(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Jasmine, I think most of us daddies got uob card ba.. Can ask ard n lobang?

Bakaholic, oh dear.. How come yr bb still have diarrhea? Got see doc? Give bioGaia probiotics ba.. It is good! N ex too..

Winnie n cheese,

If jasmine n bakaholic can't make it on sat JWT trial, u 2 wanna take over?

Jasmine, my gal on 3hrsly latch.. I think she is a small drinker or eater so need top up frequently.. Even porridge, also half a small bowl after 3hrs of milk.. I din force feed porridge or cereal coz my gal will vomit immediately if I force feed.. Tried once n waste all my effort in preparing n feeding her..

Water:

I think water is good!! But my gal refuses to drink water other than makaning time.. One day only drinks like 50ml nia.. Dunno how to make her drink more..

Phlegm:

My gal still has phlegm, i think.. She still coughs when she is sleeping at nite.. Day time ok leh.. Dunno why.. I hear fruits like apple, papaya, water melon, plum, prune will cause more phlegm..

Water

You can try to drink water from cup to show the baby, then give him water from cup too. Works for my boy, he very kaypoh, want to try everything we do. I use fork for fruits, he also want to eat my fruits, give him pureed apple on spoon he doesn't like it but want to bite the apple from my fork.

Jasmine, maybe change his milk bottle to sippy cup? Or change teat? Ikan bilis is too salty.. Dun put in directly.. I bot dried silverfish.. I remove the heads n soak in water for some time.. Then dry it and fry in a pan ( with no oil) till crispy or hard.. Then blend it.. I store in fridge, n add one teaspoon into the porridge..

I intend to buy ikan bilis n make into powder the same way.. Add flavour n calcium but not salty in this way...

Jasmine,

Threadfin is good!!

Cod fish usually is thawed already when bought fr supermarket n cant keep long so I don't buy..

Other fish I scare of mercury so will give threadfin till 1 yr old then try other fish..

MVH

how does dried silverfish looks like? My mum gave me two packets of dried fish. One should be ikan bilis, the other fish is smaller and is beige in color.

Sippy cup

My boy has to tilt his head all the way to the back to drink from sippy cup, either that or have to drink lying down. Is there any sippy cup with the same type of spout but with a straw so that he can drink sitting up?

sunflower,

great thanks!! finally get to see bb L. =)

mvh,

he doesn't know how to drink from sippy cup. i either spoon feed him water or just let him bite the teat. threadfin is "nong heng" right? don't know how to spell in hokkien.

since sunflower's hb is lending me the card, i'm going to the jwt trial. btw it's at this sat or sun?? what time?

I feed my boy threadfin, salmon and cod fish.

Cod fish my mama say too oily ask me not to give.. Hmm, I got a qn, how much fish u all put?

I put one whole big chunk and my MIL say later my boy wil be veri scare of fish.. He can finish it so i put like half slice (when u buy a slice) for each porridge. He loves it. Long time nv feed meat le..

mvh,

Yah, it's ongoing for a while. Been to doc and given meds and probiotics. we didn't want to feed him too much in case constipation so we monitor. Was told to put him on soy fm and plain porridge. he was ok for the last 2 days so last night i decided to put him back to normal formula and well, middle of night, got watery stools. Sigh..

so now back to soy fm and plain boring porridge..

Cheekrene/Rachel,

I did considered b4 putting camera but recently my this maid pattern alot..I said her she talked back to me!!!@&$"@&we are thinking of changing her away!!now waiting for my Hubby to decide..Haiz..

Winnie,

PD also said that..actually I am wondering cos my maid told my gal usually poos in the afternoon but I am at work so dun know how she clean..last time when I took care bb myself, I use water to clean wan leh!!cos gal Ma..now like recently,my gal tends to fall sick easily!!even the spotting discharged is also I happened to see when changing diaper Tat day..if not till today I still dun know my gal got infection..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

the thread is running fast again!

Re: yogurt

Thanks ladies for your feedback.

Yes, realise that the yogurt tend to be more sourish at room temperature. Thk I will stop giving her yogurt.

Re: constipation

my girl had bad constipation 2 wks ago. Cannot poo for 2 days and keep on crying. So we feed her pear puree and a bit of prune juice. she manage to poo 2 days later but keep on crying whenever she pooed as thk the skin at the anal area is slightly broken. And she keep on pooing the whole day, at least 6 times. see already so heartpain. lucky she recover the next day.

went to do research on prune juice and realise it is a potent bowel movement drink. so for babies, really have to be very diluted and can only feed a bit. Thk i will stick to pear puree in the future.

JWT Trial

UE Square #02-12

81 Clemenceau Avenue

Time:

1pm to 2pm (arrive 15 mins earlier for registration)

No need socks for babies. Parents are optional to wear socks.

