(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

QQ,

I was on diet ctrl due to GD. Dietician instruct me no sugar n sweet stuff sincei saw himby march till after deliver. N he also calculate portion of food I should take ea day. My menu given by him was 3 slice wholemeal bread or 6 spoon oat or small bowl of beehon soup for breakfast. 6 spoon rice + home cook vegie + 1 meat as lunch or 4 slice wholemeal bread, 3 spoon rice + home cook vegie + 1 meat for dinner. In btn can hav 2 cup of anlene milk n 1 portion of fruits. No milo n no tibits at all. I stop seeing him after 2 visit cos really can't afford to keep take leave to c him. But his menu really ctrl my wt gain n glucose level well. I lost 2 kg 1 mtb after follow his menu n gain only 400g 2 mth after c him. Now sudden gain 3kg after c him!!!! Must b me start lazy to cook myself n eat too much when dine out lah... Sob sob...

Morning all ! raining days very nice to sleep hor ... the rain was so big , i was thinking orchard will flood again anot ! haha

gd morning!!!

morning raining so heavy sia.. till now sengkang still raining... alot of places flooded n cars got stuck..

During pregnancy you might experience some discomforts. Normal discomforts can include heartburn, a need to urinate frequently, backache, and feeling tired. But there are other symptoms that may signal danger for you or your baby. Most pregnancies do not have any problems. but it is very important for you to know the danger signs of pregnancy, so you can get immediate help, if needed.

Notify your healthcare provider immediately if any of the following occur:

cramping within the first 20 weeks that is different or worse than other normal cramping

bleeding or spotting from the vagina

weakness, dizziness or fainting

sudden, continuous or crampy abdominal pain, and tenderness when the abdomen is pressed

any fever over 100.5 degrees Fahrenheit (38.1 degrees Centigrade)

continuous vomiting with weight loss and dehydration (The signs of dehydration include: increasing thirst, dry mouth, weakness or lightheadedness, dark urine or a decrease in urination.)

bleeding in the retina of the eye caused by increased blood pressure during vomiting

blood pressure above 140/90 with: headache, swelling of the face, eyes, hands, or feet; blurred vision or flashing lights in front of the eyes; and high protein levels in the urine (If these symptoms occur and the blood pressure has risen quickly, but is not above 140/90, you should still call your healthcare provider.)

the baby is moving less than normal (less than 4 kicks each hour) and

signs of pre-term labor that occur within the first 20 to 37 weeks that include:

contractions every 10 minutes or more often in an hour

clear, pink or brownish fluid (water) leaking from the vagina

pelvic pressure (may feel like the baby is pushing down)

low, dull backache and

abdominal or menstrual-like cramps (which may come and go)

The causes of these symptoms require medical attention. Cramping and bleeding within the first 20 weeks can be signs of a miscarriage. This means the pregnancy is having problems and may be lost.

Pain or pressure in the lower abdomen between weeks 6 and 16 could mean an ectopic pregnancy has occurred. This type of pregnancy occurs outside the uterus, in the fallopian tubes, the cervix, pelvis or abdomen. As it grows it tears the walls of the tube. This causes bleeding, which makes the woman's blood pressure drop. She may get weak, dizzy, or faint. Due to the bleeding, this can be a life-threatening situation.

Vaginal bleeding, sudden continuous or crampy abdominal pain, and tenderness when the abdomen is pressed are signs of an abruptio placenta. This means the placenta breaks away from the wall of the uterus before delivery. This could be a serious situation for the mother and baby. The mother needs to be hospitalized.

Heavy, bright red, painless vaginal bleeding that begins suddenly in the last few months of the pregnancy are signs of placenta previa. This occurs when the placenta attaches over or near the opening of the cervix, instead of on the smooth side wall of the uterus. If the placenta cannot stay attached, it can cause bleeding. This can be very serious for the mother and baby.

Extremely severe nausea and vomiting that causes weight loss and dehydration is called hyperemesis gravidarum. This type of vomiting is continuous and can lead to starvation and other serious medical problems for the mother. Dehydration can lead to early labor. Increased blood pressure during vomiting can also cause bleeding into the eye.

