(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

MVH: Don't worry so much about skinny baby... They will eventually put on weight very fast (especially when bb drink our oily and sweet breastmilk)!!! Just speaking from my experience loh.... So far, my #1 and #2 are both skinny babies... 1st one @ 2kg birth and 2nd one @ 2.5kg birth.

Show u before and after pictures of my #1 ...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4337931.jpg]

My #1 gal so skinny @ 3 wks old.... see her skinny arms.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4337932.jpg]

After a few months... she BALLOONED to this!

So now I'm not so worried about my skinny #2.... cos I know he will eventually be chubby chubby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks QQ, duckling, ann for yr encouragement..

Ann, yr bb is chubby at 3 weeks leh.. I think my gal is a lazy gal.. She drinks a bit then go to sleep.. I think she only gets to drink e foremilk n not the hindmilk, tat's why din really grow much..

Duckling, ya we have e same edd.. How did u weigh yr bb? I only got those normal weighing machine, not digital one...

QQ, 37weeks considered full term Liao.. But liver might not matured yet..

Suika, I dunno how much my gal is drinking coz I always latch on.. I din express at all.. Too lazy lol..

my gal also very small at birth , i so stress , only 2.5kg while scan estimate 3+ kg . and after drinking , she dont like to burp and later go into cot , puke milk , so stress .... hai

eeyore, i see.

c-sec can have massage oni much later right?

nature lover, u dun scare me la. your c-sec is tomorrow woh. wait for contrcation for wat? can bring forward to today?

duckling, yalor he was 3kg, quite good liao. though premature. PD said his skin very thin, dun see him big big but he has all symptoms of a premature bb. he was 36 wk plus then (close to 37). now we dun go for jaundice check, i am the doctor and we oni observe at home.

Ann your girl's photos are really encouraging. i think i also have similar photos of my girl last time. later stage she balloon so much. which is good la. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but her starting off wt is 3kg plus, not as small size as yours. 2kg plus really small. but there are even smaller bb that i have seen... after that all can grow big big de.

so MVH, no worry.

i pumping now, just like duckling cause i wanna sleep at night. then cl helps to feed my boy at night.

i am at the risk of my boy rejectingmy breasts or even cannot latch well. but pumping is an easy way for me, i am lazy to latch cause too long and he cannot latch well. sigh!

MVH: I guess she is sleepy cos of jaundice.... If u are worried about her intake of milk, the fastest way to fatten up is bottle-feeding... cos they can drink milk even while half-asleep whereas for latching, they gotta use some effort..

I'm also so lazy to pump nowadays..... Just direct latch 100% for the past 1 week.... But today I start to pump after latch then baby woke up for milk in next hour... Very cham, suck suck got no milk for him. End up, I gotta give him the EBM that I pump out earlier.... Now I wonder if its a good idea to pump after latch. Going to re-introduce bottles to baby again in the next few days.. Hopefully he don't show me pattern again and refuse to latch on.

QQ: Yeah 2kg was small... some more in the 1st week due to jaundice, she lost weight and become 1.8kg... Kena stay in hospital for 2 nights after that... So u can imagine how super skinny she is lor. Good thing for #2, he don't have jaundice ...

White Lady: Gotta keep rubbing her back until she burp leh. Cos bottle-feed sure got wind one... Some times if u change position for burping, they will burp.

I too lazy to sterilize n pump.. Lol.. Somemore now confinement, freezer got lotsa raw food n I dun wan CL to contaminate e milk..

I always try to wake my gal up when she falls asleep at my breast.. Sometimes I squeeze milk into her mouth she also din swallow, so I guess bottle feed her also no use, she too lazy to suckle..

Just hope for her to grow fat fast lor.. See her gain weight, I more an xin..

Ann, the reason why i give bottle is because of his jaundice as well. his liver is not fully developed thus high jaundice. so with ebm, i know how much he is taking. inspired by duckling la. cause initially i also lazy to pump, just latch. until i was quite fed up then CL is here, so i just pump. earlier on when i pump, cl not around, nobody helps me wash de. my mum not v daring to touch my pumping accessories cause she dunno how to assemble. my hb worst la, he was lazy and always forgot. i reminded until sian le. now got ppl wash for me then i just v hardworking in pumping.

