(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

me now can pump 4-5oz already.

funny leh... tat time pump 2-3oz now have increase abit...

but im still pump and throw till i stop eating antibiotics.

just now got a mummy come and collect some bm from me cos her bb born premature.

she give birth when she's 6 and a half month pregnant.

so ke lian. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

gave her as many as her cooler bag can fill up cos her supply is very very low and can't latch on to stimulate supply also.

Ann & n_g,

they are ignorant as they dun have a child yet. Sometimes when they talk outside the room, my mood feel sian in pumping. Sometimes scare they barge into the room as there is no lock inside.

For those mummies working, did you bring pump to work? I find it so troublesome to bring extra bag out and squeeze in public transport.

cheekrene,

can use a chair to block the door since the lock is from outside? I brought my pump to work n just leave it in office n only bring it back on fri for weekends to use.. during weekdays night, i will just use the manual pump to pump out..

Pd0513,

ya i sit near the door to block them from barging in. I have extra pump but its just that if i stay at my mum place, i still need to bring pump around.

cheekrene : im not working. but if im going out more than 3hrs, i will bring pump + cooler bag out. So in total i brought 3 big bags out each time.

n_g : thanks for giving me the link for the boots milk bag but the lady din reply me. gotta lok for alternative liao.

alibaba,

i dunno woh. i just told them my bb's wt then they pass me the float. should b good for your boy cause similar size la.

u can come collect anytime, but u must collectliao quick go back cause our family is down with viral few days ago and recovering now

by right i should be at work this week, but maid is sick so i have to take leave and take over. my voice is daosa now.

pink-xuan

if the mummy wants more bm, I have. fyi.

Cheekrene,

I bring pump to n fr co everyday. Plus my cooler bag, my lunch box, blah blah blah, I m like hse moving everyday. But bo bian lah. Plan to close shop liao, n oledi got 1 eletric + 1 manual pump, dun wan to buy another pump. How abt u sit right behind door when pumping? Can use your body to block the door if those idiot really open the store door.

Xuanx,

glad tat u r better n your ss up again. =)

since u use playtex before, mayb can buy those non zip lock type milkbag for use? Cheap n easier to find.

pd0513,

my freestyle is my 2nd pump to bring to office. i already got mini electric pump to put at home. if another pump, i think i got to stop bf as my supply drop to 80ml per day.

xpink_xuanx,

pei fu leh. you still can bring so many bags despite 3 kids. gosh, too heavy for me.

can anyone know if we can eat gastric medicine while bf? dunno what happen, since yesterday, the moment i start eating, my gastric is uncomfortable n sometimes painful.. ;(

my gal crying after drinking 40ml of milk. been like this since last nite.

drank 30ml then dun wan to drink. 2 hours later drink 20ml then dun wan to drink also and cry.

help !! i dunno how much milk to put in the milk bottle now also.. keep throwing away precious milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

y like this.. what should i do?

help help !!

monkie, dun throw away left over milk... u can use it to wash face or pour into bb bathing water...

tat's wat i did when my bb is ard 1-2 mths old & got some leftover milk... now she managed to finish the whole bottle..

usually she finishes 1 whole bottle. but since last nite she dun wan to drink and cry when drinking halfway then refuse to drink anymore...

how how.. ? help ~~

hmm... maybe she's uncomfortable.. or wans to blurp... maybe u can try to carry her uprite for awhile then try to continue to feed?

monkie,

my boy is same as your girl, since 2 days back, he can't finish his milk. usually he can finish 150ml every 3hrly at one go but now when he drinks halfway or 3/4, he will keep pushing the teat out using his tongue. so i will burp him then continue feeding but sometimes he just won't drink so no choice must throw away. then the next feeding i will just wait till he cries for milk to ensure he's really hungry.

i burped her already then she dun wanna drink. she just cried then i made milk. then she drink 20ml already she stopped sucking and started to cry.

the mouth like seeking for thing to suck. but when the teat/pacifier touch her mouth, she cry again. then i carry her and walk around then she fell asleep. now i put her down to her cot and she is sleeping...

omg !! she is drinking so little milk...

jasmine ur boy also behaving like this? can ask u when was the last time ur boy poo poo?

my gal havent poo for 1 week... she is on EBM. but she drinking only like 20ml, 30ml every feed... how.. ? anyone else bb also behaving like this?

crescent, i tried for more than 1 hr. carry, feed , carry, feed... the moment the teat goes in her mouth she screams and cries

monkie,

mayb u can give her less milk like 50ml each time 2 hrly.

my girl also behave like this now but caregiver telling me is normal coz she just had her jab on mon.

in tat case i tink she's tired... if not u try to let her latch on... my ger sometimes nite time oso like tat... give her pacifier oso dun wan.. wans to latch on then sleep...

