(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

mvh,

he kept frowning then like wanna vomit so i stopped after 5 mouthful and added cereal. so far she only tried HT brown rice cereal? did u let her try plain one instead? maybe she will like?

agreed with u. my #1 used to be a chubby baby but now as she grows, she become more and more skinner. only 18kg now (coming to 5yrs old)

i need help. my boy use to sleep throughout the night but these two weeks, he kept waking up ard 4 to 5 times per night wanting to drink. but each time he will only drink like 40ml to 60 ml. he is eating less in the day as well. i thought i don't hv enough milk that is why i am pumping exclusively. how? what is wrong?

i can see that your babies are all starting on solid but my boy is still using a no 1 teat now as he will go into a daze while he drinks then suddenly choke and splutter. when he chokes he will stop drinking his milk.

When he was born, his weight belongs to the 2nd highest percentile, now his body weight drop to the 2nd lowest percentile average.

does anybody out there have similar experience and/or advice for me? thanks in advance.

Gen is weighting 8.27kg few days before she turn 6 month? is she overweight too?

she never wake up for nite feed but she drink 180ml b4 she zzz... n her early feed will be 6.15am?

winnie,

shd be okay, my boy also 8.24kg when i brought him to see GP last tue n he's now 5mths plus..

jasmine,

where can i get those baby cubes?

mvh,

my nanny will feed him with brown rice cereal.. i just wanna try out abit on him.. ;p

scooby2010 - mine also drink less in the day time. Nite time sometime he will wake up (anytime) once to drink then next feed will be 6am (cos need to go work liao so wake him up). I latch him on at nite so don know how much he drink. I lazy to wake up to warm milk n he can't wait for milk so I latch him on.

You shld give him #2 teats liao. Let him have it at least once a day then the rest of the feeds #1 and slowly increase to all feeds #2. I did that to my boy too. He choke initially but once I see he nvr choke, I increase to all feeds.

He might be having problem sucking with #1 thats y drink so little bah.

baby overweight

I think it ok for them to be overweight at this time. Once they start to crawl, climb, run ard in walker; they will lose weigh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My girl is 5mth 3wks now, she weight ard 10kg. I dun think she is drinking alots so i dun control her milk intake. She drinks 140ml, every 3-4 hour with 2 scoops of rice cereal.

thanks, my boy is only 6.13kg now leh ...

when he learns how to crawl he will be anorexic

Jasmine

His nite feed depends one, but ranging from 2-5am. I have to feed cos I pat him, he slps, but after 5 min ehh ehh again, pat agin ehh again.. Very tired leh.. So feed him and he zzz all the way.

Mvh ,

He is 10.1kg now. But he is tall, 71 cm. Maintaining this weight for some time Liao . She got ask wat milk I giving . think I agree with u, will continue as per normal since they will slim down later.

how can i make him drink milk only once every 3 to 4 hours rather than 30ml this hour n another 60ml in 2 hours? it is really tiring for me and my mil who is his day caregiver.

at only 6.13kg ... can i give him water at night to 'encourage' him to sleep through the night?

it is advisable?

scooby2010, I will make sure my girl finished her 140ml. It's only last week, i added rice cereal, she can drag to 4hrly.

did he finished his milk at one go? my mum will show her that she still have some milk left in the bottle, sweet talk her muz finish it, cannot waste milk etc.. & surprisingly she drank finish. It works most of the time.

Scooby

I read from sonewhere that giving water is one way to train them to slp thru. When they crave for milk at nite, give them water. They drink a few times , next time they won't crave for that anymore.

ahNah: haha.. next time he become junkie of all ???

Anyway is good for baby to drink more milk as they need more calcium to grow.

Sunflower & Scooby,

One of my friends, she gave water to her girl to make her sleep thru & now she 1 yr plus; she wake up for water instead. :p

Scooby, I think yr boy is not having enough milk that's why he wakes up frequently at nite for milk. Maybe like what jascmy suggests, slowly change to teat #2. When the milk flow is slow, bb might be tired to suck n drink n might give up when they quench their thirst but still not full.. 6.13kg is 5-10th percentile for 5months boy. Any routine changes for the past 2 weeks which affects his feeding? Did u consult pd for his weight issue? Try spoon feeding milk? Hope this is only a passing phase for yr boy..

Jasmine, I give brown rice cereal. Coz can't find plain organic rice cereal in ntuc.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sunflower, ur boy is really tall n big!!! Must be very tiring to carry him ya? Anyway, if I were u, I juz continue to give him as much milk he wants..

Winnie, gen is not overweight.. My gal weighs 8.68kg 2 weeks ago @ 5.5 months.. Juz that we might have bodyache after carrying our gals.. Hehe..

Sunflower, I think u can continue yr boy current milk intake but increase his amount of solids bit by bit lor.. Then somehow his milk intake will drop de..

Jasmine, my place dun have cold storage.. Will finish this pack of brown rice cereal n decide to continue brown rice or plain or maybe oat.. Any idea at which month can intro oats or barley cereal?

Anyone give brufen to bb before ? I have no choice last night but to give him 1 mild dose last night. His fever went as high as 39.5 and i couldnt give dhamol. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Doc said no dhamol for him but nv give alternative medicine for fever. I gave him his kor kor's but v v mild. Now finally subside. .

Morning, anyone let your Bb take ready made puree that can be found in NTUC?? I bought some but not sure whether to let my boy eat. Like very artificial leh.

Jascmy, my elder gal dislike those ready made purée. Then I try to finish it but find it too sweet.. So intend not to buy for bb too..

Sunflower, wow double porridge. Can finish? Maybe can cut a bit milk after or before porridge.

I was peeling the sweet potato skin n cutting into cubes juz now to steam for my gal lunch.. Realize that my hands become sticky due to the 'ni' it discret.. Is it safe for bb to eat the sweet potato?

mvh,

according to the HT webby, all their cereals except brown rice (4mths up) are suitable for babies 6mths up. your girl is 6mths alrdy right?

the sweet potato you buy is purple skin? this type v sticky but is okay to eat.

alibaba,

how come the doc never give another med? how's T2 now?

jascmy,

what brand you buy?

rachel,

in e beginning i feed him when he's sittin on the booster seat but he keep leaning forward thus v hard to feed. so now i will put him on my lap upright n feed.

I bought HEINZ and another 1 can't remember the brand, its a new brand selling in NTUC. Both brands:

* No preservatives

* No added sugar

* No added salt

* No artificial flavours or colours

Jasmine, yes my gal juz 6months yesterday. E sweet potato is yellow in color after steam.. I thou it was orange.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ya the skin is a bit purple in color..

Jascmy

Heinz is safe becos no artificial stuff added. They vacuum pack immediately. That's y can keep long.

Mvh,

I also give boy purple skin with yellow meat.

Rachel

I put my boy in bb walker and feed. Has to be upright

oh.. thanks for the advise. I have been feeding him lying down cos the cereal will drop out from his mouth when i feed him upright. He also keeps leaning forward.

Rachel

First time weaning is messy one. Cos they trying to get use to next texture , new feeding method . Feed a few more times, he can eat liao