(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Eeyore_03/QQ, we are also trying out Pigeon sterilser now. What happened was my husb gan chiong go get a new one thinking the Philips one may need a few days for servicing...

After that came home then try descale of philips steriliser... hahaha...

Pigeon steriliser is bigger in size and the bottom where water is poured to is easier to clean (flat bottom). We now have two sterilisers to compete see which one more lasting... hehe..

ahnah.. your pd really ex. my boy had his shots at polyclinic, 5-in-1 for 4 doses is $320, pneumococcal is $160 per dose and rotarix is $90 per dose

btw my boy so far no side effects from the rotarix.. but after the jabs more cranky then usual and body seem hotter but no fever

ahNah, my boy took rotavirus, pneumococcal and 6-in-1 vaccines when he is 2 mth old and cost about $415 from his PD. Is this very expensive?

where does ur bb slp now? my boy slp in the cot.. now can almost shift up and down cos of his strong legs... kicking away... tink gotta put bumper mat in his cot already...

Rachel, $415 is the package + rotavirus ? if yes then consider cheap bah.

Alibaba, my son sleep in cot at night, but some time he sleep with his ka ka cause he dun wan to stay in cot.

At day time, he sleep in YaoNan.

Mehky,

I'm opposite from you, my sterlisier very under utilised, cos I'm a very lazy mother. I used to sterlise everything once a day in the first month, then after that it's once a week. I only use hot water (from vacuum flask) to scald the bottle and teat briefly before feeding.

AhNah, nope, pneumococcal is not in 5-in-1. Its charged separate and its most expensive, I think.

ahNah, not package leh.

alibaba, my son also shifts when he is sleeping, not up and down but in clockwise direction, so funny. Sometimes I find he purposely does this to kick me when he sleeps on my bed. If he sleeps in the highchair cum cot, the space is limited and he only slides down.

wl, is it safe not to sterilise the bottles? I sterilise after every use and intend to do so till my son is 6 months old.

I did read somewhere it is not necessary to sterilise after each use as it will damage the bottles and teats, but then again, the article did not mention the age of the baby and we do not know how reliable the information is.

ahnah, rachel

ya. once they get use to slp on bigger bed, they wont prefer to slp on cot de.. so now i try to let him slp on cot as much as possible.. but it seem to be abit small for him liao. cos when he do punching or kicking.. his hand can hit the railing...

rachel,

i sterlise the bottle ev use... #1 now already 2 yo, we still sterlise the btl.. but when outside.. the most we use hot water to rinse before use.. actually i heard after 1 yo no need to sterlise.. nv heard of 6mth later.. i want to make it a habit cos my maid is the one who wash . scare she dont clean properly.. at least sterlise still not so bad..

Rachel, *touch wood* so far, nothing happens. A friend told me she did the same for her daughter so that the baby can build their own resistance to virus. I also belive in "dirty eat dirty grow" a hokkein saying.

alibaba, my helper washes the bottles cleaner than me. She uses a brush whereas I dont. That's how lazy I am...so now I let her do all the washing... haahaa

ahNah, Alibaba,

So do we need bumper for playpen? My gal's hand are hitting the sides too!

She has not flip yet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

alibaba, good to sterilise the bottles till your lo is 1 year old, I intend to sterilise once a day instead of every use after he is 6 months old to build up his resistance so that we can bring him overseas soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyway, I have 8 bottles so enough to last for a full day without washing.

wl, i understand your point, but I think 3 month old still very fragile leh. Fall sick not easy to treat and didnt quite like the idea of feeding too much medicine at such a young age.

i tot of putting bumper when he know how to flip.. and need to lower the cot too.. now it's at the highest level.. but i tink put bumper will be quite hot cos block the air or wind to go in... tot play pen got no bumper.. cos no railing..

wl, alibaba,

i'm kinda kiasu. i alrdy set up the bumper since he's borned. i only let him sleep in his cot at night with aircon so quite cooling. during day time, he will sleep in his bouncer or playmat or mattress.

ahnah,

my girl celebrate her 100th day by sleeping whole day when we went out whole day.

winnie,

i understand how you feel. it's not easy to pump at work. almost giving up...

