(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

QQ, CSY, very cruel yeah... But boh pian, I dun wanna carry him to sleep whole day. Anyway every 5 mins, I will go pat pat him to comfort him but I don't carry him up... Even though he cried so long, he didn't show any sign of trauma... Can still drink milk and smile wor....

pink xuan, I suggest if getting a maid too troublesome for you, maybe get a nanny for your eldest who is staying nearby, so you wont be so stressed out, or send your eldest to daycare? Should be able to use CDA funds for payment of daycare, but I'm not sure what is the min age for kids at daycare centre.

Just went to pd for vaccination..

My gal still got reflux coz keep splitting up.. During consultation she already split up 4times.. Pd said take a while to recover.. Up to 6months..

Breastmilk jaundice better Liao.. Heng sia.. No need anymore blood test..

Ask pd e amount of milk my 6week old gal should drink.. He said 80-100ml.. But he said if she still want more, can give 120-140ml, but he added will become big size since feed more..

My gal is 5.1kg at 6weeks.. Gain 2.4kg from birth.. Pd said big size.. Alamak..

Need to check wif u mummies.. I din have time to bathe my gal before injection.. So after how many hours after injection then can bathe?

Ask pd need to burp my gal or not.. He said after 1 month no need leh.. Maybe becoz my gal got reflux which sometimes she vomits after burping..

My gal also got a problem.. Her belly button is sticking out.. Pd said e muscle beneath e belly button is not strong to pull back e button, hence some of e intestine push it out.. Take 6 to 12 months for e muscle to strengthen..

MVH, means your gal is doing well lah. My gal is also close to 5kg now. I feel very bad cos I really control her diet. Feed her 100ml even though I knowshe wants more. She is very tam chek.

Brand new set AVENT UNO SINGLE ELECTRIC breast pump. With 1 year international warranty from Aug 2010.

Throw in free adaptor for singapore socket as this is a US Set.

UNO can be used in 3 ways, manual pump, electric and battery operated. Socket head is US parallel pin, voltage can be used in Singapore.

Interested, please PM me or email to [email protected]

Hahha I must also advert once more also..

I've got 1 pigeon bottle n food warmer to sell.. At $50 .. Collection at Jurong.. Used less than 5 times nia...

Interested parties pls let me noe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xpink, I think it would be good to get some help in e day time?

Wl, maybe u can give her a bit more each time if she cries?

eino and ann,

Thanks for the link to the nursing cover. Will consider them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Correct latching

Does your milk leak from the other side of bb's mouth? Is there suppose to be any noise, like can hear bb gulping? My ger will suddenly cry out loud for no reason while nursing. I'm starting to think that there's problem with the latching. Might need to see a LC soon.

Mdm Yip,

Can I have the contact for Doris too?

mvh: u mean we dun necessary have to burp em after 1mth? i have problem burping my boy ( exactly 1 mth today ). then i will let him sleep after the failed attemp, then later i will find trails of milk at the corner of his mouth n the towel beneath his head. is it ok? and there is a lots of those "pimples" on his face which dun seem to go away.. =(

I have been missing in action for so long cos i was hospitalised again. Had fever at 39 deg for 7 days in a row, finally was admitted through a&e with a recommendation letter from a GP. was on antibiotic IV drip for 4 days. that was a terrible time.

xuan,

yeah, supposed to have gulping sounds or swallowing sounds from baby when drinking. During let down or fast milk flow, it will be gulp, gulp, gulp .... If you have a lot of milk, its normal to have milk leak from baby's side of mouth when its too much for them...

As to reasons why baby cries suddenly during nursing, you can read this article in the link below for info. But my guess is probably your let down too power?

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/baby/fussy-while-nursing.html

scooby2010, oh dear, hope you are feeling better now. Was the fever due to mastisis? do take care.

eino, my baby also got those pimples.....some are heat rash, some are those that look like white-heads acne.... also dunno when it will go away. Thot baby supposed to have good complexion.

ur breastfed bb got very watery stools or not?

