(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ah nah, i did bring red packet but to put baby's hair only. i did not put money in the red packet for the hair stylist as mentioned per QQ.

QQ, really huh? after drink coffee bb cant sleep soundly? okok, noted! I better dun take risk as my ah boy still consider good boy now (touch wood)...

I went out to Bugis to bring my girl & boy for pai pai last Sat, then continue for shopping & yam cha... total out for 9 hrs!! I only bring 1 bottle EBM & latch bb for 2 times... hehe... not bad as my boy still never fuss during the trip...

will 'pratice' more as really not easy to bring two kids out together.... :p

ahNah, i dunno why leh.

but the auntie who cut my #1 girl's hair told me she cannot accept cash de. ask me to put in angpow. so i did.

and i also did the same thing this round.

duckling, wah sey! 9 hours is v good and it sounds too tiring for me, steady! ( i wanted to say that i am old but we are same age la) i very buey zai when i latch outside, and i will sweat. oni if there is nursing room, then i will feel at ease. haha!!

more training for myself then.

Mdm yip, I latch my gal full time.. Seriously I dunno when she is full.. Nursing time can be diff also.. So I latch on demand lor.. But my gal latching time is always less than 15mins.. Maybe small eater.. Sometime 45min or 1hr wanna drink again.. Abit siong but ok for me la..

Duckling, u bring 2kids out alone? I din dare.. My mum n I brought my 2 kids to cwp on teachers day.. Only 3-4hrs tired Liao.. My #1 wanna carry still.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

QQ, air e butt? Then how to prevent accident? My bed kanna my gal's urine a few times Liao coz change diaper halfway, pee.. Already put those plastic mats also no use..

MVH,

my mil just dun let my girl wear anything (bottom) and placed her on a piece of diaper cloth nia. then air lor... (on bouncer, not on bed la)

accident? everything will drip on the cloth and then wash her butt more often. once poo, wash butt with warm water, then wipe dry.

for urine, the change diaper cloth.

mdm yip, i alsolatch on demand.

when he is full, he stops latching. sometimes will show his contented look le.

then last for about 2 hr. sometimes less, sometimes more. usually latch 1 side oni then last 1.5-2 hr.

midnight last 3 hr. the timing isnot always accurate de cause sucking power is not always the same.

v tired for me still.

mvh,

thanks for helping mi check on the chart.

my girl oso cranky at nite...duno how come she till now still waking up 3-4times at nite....mi so tired

last time my boy can slp thru by now ley.....she day time sleeps better but at nite keep disturbing me....worst of all she likes to poo in the middle of the nite *faint* forcing me to open my eyes wide to clean her up

mvh,

QQ is right, for bad nappy rash the fastest way is to air her butts....like that will heal faster, use water to wash rather then wipes to clean like that she'll not b so pain

MVH, no la, i still not dare to bring 2 kids out alone... too challenging!! my hubby was with us of course... hehe...

QQ, for latching, 1st 1 i did at bugis illuma nursing room & it was okie. for 2nd time, we were at north point yam cha with my hubby's cousin family. The nursing rooms there were all occupied!! so guess what, i let my boy latch at the resturant with just covered with my sarong sling.... 1st time nurse in the public area, try cover here & there (a bit paiseh & so scared other can see le)... so must practice more to make it perfect le... hehehe...

so how, when is our next gathering to bring bb out together huh??

wow ..the thread really moves very fast!

Thank you all kind mummies, Klaire says thank you!

Jus browse thru the threads...I'm real shag with my 15 mths old and this new born. Jiejie keep falling down..haiz..have to keep constant look out for both and yes, Klaire is also cranky at 9pm - 12am..

MVH - u can put changing mat underneath to prevent accidents? Dats wat i did for my #1 when she had nappy rash. air her butt! hehe

Ann, QQ, yes she is still helping mummies, not sure about the house visit part but she stay quite near me, so I don't mind dropping by for a visit..

Mummies, I managed to latch my Greg and it was painless throughout the whole nursing, has never happened before when I was at tmc..

Thanks to Doris... I'm very grateful to her

mdm yip,

i also latch my boy fully now since he's having colic..usually, he will stop when he's full n this can last abt 2 hours, except for the last feed, i feed him with FM which last ard 2.5 to 3 hours before the next feed. i only latch on 1 side during each feed..

now i let him sleep on his tummy n will check on him every now n then to make sure he din try to turn his position...

Mamyvelle, where u buy 0-6 small n medium?

All I see at kiddy palace is small n medium le

so ur teat hole face up?

But I try nuk today again, I tink my ger will confuse nuk teat n Tommie teat.

any mummies here use different brand of teats to feed bb with ebm ?

