(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

alibaba,

reply on H2O, i seldom feed my boy water unless he having hiccups... he on at least 1 or 2 feed of FM as I cannot supply him 100%. So sometimes it's agar-ation... if he's sucking his fingers or hand, or u think it's not yet feeding time but he looks hungry then u feed him water lo.

According to your description, u only replace 1 feed to FM that means most of the time still BM, don't forget BM still contain plenty of water, so need not force them to drink a certain amount.

alibaba,

yah i find it fortunate also, sometimes after fidgeting in his rocker bed, he can fall back to sleep also... but 2 days back, there was 2 sudden and terribly loud thunder had startle both of us, since then on he'll suddenly cry very loud, like got a scared, so need to pacify him a lil...

just now brought him for injection and rotavirus, he cry so loud, never hear him cry so loud before other than the thunder 2 days back...

he's 8 weeks old, weigh 5.45kg and measure 57cm.

eeyore

good weight le.. envy u leh. can have a slpy baby.. haha.. my elder boy too noisy.. i tink #2 always got disturb by him.. haha..

Anyone's baby has slow down milk intake? My boy used to take in 140-150ml of milk at 2 hrs interval. But now only 100-120 ml at 3 hrs. My gf told me that her PD told her that once Baby's weight double since birth, they will slow down. That period is growth spurt period. My boy indeed doubled his weight. Is it true? Just wana check if anyone also same?

eeyore,

really envy u leh, ur baby can sleep so long.. last night my boy kept waking up even after his last feed.. this morning i had to let him lie on my chest n slept thru.. i think he probably not a deep sleep baby... will try your method tonight n see if works on my boy anot..

sunflower,

my girl is taking less milk these days..

can't finish her 100ml and also longer interval in between..

but she still look contented so i nv force her to finish her milk..

Sunflower,

Thanks for the encouragement. I am trying to get the LC to come by, hopefully today to correct the latching. Everytime i see the milk leaking from my boy's mouth, very frustrating. I tot latch on is like some natural instinct, shouldn't have much issue. Guess i am the lucky one.

my girl will fall asleep after we off the lights in the room..

if she wakes up at night for milk, after feeding and changing her diaper, i will give her pacifier and she will fall asleep after sucking for a while..

during the day, normally she will sleep after her bath and i will rush to shower myself..

afternoon, she will be awake from around 2-4pm and evening time, she will be awake from 6-10pm..

i will just let her lie in her cot or on the sofa..

she will just look around the house..

just make sure she has her pacifier if not she will cry for attention..

but on most mondays, she can sleep the whole day as we will bring her out on sunday..

Angel,

Your gal sounds like an angel. Mine very used to grandparents carrying so either he is asleep or being carried.

bakaholic,

my CL used to carry her during my confinement so that she dun have to do other things..

i was so afraid that it will become a habit..

but it seems like she dun enjoy the way i carry her so much, so when i'm alone at home with her, she's quite a angel..

haha.. but when my hb gets home, she will start trying to get his attention..

somemore she will laugh when my hb plays with her..

but when i try playing with her, she can't be bothered..

Long time never log in. My baby is super cranky nowadays sometimes scream until her face turns purple and nothing seems to calms her down. She's 2 months now.Is this colic? Anyone give their bb's gripe water?

Angel, my boy also liddat. Haiz so unfair when we r the ones doing all the hard work of giving birth and taking care of them

yalor.. i'm very jealous of my hb..

haha.. but i admit, i'm really not very good with babies..

btw, any1 bought playmat for their baby?

is it useful at all?

my boy will wake up every 2-3hrs at night for milk. only 5 days since the CL left and i'm so tired & exhausted. yesterday brought him to my brother's wedding dinner, guess he's kinda in shocked cos very noisy. so yesterday night he kept waking up despite being well-fed and diaper dry. i kept dozing off when i'm feeding him milk.

realised my son has a small white ulcer on his lip. is it because he's too heaty? but he has been drinking enfalac since birth (partly FM, partly BM) so should be nothing to do with milk powder? though it will gone in days but it only grew bigger. should i bring him to pd?

