(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

alibaba,

oh how come cover face, is he's hand on top of the beanie...

when place, better put bb's hand above beanie, otherwise after they fidget, the beanie might cover face.

bakaholic

it's beanie pillow. those type old folks like to use to put on the chest of bb to prevent bb get startled easily, has been using it since day3 when he came back home.. but kinda dangerous now cos they are at the "hands up" stage.. the beanie tends to keep moving up now.. but unsure whether will effect bb if nv use it..

eeyore

my maid lor.. ignorant! put above the hands. & worst still when i saw the beanie on his face, i quickly remove it & saw the hankie below cover his face.. two times heart attack!and she still got the guts to tell me tat she always will check on him.. i'm v pissed off last night.. how the hell can she keep her eye on him ev min...

eeyore,

how did u get your boy to sleep thru the night? Share tips leh... My boy can only sleep maximum of 4+ hours straight at nite...

mvh,

your girl still have the reflux issue? I'm now wondering if my boy also has reflux. He has been puking more and more milk as the time goes by..... initially only puke a bit like 1 teaspoonful after burp.... in the past 2 weeks, he has been puking like 10-20ml a few times after latching on .... so I really wonder if he got any milk absorbed or not.... now even wearing bib for him is no use... all soaked. After puking few times, he will smile and zzz. I'm puzzled!

alibaba,

Its not a 'must' to use beanie pillow... but i feel it does help reduce the startle for bb.... cos they startle easily and will wake up. If use beanie pillow, it helps them sleep longer bah.... I also got the experience of beanie pillow cover my boy's face a few times when he's 1 mth old ... but now, he doesn't kick off the pillow liao.... I put the pillow under his arms.

ahNah,

i think the impact not so great for BF, more for the wound. better dun take the chinese medicine for now. we dun know the properties esp now her wound is infected, dun take the risk.

ur boy may vary in appetite from time to time, but generally boys drink more i think so dun worry!

saffy & MVH

wat a pity, hope to meet more mummies. Itz stl raining but told eeyore will still go after lunch, my maid preparing simple makan now.

alibaba,

i dun burp smtm coz she sleeps so well at nite. recently i noticed she has been spitting out less often which is gd news. my #1 i seldom burp coz he dun spit out at all so why waste my efforts right? haha!

regarding beanie, i tried to use on my gal but she dun like same as #1. so it is juz sleeping nx to her most of the time. not a must to use, if the baby gets startle very easily, gd to use it.

saffy,

we r the lucky ones, really i mean it. for #1 i had almost 2 years of not sleeping well, so this is bliss.

west side mummies meet-up:

any west side mummies interested to meet up at my house which is just next to boon lay mrt station (sheltered to my house if rain)? it will be on next wed, oct 6.

mummies who confirmed going are:

1) ahbee

2) ednique

alibaba,

my gal loves to sleep with my old adult pillow, maybe got my smell, haha!

i will tuck it next to her at nite, but below the shoulder so she will not get smothered if she suddenly can turn over.

aso this pillow gives her comfort, akin to hugging her whole body. this works better than the beanie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann > think my Renase also been experiencing reflux on off since weekend...will also puke more milk now after burps at times....but it is something which they will outgrew based on what i read on Babycentre's website...

then she like haven gain much weight since we last weigh her 2 weeks ago....but she is sleeping n drinking well...althou lately like will get cranky when feeding....

all > the beanie my mom told me don use in the nite cos we are asleep n don monitor bb that actively...so we use it during the day only...

beanie

think i will probably try to dont use it a night. it really scared the hell of me last night, and wanna cry when i tot of it last night... til i cant slp for the next 2 hrs.. even slp on his tummy, i told my maid to only do it during the day when i'm around..

talking about reflux.

now my boy oso seem to puke more than last time.. unsure if it's gasy stomach or overeat...Ever at times, he really merlion... alot of milk. once i asked my maid when was his last feed, & it's like 1 hr plus ago.. and shld be overeat.. all in all, i tink he is v tam jia... tinking whether to intro pacifier to him now.. my mil has hint me to use it already... my #1 time i insisted not to use it & he's ok with it..

Hello all[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Long time nv log in cause whole of last wk hb at home with me..