When I change my bb diaper, I saw her stools coming out v watery, yellow with seeds

n come out 4 times all watery

Is tat ok??

scooby, cause of the breasts? then got fever?

take care and rest well ya.

ann, my bb dun have the gulp gulp sound one le. his gulps are smaller ba. anyway, i think my latching is oni 80% close to correct latch. my letdown is too fasst, and he always pull out my nipple. i ahve to manual squeeze out some milk before feeding (for one side), otherwise he wont want the breast.

:{

yah, thought bb suppose to have good skin too.. very "sianz" everytime see the pple come n go..

my left nipple is sore now. may i know who is that LC doris u gals toking abt? i need to clear my blockage...

madam yip, how much is doris's charges?

mamyvelle, my helper leaving in 1month++ time cos contract ends. so now she start to go shopping and buy things so she could bring home. most of the time, i'm alone with the 3 kids.

Sunflower, have ordered [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommyxuanx, so new helper coming in soon?

mamyvelle, nope. no new helper cos hubby say no extra $$ to hire. want me to handle myself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pink: put ur eldest in childcare, 2nd in infant care if under 18months.. But quite ex if u are not working mum but can use cda dong first till ur no 3 stable..

I put my boy on tummy at home on normal bed and now he cant zzz face up! How? And he refuses to even zzz on his tummy in his own bed[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] he is zzz between my hb and me which we are suffering from serious lack of zzz cuz we are checking on him at some time and also to make sure we don make big movement and hit him.. How? Really missed e times where i can sway my hands and legs freely on e bed[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

scoby: must take care, u had a bad labour right?

Ann - thanks! also thumbs up to u! i can't bear to let baby cry for so long!.. 10min is max for me!

Scooby - oh dear! wat happened? u take care!

xpink - gd luck to u! it takes a superwoman to handle all 3 with such small age gap! i can't even handle my 2 without my helper bcos my #1 is frequently throwing tantrum to gain attention n demanding(he's still learning to talk so get frustrated easily). talk to ur hubby if u feel u not able to handle or going to breakdown. its not gd for any of u in the house if u get into depression (esp now u ve just delivered not long). perhaps also limit ur maid on which day she can go out to buy her stuff.. i think its v inconsiderate for her to go out n leave u with d kids by urself, u jus delivered, ur baby still so young, n ur maid still currently employed till she go back, so she shld still help u as much as possible.

xuan - sometimes my boy cry while nursing bcos that side of the breastmilk finish liao, so v to change side, then he ok.

Eino.. Coz my gal still got reflux n will vomit milk when burped.. So he said no need to burp her since she is >1monfh.. Dunno this implies to my bb only or in general.. Anyway, becoz of reflux, she always split up milk when lie down, ie milk flowing fr her mouth after a while.. Sometime it is beancurb type too.

Scooby, aiyo..so many days ah.. U must be very tired n in pain.. Take good care of yourself..

Pimple aka white dots on bb face..

If near e mouth n cheek area, tat's cause by breastmilk stain.. Sometime e breastmilk leak from mouth, we just use tissue wipe but after some time got white pimple pop out.. Solution is to use water to clean the cheek n mouth area after feed so that the milk won't irritate e bb skin n cause pimple..

mvh, your baby good wt woh. but i tot reflux wont have weight gain de?

how much milk she vomits each time? my boy also vomits but i tot it is normal leh cause the amount is not too much. sometimes quite a lot la, but most of the time a little bit.

hm.. am I overlooking my boy's problem?

my #1 vomited worse than #2, last time we brot her to pd, pd said not reflux. reflux bb wont gain wt de.

so it is either i take it too lightly? or your pd take it too seriously for your girl. she is doing fine!

seldom on line at this time & surprise to see so many of u still active. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower, thanks for the link, i may order 1 to try out as my ss starting drop recently...