Re: 1st shave

I'm still reluctant to shave my ger's hair. Afraid that it wont grow to be as nice. But my mum forced me to do it. She said must do it either on 1st or 4th mth.

Mdm Yip,

They will unlatch when they are full. My ger usu latch for 15 mins and at most half an hr (if she suckle stop suckle stop). If she stop suckle for quite some time I will unlatch her and see how she react. If she's ok, I will stop. I have never tried 1 hr be4. Will ur nipples be sore?

Re: nursing in public

Any good nursing cover to recommend?

Glamgem, oh ya there is 10% buffer. I was told that I order 40pax they will provide for 44pax. Since u order 90pax, there will provide for 99 pax. They din inform u this?

oic, seems llike most of pple got lopsided milk supply issue. i was quite worried.

mdm yip: the latch on thingy n duration is not very consistent. cos also got to depend on how much wet diapers u have been changing too. my boy can latch from as short as 15 mins to 1.5 hrs. during tat time, i was like sitting there like a cow.

xuan: i got my nursing cover from the website www.ninemonthslater.com.sg

i find this cover better than those sold in the malls. full coverage and i have used it in public. i have no issues lifting up my whole blouse underneath cos i am not planning to get those nursing wear, may as well invest in one good cover.

Suika, yeah, sianz to clean poo at night ....... my boy is best... in middle of night he will poo poo and then his 'water pistol' will shoot at me when I am in midst of cleaning.... so end up, I have to clean poo poo, change his clothings, wipe his pee etc. Nowadays I have to action faster in changing diaper ... if not, always kena water gun!

Xuan,

re: nursing in public

Actually I'd rather hide in nursing room and bf baby... but if no choice, I use the nursing cover from this BP. Find it good cos it has a special neckline for me to look at baby while he is nursing.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4201213.html?1283745951

Hi tearybabe, maybe I didn't ask or didn't notice. Hopefully they still let me change cause buffet is this sat. Thanks a lot!

Today finally see the LC for the 2nd session using nipple shield. The latch on is a little painful. I thought proper latch on should be painless...

Ask her regarding the green stools, just so nice that bb poo during the session and i show her the colour of bb poo. She ask if i eat alot of green vege, cos the food we eat affect the colour of the poo. i do eat green vege for lunch and dinner, recently esp on broccoli. the colour of the poo does look like broccoli. Maybe that's why...

had a dinner date with hb just now before CL leaves tml...cant help it and had a piece of salmon sashimi.

Madam Yip, can pm me contact of the LC, Doris?

QQ, Did u read on Gina Ford's The Contented Baby book? cos the 7am wake up and 7pm sleep schedule sound like Gina Ford's principle.

I tried to follow her schedule but have to adjust to fit my bb.. very difficult to follow a rountine ...my boy always wake up at 6am. then he stay awake untill 9 or 10..

re: nuk teat for ebm

I am using small latex teats, just realised that the silicon teats that i have are medium.no wonder sometimes bb seems to choke on milk. blurzz me...i feed bb with hole face up cos the anti-colic hole should face up and bb can suckle only with the hole up.

From kiddy place lor.. It wrote 0-6mths small is for water/breastmilk , medium is for formula. I sing both nuk wide and normal neck teats now.

Ann , I also lor! Kana pee super many times le. Poo also... There was atime when i raise his leg too high den the pee shoot backwards kana vb face, haha . Too used to it le. My 2

yrs old ger has never do that to mi since birth. Haha.

tearybabe,

sorry , type too fast, heres the link..i lost her previous link

http://www.agapebabies.com

for Tan Leng Leng,hers is a spree, u need to wait 1 mth exactly..its not immediate leh.

ann,

my LC is at KKH leh.. she is Hui Ling.

eeyore,

my LC told me we need to massage correctly first before we can bf our bb.. u have to massage ur nipple by rolling in 'C' position and then 'U' position.. and it has to be hard, cannot be gentle, else the holes get blocked.. the way to check if u have unblock all blockage is to squeeze ur nipples..your milk should spray out ..in the beginning when i showed her mine, mine only 1 or 2 holes sprayed out..after massaging, more holes started to sprayed out..she says the best to have alot holes spray out so that the milk flow for ur baby is there..after that need to massage ur breast by using ur fists on both hands and run them in up-down position on your breast..then the nipples will start to spray out again.. these will clear the blocked ducts..

when latching, if baby cries, cannot be soft hearted because babies are clever, they know when they cry, u will give in..so just be calm .. u dont have to use pillow, but if needed, u can use to support too.. we cannot simply push our nipple to the baby and expect them to suck..we have to turn our breast down so that the nipple turn to a 'U' shape from our hand.. i dont know how to explain this. the U shape of the nipple helps the baby mouth to grip the nipple..once he is comfortable, then we let go...else keep compressing the shape..after a few tries of compressing the shape, he will get used to your nipple, and u dont need to compress further..baby's tummy must be next to our tummy too, so baby is comfortable..