Monkie, is yr gal tummy bloated? Got air inside or not? If bloated, she can't stomach all e milk.. My gal sometimes like that, latch 5 mins dun wan Liao.. U can apply ru yi oil, or give gripewater?

xpink_xuanx_1987 (mommyxuanx), my boy also started off like this, as his crying got worsen and sometimes he just screamed in pain while sleeping, i brought him to the PD and he is diagnosed with Acid reflux or Gastroesophageal reflux. That is stomach acid came back up his esophageal and it is kind of like burning his throat. He is now on medication and his crying has lessen now. Somehow babies more or less have some reflux/regurgitation, it depends on the severity. They will outgrow it eventually when their stomach valve gets more matured.

"Nowadays my girl keep crying when drinking milk. She struggle by kicking and stretch herself straight and crying when i insert milk bottle in her mouth. Yet, she's v v hungry but seems like she doesnt like certain position. Sometimes put her on the bed and i feed her milk, it works. But only sometimes!!! Sometimes it doesnt works.

Im going crazy when comes to feed her milk.

Hungry yet dont know wat position she wants.

Any mummies bb also like tat?"

monkie,

same, when i put pacifier in his mouth (cos he wanna suck something but not his feeding time yet), he will cry and cry, so i will pat/rock him softly or just walk around then he will fall asleep.

my boy just poo-ed yesterday night. he will poo every 1-2 days but he's on 100% fm so different from yours. you got give her ridwind/gripe water?

I think we all have the same problem that bb don't finish their milk.. Quite heartpain to see that. For me, I will put the milk back to continue to keep warm, and try to feed agn after 20-30 mins. U all can try. Mine works, guai guai drink after that.

my boy also like that and we even brought him to see pd. End up its just wind in the tummy. After feeding ridwind then started to drink more already. We used to give gripewater everyday. So concluded ridwind more effective.

monkie, ya, it is common that bb sometime will refuse to drink milk for certain period, dun have to worry too much. What I do is to separate my boy's milk to 2 small bottles (instead of 160ml, i separate to 2 bottles with 80ml each), so if he cant finish, at least not throw away so much.

But if ur gal keep crying while drinking, u may want to check if she has oral thrush too. If so, she may crys due to paintful on her mouth & need to see doc to take oral antifungal treatment.

sunflower, I ask my boy's pd last time regarding how long the ebm can last if bb cant finish at 1 goes. And he advised that it is better to put the milk back to fridge then take out for reheat within 1 hr. He said not to put back the milk into warmer continuos cos bacteria actually grow faster in bottle if the milk is warm.

But i lazy type la, if my boy refuse to drink, I just left it on table then reheat again when he want within 1 hr. but I never keep the milk in warmer for continue heating lo.

Rachel (oasis2000) : Thanks for sharing. I do suspect maybe she's having reflux. Brought her to PD, but PD say it might be block nose ask me give her some nose drop and allergies medicine as she may inherit from her dad who have sinus.

But reflux will merlion alot and many times in a day right?

She didnt really merlion alot, only abit.

cheekrene & n_g : Yes lor. thats y i go out must think properly first. try to go out less than 3hrs so i can no need bring pump and cooler bag. but if with hubby along, i will just bring lor. cos got hubby to carry the bags ma. lol

Hi Aug MTBs,

anyone doing up blogs for their babies? I am intending to do one, and would like to post yr blog addresses on it...

xpink,

When you pump outside, how long can you keep the bm? Me either bring bb out to latch or limit myself to max 5 hrs and rush home to pump.

Bakaholic , like u , when I go out nowadays also never bring pump le, but the most is 5-6hrs lor den rush hm to pump. Unless weekend together with hubby den bring out lor, but depending on the place also , some places the nursing room cannot make it de... Etc takashimaya lol

bakaholic, i bring cooler bag with icepack + extra gel pack so can keep up to 12hrs. but normally i keep less than 8hrs den faster go home put the milk inside fridge.

mamyvelle : i dont go to nursing room pump anymore cos always occupied some more i got no baby, i feel damn paiseh. i use nursing cover to cover myself and pump everywhere.

of cos, got to tahan at those weird stares lor.

