(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

BB Teething.

JL top 4 tooth is taking their own sweet him to grow. it has been like 3weeks liao still so slow.. why is it taking so long? Yesterday he woke up at 1+ to drink milk and was so awake till 4+, want to play!apply teething gel and it works for a while.. then half an hour later. he wake up again!im so zombie now!

Btw, i didnt noe having a maid need to attend a course...

fumiko, ur bb and maid alone at home or?

cheese, then u hav to pay for the maid and MIL wor. Thats very high expenses too. But one of the way bah. So u really not going back to ifc if this plan work out??

Jia you! Javion is going to be 1 yr old soon.

How to tell whether baby is teething or not? will his gum be a bit swollen? Cos everyday when bathing him, i will wash his gum (he's toothless), but these 2 days, his gum (lower central incisor) is a bit swollen but no whitish tooth yet. and he's super cranky esp today! kept crying all the time. don't want to drink milk, only want to drink water or eat cold stuffs like yogurt or cold fruit purees. any baby like him too?

hi all....

finally got time to come in here again

am thinking to take leave nxt wk....any gatherings or meetup?

Yes, but if i got the choice, i wish i dun work. but dun think so.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] im very fan!

My hubby will need to pay alot more then me since he earns way more. bo bian... its not easy to be SAHM for me... i cried so many times and im saying "NO" to what hubby suggested to me. im drained out...

I hope when he is older, he can get better, but prolong coughing is not good, even doc is so shock when i bring him go and see him again.. 2nd day in IFC already like that, perhaps the air there really not suitable for him since he got sensitive airway, other IFC might be better, but I dun dare to take the risk.

jasmine-lee. I wish to be Sahm, but $ cannot.. how abt all the insurance i had? Hubby pay all meh?? haiz..

JL same pattern! that time he dun wan milk, even drink milk must pacify him etc etc, might be really teething! he might be a late teether but will grow many tooth at a go.. like JL, stuck at 2tooth till 10months old got 8now, but not fully grown still.. he is 11months old liaoz...

I offer my mum, but she rejected. she wanna have CPF as she always need to be on medication and see doct etc etc.. which I dun tink i can offer her... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jasmine

Mine keeps biting finger recently, plus Lao Sai everyday.. So we Noe he teething.. True enough after 1 wk, can see white coming out abit at upper side.

Cheese

Ur mil can't Take care full time? Y need a maid? If u say ur expenses is high, then maid is damn high.

Sunflower, ya.. thinking of a way now.. IFC cannot let go first cos I need it if no one can really take care of him...

MIL is a sao nai nai .. she nv work before till this few years she work as a cleaner after divorce with my FIL.. so she really know nth at all and her way of handling bb is way decades ago pattern and I might be bias, she did everything all wrong!

This is the lousiest moment in my life!

hi cheese,

my maid and my MIL will b at my hse to take care of my bb...but my MIL dun really take care la..she will b there to play wit her, sleep beside my bb...

all the food preparation, change of diaper are done by my maid..

if u hire a maid, mayb u can consider dun need to go IFC/CC...but u have to see whether u are ok tat ur bb is not learning anything..unless u get a maid who can teach eng...eg: Filipino..or u urself have to teach every day after work..

for me, my maid is fr indonesia...and she is goin back next yr...so next yr..my ger turn 18 month, i got to send my ger to cc..

but i oso got concern sending my ger to cc la..wait she fall sick seriously la..etc...but at least she will learn things..(i hope and is gd things..haha)

and no maid, i tink i will die...cos i nv do housework for my whole life..haahha..

this moring my hubby oso complain he is goin to die..cos he will do all the housework..hahaha

cheekrene,if my MIL is ok to take care everything herself, then i will withdraw from IFC, now withdraw means he got no slot in le...

Ya..fumiko. My intention is get philp one. BUT MY MIL ONLY KNOW CHINESE.. how to communicate? Chicken and duck???

Getting a nanny, he say he rather pay bit more cos got ppl do housechores and so that no ppl will nag him! i cant handle everything myself while im still the main caretaker even after work, during midnights.. sorry all.. im flooding here for the time being.. im so emo.. need to talk to..

Sunflower, Rachel,

Tonite I go ask my hubby when he free then book quickly.. Hope sept or oct my elder gal scar not so visible..

Cheese..

Aiyo, JL so poor thing.. Tat time I also felt so helpless even thou my mil is taking care of my gal.. Sigh.. Maybe u try out yr plan, maid n mil first for a few months n see how.. Take care n don't be so stressed.. JL is a strong boy!!

