(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Bakaholic,

Ya, changing sleeping postition is so difficult..

My confinement lady wanted permit and asked an agent to do it... the lady say they usually only do it one week before EDD.. then early delivery how?

bakaholic

ya me too!all sleeping positions are painful and the best part my bb will climb up the bed in teh middle of the night and just sleep beside me...n i cant turn at all...really so difficult to sleep...

charmaine

head at 8.7cm not ok ?why huh?>

me also looking for milk bottles for storage...any recommendations on where to get cheap ones?

Neko,

Your bb still sleeps with you? Maybe you can start training him/her to sleep alone or ask your hubby to sleep on the floor so that you get more space? Very bad hor...

I heard about snappies containers and they are quite small so can store small volumes (30 or 70ml)

http://www.snappiescontainers.com/product/snappies.aspx?id=1

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4126697.html

Otherwise,

try this..

http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=25&Itemid=31&productid=132

yea...he still sleeps with me..i need to pet him to sleep everynight...i cant get him out of the room ..he will just cry in the middle of the night ..so tough to train him

to sleep in another room....

the snappies containers look cool..u know of any spree going for this?

re: confinement herbs

Hi all, any idea when we should start buying all the confinement food stuffs like ginger, red dates, da feng cao and all the other chinese herbs? My CL agent gave me a list to buy but I dunno if buy now is too early?

nekowong/ bakaholic:

For milk bottles, you can buy those standard milk storage bottles from Evenflo, Medela or Pigeon etc. I saw the various shops selling. I think for a start, we don't need so many bottles. I was tempted to buy the Snappies containers but I rem that once milk supply is established (ie going back to work after 3 mths), we can pump > 120ml per session so the snappies will be too small. Milk bags will be more practical then.

ann, can share your list? though i roughly know what to buy, but lazy to recall again. thanks

charmaine, i am applying a temp work permit for my CL. i think i will apply 2-3 weeks prior to that, cause we can indicate our (EDD- few days) there de.

say if we indicate 1 Aug, if we deliver 5 aug, it is ok.

but i am not very sure if i indicate 5 aug, then i pop 1 aug, then maybe she can oni come in earliest 5 aug.

there is no harm indicating slightly earlier date, i think. but that is my own thinking nia.

u getting agent to apply? is your CL also from agent? if it is then probably theywill give u someone already with permit around that time for u first. it takes up to 5 days for the approval. so it can be 2-3 days. can be 4 days.. i supposed the time line is still fine cause usually if we pop, we stay in hospital for 2-3 days right? by then the approval should be completed.

i play safe i will apply next week.

Ann, i know what.

u write down a list of herbs to buy, then pass to hb. u can buy a few days ebfore u pop, or 1 week before EDD. but then, when i had #1, i bought oni after delivery cause my hb brought CL to buy when she arrived.

there is no rush, except that u can get a few packs of red date drinks to get ready first. after we deliver, then hb can make the 1st drink for us in hospital.

so one of the instruction that i give was: boil the pack of red date drinks and bring to hospital after i deliver. if it is scheduled c-sec, can boil prior to that, then bring.

Can I ask, for the red date drink in hospital, do we also have to only drink that and not plain water. Cos Hubby find it difficult to bring 8 glass (8 glass of water a day) of red date drink for me every day. Cos the pot will sure be very heavy.

Jascmy,

last time, my hb brought 2 thermoflasks with reddate drinks for me. around 4-5 glasses? other drinks that i can take also include milo, etc etc. can also request for ginger tea from hospital (TMC got).

many ppl said should not take plain water, but if out of no choice, thirsty liao can stil take, dun take COLD one, take warm-hot water should be ok. just worried of water retention nia.

still the choice is up to us.

so dun need to bring whole pot, thermoflasks (can keep warm) can liao. dun drink them cool/cold.

Morning all.

QQ,

I ask her, she may be able to apply first base on the letter and then change if I give birth earlier.

I will confirm that again lor..

Jascmy,

Ya hor very fast need to start red daze water hor.. Need to ask hub/father to prepare le..

ahNah, i can oni remember the herbs for bathing, it can be $1-$3 per pack (some of them with smaller packs inside somemore), depending on which type. there are a few types bah.

as for others, i do not know liao cause i was not the one who went to buy with CL.

asked hb, he said a few hundreds dollars.

charmaine, as long as it is less than 1 month before our EDD, can apply le. my EDD is not so early, so i dun apply first. apply next week.

good luck!

how much is your CL charging u? mine is 2K. it is market rate right? cause 3 years ago, it was 1.8k.

QQ

my wife is ordering from her office colleague, total price is around 100 SGD ++ but duno got include the bathing one or not.

Charmaine, ya, I realised that when my colleague told me yesterday. The problem now is the bring to hospital. So heavy. So I will follow QQ's method, ask for ginger tea and drink warm plain water.

