(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Thanks mommies.

Ya i was so tempted to try egg yolk for my girl since it is rich in protein but yet scare she might have allergies. Will try it out this weekend.. Afterall sooner or later she has to try it out ya.. So fast after next mth, all nov babies are going 1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

ya another quests! Just feed the egg yolk alone? or can add into porridge becos egg yolk tends to be dry when having it alone. I scare my girl might reject.

Baby2010

I found purple sweet potatoes at ntuc and at wet markets. At ntuc (I found them in normal ntuc as well as ntuc finest), they will label purple sweet potatoes. If you go to wet markets, just ask the veg seller if they have it. I also heard that sweet potatoes will have gas, but after monitoring, there's not much difference for my bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My bb is 10mths 1wk. Porridge used to be for lunch, and cereal for dinner. Started to give porridge for dinner as well since last week.

Yupz, frozen green peas from ntuc. I boil them and add them to the porridge just before feeding.

Jolyn

I also add egg yolk into porridge. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My bb loves it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

junvis: i oso like mummywong never really take note of 3 day rule already now that baby is bigger...hehe...cos' so far her tolerance of new foods is ok...but i will avoid seafood like prawns and crabs as for now...and i will oni give her "new" food during day time so can monitor for any reactions...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jolyn: if you feeding egg yolk oni its a good idea to mix in cereal or porridge...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummywong: my girl takes so long to chew a piece of egg white lor..so i lazy mummy prefer to stir the egg into the porridge...hehe...think it also smells more heavenly this way...haha..

baby2010: what is "busuk"? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

to answer your earlier question...these are a couple of combinations i usually cook for baby...

you can make your own permutations depending on what you have in your fridge [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1) spinach + carrot

2) broccoli + carrot

3) pumpkin + egg

4) pumpkin + potato

5) cabbage + carrot

6) broccoli + potato

7) spinach + egg

8) cabbage + potato + carrot

9) cauliflower + carrot

10) cauliflower + egg

11) pumpkin + tofu

12) cabbage + tofu

i will add either pork + fish (and let her eat the fish), only chicken or only pork to each combination...i try not to cook the same thing for both meals so that she will not get sick of it...so far my girl gives me a lot of "face"...hehe..always finish every drop of her porridge...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also hardly add fruit puree to her porridge/ cereal...now i usually give her separate fruit breaks after lunch/ dinner...

about potatoes/ sweet potatoes, i think as long as you don't give your bb the same thing a few days in a row should be ok ba...everything in moderation is best... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby2010

Hope it helps! hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] For my porridge, I'll normally put 1 protein plus 2 veg. Protein will be either chicken, fish, tofu or egg. Veg can be any combi, but I'll put 2 different colour veg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

enmummy: the vege u add in porridge is vege puree? or fresh vege cook with porridge together?

if u are using fresh vege to cook then did u feed the vege to your baby? i am add vege puree so that my baby can eat the vege puree.

angel: me too , i try mix 2 kind of color of vege and meat/pork/fish in the porridge.

Mummywong:

Egg ingredient is present in both MMR jab and flu jab. I delayed my #1's MMR jab till she's 18mths old bec she was allergic to egg white (discovered just after her 1st birthday), although she's fine with the yolk. I will delay #2's MMR jab too. Also, yet to start #2 with yolk, shall try soon, and will try out the White on her ard 15months old.

Jolyn: egg yolk can be fed as bf also with some bread. Just add a little unsalted butter and sprinkle a little Parmesan cheese, it's yummy. If you are daring enough, try mayonnaise. Taste very good. Can also mix with tuna.

Spinach and egg yolk porridge is good too.

Baby2010

I fed the fresh veg (diced)to my bb together with the porridge.

Jo

Ur bread with egg yolk suggestion sounds yummy! I'll try it this weekend. :D

Heinz Pasta Stars, actually some normal NTUC is selling also. i bought mine from Paya Lebar NTUC.

Eggs in porridge, do you serve like half boiled egg or hard boiled egg into the porridge?

Jo, for mayonnaise, what brand is ok for children? I bought the Jap brand Kewpie, but not sure if I can give it to her.