Fumiko

Haha faint leh. Maybe u n ur hb can start doing hse wrk. I think I have maid, i will be more tiring, cos everything bu fang xin. Later nv sweep and mop to my standard, I have to scream. Think I prefer to do myself

Cheese

Yes I agree with Cheekrene. Nanny is much better since ur mil already depart her skills ..nanny and mil are the same, won't teach english, so u gota teach urself. But its not easy to find a trustworthy one, gota get reccommendations. As for hse wrk, u can do them when u are back after wrk or weekends. That what I'm doing too. It's tiring but that's the life we have to go thru. Bear with it as long as ur bb is safe and healthy. Everything will be worth.

haiz. why cant the cough just go away?!

other than that, he is doing good. just another naughty and active boy. dun even dare to give him softtoy to play...

Hi mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is JWT gym still on this sat?

cheese,

try switching him to another IFC first n monitor if he's still coughing badly.....getting a maid to look after bb for me (wo bu fang xin lah)....u'll hv to get those really experienced 1 but pay abit more n if u've got someone to oversees then even better if not then install cameras just to make sure u get to know what's happening at home.....calm urself down first then u'll be able to think of the best solution *pat pat* u can do it 1....jia you

cheese,

i think nanny is a better choice. if your mil looks after JL, you also must give her some allowance right? then plus maid = very high expense!

fumiko,

good life leh! before i was married i also seldom do housework.. but now everything i also must do cos my hubby can't do any except mop floor! haha.

cheese,

nanny is better leh. find a nanny also must look out on their family. sometimes their children also help to look after baby and teach them too. another thing is when doing housework, you can hire part time cleaner to do for you. save your expenses.

fumikoo,

you are really having good life. like jasmine, i also never do housework. now married, i am doing all by myself except asking hb to mop floor (have to close 1 eye too)

cheese, I also chosen nanny instead of ifc. maid is out of my option as like others saying ~ bu fang xin.... may be u can consider part time maid as well... but it will add up the financial burden too... anyway, all options will have pro & con... just list down all for each options, then u will find the best solution & decision soon... cheers...

cheese, i agreed wit ur hubby..if u get a maid, she will do housechore and help u take care of bb..

but u got to keep tinkin is ur bb safe wit maid..so MIL can b there to "monitor"

or install IP cam..

i install IP Cam...

hahaa..i m a pampered child :p

i grew up with my grandparents...so nv need to do housework

i dunno hw to iron cloth...yes i can iron..but i feel frustrated..cos i iron this side..e other side get crumpled..argh..

i noe hw to do housework..but will b slow...cos dun do everyday so not used to it...

and i m a v lazy person..

my hubby say i m v suitable to army and called me NATO (no action talk only)..so i owas give command to my maid & hubby.. :p

cheese > i think better to get nanny..that'd be my preference...as for hsework, i think get part time aunty to help...then u and hubby wont b so stressed over hsework...

cheese, jia you... dun stressed up.

mayb u can consider nanny to take care of JL. the environment is always better than IFC. 1-1 take care; dun worry that he get sick so often etc Maybe you can inform your IFC to put you in waiting list when JL turns 18M he can return back to CC.

Personally, I have little/no trust on maid at all. Having a maid is not an easy thing; i would say depend on luck to get a good one. in fact, if u wan maid & mil to supervisor for the time being, dun worry abt their lang barrier. Last time, my grandma had maid to take care of her & my mum visits them every weeks & slowly within months, my mum, grandma & maid can converse in hokkien. once ur maid hand-on, she will gradually know what to do in your house.

Cheese, why not nanny to take care of JL and part time cleaner weekly to help u out on some chores like washing toilets, floor n ironing? Then u won't have maid problem n won't bother ur mil.. But might have nanny problem la..

Cheese, I also bu' fang xin if have maid.. Coz worry maid too close to bb, or teach bb other lang, have to 24/7 watch her, somemore I heard alot of maid story, get pregnant, got bf, invite strangers home, find excuses to go downstairs meet lover etc.. But of course got good maid la.. So depends on luck solely!!

Calm down n discuss wif yr hubby.. Every solution needs compromise or a little sacrifice.. But all for the good of JL, Health is more important.. Take care.

Anyone buy fr photobook?

What is the paper quality like?

I pass by fotohub today n saw samples on their fotostory (like wedding photo quality) n fotojournal ( thick construction paper quality) I like the quality but prices a bit steep..

I bot 2 photobooks fr snapfish before, paper quality not very fantastic, like motherhood magazine cover page quality..

So wanna know photobook paper quality n quickly grap the 50%offer this week if it is good!

Need advice.. Thanks!

Ear wax

Anyone's baby got Alot ear wax? It's very deep in but I don't dare to dig. Scare hurt my bb ear drum .. My PD told me not to dig myself, but ask me to bring my bb to her to dig. But doesn't make sense for me to bring to her just to dig. And she uses a digger which I wanted to buy but she told me can't buy anywhere else. It's only available for PD . I use normal cotton bud but doesn't wrk. How? It irritates my bb ears

Sunflower,

That's a solution which you can put into bb ear to soften the wax and it will flow out. I haven't try though. GP should have it.