MVH, ur gal weight gain very good le... till now my boy only 4.5~4.6kgs & he is going to 7 wks old. so I think u dun have to worry so much on her reflux issue as her weight gain is good!

duckling, i was about to sms u.

it was a day with terrible exp today.

i brot ah will out today, for a while oni, at cwp. i tot oni for a while then did not bring a lot of things. sigh!!

half way when i was shopping, he cried for milk. can't even wait and i have to cheong to nursing room. all rooms were occupied, then i sat outside nursing room, (got two chairs) and started feeding.

as the area is diaper changing area, other fathers were also there. got one father was playing iphone and sitting on a seat,meant for bf bah.

then i took the last seat. when i started feeding, i feel that he should walk away or at least siam a bit. but he din, continued playing.

sigh! and ah will cannot feed well there. until someone came out from the nursing room, then i cheong inside.

after feeding, he pooed. wah!!!

big one. so i ahve to clean. i used up so much wet wipes u know? cause i pull one, then all came out after one another. jialat

i was worse than a 1st time mother. haha!!

and when i changed him, he pee! wetted his body, and i did not bring extra clothes. so it was time to go home. i din get to shop at all.

reflux babies can still gain weight.. my #1 had bad reflux but not serious until lose weight. he didn't spit out but rather vomit like merlion, with or without burping. almost after every feed. to keep his milk down, he had to b carried upright for abt 20-40min (although pd said 1hr) or lie 45degree after feeding n burpin b4 letting him sleep in his own bed. pd says not a concern unless baby lose weight (that's when they worry baby may ve blockage in intestine preventing the milk to go in). sometimes doc will prescibe anti-vomit medi for baby to control the vomiting. if only 1-2 time per day, think its not reflux.

btw,my #1 is now almost 3, he is still v prone to vomuiting but alot lot better than he was a baby. but he gain weight well.

v heaartache when see my #1 vomit, it can come out fr nose while sleeping! he got a shock n scream! its a scary sight. our clothes (n his) n bedshets will ususlly b soaked, its tat much!

QQ, if she vomits, her shirt n my shirt all kanna wet type lor.. Have to change definitely.. So I think it is alot.. Splitting up without pain is ok.. My gal sometimes will kanna choke while lying down, coz e milk flow upwards n she has blocked nose most of e time.. She will feel uncomfortable as n when when milk flow upwards.. Sometimes din burp her also will vomit out.. Worst thing is hold her upright also no use.. Whine alot.. So pd said all these were symptoms of reflux..

Pd also surprised that she gains so much weight.. He said normally bb gain 100g min per week la.. But she gain 900g within 2 weeks ( seen pd 2 weeks ago coz of breastmilk jaundice).. So he commented will become big size bb if continue to drink alot..

My bb took 2 vaccinations today, 6in1 n pneumococcal.. Seems like too much for her.. Whole day so shack, din wake up at all.. Feed also dreamfeeding type.. Wanna carry alot.. Was whining just now for a long time.. Body hot but no fever leh.. Anyway, after whining for about 1hr, ask hubby to give fever/pain medicine to her.. Now finally settle down.. But occasionally moaning in her sleep.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

QQ, I got similar experience as u in cwp last week.. I nurse her on e seat outside e nursing room.. Luckily no males at that time n my gal cooperative.. But while changing e diapers, she suddenly poo alot alot.. Imagine r whole diaper all yellow.. She was kicking n kicking n so hard for me to change her.. Got one mummy ask me ok or not.. Lol.. Then half way changing, she vomited on her shirt.. Luckily not much about 1/3 of e shirt.. N I also din bring extra clothes.. But I just dun care n use e swadding cloth to cover.. Then quickly buy some things in kiddy palace n go Hm..