Eeyore: i wan go for gatherings but maybe wait he 2 months.. When u all having another one again?

Am thinking wan to bring bb out to ofc cuz my colleague leaving next month..

White lady: my boy last feed at ard 9plus den wake at 3plus. Feed zzz for another 4 to 5 hours then zzz.. Today raining sky dark dark my boy zzz like log think he feel that its night time..

Greetings from Fotographilia!

We are having a promotion for weekday studio sessions from Monday to Thursday, 10am to 8pm, at $180 for 20 soft copies edited and printable to S8R size!

Do call us soon for a booking soon!

Visit us at www.fotographilia.com

Promotion is valid till 15th of November!!!

dreymin,

yes this #2 is a lot easier than my elder one. korkor used to have colic every night without fail for about 2 months, and he still wouldn't go to sleep. i remember we used to have to put him in the car and drive around until he slept. for mei mei, i think partly because i am bf-ing her (i gave up very early on with the first one) that's why it's easy for her to fall asleep while latching on while lying down.

re: reflux

yes! alice has been puking at least once every day now when she didn't use to. so much so that sometimes we feed her without her clothes on because we know she is just going to vomit and dirty herself.

saffy,

feed her without her clothes?? she won't catch a cold meh? I have resorted to using toddler bibs, those big sized ones that covers almost the whole body....

alibaba,

I'm thinking cannot be overfeed then vomit rite? I thought babies that latch on won't over-drink...

pekkle,

My boy despite poo and puke alot has been gaining weight, although these 2 wks the weight gain is not as fast as before..... I really wonder what is going on inside his body...... He's now 5.8kg...

ann, susan,

I realised these 2 nights that he've been sleeping thru, the previous 2 feeds are short interval...

usu he's feed is 3 hrly, but these 2 nights he's feed is (example) 9pm, then followed by 10:45 or 11 instead of 12am...

I'm gg to try again see if this logic of his works...

last night my girl feed at 11pm den the next feed was at 6.30am..

was so surprised when i saw the clock when she woke me up..

1st time in wks that i had such a long sleep..

she also merlion twice last wk..

this wk, she puke on n off thru out the day..

but she seems happy after puking so i think it shd be nothing serious..

her weight gain is ard 0.5kg for the last 2 wks.

is that normal?

fumeko and those Mums on fully EBM, can share with me how u cope with nite feedings? What is the fastest way to wram up milk?

My Bb can't wait and will cry out loud while waiting for me to warm up the milk. Everyone in the family including my neighbours can't sleep. Hubby suggest me to let Bb take freshly expressed out milk (keep for 4hrs or wait till Bb wake up so no need to warm) but my supply is dropping seriously cos I no time and keep delaying the pump. Now at nite I can only pump 90ml each session for next feed but my Bb is drinking 100ml now. Its not enough.

ann,

only during the day la, when it is hot to the point where we are both sweating :p but usually we will put on at least one thin cotton shirt and standby lots of tissue paper and a mop!

Jascmy,

Are you able to catch your bb's wake up time? Then you can wake up earlier and wait till he stirs and then warm up the milk.

My boy also cannot wait. Usually we timed like 3hrs feeds. Once he starts making some sucking noises, we quickly make fm (i know it's faster than warming bm). Otherwise, needs a 2nd person to carry and calm him.

Can I check if any mothers taking fenugreek? I bought a bottle from gnc and wanted to check the dosage we shd be taking. How many pills should we take daily?

Bakaholic, I can't catch his wake up time cos sometimes its 3hrs, sometimes 2hrs and sometimes a bit longer than 3hrs.

Did u set alarm clock to wake u up earlier? My boy will stirs and then go back to sleep again. Not sure when is his real wake up time.

Fenugreek is safe hor. I got a small bottle from a friend. My elatives ask me to go natural instead of taking pills. I'm confused!

Ann, i think my gal reflux is getting better, I hope? I din burp her after feed, scare merlion.. I only apply ru yi oil often to help her clear wind in tummy.. She will still split at times, quantity not sure, sometimes wet one of e whole sleeves.. Sometimes a bit more I will change her clothes.. I used to change her clothes quite often like 2 times a day due to merlion.. But now hardly.. I also dun put her to bed after feed.. I will carry her at some angle for some time.. I also used a high pillow for her to lay down.. Guess all these actions help a bit ba.. N yes, when she merlion, she felt tired n fell asleep easily..