2kg is really small. but u did a great job then! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i still latch once in a day, hope to keep the supply on! i scare later supply drop then jialat. i cannot pump every 3 hours cause my fridge has no space for my ebm. sigh!

MVH,

wah, she really loves to sleep!!! Actually if she don't latch, should u be pumping it out? Dunno whether yr milk ss will drop or not if never empty fully.....

My milk ss is barely enough..... I wonder why I can never like those mummies with so much milk, it can spray onto baby's face!

QQ: If supply drop, then gotta take Fenugreek supplement or medication liao. I'm taking the Domperidone medication now ... but I'm dependent on it.... If stop, ss will drop immediately... Cham...

My milk ss drops after 4-5days.. Now e breasts r not 'hard' like rock.. But as long as continue latching n feeding on demand, e ss will change accordingly to bb's need, according to my #1 experience..

MVH, i also dunno how to see preterm bb or not. PD told me so. she said dun see him big big size, 3kg, but he has very thin skin, and already warned me about high jaundice cause she suspect his liver is not mature (which turns out to be true, v common to them). so she told me must pump and feed, cannot take chance cause bb needs that. i have high milk supply, i tot enough for bb to latch and feed. after 1 week, i buey tahan le cause he kept sleeping and dozed off at my breast. not sucking at all. so we give bottle, then he still can finish the milk slowly. so now more on ebm.

Ann, my bb's face washed by my bm before. now i dun pump so diligently i think supply drop le. still enough at the moment. contemplating if i should buy a freezer.

u drink more fluid, take more oat, soup, eat fish. and if u pump, pump every 3 hours, supply should go up. (including midnight hor)

MVH, PD said i must be diabetic (very high chance) then ended with such a big baby. but hor gynae never diagnose me with diabetic. oni last weeks before i was in labour, then he said i could be cause bb suddenly grow so much and big. he tot 3.5kg. actually oni 3kg la.

if full term, maybe around 4kg? also normal right? that's what i tot *in deniel that i am diabetic*

PD said: so mummy, u watch your diet and go for health screen few months later. hope the high sugar level goes off.

* i hear liao a bit scare*

white lady,

if u dun want to feed, there are a few ways.

1. take medication from doc to stop.

2. u just squeeze out and relief yourself. whenever u feel like having two rocks. but hor, cannot empty your breast. just squeeze until u feel ok then leave it.

a bit sayang ah. when u squeezse, maybe use something to collect the milk, dun waste

Ann,

take threadfin....i buy whole fish then the head n bones can cook soup...it's cheaper

MVH,

i latch n later pump if not enuff then i give EBM again lor

i also feel waste that i have milk but dont want to feed bb . but i really very sian . the breast shape so ugly and big , i really want to stop . i was thinking , take how long for the milk to go away ?? hai ... now engroment is so pain .

By the way , for confirment , i c section , can eat pork liver ?

Jia you mandy!..

My supply of milk also drop! Last few days still can pump 70ml out today lesser n lesser! Cannot meet my gal demand..

BF: I heard if you hav more than enuff EBM, n your baby din gain lots of wt, u can just giv your baby those fat fr BM (those float on top layer rather than watery layer of your EBM). Mayb can try out.

White lady,

can try to apply cold cabbage leave on both your breast. If u dun wan to stop by medicine, then u can reduce the latching n pumping frequency slowly. No guilty feeling. Nothing wrong not to BF your baby. Pat pat.

Mandy,

jiayiu n hav a smooth delivery.

White lady,

dun think too much. For c sect, I only remember must wait for a while before can eat egg n chicken, can't remember anything abt pig organ.

whitelady, i am not sure about pig organs.

for bf, dun worry too much.

as long as u are happy, then bb is also happie one. it is true for bf or fm babies.

cheer up.

engorgement is painful, if u dun have cold cabbage, u can use cold can drinks (use a towel to cover it) then roll over your breasts. it will relief a bit. as long as u dun feed and empty your breasts, then milk wil get lesser and eventually go away.

winner, 70ml from one breast or both? u can continue pumping every 3 hours, cannot tou1 lan3 one. must be hardworking, if you want to keep your supply and it will slowly go up.

jia you mandy! wah, u still come in report LIVE. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha!