Wow.. Eeoyre u have a good sleepy baby.. My gal wakes up 2.5-3hrly last nite for milk.. Din cry much and easily fallen asleep after milk.. That's becoz she din sleep e whole day n tired in e nite.. How I wish my baby sleep, eat, poo n sleep, eat, poo.. Without e crying part.. Lol... Sleepy baby grows up faster leh...

Alibaba, regarding h2o, think no need to give since u only give 1feeding of fm.. Once bb starts on solid, just give h2o periodically n diligently make sure he drinks certain amt each day.. This is wat my mil did to my elder gal n she loves water..

I wonder what will happen if I went to e gathering yesterday wif a bb who doesn't sleep n wants to be carried all the time.. Lol.. I suppose all ur babies r well behaved?

Sunflower, yes.. Bb growth will slow down once they reach a certain weight, like u mention double e weight... First month of life they grow super fast, exponentially.. Now depend on certain growth spurts like, 3months, 6months.. I can share wif u my elder gal weight history...

Birth-3kg, 7weeks-5.3kg, 4months-7.3kg, 6months-8.1kg, 1yr-9.7kg, 18months-10.9kg

Angel, Mdm yip, my elder gal when she was a bb, she also doesn't smile at me, only to my hubby.. Coz my hubby plays alot wif her.. I m too busy wif her basic needs that I seldom plays wif her so she doesn't smile or laugh wif me.. Only when I started to talk to her more often then she begins to interact wif me.. So now I try to talk more often to my bb when she is awake, n indeed she loves to listen to me talking n even laugh wif me recently...

mvh, wat do u say to ur baby?

haha.. actually i feel stupid when i try to tok to my girl and keep repeating the same thing over n over again..

so sometimes i just keep quiet, i even have to remind myself to tell baby that i'm going to change her diaper or i'm going to bath for her..

when i try to play with her, she gives me the 'wat is the stupid woman trying to do' look..

Mvh

Thks, will take note of this [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel, mdm yip

My boy likes my hb too. When he cries or need to be carried, my hb can calm him down. For me it takes a while. Even my mum says that my bb can listen to my hb rather than me. We later Noe that bcos my hb talks to my tummy every day when I'm preg while I seldom do that. Maybe that's why he is closer to daddy.

Dear mummies

would like to ask any mummies still haven bring bb go for first injection yet?My boi coming 2mths next mon..i still haven bring him go for injection!Thot of taking him to clinic or polyclinic for the injection..will they aware what injection should give?Thanks!

Angel,mmm.. I just talk abt anything.. Abt my elder gal, abt her making mummy busy, asking her to be obedient, grow up faster.. Sometimes I 'exercise' her hands n legs.. I also pull her up slowly so that she can try to strengthen her neck muscles.. Praise her when she tries etc.. Just talk abt anything.. Try different pitch n tones to catch bb attention..

Hello everyone.. how ru all? Very busy with the unpack and rearrangement the house after bring back my gals from mil house.

Nite feeding - my gals now is 7th week and still wake up 3 hourly at nite for feeding.. for twins, mean i have to wake up more.. really exhausted and hope they grow up faster. furthermore, the gals seems like to sleep like pig thru the whole day time and mid of the night will only sleep deeply in 30-60 mins. is this means they mix up the day and night time? I tried to wake them up during day time but they never bother me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] any suggestion? issit after some time they will adjust themselves?

Angel, my boy even tiao me when drinking milk den when i complain to hb he says whr got.. Worse is my boy smiles to my mil which makes me wonder even more as my hb n me are the ones takin care of him..

Hello need advise from all of you..

