(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

btw, i haven't switch my boy to fm step 3 yet cos i find the vitamins and minerals is less. So, since my boy has lost weight, i am still keeping him in step 2 but will add dha to his diet.

Yah, and he sleeps less too. I guess he is too distracted with all the commotion and also some teachers do not have patience to pat him to sleep.

Now thinking how to manage if i take him out of there. Not sure if helper is a wise choice cos dunno if will get a good one or not. Sigh...

cheese,

same..L also getting alot of rashes recently.. body, neck and arms. now im lost if its heat rash or allergy cos im training him to take 1 whole egg recently to prepare for MMR..and i introduce some new food during weekends

baka,

my boy on stage 3 for a while, but we increase his solid, adding more stuff into his porridge, including the portions. his weight increases..maybe u can try that?

Jabs:

Mine also 3 jabs for Prenav, last jab cleared at 12mth..next barrier is MMR

Sunflower,

My boy in ifc so cannot control the meals cos he has porridge for lunch and cereal (with a veg)at tea time. No time to feed him dinner cos he gets really tired by the time he reaches home and wants to drink milk and sleep.

I know they have brown rice porridge with fish and diff range of veg rotation every day. Just started to give him some yolk to try and hopefully he is alrite to it and can give eggs to him.

HepA

Is it necessary to take HepA jab? my elder gal din take. but i read an article on the magazine recently that if some carriers (kids) share food wif our kids, high chance will kanna.. especially those in childcare.. so scary.. now dunno wanna jab both my kids or not..

cheese, sunflower,

my gal also got red red patches at her chest area. think it is heat rash, she keeps scratching the area the whole day, still got small lumps, nail scratches etc.. i apply calendula cream, better but it comes back immediately when i din apply for 1 day.. -_-||

Sunflower - I still yet to give egg white leh..

But nurse mention before if egg yolk can eat, high chance egg white also can eat de..

if is allergy the red rashes should be a lot one. JL cannot eat white radish, he just turn red the whole face, body etc! Scary!

MVH. Now calendula cream does not work on JL anymore... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I dun noe how..

Must really keep cool all the time..haiz. when he play and perspire red spots will tend to appear.

Mvh

Ya same.. I find calendula cream no longer that effective since they came back or never heal completely..

Baka

Hmm like not enough for one year old rite?they are more active now , Shld be getting more energy food. IFC never let him Slp ar? So poor thing leh if everyday not enough sleep. Baby need to eat bao bao and Slp alot to gain weight.

bakaholic -hai.. I intended to put JL into PG as soon

as he turns 18months.. but my mum says since my MIL can tc of him, why not just

let her tc till he is 2years old? JL finally gain weight after the good care of my MIL, im so happy

to see he grow some meat...

and as compared , he drink /eat less in IFC.. so hard to drink milk. teacher where got

such a patience to feed him.. somemore he is NOT a milk junkie. In fact just a FOOD Junkie

Our friend too kpo to sleep in ifc.. his main teacher always try to make him sleep but he sometimes dun want to sleep loh. And now got alot of new younger babies that needs more attention and cries more so he is more distracted than ever.

she did mention that i should still give him porridge when reach home but timing is very off for us and is stressful for me to rush home to cook for him.

Cheese,

I dun have anyone to take care of him now, unless i quit my job. My parents nowdays cannot handle him. That day we left him at their place for a day and he came back with nappy rash. And we found some poo bits.

Also, the same old story of pooping too many times so not giving veg and fish, just plain pork porridge. Like that,how can i leave him in their care? i rather quit loh.

Gen is in IFC if my mil never cook porridge for dinner she will juz take milk for dinner..

leaving a helper at home need ppl at home to surpevise them.. haiz..

ya..now is like "giving birth" is easy...

upbringing them, who's looking after them is more difficult..previously JL was in IFC also

nv get to eat much cos he's very sleepy when he is back. Have to feed him cereal quickly and then go zzz le...