Anyone's baby already teething ? My baby already teething!! I use my finger to feel his mouth cos he on milk strike till very jialat and only want to bite his fist. Kept drooling too. I felt his tooth on the top left corner!!! My mum double Confirm this. Anyone noes how to make him drink?? He is hungry but refuse to drink cos irritable.

wl - My boy has been drooling alot for a few weeks now..... Have to keep changing his bibs.. very wet and dirty. Now wondering if I should buy those ultra-absorbent bibs then I don't need to keep changing 2-3 bibs a day.

Any babies trying to stand now? My boy keeps insisting on standing...... eg. everytime I try to put him on his bumbo, he no wan to sit.. he will straighten his legs and stand on the bumbo. My dad say cannot let baby stand cos will be bow-legged.... true or not ah?

sunflower,

can try dentinox teething gel. it help to numb the gum and ease the pain... but dun apply too much.

Ann

Really?? My boy insists on standing each time we put him on our lap. And he has been doing this for weeks leh ..

Alibaba

Will make him drink milk too ? I'm more worried that hedont drink.

Sunflower,

Yeah, same here... I dunno whether true or not.. My #1 don't try to stand so young. #2 seems to want to progress faster.

Old ppl say dun let them stand coz their back not strong to even sit on their own.. I also dunno true or not.. My gal also like to straighten her legs when Iift her up..

alibaba,

my boy still sleeps in the rocker but same as your boy, he starts to shift up and down...

he kicks alot when he crying or playing so he tends to move up more... I really should move him to the cot otherwise he fell off the rocker...

if i move him to the cot, I'll definitely put the bumper but 3 sides only, top, left n right same as my #1...

teething?? wow that's early...

standing?? so strong...

what is bow leg??

I think my boy is the super lazy one, schedule still like infant, sleep, wake up, drink milk, smile abit, play abit, then want to sleep again... if don't let him sleep, he'll be super cranky...

"bow-legged" means the leg will not be straight but bent or curved...

"sleep, wake up, drink milk and then sleep" schedule ... sounds good!

I fel like giving up bf cos I spend so much time pumping but in he end I give my boy expired EBM. Now my boy having colic. Hubby say cos I gave expired EBM. But the milk took very long time to defrooze. More than 12 hrs leh. So I only left with less than 12hrs more to let my boy finish the milk. So in the end I gave expired milk.

I'm a bad mum. Shld hav give up bf.

How to relief my boy from colic??

He cried so much and refused to drink his milk. He jus fall asleep after lots of coaxing. He nvr drink any of his milk. Suposed to be his feeding time leh. Wasted 80ml of expired EBM.

Jascmy

there is faster method to defroze fbm. U can put the fbm pack into warm water for around 5mins. Keep changing the water Will fastened the process. I dun Tink by giving expired bm Will cos collick la. If the expired milk smelt sour den it's really spolit. Otherwise shld be fine. Unless bb got lau sai. Try to apply some ruyi oil on bb tummy to relieve the air. Else give gripe water.

Eeyore

ur boy really still a slping bb. Envy u la. My bog hardly slp during the day one. Now know how to fake cry liao...

Sunflower

the gel Will ease the pain so May help him to drink milk better bah. Else u can cold teether let him bite to relieve. Poor bb have to go thru these...

Jascmy,

I'm also using the method as what alibaba suggested, pretty fast to defroze FBM. Usually, I will fill the pot with half hot water n just put my FBM into it, then change water again if the water turns cold, it will just take about 5 to 10mins to defroze it.

Try letting him to sleep on tummy but just make sure his neck is strong enough to turn left n right. Try to burp him in between bottlefeed to release the air, so he can drink better, that's what his nanny did when she feed him too.

alibaba,

yes still a slping bb, at my own house he can sleep thru for 4 to 5 hours in the day time but today i went to see doc again and hb scare i still contagious plague so left bb at mum's place then he can't sleep well, once he reach home, cry for sleep, stuck him with pacifier, feel asleep...

alibaba, susan,

sounds like a culinary program I've watch on TV, shows the pleasant way of eating frozen fine cuisine... yummy...

alibaba, does teething cause pain? or just itchy?

my boy didnt cry leh, just chewing his fists. He is more aware of his hands now, playing with his own fingers, like wrapping his fingers on one another whole day long.