Blood pressure higher than 140/90 with: headache; swelling of the face, eyes, hands, or feet; blurred vision or flashing lights in front of the eyes; and protein in the urine is called pre-eclampsia, or toxemia. This happens between the 20th week of pregnancy and the end of the first week after delivery. Mild cases are treated at home with bed rest. More severe cases are hospitalized. Eclampsia is more severe and can result in seizures or coma, if not treated quickly.

If the baby's movements are less than normal, that could mean the baby is having problems. This is called fetal distress. Normally the baby should move 3 to 5 times an hour.

If the signs of labor begin between weeks 20 and 37, it is called pre-term labor. Every attempt will be made to stop labor, if the baby is not ready to be born. Any fever over 100.5 degrees Fahrenheit (38.1 degrees Centigrade) could be a sign of infection or illness that could trigger early labor.

If you are pregnant and have any of these danger signs, call your provider immediately.

QQ, according to 'what to expect' apps, bb is about 2.9kg at week36-37.. So I guess yr bb is big la.. Anyway, when my gal was born 2 yrs plus ago, she was 3 kg but dr Ang's machine measured 3.2kg e day before.. So there is a tolerance for accuracy.. Can be under or over estimation.. Dun worry too much la.. Maybe need to control those food that r too sweet?

according to last gynae visit, my gal's head is down.. But last nite, when I was awake by thunder, I saw 2 big bumps on my stomach.. One on e right, one on e left of my tummy.. Looks really like camel.. When I feel my lower abdomen, it is flat. So I suspect one of e bumps is my gal head, e other maybe her legs or watever.. Alamak she is turning ard at w36.. I really hope she canturn back.. Don't want a c-sec...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sorry to interrupt. I have some sanitary pads for sales which are good for post-natal use:

1) 2 packets of Laurier Superguard X-tra 34cm (12pcs per pkt) - $4.00/pkt

2) 4 packets of Laurier Superguard X-tra 30cm (14pcs per pkt) - $3.50/pkt

They are extremely absorbent and breathable. If you are keen to take all, i will sell them off to you at special price of $20.

Pls PM me if you are keen.

gynae can only estimate the weight , like my #1 , gynae told me , confirm more than 3Kg , end up , he is only 2.9 kg =)

but most impt is healthy =)

white lady,

ya lor, agreed that it is most impt that baby's organs are functioning well and matured enough to handle the outside world!

MVH,

is it still possible for bb to be turning at 36wks?

QQ,

That's really a huge baby if machine is accurate! Would you rather c-section or induce? Breaking bb's bones seems a bit extreme leh.

ednique,

yah same issues as you, we hv already decided on elective C-S w/o those findings yest.

my doc said my womb is oddly-shaped; so difficult to hv normal delivery.

#1 i was induced coz low water lvl, later cervix didnt dilute sufficiently so went for emergency epi C-S.

hence this time round def opt for elective C-S coz less costs and trauma to both baby and me.

my only fear is the amniotic fluid is too low and i hv to deliver very soon.

i m keeping my fingers crossed for you too!

ahNah,

tell us more after the gynae visit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just came out of pigeon warehouse sale. It's crazy sale. Things going from $1 to $8/10. Bought a manual breast pump at $8, just for spare use. Have to Q and get in in batches. Llimited area to grab things. Have to look out for the staffs who will keep bringing things in.

littlepiggy,

yup i aso dun eat salads/coleslaw outside, esp KFC's, haha!

do bring along 3-4 nightgowns, front with buttons, easier to breastfeed.

aso a cardigan/sweater each for u and hubby.

hospitals can be quite chilly at nite esp nowadays hv rainy weather.

socks r optional but nice to have.

i aso bought some granny underwear coz muz wear those over the binder... hehe!

n_g, thanks for the diet tips. i will FOLLOW for 1 week prior to my next check up.

and 4 slices of wholemealbread seems a lot to me also woh.

i just bought quaker cereal today and many other cereals. i am determined! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] lets see.