I should thank god that my MIL volunteer to look after him as of now..But now is more tough as

he walk very fast at home. my MIL no strength to carry him for long/chase after him.

cheese,

my mum also no energy to chase after my son.. she usually cage him in the playpen..haha

my boy seldom got chance to crawl at my mum's place, so he never get hurt under my mum's care..which is a good thing to be cage lar..haaha

while i let him crawl all the time at home, he always kena bruise..here bump there bump and i always sweat going after him..

since ur mil no energy, see how u can help her to reduce the tiredness..

baka,

what time u reach home? ur hawker downstairs got any stall selling porridge? u can ask him to cook for your boy without salt and seasonings..

got porridge is better..

most of u feed 2 meals porridge izzit?

my mum only has time to cook porridge for lunch and cereal for dinner..

is it too little?

my place dun have food stalls. I used to freeze the porridge and microwave but not sure how nutrients is retained.

1 year old is supposed to eat 3 meals a day.

yap angel.

You can give some bread, cornflakes, kueh for their breakfast

My boy got 3 meals , tea break with fruits too.

cheese, we do give her bread..

but every time she wakes up, she prefers to drink milk..

den my mum will give her porridge around 11.30am - 12 noon, so the timing is not here not there to give her another meal..

sian..

baka,

ur hb drives rite? can drive to elsewhere to get porridge? put in thermalflask and da bao back.

angel,

for brekkie in the weekends, wat i did was to give milk, after 0.5-1 hr, i give bun/bread/kueh...wat i eat, he gets a share.. so thats one meal for brekkie..

but my mum also same like ur mum, give 2 meals a day..but strange leh..every weekday i carry my son, he is heavier than every weekend..so i just let it be, be it 2 meals or 3 meals as long as he eats enough..

bak

i also feel my boy drinks lesser in ifc. The teacher can't be chasing every toddler to make sure they drink more.

I sent my boy to ifc when he was 5mo. It didn't work well and I employed a maid. As I do not want my mil to help, I installed an ip camera at home to monitor. Now that I feel my boy is ready for ifc, I sent him to ifc despite having a maid at home. It may be true that the maid will have less to do, but i tried it out and find that this is a good option for me. The IFC can help me to check if my maid didn't treat my boy well, and likewise, my maid can also counter-check on the IFC as well.

When my boy is not feeling well, i have the option of leaving him at home under my maid's care. Likewise, I can control the timing better. Instead of rushing him to IFC early in the morning, I now leave it to my maid to prepare his school bag and bring him to the centre. I do not need to rush to wake him up in the morning. He can sleep enough and have his cereal at home. When my maid picked him up at 4pm, she will shower him and also feed him porridge for dinner. Sometimes I ask her to fetch him at 2pm if he has running nose, so that he can sleep longer at home. With the helper, household chores and dinner are also taken care of. If me and hubby want to have some couple time, we just leave them at home haha. More or less, things are well controlled.

If you are looking at the option of getting domestic helper, look for one who has a child, preferably around 3-4 yo. My maid has a 6 yo daughter. At first, she is a little rusty taking care of a 5mo baby, but good thing is she is quite clever and picks things up fast. I can leave her to administer medication now. At night, my boy also sleeps with my maid, so at least me and hubby can get a good night sleep.

In the afternoon, my maid can catch up with some sleep when he is in IFC. Taking care of this boy is really not easy.

If my boy stays at home, he can drink at least one feed more compare to at IFC. But im fine with it, he has been eating way too much recently, like cookie monster, biting everything, and want to eat our food, wonder if his molars are coming out soon. But duno why can't see much of his baby fats. Face still not chubby at all. Weight wise getting heavier.

Yesterday, he drank so much till I ran out of milk and water outside. Drank 1 litres of milk and 600ml of water. Ate snacks and our food. Went home still finished his big bowl of porridge, avocado and yogurt. Don't want to sleep, but keep eating. I so scared he going to vomit.

Rachel

Juggle between maid and IFC , ur expenses can be quite high rite? Btw , I Wana know if install camera does work? By the time u saw the damage is done, already too late ? If Wana have maid, still prefers someone to supervise.

Ya ur boy really can munch leh, he ate so much junk snacks at J's party hehe.

sunflower,tatz e exact qn i wana ask rachel too.abt e maid portion.my frends told me tat dun tink 2 much n juz let go n let e maid tc.bt wat if e maid go crazy n did sumting harmful to my boy?! Argh,4me a tough decision to get a domestic helper

Cheese

Ya, I saw so many video clips of maids abusing babies/kids. And the parents can only charged them to court after the damage is done. What's the point of installing..

