(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahNah,

Yeah lor.... My hubby also scared of marketing costs when CL was here... he said he didn't realize marketing is so expensive until he went to the market to buy on his own...... Also the confinement herbs thing is so expensive.. another $200+...

All money, money, money. Now I know why people say the garmen give baby bonus of $4k is not enough.....

Jascmy: Congrats!! Finally you pop in time for Aug baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: Nose congestion

Anybody know how to clear the mucus that is stuck in baby's nose? I use the nasal spray given by doctor but like not much use leh. I also use those Pigeon nose cleaner to suck it out but cannot work leh. How?

ann ,

i use finger nail leh ! haha ... at the outer nose there , use finger nail in abit then the whole dirt will come out liao !

MVH,

oh, didn't know $50 consider cheap... cuz first time go for PD visit. haha~

winnie,

initially i wanna take 5 sessions. the massage lady said 3 enuff for me... i miss the massage... now body start to ache again...

huffpuff,

thanks. think i will wash per normal.

huffpuff,

I vote for my massage lady...

no lying on the floor, she'll bring her own massage bed

her binding is suitable for c-sec though i'm not, her binding only bind for 6hrs then can remove

per session is $50 and she give ang bao for my bb on the last session.

she even gives supplement for energy and blood circulation.

penguin,

I 1 bedded, cash fork out also abt 1k leh... yours 2 bedded also abt 1.7k, i think mine even cheaper then yours leh...

Nature Lover,

according to my massage lady, she say c-sec ppl cannot lie flat on tummy leh... she'll massage with u lying sideway...

arghhh... my milk supply is running low. i used to be able to pump to 2oz. since yesterday till now, i can hardly pump 2oz. Die ah! Not enough milk for meimei...

Starz,

I find that no matter what 3 times is very little, unless the massage lady got no time to earn your money...

oh winnie using the same massage lady as me and she's c-sec, can feedback too...

eeyore , i didn't latch on. cos meimei have problem with sucking, her tounge tend to roll up even on bottle feed also. so we always take alot of time feeding her cos of her tounge. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ann

i use those nose twizzer to pick the pi sai out... everytime v big sai stuck inside. use the sucker suck no use one...

white lady

ur finger nail so small ah.. i tink i cant.. i cut my nails all short...

anyone bb got drinking problem.. always seem to like kanna coke.. with sound..

how long does ur bb take to finish milk? mine one sometimes half an hour or longer... cos in between fall aslp.. milk oso cold liao.. mus warm up again.... but of cos try to consume within an hour else will discard the milk..

alibaba,

me too. my girl also tend to drink anxiously with sound. sometimes she can even choke with a cough. she also tend to drink more than half an hour. normally when she can't finish her FM, i will leave it for her next 2 hours feeding. for BM, i make sure she consume within 4 hours. i don't think it will spoil easily, right?

eeyore: my massage lady did mention it is dependent on individual body.. for me.. i can start at 3rd week, i can also start at 1 month but for my case the earlier the better (refer earlier posts).. I trust her judgement.. my entire family gals use her services.. =) although me the only one doing c-sect.. but i can lie down leh.. though the first time takes courage.. now 4th day, im feeling better and better.. my swelling ard the wound also went down.. I think really dependent on individual plus whether u trust the massage lady not.. =)

ahnah,

my mum help me with confinement. she even can spend more than $200 for 1st week. i told her off not to buy too much as i could not eat much. the money i gave her not enough to last her for a month lor.... haiz.

gals: remember if bb is drinking too fast, must burp them in between oz.. or they will accumulate air and cause them to be cranky.. thats what i learn from feeding my bb as well as from the nurse..

nature lover,

ya, i always burp my girl in between, as i realise she absorb too much air. previously she vomit before so now i am scared. i always tried to burp when she stopped drinking and then feed her again.

nature lover,

i still got 2 weeks left for confinement. i am not sure how much my mum had spent on confinement food. she wanna me to do 40 days but i got no budget to top for it... still in negotiating... haha... i dun wanna stay at her house as i miss my own house.

Cheekrene

usually i give my boy ebm from the chiller so if warmed up. Must consume within 1 hr. Freshly ebm can be at normal room temp up to 4 hr. As for fm, usually Will give within an hour if more than an hour Will discard the remaining. Next milk feed Will give freshly make fm or ebm.