Big thank to all ... after hearing what u all say i felt much better ... i have been crying last night . Stress between how to handle time for my #1 and #2 . felt that i really got no time for #1 , so think of #1 , i will cry ... then think of i have breast milk but not giving bb drink , i double gulity , so cry non stop , hai ...

white lady > i tink the hormones also causing us to tear easily...the day after discharge i cried for half a day uncontrollably...cos the first nite taking care of bb was tough...didnt know bb can be so active at nite and also cranky...but i am ok liao emotionally after understanding my bb more over the last few days..and crying wont help me at all as i told myself.....

jia you!

ann > thanks for sharing ur #1 bb pics.....at first was also very worried abt my bb cos only 2.43kg and she looked small...happy to say that she is feeding well.....trying my best to breadtfeed her well and let her catch up!

MVH, my weighing machine is the digital 1, I weighted myself first & carry my bb after that, then deduct my own weight & get my bb weight lo :p

Ann, ya, the photos ur post is encouraging, thanks!!

QQ & Winnie, i still EMB exclusively le... seldom let my boy latch on, feel too lazy & slow...for my #1, i also EMB all the way during my materinity leave last time. Now I still pumping out every 3 hrly& each time can get abt 120ml-150ml. As my boy only drink 90ml now, my freezer already quite many bags of the 'extra' EMB liao... hope my bb can drink more so gain faster :p

white lady, dun feel guity on stopping giving BM. Both my sis & SIL did not feed their bb BM but both my niece & nephew were grow up healty & chubby... if u have already decided, just let it be... but at the timing need to suffer a bit on the engorgement...

Many, Jia you & hope u have a smooth delivery...

pekkle: Just saw yr princess photos on fb... she doesn't look small... I thot she looks just nice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

White lady: *pat* *pat* Don't be too hard on yourself.

ann > not small looking my gal? maybe cos i zoom big big when taking the pics...i like the face to be big big...keke...my mom v patient in caring for her and for which i m very grateful for...

duckling > ur milk supply so good....so far i can only manage only 40ml like that...the milk supply normally comes in the 2nd week onwards? cos now just 1 week after delivery....

QQ: mine is 70ml both side leh, very sad! i pump every 2-3 hours leh the milk still so little.. cannot meet my giant bb feed..

ducklingshop: how i wish am like u leh, i also never latch bb, normally i express it out..

id u all wake up in the middle of night to pump? i never leh...

duckling,

ur supply so good....envy wor

winnie,

mi latch n after that pump but now my girl seems to b sleeping longer thru the nite so by the time i wake up n pump it's 6plus am liao...heehee getting more n more 'lan dou' on the nite pumping liao

Winnie,

try to pump more regular. Empty your breast totally after each feed n pump. Drink lots of soup. Supply will built up slowly. =)

for my #1, my mom taken of him at night including night feed, so I din wake up at all during confinement. After tat I start to latch him on at night. Cos latch on save the trouble to warm up EBM n wash bottle. I am lazy mom. =p

MVH,

u did mention your ger like to sleep when latch on right? I remember when I attend class n read b4 if your baby fall asleep while latch on, try to wake them up by touch their face, their hand, their palm, their feet gently. If they fall asleep during bottle feed, try to do the same or can oso turn the milk bottle. =)

MVH,

at MAH the nurse taught me to unwrap her n start giving her rubs to wake her up....abt 5-10mins to make sure she wakes up n ready for milk...then u start to latch her...if she starts to fall asleep u can disturb her on her chin, ears etc....

if u wana make her close eyes to sleep u can rub on the nose bridge then she'll close her eyes n soon will fall asleep liao

pekkle, ya, my milk increase & maintain for the 2nd wks after birth. my 1st week milk supply also not enuf, ard 60-80ml like that. i also drink a lot of fluid like soup, hong zhao shui & milo. I think these help a lot to maintain the milk supply too.

winnie, i wake up at the mid nite to pump too, ard 4 to 4 1/2hrs interval, normally wake up two times in midnite.

but i m thinking after my CL go back, may b i will let my bb to latch on during the midnite, lazy to do double work too ... see how first la... walk 1 step see 1 step then :p

Ng, Suika, I tried all methods Liao, unswaddle, open her diapers, tickle her nose, chin, neck, make her sit upright, make her burp etc.. She still continues to sleep soundly.. Buay tahan.. Sometimes she will wake up when she poos.. Then I can feed her.. Else she is like a sleeping beauty..