Sigh, hav to go buy a bigger vacuum flask liao, cos at home also have to use for red date drink. Can't drink cool or cold leh.

QQ .. yes is 2k and then suddenly she say beta have permit.. so get her contact with an agent to do it. and she willing to share cost so not that bad.

Jascmy,

Think I will ask my father prepare for me coz he more experience with it..

hi MTBs and DTBs,

our thread is down and so am i [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

first flu, then progress to stomach flu then most recently was stomach reflux with giddiness and vomiting...no fun man!

MVH,

i read somewhere insomnia and dreams are quite common in last trimester, juz make sure your dreams dun become reality! haha!

btw i saw some coconuts at shop & save yest, maybe you can try the outlet near your home?

pekkle, QQ, bakaholic

smtm the baby can turn at the last few weeks, i believe my #1 turned at wk 36 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xpink_xuanx,

wat is the trend for you so far? you have 2 older kids; how's their birth weight?

happie,

congrats! you r the first one among us to pop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hope all is well with you and baby.

jascmy,

hope all things work out at home so you hv less stress.

suika,

i got about 3 boxes of milkbags from lansinoh so wl use them for them being.

ann,

can you also share me the list for confinement herbs? thanks!

ahNah,

yes i bought some nursing tops in the past.

it is aso good to get a nursing shawl in case your wife has to nurse outside.

so many ppl sick .. dreymin u take care hor.

she got those nursing top and bra set some months ago already... spend me a bomb.

Dreymin,

I thought you recover already le.

Your stomach flu get worse? I got 2 jabs + medication to stop it going... and clear meals for a week le.. you better take care le..

re: sleeping with older kid(s)

nekowong,

i aso have the same problem with my #1, he is 28 mths but stl wans to sleep with me.

yest was putting him to bed, thot he fell asleep but he had not, wailed for me till i came into the room again.

2nd time and 3rd time mummies,

wat do you intend to do with the sleeping arrangement for older kid(s) and newborn?

i m in a dilemna whether to put #1 to sleep with my maid in the nx room or put all 4 of us in the same room.

ahNah,

haha now you know, not cheap lor! so i will reuse my older ones. my hubby aso heartpain the last time.

ahNah & charmaine,

yah recovered from flu, then stomach flu, suddenly got giddy spells and vomiting last sun.

doc said baby is taking more space so caused stomach reflux.

advised not to eat and drink at same time and no acidic/spicy stuff.

so sad cannot eat my fav fish soup, ban mian, prata...

Dreymin,

Ya.. my hub promise me pizza after I recover.. still have not use the right yet.

I only can eat plain porridge and fish ball noodle soup/fish porridge from 4th day to 5th day.. Jia you.. it will go off sooner if we cut on those food. Will eating small qty help to reduce the reflux?

charmaine,

if you are getting more nursing bras; try not to get dark-colored ones and underwired ones.

dark ones have more dye so not healthy for baby, under-wired wl cause milk production to be affected (learnt this from ParentCraft).

dreymin : My #1 born 3.2kg and #2 born 3.4kg

So i hope #3 will be 3kg and above as well.

hi Ann,

Can you share the list of confinement herbs to buy? My mum-in-law intends to go n buy herbs this sun.. she said can start buying 2-3 weeks before edd..

Dreymin,

Note taken.. I got a black one but then the wire can also be remove one...may go buy more tube bra...

Does tube bra work the same too?Where do you get your nursing bras from?

jascmy,

i rem i was given a lot of hot liquids (soup and milo, red date drink) to drink in TMC.

in fact most of the time i could not finish them and wl pass to my hubby.

so i dun think nd to cook extra and bring them to hosp.

BM storage: I use both glass bottle from hospital n milk bag. Think glass bottle is the most economical way. Get free from hospital n can b reuse. I buy some std bottle cap n after freeze switch to cling wrap so canreuse the cap.

wah..the thread is down and now is moving so fast.. i got a hard time catching up leh... hehehe..

tonight am gg to for checkup..

this morning wake up with backaches...

so wat the topic now?

hmmm, I don't rem drinking red dates water in the hospital leh???

dreymin,

my arrangement is that my #1 still sleeps with us and #2 will sleep in the cot beside me...

xpink > i think ur #3 cld be smaller cos u may not be having sufficient rest since need to take care of the 2 older kids....so try to get more rest and consume more high protein food....go for 1-2 eggs daily...simple yet nutritious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xpink,

hey your kids are of a good size!

dun worry too much, your #3 wl catch up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

charmaine,

i nvr tried tube bras before, tat is a thot!

but how is the support? coz i know our breasts wl grow quite abit during nursing.

i got no-frills bras (no lace, no under-wire) from mothercare, mum in mind (MIM), and even carrefour/giant.

so far the most comfy ones are from MIM and carrefour/giant, their quality is about the same surprisingly.

the mothercare ones i found the material too thick for me.