Cranky baby :

could it be that they are not full after a feed that they cannot slp well? my boy used to be like that at wk2-3..after that ..we managed to noe how much milk is suficient for him..then now he can slp well at nite..i also switch off my lights, only on the lava lamp..no talking to him during nite feeds.. after feeding, burp and change diaper, then put him to slp..

Ann,

mine also !! pee upwards, and kena the shirt and also his face..now i try to put a nappy cloth on his tummy whenever i change his diaper.. once i saw the pee, will cover the kuku..very tiring to keep changing diaper and clothes at nite..im trying to understand how their kuku will be like when about to pee..

tearybaby,

yes i did read the book. i know that we are unable to put bb according to the book, cause my bb is sleepy, plus he latches fully. his latching is bo pak kay one, means sometimes ok sometimes now. so i dun care, just feed on demand, but i wake him up around 7am, or 8am. i mean i wait till he is fully awake the i feed. otherwise at night he wont go down easily.

ann, haha!! i kena before 1 month, the pee. so i use tissue to cover now. my frens taught me de.

tearybaby, u deliver in PEH is it? Cos i oso need help in latching. but need to pay for consultating LC is it?

Hi Sunflower thanks.

"run them in up-down position on your breast" meaning towards the nipple?

Hi QQ, i cant follow the book too althought bb on EBM cos he will cry and want his milk in 1 and half hr or 2hr. tml CL leaving so will be easier to follow the points as u mentioned. hope it works on him.

Hi Xuan, ya i delivered in PEH. have to pay $42.80 per session. if need to go for 2nd session, LC (Fonnie) might not charge for the 2nd round.

sunflower,

haha, same here!! I also trying to understand how the little birdy looks like when about to pee!! At first, I thot it will look like going to point and shoot look but then I also kena at times when it looks soft and pointing downwards ......

QQ,

just use normal tissue ah or the wipes to cover the pistol? Sometimes I use the wet wipes to cover but he still got pee....... my boy is like pee-ing machine... Nowadays he also pee when I finish bathing him ie when I pick him up from the tub and put him on the towel to wrap him, he will immediately pee... Then the towel got his urine and soaked thru to my pants. Grrr!!

mamyvelle,

I'm not used to pee shooting at me leh... My #1 girl and girls don't do this water gun thing..... Lucky thing I never kena poo shoot at me b4...... ok, maybe i shouldn't say too soon!!

seems like there's quite a few mummies here with babies#2, not just new mummies.. but i'm getting confused as to who's who here.. hehe! the thread is too long to follow up and remember who's who. =)

Baby watergun:

Once u open their diaper, hold up the diaper to protect urself, try to wait and make the "shi-shi" sound for baby to pee first b4 u clean up. or else, put a nappy cloth on his birdie area to protect urself while u clean.

latch-on duration:

i let my son latch on until he let go himself. I don't really insist on how long to latch. once babies are full, they will seem v uninterested in sucking and look contented. If they don't drink enough, they will continue to cry for milk.

colic:

Are mummies' babies having colic due to bottlefeeding? as far as possible, if u can latch, its the best option. my PD told me direct BF babies usually are not as prone to colic as bottlefed bcos of how they latch. colic will outgrow in a few mths time bcos they will suck better by then. burp more, and apply ruyi oil, try gripe water. hope this helps!

lump on breasts:

suggest using hot stone (i bought mine from Mdm Rokiah last time when she did my massage), it last longer than wet towels. Use the hot stone n press on the lumpy area, then massage and express the milk(if possible by hand), it shld help to clear the lumps (together with frequent latch-on or pumping)

tearybabe,

I think I read somewhere that if we eat brocoli and breastfeed, it will cause baby to get more wind in tummy...... so I try to avoid brocoli even though its one of my fav veg. By the way, I never heard b4 that colour of our foods will affect colour of baby's poo leh....

Ann broccoli can cause wind? I better stop eating it.

Was quite surprised when LC said so too. Will experiment by eating lesser green vege and see how it turn out to be.

ann, yes i use tissue to cover the gun. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aiya, train train then will be used to it. i am also not used to it. haha!

tearybaby, jia you. and i also cannot follow the book routine de. it is fine. we just adjust according to our bb's routine. as long as we happie can liao.

yes brocolli cause winds, so i dun take also.

these also cause winds.