Who will be kissing goodbye to their current employer after ml ends? When to start looking for another job cause i'll be returning to work nov n tender notice takes one month and will be able to start earliest dec. If i start sending my resume out is it too early now?

penguin, is nv early to send out resume...tat my opinion.. =)

btw..anyone bought any playmat fr motherhood BP??

can advise??

feel like buyin one..

sometimes weather so hot..wan to give bb sleep on playmat

for mummies who wan to know abt e thawing of EBM..

i check with lactation nurse fr mt A

she say have to start counting from the time we transfer the frozen EBM to normal compartment + 24 hour

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I am rather new to this forum and came in to seek help, upon my friend, Sophia's suggestion. She was an avid member here and has actually help me seek successful help from here before and thus, here i am myself!

Allow me to intro abt myself..

I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of

breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are

comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from

you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 4 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed or obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!

sunflower, my bb's milk intake drop a lot too leh...

previously drinking 100-105ml, now reach about 60ml then fall asleep. i got to sit there for almost 45mins trying to feed the remaining and sometimes drink up only like another 20ml then dont wan to drink

how ah? should i force her to drink more till about 80ml? scared she not enough milk..

Anyone went Robinsons sale today? They are having up to 20% off nursery and kids stuffs. I'm eyeing the cheap Nania car seat that is for 4mths - 4 yr old ... weekend price is $109... cheap. Hopefully still have stock cos I am going to grab it tomorrow.... My boy is growing so much that my infant car seat is getting a bit squeeze for him.....

Alamak.. My spotting come back n haunt me again.. Spotting stops on mon, 9weeks, then tue after pap smear, start to have a little brownish spotting.. Till now still have leh.. Dunno issit becoz of pap smear.. But also kinda too long Liao mah..

Monkie, I think just let ur bb take e lead on how much he/she wanna drink ba.. I scare force feeding might result too full n might merlion?

MVH,

my girl oso likes to be carried...i use sling whenever i goes out n she'll b slping soundly inside thru' out the whole trip most of the time

so how's the gathering yest? too bad i had to miss it...no even gets to go farmart w my boy as planned today...haizzz

need some advise.

my girl doesn't sleep much in the day, about 5-20mins each time after feed. (during day, she needs to be carried before she can fall asleep... spoilt by my MIL *Sigh*) At night, she will sleep for 4-6hrs then wake for her night feed, and another 3 hours then wake for her morning feed. Read that babies at 6wks shld be sleeping more and my girl is not.

Does sleeping less really affects bb's development?

Any advise on how I can make my girl sleep more?

suika,

yday was just a mini gathering, only me, dreymin n chocochips went.. not too bad, was fun watching all the babies, chatting with the mummies.. think eeyore took some photos of the babies, just wait for her to upload ba..

hi MVH, i feeding bb EBM. sometimes see her never finish so much like so wasted... =( then scared wait she dehydrated too..

Suika, robinsons got sale ah... didnt receive any flyer from them leh. member's sale today? any 20% discount for babysafe brand?

Starz, my bb also sometimes like this. i guess maybe it could be too hot or humid during the day. sometimes i bring bb to bathe and it seems to work and will sleep 2-3 hours straight after the feed straight after bath. does ur bb like to bathe? maybe can try bathing for her.

susan,

see when we org again....make it on a wkday so easier for mi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

monkie,

got sales? too bad can't go out

morning all!

just wanna let u all know that i have a bottle of fenugreek (100 capsules) from gnc to let go. bought at $29.50, letting go at $20. If u r interested or yr fren is, please post on the forum directly.. =)

have to do self collection though at tampines.. =)

Hi everyone... who still using S size mummypoko?

I overstock 2 packets 72pcs, any takers?collect @ admiralty link ok...tat time NTUC offer 20.65, think now offer ended le, I can sell $20 each packet, buy 2 a bit more offer, sms me at 93621700 for fast deal please...

Im feeling so gulity to stock so much.. sob!

Monkie

I agreed we shld not force bb to drink. If mine only finish half tank and fall aslp, I will put in warm water again and wait another 30min and try again. Usually he will consume. But if he doesn'tm, then I will throw the milk away, no choice.

Nature Lover,

Yeah! I'm also keen on east side gathering... but who will open house? My home is messy ..... plus now pasir ris area got dengue fever on the rise... so best avoid my area.