Cheese,

Nanny may seems to be good choice but you have to consider whether her place child proof, and she might have her own things to do and may neglect JL. Also, depends how particular are you with her way of doing things?

Having mil and maid has more control as your maid will listen to you. I know some indo or philipino can speak chinese as well.

I do engaged a part time maid to come in every alternate wks to clean up for me. Other times, i just do minimal cleaning like floor, toilets, couter/table tops. But now she is on holiday, I have to do every wk.. *faint*

Cheese

Good nanny not easy to find. Hv to visit their homes to see the conditions, the rest of their family members etc. My fren daughter alw sick when with nanny. Twice a month sure get fever or flu. Found out later that nanny alw hv visitors in her house.

I hv search v long for nanny until heard the news that a 4 mo baby died under nanny care. No liability, no compensation, nothing. So to me IFC still better choice unless u can find a gd trustworthy nanny. Afterall, ur baby will stay in her house.

I hv a maid and ipcam at home. Works well for me since I can trust my maid with my baby. I dun need an elderly to jagar the maid. Life is so much easier with an extra helper.

I'm going to send my boy to IFC soon, abit "bu she de" but no choice, once he starts walking, my in law will kidnap my son.

Oh yes, cost of hiring a maid is $380 + levy $170.

I think im the only one who doesn't want an elderly to supervise my helper... haha..

i find the old folks sometimes teach the wrong things and some more insist on their wrong ways. Like the last time, my helper complained to me that my mil taught her to wash the milk bottles not clean. Think my mil wanted to save water and doesn't use the brush to clean the teats thoroughly. Last time, she always fight with me to wash the bottles and i have to re-wash again, cos can see the milk residue. And after awhile she forgot to add water to the steriliser and don't know how she melted my spoon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And she claimed that there's water inside and refuse to admit she forgot to add water. There's no condensation in the steriliser, how to believe her? So i got to wake up an hour earlier everyday to wash all the bottles before she reached my place.

sunflower

how do u know baby L has alot of ear wax? I can't see leh. Also, my pd told me not to clean, they will self-cleanse.

And like what bakaholic says, they have some solution to "melt" the ear wax so that it will flow out. I'm not sure if this solution can be used for infant though.

My gp says ok but i had a look at the ingredients, and there is peanut oil so i didn't use it. Perhaps there are other brands around.

Yah, pd says there are some ear wax in my boy's ear but not that much to require cleaning even though he kept tugging his ears.

What you can do is to use baby oil to clean the area around it to prevent the dry wax to gather inside.

sometimes, ear tugging is due to teething as well.

i read somewhere in baby center that babies love to pull/tug their ears. Sometimes due to frustrations, such as trying to fall asleep. There are also times that we should be concern cos it could be middle ear infections.

Ear tuggin can be infection but we always ask pd to check so i guess it's just teething cos he had been biting us more lately.

Sunflower, I think photobook only prints book n not photo solely.. My guess, no sure.. I want photobook. I made a simple my first yr book for my elder gal and her sl photoshoot book fr snapfish.. The paper quality I don't really like.. I wanna do the same for bb A as well so sourcing for alternatives..

Ear wax:

Both my gals got thick ear wax n I never clean them leh.. Scare poke too deep.. Din know pd offer to clean ear wax.. Maybe bb A next vaccine I ask pd to clean.. Lol.. My gal also likes to pull/tug as n when, also when sleeping or frustrated..

cheekrene,

prob she just playing with her ears. Usu ear infection precedes with a cold. I think ear infections need to go PD to check and require antibiotics.

rachel,

she always tug until i see her ear area look so red and even bleed a bit... luckily it is not cold as so far she is doing fine.

ear wax:

i also did not know PD will offer such service... hehe! i only clean her ear area once a week because my mum dun really have time to clean thoroughly.

vaccine:

i still have not bring my girl for pneumococal. anyone like me, have not bring yet? i intend to wait till 13mths then take.

mvh,

i have 2 photobooks at home. i find the quality ok and the papers are not filmsy. i dun have time to do photobook. really need to take leave to do it at home cos promo end at june... haha...

cheekrene

my boy did that before.. ears bleed cos he scratches his ears and i think his skin/ears are dry too, plus long fingernails. He pulls his ear so hard that one ear is more "bat" than the other.

pneumococal has 3 doses. My boy has fever after the jab, but im a bad mummy, i let him take 6-in-1, rota and prevnar altogether in one PD visit.

Rach,

I didn't know can take all 3 in 1 visit. Pd alternate rota and prevnar with the 6-in-1.

Btw,

Who is going to let their bb take the MMR with chix pox jab?