MVH, so your case was overestimated. like that it is a good news to me, at least not all are underestimated. *phew*. i asked him if his machine accurate or not, he said not accurate la. but still big. haha! he got a shock.

saffy, yes yes. bb can still turn at wk 36. cause my boy also turning up and down last week, and less this week, but i think he still has space to turn.

i will listen to dr's advise next week. if bb size still ok, induce ok then induce. if bb too big liao, (TUMMY BIGGER THAN HEAD>?) then he will ask me to c-sec, then i csec.

i dun want to break bb's bone of course. thats the worst case he said, but might not happen.

charmaine & pekkle,

i tried all positions stl uncomfy but wl stick to sleeping on the left side; hope baby wl grow more.

busybee,

no wonder, yes do follow doc's advice. u r very blessed nurses gave u lots of samples. hope baby picks up weight soon!

sunflower,

i aso hv more discharge these days but not greenish so i didnt bother.

saffy,

u r right, they charge for maternity pads. i used 1 packet previously and switched to my own after that.

n_g,

i rem the gynae said both baby and me blood pressure ok, so can opt for epi/LA C-S.

so hubby went in to witness the birth. which hospital did you deliver?

I was at TMC, i heard from another mummy tat KKH dun allow.

QQ and ann,

my baby didnt grow much past 3 weeks, so doc told me to drink more milk.

i aso drank quite a lot of milo but no growth for baby leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dreymin,

i also sleep at my left side cause i am used to it.

bb not gaining weight? are u gaining weight overall (with bb of course)? u need to eat more protein food ba.

sometimes it is the estimation that makes us luan4. maybe the machine underestimated the weight by 200-300g? then actually your baby got gain a bit de. maybe not at those area that they measure. that's my guess.

more calcium intake also helps, cause build the bones, and bb can be heavier and grow more.

qq,

i lie on the right side coz son is on my right and we usu tell him bedtime story before he sleeps.

tryg to sleep on my left now.

i m drinking milk as i type, ammum mum milk sample.

i gained 1kg over past 2 weeks, but only 100g went to baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wah. dreymin, those mama formula very power one, can gain a lot of weight de. i did not touch a sip at all this round.

eat more healthy food, like fish..

dreymin,

My gynae didn't ask me to do anything even tho at 34 wks, she said my bb is slightly below average... only 2.08kg. I think she is just too happy that my bb has exceeded 2kg so she didn't ask me to do anything else! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyway, after 34 wks, I ate durians, beef, junk food etc .. was hoping that it will go to baby's weight. Alas! At my 36 wks checkup, my gynae didn't scan my baby so I really dunno if my baby absorbed all these junk food or not. I only know I put on 1kg over the last 2 weeks. Now overall weight gain is 9kg... Shall cut myself some slack over calories and eat whatever now.

QQ,

yeah same here. I dare not touch those mama formula milk too. But I read in July MTB thread, those mummies recommend drinking Anmum milk to boost breast milk supply... maybe I'll start drinking after I give birth...

White Lady,

Luckily orchard never flood, need to go ther for gynae visit...

Update:

bb abt 2.5 kg @ 36w 5d, still say good weight...

Gynae commented bb quite low already, ready to engage...

and he has rather long hair abt 1"...

Also, lots of water inside.

QQ,

Congrats that your baby head is down..ya, I also think 3.3kg is ok, not too big …if head come out liao, body will stuck meh? I thought once head is out, its easier to pull the whole baby out? Wah, if need to break bb bones to let him come out, really sounds scary.

tearybabe),

sounds like the sales is good deal! Do you have a picture of the manual pump you bought? So cheap!

Hello[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

qq: don worry too much about the issue I've encountered.. rest more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: pigeon warehouse sale, are there any sale for milk bottle sterilizer? will go tomorrow as today was working.. am scared tomorrow won't have much left[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunflower,

it is like that de. gynae said it is possible if head out liao, tummy too big and kena stuck. then complication. but usually wont be the case la. maybe he scanned and my bb tummy bigger than head, that's y.? like what penguin said, no worry, next week i go confirmation and see.

i dare not go pigeon sales cause i heard v crowded woh. luckily din go. need to Q long long.

eeyore, actually 2.5kg ok. say if u bring to full term maybe about 3kg, easy to deliver woh. less complication. as long as bb health, u happie can liao.

erm, I don't think any gynae will break any babies bones just to get them out bah..have never heard of this through online reading or during my antenatal classes so don't scare yourself mummies.