Unless the maid is highly recommended by friends who is super good, then its at least safer. But then ppl would rather keep the good maids for years than to 'give' away. Anyway it's all heng suay ba. If really want a maid, with someone to supervise is safer.

sunflower

It's true that expenses are higher, esp the IFC fees, even after subsidy still very high. I use CDA so as of now still manageable. For maid, including levy, im paying about $550 each month. So comparing with hiring a part time maid, i guess i pay about another $200-$300 more? But given the convenience of having an extra helper, its still more worthwhile. Only that you will lose your privacy, but somehow, we got use to it now.

To be frank, camera is not meant to stop abuse. What the camera does is to instil "fear" of being watched so that she is mindful of what she is doing and won't dare to do something funny. So i put the camera at a visible location. Of cos if you have someone to supervise then it will be better. At the beginning, I did ask my family members to pop by my house unexpectedly to do spot checks for about 2 months.

I'm wondering if my boy is over-eating now leh. He ate two big bowls of porridge for dinner just now. 1.5 hour later, he finished 125ml of milk. Can still fight with my hubby for strawberries, in the end, we gave him blueberries since he can't take fresh strawberries yet. 1 hour after his milk, he took another 120ml of milk. A bit too much right? What do you feed baby L in between? If I don't give B food/milk, he will bite us now. He walked up to us and bit our thighs just now. So scary.

cheese

I saw those video clips too... those maids probably got some mental problems and also reluctant to work one lah... so u have to find one who really likes to look after babies. The maid I have wanted to have a son when she goes back home. I observed her for a while, she genuinely loves my boy alot. My boy also loves her. She very gan cheong over my boy. At first I so scared she will kidnap my boy ahahaha.. But maid is still maid loh.. need to check on them, so I decided to put my boy in ifc, so that got two parties to "balance out". I hear both sides.

But I also believe that we need to treat the maid well so that she will be happy and in turn treats our child well. So sometimes I respect her ways of doing things, and welcome her feedback and sharings, treat her like a family member. I'm not that kind who will scold her before finding out why she does something. So in a way, this encourages her to ask me if she is unsure or double confirm with me the things she did is correct or not.

Another point is she works in Singapore before, and she can speak English. So more or less, this kind of maid has no mental problems. The good thing about her is she doesn't go flirt with men. That kind of vain vain maid, I will definitely replace. If you want to have a good domestic helper, you have to take time to choose, train and observe, then you will not be so frustrated that you didn't get a good one and yet need to depend on her.

sunflower

very true, really depends on your luck if you can get a good maid or not. My friend very suay, keep getting lousy maids, somemore Filipina, more expensive, cannot take care of kids, cannot cook, clean house also no good. They have this common "timid" look, i wonder if they really dont know or they pretend not to know anything so they don't have to work.

Anyway, you can change up to 6 maids a year. If you are eligible to employ two maids, you can even change up to 12 maids a year.

Cheekrene, my elder gal pd also said optional to take hepA 2yrs back.. But not sure what r the statistics of hepA carriers now.. E article is posted by Sbcc in mother n baby magazine for several issues le.. Keep seeing it in several issues, n lamenting whether should give my gals e jab or not since my elder one is in cc n always carries virus home.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Rachel, I think hiring maid costs more than $550, coz need to pay for her daily expenses( food, necessities etc) easily another $200-$300? Total add up having a maid is quite ex!

Rachel, yr boy can really eat man! I think he is having growth spurt! Give him a few more days n see if he cOntinues to eat so much or not..

Btw, my hubby n I brought my 2 gals to sentosa for the buskers foc event.. Quite nice for older kids like my elder gal.. She enjoys the clown show, magic show, so so for the puppet show.. The event ends this sun 11sept.

MVH

The maid's expenses are really quite minimum. Other than the utility bill increases, the rest not much diff. Maybe my maid is a very small eater. She can never finish her food then she auto keep her leftover dinner for lunch the next day. I bought bread and biscuit for her too. Sometimes she will ask me to buy instant noodles. Dinner she will eat with us. My mil supplies her snacks since she also snack alot. My maid also buy her own snacks. Her cousin also give her. She got lots of snack.