Baby2010

Hehe, nope. FTWM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Heinz Pasta Stars

I bought mine at Tanjong Pagar NTUC. hehe

Eggs in porridge

I hard boil the egg then take the yolk out to mix into porridge. Read that there may be some harmful bacteria in eggs, so better to fully cook them before giving to infants.

baby2010: i grate/dice/chop most veg into very small pieces, except for broccoli which i still blend and freeze as ice cubes cos' i think it is quite hard...hehe...i try not to blend until too fine though cos' baby needs more textured food now...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs lee: although i stir the eggs into porridge, but i make sure it is cooked thoroughly before serving...don't think its wise now to serve half cooked eggs cos' our babies still young...

mummies, are your babies taking 2 or 3 naps a day now? i am thinking of cutting my girl's nap to twice a day cos' she is sleeping way too late at night...:p

enmummy

Mine take 2 naps a day. Once around 9.30am-11am, the second one from 2.30pm - about 4.30pm. He sleeps around 8.30pm at night, wakes up about 6.30-7am.

yes mummy.egg beta be well cooked b4 fed to baby.

my mum went to feed my boy with half boil egg plus bread,immediately his mouth swell (red),at night i notice his body started to have red dots (resembles allergy)

Heng now subside liao..

i always cook hardboil egg and mesh the yolk inside the porridge or i cook steam egg ( egg yolk + white) and feed him.. With steam egg, i will omit the porridge, i will feed him tog with pumkin,carrot or sweet potatoes. ..

your baby need atleast 12 -13hhr of sleep a day so as long as add up is 12hr is ok but of cos to sleep early is gd for baby and parent. My son now 18mth he sleep 2 nap a day 11.30am -12.30, 4.30pm- 5.30pm then at nite he sleep 10am set him to roll on bed around 10.30pm will fall asleep till morning 8am or 9am.

Naps: my Bb is still taking 2 naps. One in am- 1000-1100, the other 1300-1500. He sleeps at 730 at night and wakes up 7-730am the next day. They will drop naps as they grow, The first nap to go is the morning one.

Whim: I use jap ones also but give with discretion cos mayo has eggs as an ingredient.

Angel: try it! It's nice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I love exploring with food. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs Lee: I've tried both. Some dishes break the yolk and create 蛋花 over the porridge are nicer. Like spinach with eggs and beef with broccoli.

Jo > hw to brk yolk in the dishes if its nt cooked? Its difficult to seperate yolk n white whn uncook leh. Plus difficult to b 100% sure tat thers no whites whn seperated. I also wan2 jus put uncook egg yolk in. Cos cn mak cooking easier. :p

naps

thanks angel and jo for sharing...no wonder la...my bb still taking 3 naps sometimes and the last one can be as late as 5-6 pm! so on such days she can sleep as late as 11pm...:p...i already peng san liao she still very energetic..haha...i tried delaying her afternoon nap for the past week to about 2-3 pm and she can sleep about 2 hours or so thus skipping her evening nap and i notice at night she seemed to sleep earlier....i think it is working well and will continue this way then...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby2010, I usually use chicken stock. I remove e chicken skin when cooking e stock and also remove e solidified fat (if u put chicken stock in e fridge overnight). There s v little fat this way.

Chris, u can try separating egg yolk and whites by cracking e egg and pouring egg yolk into 1 half of e egg shell. Just pour e egg yolk between e 2 half of e shell and egg white will slowly trickle out.

Not sure if I m doing a good job explaining, but if u play cooking mama, u will know wat I mean.

Sorry to interrupt.

Oh, what a noisy zoo tickets.

=============================

May I know if any Mummy has 4 tickets on 23 Oct, Sunday, 11am that you are willing to exchange with me? I'll be most grateful for that. Or else I will just have to sell these 4 tickets and my kids won't get to watch the play. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm willing to meet you anywhere to do the exchange. THANK YOU!

Please PM me for my hp.

Mrs Lee & Junvis: was wondering what kind of pasta sauce can bb eat the pasta with? i bought a pack at sembawang NTUC and was wondering what i can do with tat?

Ermmm: is there any pasta sauce is specially for baby?

U just steam or boil the pasta n mix with puree will do? Yr baby like it? Did choke ? Usually u treat tis as lunch or tea break?

Sharon, though I've bought the pasta, it was left on the shelves till now! I haven explore of what to add into it.. Ya, any off the rack sauce where i can simply add in without cracking my head of what to do? Prob will add brocoli and cod fish into it.. All think think but no action yet

junvis : Hahah..me too bought the pasta and left in the shelf cos dunno wat to add to it...still cracking my brain cells on how should I cook it...