To the best of my knowledge, it is likely the gynae will perform episiotomy (cutting from vaginal to anus via surgical method after local anesthesia) to let baby come out else, emergency c-section.

Before the delivery, the gynae would have already advise the best delivery method for you. If your baby is too big to come out of your pelvis, they would likely suggest c-section.

But it is possible that during delivery, babies shoulder may get dislocated.

mdm yip, yes yes.

i got a print out from gynae. it is called SHOULDER DYSTOCIA.

then also include big body that got stuck.

according to gynae, so far all babies with this risks that he delivered, no damage happened.

but e-csec wil be too late for this. the bone damage that happen during delivery will heal after that.

yalor, we better dun scare ourselves, this is really rare and unlikely to happen.

about the pigeon sales, i din go. heard v crowded and all wet wipes sold out le. very cheap, $2 per pack nia.but sold out.

din get to buy any via my fren. they din get to buy too.

Thanks ah nah.. Am planning to go and have a look tomorrow.. pray hard tomorrow they will replenish the stocks[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just finished one can of mushroom soup wonder how much msg i have taken.. Recently appetite and cravings are acting like a monster makes it hard to control weight gain[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yupx [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] what time are you going? I might go early with my hb as we are more kiasu ..

QQ: i also got the labour complications thing from ang, seems very scary..

Believe Pigeon will replenish stock tml as they control the stocks and bring them out slowly.

everyone were like waiting for more things to be brought out. Some ppl even start chit chatting with the staffs to get them to bring out things that they want to buy.

Go as early as possible. By the time i went there which is 2 plus, there are no more nappy liner, cotton nappy, wipes, detergent...

It's not that cramp since they let ppl in as ppl go out but not advisable to bring baby/kids.

Saw many experienced mums and dads grab the empty boxes at the doors and then grab things that they might want, throw in the boxes before sorting out before payment.

Hold ur boxes as I heard one daddy was saying on the phone, "i put the things that i want in the box and the next moment when i turn, everything was taken by other shopppers"

SunFl@wer

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4245216.jpg]

This is the Pigeon Manual Breast Pump that I got. U can check out pigeon website. I felt that I bought it for the sake of buying since it's real cheap.

penguin_88 (penguin_88)

I dun see any steriliser. there are no big items since everything are going for $1 to $8 only.

a Sept MTB had posted the pricing :-

- newborn starter kit $5

- pillow cases $1

- milk bags $4

- glass bottles $4

- mattress protector $5

- powder puff $2

- medicine dropper/ nail scissors/nose hair clipper $2 each

- baby bowl ($3) and mug ($5)

- many other miscellenous stuff (powder, teething toys, teats, @ $1 each)

- nappy liners $2 per box

- nappies

- tops/rompers $1 or $2 each

- bottle cleaner $2

- pacificiers $1

- bottles $1-$4 each

- baby oil $2

- shoes $8

- cooler bag $5

- small diaper bag $5

- thermomother

- tongs for steriliser $2

- milk storage bottles

- bubble mattress protector (the pink and blue kind)

Talking about break baby's shoulder. There is really such case happen 2-3 years ago. My colleague said his gynae told his wife that baby will come out estimate at 3.3kg. When she was pushing, gynae realise baby's body could not come out so she broke the baby's shoulder. She had made a wrong estimation as baby weigh at 4.1kg. When my colleague told me about his experience. Both him and his wife were traumatised. So when they had 2nd child, they changed gynae and also had to c-sect as baby was huge too. When we heard his story, it was really scary.

starting from last night , every 2 hr will auto wake up and pee ... and after every trip will have menses cramp leh ... why like that , is it a sign ? i m only 36 weeks leh ... worried

i went this morning.

only left normal bottles, wide neck bottles, teats, baby clothings, mag mug, a few bibs, teethers, manual breast pump and a few pcs of pillow/bolster cover.

those mention above are all gone yesterday i think.