And yah when he drink too fast til gg to choke i Will stop let him rest and meanwhile try to burp him.

jascmy: congrats!!!

annah: *heehee... my hubby oso got "complain" marketing for confinement is so ex...

CL kept telling him this and that ran out liao or confinement need fresh ingredients, so he needed to do marketing every 2 or 3 days...

ann: i use water to wet cotton wool/cotton buds to slowly tap the dirt/mucus out. dun dare to put the cotton bud deep, so only touch touch the mucus to slowly tease it out...

alibaba,

oh dear then i had given my girl those unfresh milk. jialak. my hb like to give her leftover FM as he feel heart pain... for EBM, i always keep it warm within 4 hours but normally she will consume within 2 hours.

Cheekrene: I better than you.. 9 more days to go before all this nightmare ends.. but my mum wants me to do extra 2 days so total 30 days .. but pocket hole getting bigger.. i told my hubby, i dun even have to step out of the hse to spend $$.. stay at home also can spend so much!

Medela Pump:

I know its an old question: mothercare is selling the medela single electronic pump at 336.2.. worth getting.. im using avent philips now but im sick and tired of staying up 40 mins to squeeze out 4-5oz of milk.. i heard from my fren medela can do that in half the time.. so am really thinking... can please help me out...

nature lover: aiyah, u should have gotten a dual pump... then can pump both sides at same time, cut time by half...

re: mucus in nose

Thanks gals but I wasn't asking about pi sai..... I was asking how to suck out those wet mucus.... cos babies dunno how to blow their nose leh.... so my boy kept on breathing in and out the wet mucus that is stuck inside his nose..... My hubby ask me to use my mouth to suck out the mucus from my bb's nose but I find it grosssss .....

Ann

think the traditional way best to suck out the mucus out. But i darent too! my #1 flu that time was my mum suck out the mucus. Hehe

Ann, mamyvelle: bought liao leh.. i told my hubby to wait.. let me consult u gals first.. i just type out the qn and before any of u can reply, he call me to say bought le and i use le.. 20 mins i pump out the same amt of milk.. means more time with my bb instead of sitting on the chair for a long time pumping milk

Thanks anyway gals.. =)

Nature lover

yes agreed with Ann. U shld get the dual pump. Better can save more time and the price is about the same or slightly exp if u get otw online or bulk purchase. I nv regret my PISA. I pass to my sil and my gf. And now back to me. It's still work well ;-)

alibaba: bo bian liao.. =P he say need then just buy.. he dun want to run ard liao.. too tired cos he have been running ard since the birth of bb to get things done.. oh well.. so regardless of what, still very appreciative for your feedback.. =)

Nature Lover,

oh my massage lady say csec can start massage as early as 1 week,

for her the most important thing is as long as the wound has dry up she can do the massage...

she's very professional... she got massage certificate from france and she even got exp from spa.

Nature Lover,

I think medela swing single pump better right...

that time i went to taka baby fair, they mention that the electronic pump is older version...

newer ver is the swing and freestyle and most importantly, the motor sound... new model is softer than old ver...

medela swing is abt the same price as electronic single pump...

i can even pump just beside my sleeping hb and daughter without disturbing them...

previously i complain about my boy drinks milk but the milk keep leaking out from the side of his mouth...

now his drinking is better liao, the handkechief got less wet than previously liao... and he took abt 15 to 30 mins to finish 100ml...

thinking of increasing his milk next week as he seems to get hungry very fast and still sucking after his 100ml...

he's 3 weeks old already, will 110ml to 120ml too much for him??

alibaba: Yeah lor.. for #1, it was my hb that suck the mucus out using his mouth. I really think its too gross for me to do. Now #2 like that, my hb is down with flu so he can't do the sucking...... that's why he ask me to do it. I'll see how...... Today my #2 fussed for 11 hours straight cos of his stuffy nose... can't breathe well and keep waking up crying..... I think I may have to do the gross deed to give my boy some relief!

Nature lover: Men are like dat... They don't like to shop around... see liao, buy very fast..... but lucky thing the new pump did cut down your time of pumping... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eeyore, susan - I thought there was a formula on the max amount of feed for baby? The one that calculates weight (kg) x 200ml = Total ml per 24 hours. If want to know how much to feed each time, just divide by no. of feeds per day.

ann,

but i not sure how heavy is my boy now, his last weight was 3.3kg and as for no. of feeds per day, averagely his feeding is about 2.5 - 3 hours and sometimes in between, when he cranky, i will latch him awhile.. like that how to calculate ah?