Rachel

Good that ur boy can eat alot .. Just give lor since he can eat. Rather than u worry when he doesn't eat. 125 and 120 adds up to 245ml for 2.5 hrs is ok , just that its splitted up into 2 portions. Somemore i see Bess super active, must be burning alot calories. I anyhow give one leh. He wants what we just give. My hb always say don't worry about giving too much. We Shld be worry if he doesn't eat!

sunflower

your hubby is right, i will be more worried if he doesn't eat. But these few days, the amount he is eating like he gonna puke out. Yesterday i even go see his tummy, but not bloated or big leh. Duno where the food goes to. He ate two big bowls of porridge then drink 245ml, in between got water and fruits. It is double what he used to eat hahaha

Ya Rachel,

If he wanna eat /drink . I very happy leh~ Esp drink... haa..

Drinking milk is like asking him to do a very difficult task like that.. Haiz..

I cant be giving him super cold milk all the time right? Haiz..

Only food is not a problem if not I headache...

Some bb eat a lot also not that chub one.. but of course will get heavier..

wa, Rachel, ur son can drink 600ml of plain water? hw i wish gen can drink so much le...

he really can much food

any baby here dun like to drink water?

teacher complain to me say she dun wan drink water everyday leh..

Cheese

wanna ask you the pediasure bottle milk must serve cold?

Winnie

Usu he drinks 300+ ml but last Sunday he kept drinking lo. My own water also give him Liao and almost have to ask the restaurant to give me some.

rachel,

then 2 bowl is alot! is the porridge watery? if its too watery, they get hungry easily..needs to be more grainy to be fuller..

my boy also drinks alot water.. every weekend can drink 3 mag mag size bottle

Rachel, it is more nice to serve cold.. LOL.

I tasted myself.. haha.. but I wont give him directly from the fridge.. will take it out to let it cool for a while first.

But still quite cold..

Eeyore, JL jab also delayed and hence his last premoccocal jab also delay..

Speaking about the bowl, I find that the skip hop bowl is too small...

Not deep enough to put the porridge etc... haven get to use it still, but the colour is vibrant and cute!

JL also dun like water... what I did is when he play around, I will as and when

feed him with water. when he is thirsty he also will ask for it.yesterday half an hour he finishes his 180ml of water. more than his milk intake per feed lorz...

OR.

I will ask him to drink first then can have his snacks.. hee.. at times it wont work when he cranky..

gotta really give one and then start to ask him drink.

Morning all. Really headache abt my boy's diet. Teacher say he can eat very well in sch. But at home during weekends he don wan eat leh. I even give up and add a little salt in the porridge, he also don wan. My PIL even worst, they are very happy seeing me adding salt. They help take care of my boy for one evening cos me and hubby went for a movie. They stop immediately my boy rejects the porridge. He only eats 3 to 4 spoon leh. Still dare to tell me he had half a bowl liao. And also ask me to stop feeding when he reject. he not hungry meh. But when he see us eating, he will come saying "mump mump". I gave him white rice he happily eat and request for more. Don tell me he wan to eat rice liao.

I hate feeding him. Only my mum have the patience and ways to feed him till he finish whole bowl. My PIL, hubby and me can't loh. Tried baby spaghetti and mee sua. He only love mee sua.

sunflower

the porridge not watery kind. We have been feeding him thick thick porridge. Oh yes, yesterday the porridge was cooked with the vegetable broth. Maybe the soup base very tasty.

Jascmy; i give rice to gen when we go out last weekend.. ytd i also give her rice..

and she love it, she will come over and ask for more..

last weekend i feed her bb spag within 5 min she finish it..

he love mee sua cuz in IFC teacher got feed him mee sua.. i got a hard time feeding her during the weekend too..

seriously i hate to feed her porridge..

Can our little ones eat moon cake? Snow skin or traditional kind? Now very difficult to enjoy our food when the lo is around. He wants a share in everything we eat and drink. And duno why his eyes so sharp. I hide the yakult from him he can still see from far. I have to quickly finish my drink then pass him the empty bottle. He will suck and suck and suck, think he probably suck a little bit out..