MVH, some babies are like that de. just zzzz all the way. i gave up, give ebm.

duckling, ur supply sounds good.

winnie, u have to wake up and pump, every 3 hours (dun do it every 4 hour). then after 5-6 days, u will see some improvement. ok? i am lazy i dun pump so regularly cause i over supply a bit. i dun empty my breast cause i scare over supply and too much. my breasts are like rocks if i dun pump every 4 hour, then i go toilet and squeeze out some, relief a bit.

my 1 side can pum out 150ml, then the other side??? around 70ml. ONE BIG ONE SMALL. sian. alamak...

Wow, duckling n QQ.. Both of u got good supply leh.. Some more duckling's boy drinks so much.. I doubt my gal drink much from e way she keeps falling asleep.. Tat's y scare she din put on weight.. How I envy both of u..

thank u for all ur support.. meaning i got to be hardworking wake up middie of the nite to pump.. then supply will kick in ard 4- 6 days time ar.

i drink alot of hong zhao drink and milo. still no use.. maybe my CL never cook soup for me every day? i shld ask her cook for me everyday..

i envy those mummy got so much supply...

during day time i alread pump like 2-3 hr time normally my last pump wil be ard 10 plus then througout the next day i wake up then pump liao... tonight i gonna wake up and pump.

duckling,

my boy drinking 100ml now. i scare OVER and too much cause CL kept feeding him.

and it is 2.5-3 hr. is it growth spurt ah? i scare.

midnight also wake up and drink like that. everyday midnight waking up and eyes big big.

MVH, cause we are in our 3rd wk now, more supply. during 1-2nd week, dun have so much one la. it grows with our babies.

MVH, my experience told me your gal will drink more and give u surprise if u give ebm.

my boy drinks little when latch on cause sleepy. then when we put bottle, he started with oni 60ml then stop liao. next day 70, 80 90, and now 100. scary. i am at the risk of him rejecting my breasts in future. but no choice. i hope after cl left i can latch more then see how.

now depending on pump.

QQ,

150ml from 1 side??? Wow! Really superb supply leh. haha, I laughed out loud at your comment about 1 big, 1 small... :p

Yeah, I think now is growth spurt for our babies.... 2-3 wks old. If your boy can stomach 100ml and don't puke out later, let him drink lor... If puke out, then maybe your CL really overfeed him. Sometimes I think CLs tend to force feed babies one... cos they like to feed them full full so baby sleep v long and CL can rest.

Ann, very sad de la.

i ask hb. eh one big one small how? he said, nevermindla. one side can use push up pad, one side dun use. kekekeke... 150ml is from the big side. small side quite slow flow and jialat one. like kena stuck.

i try to latch more on that small side. hope can boost a little. *girls talk sia*. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yalor, my CL also try to feed as much as she can type. poor boy. but luckily my boy also reject feeds one sometimes. haha! he did puke out a little sometimes, but i tot that is normal. jialat i try to observe and see. but he gets hungry v quick de. just now 2 hours then cried le. then latched him 20 min he zzzz away. looked satisfied.

i also guess growth spurt. then drink more nevermind.

we usually give 10ml more, then if can drink then drink, if cannot then throw. no choice.

Winnie,

try to drink soup at least once a day. I remember I drink soup every lunch n dinner.

QQ,

I think it's not easy to overfeed baby. Cos according to doctor, baby will only eat n drink when they r hungry, if not hungry they will refuse to drink. But remember not everytime they cry = hungry. Sometimes they just need attention or having wet diaper, feeling uncomfortable. My mom feed my boy very routine 1. Times not up = not hungry, so most likely wet diaper or feeling unwell. =)

hi mummies, long time never log in liao...

congrats to mummies who have delivered.

finally waiting game over soon. went for gynae checkup today, water level a bit low, have so to induce soon, can't wait for natural cos cervix only open 1 cm. so tonight will admit to Mt Alvernia.

nature lover,

u also delivering tmr right? cannot access to archive to see which hospital you are going.