near 24 mths.. Haaaa so no need to hurry and rush your babies to walk.. Oh but my baby started walking on his own at 15 months.. Faster walker than mummy.. Keke..

Mbgirl - Great to hear your baby is well..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For me till now my baby dun sleep in aircon coz didnt want him to get used to sleeping in aircon only.. So every night he is dressed lightly and only the fan is switched on. He will whine and turn n flip but usually its also bcoz his pacifier dropped.

Enmummy: it's really a headache ESP when we're outside.. we hv to chase after her everytime she let go of her hand!!

My hb gotta dismantled our bed n her cot cos she's always trying to climb out of it plus our bed is high it's so scary when I see her climb out!! No choice heart pain oso must dismantle n make it Japanese style.. ^_^|||

My boy still loves to be carried.. Lazy boy walks and runs awhile and open his arms to be wana carried.. Aiyos my poor back is breaking..

Babywonder - My bed has alrdy been japanese style long time back after he fell off from our high bed.. Heartpain..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Now we hv a King size mattress and a single size mattress on the flr.. Haha big enough for him to roll all over.. At least we feel safer now.. ;)

babywonder: ya lor...sometimes she want to walk her own way very difficult to control...i feel like i am the "dog" on her leash...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hahaha....

sleeping

i hope my girl don't outgrow her bed too soon...still headache where to place her...for us sleeping on the floor is not very possible cos' our room very small...unless i put her in her own room and i sleep with her...but that will incur two room's air con cost..$$ leh...also worried she will wake up and wander around without me knowing...have to baby proof the room totally oso headache...haha...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

enmummy: Ya feels like I'm d 跟班,gotta follow everywhere the master goes... arghhhh..... sooo tiring... lol...

Btw, my room is oso very small so no choice been squeezing here n there eversince ... ^_^|||

Enmummy: I don't think my girl is itchy, maybe yes or maybe become a habit, sometime when she saw downstair auntie, she will afraid and start stratching

Evelyn: Wow sleep without aircon, means you can save a lot of $$ ;) Also, same situation as you, king size mattress with single size mattress, and my girl like to walk up and down, training her balancing on steps, she seems enjoying...

"Headache" now, these few days, my girls seems scare or afraid of water or what, dunno why, keep crying and dun want to shower in the plastic bath tub, before that, she was okay and enjoying sitting in the warm water but just what a sudden. Any mum here experience this? What time normally your toddler shower and how you normally wash her hair?

Mbgirl- Ya save alot of $$ hor.. Hehe But its also lucky that my hse is very windy oso.. So the aircon is like a white elephant now.. Actually single size matress was for daddy to slp coz my boy slp with me on the king bed since birth.. Daddy scared he slp until conked and smash onto his boy without knowing. Then I oni moved the bed dwn from the divan after he fell dwn the bed while sleeping.. *scared* so now both mattress are together so he roll all over.

My mum still carry him to shower his head 1st like when he was a baby..(like sleeping position) Then after that put him to stand on the non slip bath mat and shower his body.. My mum showers him in the morning betwwen 8.30am-9.30am depending on wat time he wakes up. Then night time its oni wipe down.. Maybe your baby dun like the water to be running dwn his face or something. Now my boy will play with the shower head oso.. Maybe u can try that to keep your baby entertained while showering too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

evelyn: ya so envy you can save a lot of $$...my place at low floor so we are scared of mosquitoes and liz so i always on the air con to sleep to have a peace of mind...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mbgirl: i still wash my girl's hair "barber" style...lying position if possible...unless i have to bathe her straight after she poops...then i have no choice but to wash her hair at sitting position....she dun like the water in her eyes and face too and will cry...but no choice...i just try to keep it minimal but wiping the water off her face as much as possible...hehe...anyway its just for that 30 seconds or so....i bathe my girl around 10 am and 5 pm twice a day then wipe down b4 bedtime...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] try to use distraction methods...maybe a floating duckie or a small cup for her to pour water...my girl likes to squeeze the water from the cloth...self entertain...hahaha...

Mbgirl: did you try adding bath toys and books? Or even bubblebath? Just a 5 min soak will make them very happy.

Mbgirl : My girl had this phase as well. Happened when she was sick with false measles. There was 1 night where we bathed her with cold water to bring down her temp. From then on, she cried whenever she bathed. Just non-stop (even with pacifier in her mouth)... We just had to bear with it and quickly bathe her... She is fine once sickness was done... Now she is happily bathing with bath toys and books and a small tub of water for her to play (not to soak). How about trying bubblebath? Even a little bubble in the small tub of water for my girl to play with, she is happy..

Can I ask hor, does any of ur babies refuse to speak?

My girl till now (16 mths in a few days), refuses to speak. Not even Papa, Mama, Por Por, Gong Gong, tutu (paci), cat, dog, ball anything!

She only does "mom mom" (food) IF she feels like it.

Any of ur little precious like tat?

Should I start to worry?

Pls share? Thanks!

sheepy: hmm not too sure about this...my girl can call papa, mama, ah ma, say mum mum, bubbles...and she is quite "talkative" in her baby language...maybe your girl is more nei4 xiang4? do caregivers speak to her often throughout the day? cos' its impt to stimulate their thoughts and speech....maybe other mummies can share too...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmmm... my Ger dun say much too even when she talks it's in her own bb language which we dun understand...haha.. she can only say papa, mama( but very seldom nowadays) mom -mom... tts all...