- beans

- dairy (especially cheese), i ate pizza then my boy not feeling well and vomit big time next day

- peas

- cabbage, brocolli, onions,

tearybabe i pm u le

Xuan82, if the latch on is correct, nipples won't be sore. In fact after a whole day of latching my boy I can still pump my milk with no discomfort.

It is not that easy for me to get my boy to latch on properly in order for the nursing to be painless. I had to be very patient and keep unlatching him if his latch is wrong. And had to be abit violent- force his mouth open bigger so he take in more of my aerola.

mi juz finish feed n my girl duno wad she's doing no sleep i juz leave her in her bed waiting for her to doze off before i go to bed

ann,

my boy last time oso like that so wad we do is to put 1 tissue over then clean him up....u can try that, at least u wun get wet urself

Am trying out the "cry it out" method for my boy now... Hopefully it works...... First 10mins n crying still going strong...

25 mins passed.... The crying stopped. Ha, my boy zzzz on his own liao... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thks madam yip. Received it.

Ann, bravo.

Mandy, I let my bb do tummy time when he week 3 to train on his neck, have to look over him when put him on tummy.

QQ ya can't be too strict on the routine.

Many things to take note when breastfeeding.

Thought after delivery can eat whatever I like. Hee.

Tearybabe, haiz, I said too soon... He woke up 10 mins later and continued his crying... Cried for about 1.5 hour.. Until it's time for his next feed so I gotta latch him on. :p Shall try again tmr nite.

Mandy, I did tummy time for my boy from about 4 weeks.

Mamyvelle, am trying to train my boy cos suddenly he cannot sleep on his own after enjoying sleeping in sling over the weekend cos we went out whole day.. Kept sleeping upon latch 5 mins then when I put him down, he screams. Wanted to stop this b4 it becomes a habit for him....

Can let them cry for so long ah? My MIL say no good cos will suck in more air then more colic n I duno read from wad preg book that it will causes dis-attachment of bonding to the bb cos he will feel uncared for.. That's y I only at most let him cry for 5 min then I carry liao.. Sometimes hear him cry till he cough n voice hoarse I so heartpain !!!!

any mum got good lobang for Fenugreek ?

GNC is selling at $23 to $29++

But in US drugstore, it is only 9 SGD exclude shipping

i nearly broke down yesterday.

my elder one make a mess in the living room with her milo pouring all over.

me was in the room attending meimei cos she seems having evening colic, cried in the evening even though i have already well fed her.

my 2nd boy was napping in the playpen but i went out and see my elder one make a mess, i scream at her.

den my 2nd boy got scared from his nap and cried loudly.

i only have a pair of hands.

i gt to clean up the mess, clean up my elder girl, coax meimei, stop my boy from crying.

i feel like jumping off from the window and die ah!

damn stress up.

Lobang Time for BABYBJÖRN Baby Carrier Synergy (valid till today by 6pm)

Current Inventory (Based on first come first served):

Black OSS

White 2pc

Dark Blue 3pc

Product Info:

http://www.babybjorn.com/American/products/Mobility/BABYBJORN-Baby-Carrier-Synergy/

More about the BABYBJÖRN Baby Carrier Synergy

Provides vital closeness between you and your child.

Correct position for your child. Physiologically correct position for your child’s legs and arms.

Adjustable, stable head support. Secure support for your baby’s head and neck. Can be folded down allowing your older child to be carried facing forward.

Easy to put on and take off. All adjustments are made from the front. The front section can be opened fully, allowing you to lift out your sleeping child without waking him or her.

Maximum carrying comfort. Stable lumbar support provides comfortable support for your lower back. Wide, padded shoulder straps distribute your baby’s weight evenly over your back and shoulders.

Breathable comfort for both you and your child. The 3D breathable mesh effectively wicks away heat and moisture. This unique material has been exclusively developed for BABYBJÖRN.

Grows with your child. The practical sliding buckle makes it easy to adjust the baby carrier’s size to your growing child.

Easy portability. The practical storage bag kept in a pocket on the inside of the baby carrier can hold the whole baby carrier.

Breastfeed-friendly. You can breastfeed your child without removing the baby carrier.

Easy-care. Machine-washable, 40˚C. Wash in a gentle, bleach-free detergent. Dries quickly after washing.

From newborn (at least 3.5 kgs/8 lbs and 53 cms/21 ins) up to 12 kgs/26 lbs. Perfect for use indoors and out.

Developed in close cooperation with pediatricians and families with young children.

Guaranteed free from hazardous substances. Oeko-Tex standard 100 product class 1-approved.

I can be contacted at [email protected] if you are interested. Self collect at bedok or to be discussed.

madam yip, don't have. parents and parents inlaw are all working. only evening time, hubby comes back den he help out. very stress up especially #2 only 1yr old and in his terrible two stage soon.