(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

luving daddy,

normally the gynae will explain what to expect, like when your wife should head down to hospital and stuffs. my gynae already started to explain the procedures since last month.

jasmine,

thanks, why i ask cos we are following a diff gynae from our 1st one and their style is quite diff so far and somemore its been some time back..

Jasmine Goh GBS is serious, about 20-25% of women has it and could pose a threat and infect the baby during delivery..

WL: I see.. cos my gynae ask to do on week 37.. but she didn't mention need to do anot tmr.. so I shall see how lah.. then will update again..

Someone just dun get the msg.. dotz...

Jas: Yes limited food for the 1st two weeks.. Im not looking forward to confinement at all... with the kinda food my mum and mil mentioned... I think I will be quite xian... the the last two weeks is no better also.. sigh..

wahhhhhh...gals i think i am freaking out , i don't even dare to come in to this forum now cos there are news of mtbs becoming mommies ... don't know when will it happen and whether i can cope with the pain or not.

i heard that porridge is a no-no as confinement food? how come? bread can? any verdict? else the poor confinement nanny have to wake and and cooked leh

what about milk and cereals? or oatmeal?

scooby2010 while you seek answers to your question, remember to ask why, what and how...

Good luck with the quest.

nature lover,

cos my gynae didn't mention anything about strep b test last checkup. is it painful? can't remember i got do the test for my #1 or not.

scooby,

porridge should be okay since we can eat rice. i will definitely drink warm milk for breastfeeding.

just went to the clinic last friday and the doc say fetus is now about 2.5kg and head is really low liao ... sounds scary

Jas: mine was not pain at all.. they just put the swab into the V area.. and then tell u the results 2 weeks later.. =)

I think if we engage CL, they will know what to eat and what not to eat ba.. I just listen to what they say except that I told them I want minimal ginger and alcholic stuff...

as for sneaking stuff.. i think i will be good for the next 40 days.. =)

wl,

honestly i never do pap smear test before. ><

nature lover,

thanks. you're doing your confinement for 40 days? i only hired the CL for 28 days.

Hi ktm

I just gave birth in Mt E and while I can't compare it to other hospitals, its not totally the best quality for the top dollar that I'm paying.

The midwives in the delivery suite were great but after the baby was delivered, the morning shift was done by a nurse who while removing my drip needle, dropped the needle on the floor and spilled my blood on the bed and on herself. I had to tell her that eh... my blood is spilled on your arm?! Then she said, its ok cos she doesn't have any open wound.

Later at the hospital ward, I was bleeding profusely suddenly (like urinating) for 3-4 times over a few hours and the nurses at the ward didn't inform my doctor. I thought they did but they didn't. They also told me different things.... 1 nurse told me its not normal to bleed like this and another nurse told me its normal. I was scared and confused for the whole day until my gynae came the next day for morning checkup. After I told my gynae about the profuse bleeding, I believe she went to scold the nurses ... cos thereafter, every 10 mins, different nurse came in to ask me if my bleeding is now better. That is a stark difference from day 1 when none of the nurses bothered to even ask if my bleeding is ok.

Since u r giving birth in Mt E hospital, you may want to lower your expectations cos I don't think its really worth the money that we are paying.

Jasmine,

Strep b test is like doing a pap smear... Gynae usually do it around 35 or 37 weeks.

WL: I have been DIYing myself every week the moment I know have to go the Strep B test... =P

Jas: I hire for 28 days but my mil/mum will be doing the next 2 days cooking (total 30 days) the last 10 days is also prohibited from certain foods..

Mdm Yip, as in brazillian wax lor. Didn't have the time to go the last 2 weeks, now donno if its too late or not. Given that I'm 1 week away from EDD... and I'm quite anal abt messy downunder

Nature Lover - power to you. brazillian? I thought erm down there supposed to be more sensitive when we are pregnant.. and so more painful..

I have trouble even seeing down there with bump in the way.. how did you do it? if its not too much trouble to reveal..

bakaholic, I didn't do any exercise. I tok to my Bb everynite telling him to be gd boy and mus listen to Mummy and Daddy.

KTM, I'm not toking abt 10yrs ago history. It happened recently. And jus to share my experience in KKH as a subsidised patient during my 1st trimester. My waiting time to see gynea is only abt 10 to 15mins. The most is 30mins. Their q is very fast now as compared to other govt hospitals. The only time I waited for 1.5hrs is for the scan cos I'm late for my appt thats y they scheduled me behind. But seeing gynea still only 10mins.

Now I'm in TPS, Q even faster. Yesterday, I went in immediately when my hubby arrived.

Nurse also very friendly and helpful. Of cos there are some bad ones too which can be found anywhere in all hospitals rite.

Epi c section :

i think someone asking issit lie flat and can feel the stitching anot issit ?

yes , is lie flat one . and wont feel pain , dont worry . after they insert the epidural , they will ask u lie flat then they will dont know take what lah , i feel like is cotton wool with some cold liquid and will go round ur tummy area then keep asking can feel anything ... then slowly u wont know they touching u , then gynae will come in and start ... =)

スーザン ,

erm ... didnt mean to say lah , but insert of epidural is the most " hate " part for me ... the feeling is not good ... and i can heard sound like " erk , erk , erk " in my spine .... haha

but i think , once u r in there , u wont think so much liao , cos in ur mind , only 1 thing , faster over n see ur bb ... anyway when in there , cant run off liao ! haha

and i also hate the stitching part . wont feel pain , dont worry , just feel got people pulling lor , i dont like =) but dont worry , everything over very very fast one

white lady,

hahahaha... i can imagine how it will be like but i agree with u, once inside there, no way to run off liao... hahaha!! ;p

スーザン ,

haha ... but that time i 1st time , then i ask them in the op , is it painful when insert the epidural , then they ask me , the drip on ur hand pain anot ? i ask still ok , then they say , dont worry , small feeling ! haha ... they " an wei " me i think