30 April

1. MVH

2. alibaba

3. cheekrene

4. bakaholic

5. Jasmine Goh

6. rachel

7. sunflower

8. snowy55

9. fumiko

10. susan aka pd0513

- full -

7 may

1. duckling

2. sweetkyra (prefer 30 Apr)

3. chocochips

4. Angel

5. Xuan82 (prefer 30 Apr)

6. Dreamz

7. eeyore_03 (prefer 30 Apr)

8. Cheese?

9. Winnie_gal?

10. Jascmy

- full -

Thanks MVH for organizing. =)

Rachel, dried sliverfish is small and white. Better not to give dried sliver fish to Bbs cos they are too salty. Last weekend my FIL use it (cos I told him he bought the wrong one. I wan fresh not dried) to fried egg. The egg is super salty man! As for ikan bilis, I ask the shop to give me those good and not so salty ones.

I only give fresh silverfish to my boy.

jascmy,

wash and soak and wash..haha.. my mil washed thoroughly, dry fry and grind into powder..totally not salty..

I bot those fresh sliverfish for J

Just cook with porridge and it become very mushy and easy to feed le.

Nv tried dried one yet.

I will always boil the porkribs+ muchroom at times.

If not dry scallop+ wolfberries to make the porridge sweet.

sunflower, I will try. I hope to make sliverfish powder too. Better than ikan bilis cos more nutritious.

Cheese, ya I heard can jus cook and the sliverfish will dissolved into the porridge. I worried it nvr dissolved leh so I chop.

Jasmine, my gal also dunno how to drink fr sprout magmag cup initially.. N I juz let her bite e teat for a few days then she starts to drink a bit fr e cup.. Slowly ba.. Threadfin is Ngor hye.. Chinese wu yu..

Cheese.. Normally I only give one tiny portion of a slice I bought fr ntuc.. Normally I will cut into maybe 6 pcs n store the rest in e freezer or her jiejie eats most of the remaining.. I also scare give too much mercury.. Hence I add minced pork..

Jascmy, yes like wat sunflower said soak! I think I soak for more than 1 hr.. Somemore before soaking, I pick each fish at a time, removing e heads so some of the salt is removed thru this process.. I taste the outcome, bland n not salty..

Jasmine, fresh ones better. But sliverfish can't keep for long. Even in freezer. I only put the 1.5days old sliverfish in my cooler bag and bring it home from tampines to sembawang. My whole bag smell really bad now. Stink!!! My fridge also smelly (2.5days)now. I quickly fried egg with it yesterday evening. If boil or steam, it taste awful too. So must buy and cook immediately. Most keep for 2days.

I will try the powder. Will only use it when I need to prepare porridge within short timing.

Bakaholic, oh dear.. Is yr bb can't drink cow's milk? Lactose intolerance? Maybe continue to give him soy fm n plain porridge to clear his system then restart n intro food one at a time again lor..

Dsyvonne, poor bb C.. Hope she gets well soon! I heard ppl say once got uti, very easy kanna again.. So have to try to clean her private thorough.. My elder gal got uti when she is less than 1 yr old, my mil takes care of her when I go work so I also dunno how she kanna.. Then the pd very kan jeong coz got fever on n off n recommend us to go scanning to see kidney ok or not.. Waste $$ n effort n worse my gal fell fr the doc bed when I was talking to the nurse as she flip! After that, she got another 1-2 times of uti cases but recovers quite fast.. But I think bb C case is not uti coz no fever rite? Take care!

bakaholic,

that time my son diarrhoea for abt 6 weeks, I let him drink soy milk until when I switch back to FM, he doesn't like...

Jasmine, fresh silverfish can't keep long.. N very fishy.. Like what jascmy said.. Boil le also fishy.. Initially I wanna cook for my gal but I myself also can't stomach much so throw away in e end...

jascmy- U can try, cos i just the spoon and mash it and it become mushy,

Can feed bb J liaoz.

Ya. it is smelly even though i bought it in the morning! My sis say its like that one..

I still prefer to give fish.. , my porridge is very simple one.

Fish+vege nia. LOL

Or Meat+vege.

That time I tried giving those bb canned beef to him. Sorry to say

that it smell just like my dog canned food! :x I tink that's the typical beef smell barz. he simply enjoy it!

oh, I have pasta, stars. He dun really like it...

Winnie_gal, I tink can give ah ger all liaoz, he dun really like it :x

i also prefer threadfin fish... i give fish, pork, vege, potatoe or pumpkin.. sometimes i add silver fish powder..very tasty liao, i will eat some sometimes..

omg! i totally forget tat i got stars and pasta leh..tis friday am gg to cook tat n let her eat... but i dun have nay puree at hm liao? she ate plain pasta? hmm...

winnie,

i cant remember where i saw it. then this morning my colleague asked me if i want to go which actually i plan to go in the afternoon. i heard thurs is for non-member.

Thanks bakaholic, think will bring her to the doc tmr again since she's not getting any better. Will enquire abt ventolin as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]