Mamyvelle and all others: let's jia you tgt to lose the weight[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i have alot of cellulites on my thighs and i read that cellulite cannot be removed.. How? I am going to start exercising soon ..

ahnah: my hb very big sized one.. So i feel very demoralized to wear his big clothes but seemed so bo bian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

eeyore: Yah loh.. My hb and me heartpain cuz i stayed one more day extra and used alot of equipment..

naturelover: me also got big butt.. So cannot cycle and jog? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ann ... My elder ger also hubby suck out the mucus, but nw we actually use those baby cotton bud , 1 side is normal de , the other side is dig ear de, we use the dig ear part to fish out the mucus, super easy, we do it when he slpin but gt to be super careful

Eeyore: I bought the medela swing single pump lor.. at 336.2.. my hubby saw the backpack one he say he want to faint.. pump milk also can be so ex.. =P

Ann: Yah.. i agree with you.. men are like that.. =P

Milk amt: my gal also 3 weeks le but she drinks only 60ml per feed cos each time she drank 90ml she will puke so we scared liao.. every 2 hrs 60ml of ebm.. is it cos her stomach is too small? is it normal?

worry worry worry....

jogging is scared the uterus will drop lower.. cycling is becos our surface area is not evenly spread out on the seat lah.. she doesn't want me to do that.. she say to do sit ups to stregthen my tummy muscles, yoga to relax and help blood circulate.. same goes for swimming...

she also caution gals who c-sect to abstain from bananas (del monte kind), pineapple, kangkong and pickled vegs.. but i cannot remember why.. i ask tmr then update again..

Nature Lover: Every baby is different...... My #1 gal also drinks v little I remember.... 3 MONTHS old still drink 70-90ml each feed.. So just go with the flow with your gal... If she is happy with 60ml, then continue to give her that amount for the time being until she shows signs of being hungryyyyyy... like suck the bottle dry and cannot settle down to zzzz.

Mamyvelle: Got such cotton bud with 2 different sides? Where to find?

Susan: Your boy looks big sized... from yr fb photo... Heehee. Looks like at least 4kg liao... so estimate estimate, probably drinks 800ml per day? If drinks 8 times a day, means 100ml per feed. True, its difficult when we latch on for some feeds. I tend to think they drink less during the latching feed. So for the bottle feed, I let my boy drink more.... I latch on all the time except the last 1 night feed @ 12am. During that 12am feed, he drinks 160ml-180ml... Since he didn't puke, I let him be... His weight is 4kg.

Nature lover: Oh can do sit ups liao? Now can or must wait till 2 mths later? I'm thinking of starting to bring my boy out for walks round the block as a light exercise..... but I need to buy my stroller first.

re: waistline

My waist is 35" still..... already 5 wks after delivery still like that... Am I the only one like that?? I want to buy those slimming binder also cannot fit... the largest size is 32".... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mamyvelle: I saw you ordered the Slim n Lift girdle? Can u fit in it? I can't fit in mine....... sigh. Feel cheated..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my boy also 3 weeks old, ard 4.5 kg, feeding him 90ml to 100ml now. if he cry for more then we will feed him additional 30ml.

previously feeding him 80ml, when mention to lactation consultant that sometimes he sleep less than 2 hrs for next feed, she advise to inccrease to 100ml so that he sleep more.

ann: she like hungry cos she keep on trying to stuff her hand into her mouth and searching for milk.. but if we feed her extra 30ml then she puke out.. so if you say its okay to stick to that feed time and ml, then im more assured..

Situps: you dun do first.. u natural birth right? I ask my massage lady tmr then update you.. even for c-sect, we must also wait.. i will update again arh..

ann: my waist also still 35"!!! my hips at 42"!!!! How to fit back into my pants before I go back to work????? I more worry than you..

Binder: My massage lady recommends the adominal binder from guardian pharmacy at KKH.. (whether u csect or natural).. she use this to bind me together with her cloth binder.. im feeling like sushi roll... (the other that i bought from QQ, she say is to short)..

mummies, my boy have greenish stools. CL keep saying he got scared when i bring him to lactation consultant cos keep forcing him to latch on. is so worrying now that he got sign of being scared. now i really wonder if i should continue the next session with LC.

is greenish stool something really bad?