My gynae suggested either fenugreek or she can prescribed something for me cause supply is no longer meeting demand!

Ah Nah, you mean 9 pills daily? Wow

Jascmy

Mine can't wait too , pacifier don't wrk too. So usually I put the milk in hot water then latch him. Let him suckle a while till milk is ready. Last time I let him cry, but then too heartpain.

Fenugreek : LC told me to take 3 pills 3 times a day to speed up the production.

Alibaba

For the beannie bag, u can try to load more on both sides so that it's heavier on both ends and baby will not move it easily. Baby's hands on top of the bag, like that safer.

ann

cos mainly bottle feed my boy.. seldom latch him cos i latched him long also he seems to be not enough after latching..

sunflower

ya the beanie shld be placed under his hands but i duno y they like to put on top of their hands. to prevent him to hands up? so there's no need to change to a lighter beanie right?

water

i have since introduce 1 feed of FM a day. how much water can i introduce to bb? morning after shower he drink about 20ml of h2o.tinking to introduce abit more water to him.. afraid he reject water totally when he is older..

walaoz, the forum finally back to normal..

eeyore,

if u try n it works again, let us know.. will try it on my boy.. hahaha..and thanks for having us at your place.. it has been a great meetup even though it just 4 mummies and babies.. hehe.. =)

Eeoyre, dreymin, saffy

Can I ask if yr bb is active in e day or sleep most of the time since yr bb can sleep thru e nite?

My gal couldn't sleep well today in e day.. Sleepy, sleep in my arms or yaolan for 10mins or so, wake up n couldn't sleep for 30-45mins.. Then e whole routine repeats again for e whole day from 10am to 7.30pm. Then sleep soundly since then till now... Dunno if can sleep thru e nite or not coz she always wakes up at nite n play or poo or feed...

Alibaba

For me I shift the beans to the sides of the baby so it's lighter on the chest area but heavier on the sides to prevent him from moving the bag

Feeding time

I wana ask how u all calculate feeding time? If u start feeding at 9am, finish at 915am, do u count next feeding time based on 9am or 915am? I'm counting 9am but my mil told me I count wrongly bcos some baby can take 1 hr to finish milk.

Alibaba, I put e beanie vertical when my gal sleeps in yaolan, but it will slide to e sides most of the time ESP when she moves a lot..

Sunflower, should count from e beginning of e feed..

Sun flower,

I count from start of the feed too. Tat suppose to be the time of bb hungry. Some say end of the feed. But i m used to count from start cos he still at times take ages to finish his milk.

so how? no body answer me leh about h2o.

Sunflower/Mvh

ya now most beans are at his side. And end of day the chest part have no more beans cos he move alot. When i put on rocker Will put the beanie vertically

Thks ladies! Then I'm correct [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I never hear pple count ending time before. My mil is strange!

Sunflower,

I think old folks count end of feeding time cos my parents think so too. Haha.. But it's beginning of feeding time.

Jascmy,

I set the alarm clock at 3hrs cos i give formula at night. But sometimes he wakes up at 4hrs (usually he will have 1x 4hr sleep and the rest at 3hrs).. so i will go back to sleep. I also have baby monitor so we set to the highest volume so can hear him stirring and either of us will spring to action.

I am still unsure to start fenugreek or not. My hubby says since i am starting to re-start my latching, i should leave it to increase naturally. But it's just frustrating cos I haven't seen any effect yet, esp, i have taken domperidone for a wk. Haiz..

Bakaholic

I think it takes time. That time I'm also frustrated but my gf told me not to be so anxious. As long as we latch or pump regularly, milk will increase from 2nd mth onwards. I stop fernugreek long time ago, but supply can maintain bcos I try to pump regularly . Don't stress k

Susan,

Don't mention, it's been great meeting up with new faces, thou it's a mini one...

The method works, can try to use it on your boy...

last night I tried to latch on 15 mins each side, followed by a 40ml BM, he woke up only this morning for milk (still in gorgy stage).

MVH,

my boy sleeps most of the time in the day