Jascmy, no one can for sure tell you what cause colic, so dont blame yourself ok? Anyway, its pretty common and the child will grow out of it in 3 months, longest one year.

pd0513, let baby sleep on tummy is dangerous unless you are watching. Sometimes they turn their heads and face downwards then stuck at that position not knowing what to do and they will cry trying to lift up their heads but dont know how to turn to the side. This is one of the main cause of SIDS. So do be careful.

jascmy,

u too stress is it??

how much u defroze?? how come left 12 hours cannot finish?? if he cannot finish so much then don't pack a big amount in 1 bag... try small portion to froze... then u don't have to waste so much...

i also don't think expired BM can cause colic... try applying ruyi you, massage his tummy in clockwise direction then to down direction... maybe the feeding method or the position also a prob... what bottle is he using?? oh and the feeding angle also a prob, must always ensure the teats is full of milk when feeding, aft finish dont let him suck the bottle for too long as the air is inside...

there's always colic drops for relieving colic issues, maybe u can seek help from gp or pd... gabriel seow quite good with bb too...

miracle, today i went to see him, before i see him i almost lost my voice... after 1 dose of his med, 1 don't feel pain anymore, only slight discomfort... before today was, temp as high as 39.2, shivering then hot, throat got tonsillitis, tummy bloated, got colic, terrible... lucky for him, my favourite doc... he can still say today my smile very stiff...

Eeyore

u hungry liao Izzit. Haha. Ur sickness sound serious. Are u better now? Now my turn feel throat uncomfortable ...still eat chocolate and Not enough slp. And recently feel ache on ny knee... Not sure Izzit lack of calcium. Gotta take supplement liao.. Wah lao...sign of Old liao..

Rachel

i Tink depend on individual bb. Some bb teething Will have fever. Some bb dont have kick at all. My #1 teething late and have no fever also quite easy. Just milk strike for quite a while. This time my #2 also suck his fist alot and like to rub his face with his alot of saliva hand... Resulting alot of rashes on his face and mouth area. if bb is drinking well, alert and slping well, dont have to worry too much la.

Ask u all if bb vomits e whole milkfeed or maybe 2 milkfeeds, will u still give bb milk after vomit?

I latch my gal at 11+pm, then dunno why she can't sleep leh .. Cranky.. Latch at 1am.. Then half n hour sleep for 45mins, wake up crying.. Then I latch her she drink again but can't sleep.. So I carry her n rock her in e living room.. Then she kanna choked n cough out all the milk.. A lot alot kind.. Overfed? Then now she go sleep without any milk.. Sigh.. Dunno wat she wants..

alibaba and スーザン, Thanks. I always pack abt 30ml in one pack. If I se your methods will it shorten the life of the milk? I will monitor tmr and if still colic (tummy like balloon and cry a lot) will try gripe water. I apply lots of ru yi you, hope it works.

Rachel, heartpain when seeing him cry and refuse to drink milk leh. Hope can get over it fast.

eeyore_03, I pack 300ml n 1 pack. Cos I'm still latchin on so I one pack of FBM can use very long time somemore when I wan to use there is still ice inside the pack. Next mth onwards will use faster cos m boy going ifc.

MVH, I will still continue to latch on after he vomit till he auto unlatch. Not sure whether is overfed cos they are surposed to stop themselves if they r full rite. I'm thinking of the same reason but when I continue to latch, he want leh.

JaScmy , I use container filled with tap water, place the milkbag in , den put inside the chiller compartment. Less den 3 hrs defrost le.

Winnie,

+ u! Hang on n after u r getting use to at work pumping ur ss will b stable.

Ann,

yup, like wat mvh say, no standing when they r too young. My mom dun even allow my girl use bumbo seat now cos afraid not gd to her back. My boy start use bumbo seat by ard 6 mths old last time.

Jascmy,

usually I shift frozen ebm fr freezer to fridge every nite b4 sleep. So early in the morning not tat rock oledi. Then if wan to faster the warming process, I will dump the whole bag of ebm into tap water. It will thawed in abt 10 minutes time. I dun use warm water cos every pack ebm can use for ard 2 feed. I afraid if use warm water to thawed later cannot keep liao. I will pour the amt for 1 feed into bottle then warm up n keep balance back to fridge.

Just wondering that vaccination can be taken at night ? Cos thinking of bringing my Bb for her 2 nd dose 6 in 1 n rota next Monday night ... Is that ok to b at night ?