Pasta - I tried it with my regular veg puree after eating a while, baby seemed to gag, maybe she still not used to chewing the bits even though they were sot? Or perhaps I could have done it even softer, Will try again next month

how r u all? hope u and babies all are doing great!

for me, I feed the star pasta with abc soup ( I made a bit thicken by adding carrot puee). she can eat but don't know whether it is the correct way to feed the pasta.

hihi mummies...long time never log in liao...

hi jun / sharon, you can try the Heinz pasta sauce ..it is selling in NTUC...just mix with it to have some taste...quite tasty though...

btw, any mummies keen to order from party city ?

i wanna get some party supplies for my girl birthday...anyone keen ?? let me know soon

i need another USD 135 to close

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/6086968.html?1317111509

baby pasta

like angel's love, i usually make soupy pasta for my baby with ABC soup stock...but sometimes when no time make stock i just whip up some last minute soup like chopped pumpkin+chicken+potato and mix it with the pasta to feed my girl...haven't tried the "real" tomato type of puree though...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby2010, for me, as long as the fat deposits and most of e oil are out of e stock, good enough. Coz I do use a little bit of oil/butter in her cooking anyway. V hard to remove every single drop. whenever I make the stock, I dun really think abt how many days' worth as I may not feed/use e stock for every meal.

chris, there might be some egg white left, so u got to do it a few times until almost nothing. Actually if u dun mind can also let bb try a bit of egg white. If not got to hard boil.

pasta, sometimes I use pasta like macroni ('tong xin fen') and cook the chinese way. Put pasta in soup, add veg etc and give bb. E pasta will expand until v soft/ a bit bigger if u boil it in soup.

baby2010: ya my girl can chew a bit...now she has 2 bottom teeth and four upper coming out halfway...just now i fed her a wedge of pear directly the first time...i was surprised that she almost finished the wedge cos' she bit chunks of it off herself...hehe...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] well...pumpkin and potato if you chop or grate finely it turns soft rather quickly so its easier to cook...does your bb have teeth already?

enmummy > whn u giv the pear wedge, u jus let bb hold on her own to chew? Nt worry tat bb may gt choke? Muchkin gt tis thing tat allow to put the fruits in a netting. So cn mak sure bb wont tak too big bite. My bb has 2 upper n lower teeth. Wonder if i shld gt tat.

Morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby pasta:

I'll add the pasta to puree as well. Pumpkin+chicken+peas/broccoli. Sometimes bb will eat, sometimes won't. I'll also add pasta to Happy Bellies 7mth+ baby food. Quite nice. If you wana buy those tomato base pasta sauce can try http://www.agapebabies.com/ Peter Rabbit has a range of tomato based pasta sauce. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

enmummy

Glad to hear that you've successfully changed ur girl's nap. Hehe, at least she can sleep earlier at night and u got some time to ur hubby and urself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby chewing

My baby can tear off chunks of bread when we feed him bread. I'll cut the bread into about 2cm width and give them to him. So funny to see him tear off chunks with his little teeth. heheh

Egg separator

Can buy egg separator from Daiso/Ikea to separate the yolk and white. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stock

I use veg or chicken+veg stock. Same as u guys, I'll remove the fats before using it to cook bb's porridge. I'll freeze them in little portions and just defrost when I need to use them. I'll also keep a large portion in the fridge for me to cook dinner. Can keep for 1 week in fridge and about 1 month (some say 3months) in freezer.

Chris: only cooked eggs can be sure of 100% egg yolk. If you want to extract yolk from whole egg in the raw state, it's probably 99% yolk only, so sure have have white consistency hanging around the yolk. Use an egg separator, it should be cleaner from white compared to egg shell. I use egg shell to separate then put into the pot of porridge, break and store the egg and put to cook. End results- porridge cooked, egg cooked.

enmummy: yes, my son have 8 teeth now upper 4 lower 4. but i dare not give him bigger piece food to chew ler..worry he will choke..yr gal can finished the wedge of pear? does she eat very fast or slowly chew? my son is kanchong type.i worry he will chew faster and get choke.

did u still make puree to yr gal?

Pasta: think my boi not so ready to chew yet.. will wait a while more before cooking it la...

Wendy: realli which NTUC sells? Heinz??