MVH,

i thought its normal to vomit some milk after burping? my CL told me its very usual leh..if its curd milk, then those are previous digested ones.. ask u ar, did ur gal struggle by kicking and punching when she got reflux?

madam yip, precisely! I really cant handle 3 kids myself. despite i say that i want a new maid, he just care more about MONEY. telling me that my mum alone can look after 4 kids, why can't i do the same and blah...

pengun : put childcare and infant care spend more than maid wor. my hubby sure say no.

cyn here : yes, i really have no time resting with the 3 kids. actually i allow my maid go out becos i was hoping she would recontract with us. i've been asking her, she keep saying she will think about it first. so i tot maybe let her have some 'freedom' to go shopping buy things and maybe she will recontract with us.

pink xuan, then you tell him, thats because you are not your mum loh! And if he thinks anyone can do it, then why not he do it?

Some women can handle multiple children at the same time is because the age gap between the children are wider.. so the older ones don't need as much care as the younger ones. but when the age gap of your children are so close together, its a different story!

Man can be so idiotic sometimes. Also had argument with my HB this morning. He feed baby one time only complain this and that.. I woke up at night to pump my milk twice, prepare baby's milk thrice, sometimes have to change him also I also never complain... whole night I think sleep less then 3 hours.

wah lau.

btw my boy at 3 weeks plus is drinking 125ml per feed (not sure how much he drinks when I latch him though) is that too much? or too little?

I'm having problem latching my boy. He refuse to latch now. I think he clever, only want bottle teats instead of my nipple. He will cry out loudly and refuse to suck when I try to latch him.

May I know whether I can reuse the milk bag?? I'm hoping to start storing my milk soon but I know it won't last long cos my boy realy big eater. So if I use milk bag, within 3 days wll finish. Can I reuse it?

Selling off Brand new set of AVENT UNO SINGLE Electric Breast Pump. With 1 year international warranty from Aug 2010.

Throw in free adaptor for singapore socket as this is a US Set.

UNO can be used in 3 ways, manual pump, electric and battery operated. Socket head is US parallel pin, voltage can be used in Singapore.

Interested, please PM me or email to [email protected]

Can I check with u all... I notice that my bb has gt a little centred eyes sometimes.. Duno issit cos previously I put the cot mobile then cause him to focus on it??

Does anyone Noe if this is normal for infants n will go away after few mths??? Sighhhh

jascmy, cannot reuse the bags. they are presterilised.

MVH, hor.. your gal ok la. cause my boy shoot his urine at me and at himself. haha!!! jialat hor.

and this cwp's nursing room smell and look a bit run down liao. i must go out more often, otherwise cannot see improvement.

eh, that is also the reason why i dun feed my boy lying down. he sure vomit big time.

cyn here, sometimes my body also got milk come out from his nose. that's cause my let down is too fast. if we feed bottle, no problem. so i think the problem is with mama, not baby. anyway i haven't weight him, maybe he lost weight but i din know.

xpink,

u are a superwoman! how to handle like that? somemore u just delivered not long ago, also need more rest.

I've been trying to catch up the postings at night, seems like we all have to deal with baby crying at night. My girl also wants ppl to carry her, once set her down she will cry... Last night I realised that it is because I stop swaddling her 2 weeks ago, and she is being frightened awake. Last night after I prayed, I suddenly have this idea of swaddling her again, and it works, she slept 4 hours straight, and wake up at 4am for her feed... then she'll sleep 3 hours and wakes again 7am.

Anyway, my mum said I have to start giving her pacifier...cos she seems to want to suck on something, gave me the wrong idea that she's hungry, but after feeding, she just ended up throwing milk... (always throwing milk at night), and my mum also wants me to buy "jing feng san" from chinese medical hall, to rub on her gums so she won't be frightened at night, and this chinese med also helps to strengthen her gums, have anyone heard of this before???

My baby is 4 weeks old today. She is on total breastfeeding and total latching... I don't like to wear a bra at night thus sometimes ends up soaking my pyjamas and the bedsheets at night...not sure how to solve this...

It is really not easy to take care of a baby, I realise I haven't slept for more than 4 hours straight at night, I can usually sleep 10 hours at night...hahaha...I miss my sleep. But looking at how my girl sometimes smiles in her sleep....it suddenly becomes so worth it...