Xuanx u mean in public? I cannot de , even when I pump , hubby inside rm I will ask him nt to look in my direction haha, and I only go to places tat is "pumping" friendly like united square , vivocity , paragon etc ... Coz gt individual rooms. Tat time went takashimaya went in the nursing room , den realise it's share share one , rather wait till go hm den pump , I shy shy... Stupid hubby ask mi use nursing cover hide inside car pump also dun dare, too bad I cannot fit inside the car boot. Haha

xpink_xuanx_1987 (mommyxuanx), my boy does not merlion alot. In fact only some milk triggers out the mouth when burped. However, within 24 hours, he will have at least 2 times crying spells during feeding. With the medication, his crying has reduced to once or on some days, no crying during feeding. The pd explained that not all babies with reflux will spit out, the acid could be just moving along the esophageal and stomach and may burnt the throat causing soreness/redness. Sometimes I can hear him swallowing in his sleep, I guess he swallow back those milk/acid. Very heart pain to see him suffering at this young age.

Anyone drinking enfamama? For nursing de,Gt many sachets to give away... Dun like powdered milk taste, gt chocolate and vanilla favor

Rachel (oasis2000) : Hmm... my girl is every feeding, she sure cry and struggle. So maybe my girl oso having reflux? Feel so angry becos brought her to 2 diff doc, both say the diff thing. 1 say is colic, another 1 say is block nose.

Perhaps i should go for 3rd opinion?

mamyvelle : i dont dare to drag too long if not supply will drop. especially now my supply is very very low already. so i heck care abt how others staring at me, just pump with nursing cover.

cyn here: there's no dirty things inside and the pd say not able to see block nose.

she may have sensitive nose and airway just like her sister and brother.

i suspect it maybe reflux after i did a search on it.

reflux may cause block nose too.

sigh.

im feeling ultimate guilty that im alrdy mother of 3 yet i dunno wat happen to her.

she just keep crying and struggling, choking and splitting all the milk out every feed.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

am gonna bring her go see pd again!

xpink - no need to feel like tat, every baby is different. Last time when my #1 has reflux, he merlion almost after every feed, it was really ALOT! till me n my mum got scared, but was confirm by pd that he has reflux. He was given medi to make his tummy feel better n to help to keep the milk down.. but it only help abit, so we stop giving him after 2 wks.. but the doc suggest, after burping, to carry him upright (usually over the shoulder) after every feed for at least 30min (to help to keep the milk down).. i find the carrying upright thing helps alot, he merlion alot lesser.

Xpink, did u give yr gal gripewater? My gal has reflux n confirm by pd since week3.. On medication for 2weeks n was better.. But now she still merlion at times.. Same as cyn.. Alot type tat have to change clothings one. Sometimes need to mop floor.. Anyway e pd told me 50% of e bb have reflux.. Normally they will outgrow by 6months n no need medication (2 weeks of medication costs $200+) he ask me give gripewater when she is fussy.. At first I thought nevermind la, will outgrow but sometime see her xin ku also heartpain.. Btw she sometimes got choke in her sleep.. She got hiccups very often too.. Anyway, I went Internet to research abt this magical gripewater.. Got website mention that it helps reflux bb to feel better.. So I let my gal drink occasionally now when she merlion or fussy.. Maybe u can give it a try?

Pump outside

I dont even bother to find a nursing room. Now i pump in car using nursing cover, switch on engine on air con and sit back seat and draw curtains.. I find pumping outside i feel more stress. Especially Scurly got ppl wait outside.

Anyone got any recommendation for hairstylist in bedok / tampines? Want to go cut my hair n do soft rebonding this sat when my boy at my mil's place

MVH : How much did u give gripzwater each time? I give 5ml using syring as instructed in the box. is it too much?

Xpink

5 ml is equivalent to 1 teaspoon , which is correct dosage

Duckling

Me have the Same doubt as Mvh , I don't think the warm up milk can place back to the fridge leh. It's not gd for the bb leh. We shld only discard leh. My way of doing to continue put back to hot water is old folks way la. Haha .. Anyway the unconsumed milk still warm, just continue to keep it warm lor