(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

From what i know, bananas are high in potassium hence it is good for counteracting the effects of sodium which is one main culprit that causes water retention or edema. however bananas also have a chemical that promotes slower stools....

I get very frequent reflux now too and what i do is whenever i have these episodes i will down a little milk. it always helps.

ahnah,

what is the difference between stemcord and cordlife? it seems that cordlife is more active in their promotional activities?

white lady,

mine oso quite pointed till recently then round...my gynea n DS all states it's girl lor

jascmy,

1st kid he kan jiong lah

scooby,

ML depending on ur coy....coz 1st 2mths it's from gov n the other 2mths is flexi so it's between u n ur coy issue

jascmy and bakaholic,

that was my original view too, we were quite sure that we would like to donate it to the public bank and the blood can be used to save many people in south east asia. Besides the cordblood to start off with may already be genetically compromised that is why using it may not really be an option.

But there again there are certain instances where it can be used and really if one day there is a need for it, we would have to pay the bank $22,000 for the use of donor cord blood.

I wonder with this pricey tag how can we benefit other people in SEA other than the well-to-do?

and how are we going to afford it?

I heard from my friend that her piles got kena squeezed out when she was pushing and for days after, she say she is blinded by the pain caused by the piles and not any where else!

scooby,

i'm with Cordlife. For either Cordlife or Stemcord, get someone as your referral and you will get $50 off. =)

bakaholic,

thanks for the link!

scooby2010, its always the case. Even for blood donated. If anyone is to use the blood (whether he blood donar or not) they have to pay for it.

My Dad always ask, since hospitals get it from us free (blood and cord blood etc) why are they charging such high amt to those in need of it. They are earning money from us.

I jus believe to save life. They are good ppl out there who will help those poor and in need.

Thanks ahnah for the readings.

dreymin, jascmy and bakaholic,

why arent u signing up for cordblood or stemcord?

scooby2010, I wan let those ppl really in need to used 1st. So I think not necessary to sign up and waste money on the uncertainties. Of course we wan our Bb to be healthy rite.

I think only those with family history of some illness need to sign up.

for me, first child i will store. 2nd child, i will donate.

sidetrack a bit here...

what the cordlife lady told me and my hubby is that the amt of stemcells that are store depends on "extraction" process. There's a manual and machine method. more stemcells can be effectively be extracted using machine and make your storage more worth it. and of cuz machine method needs to top up money...

ahnah,

is it the same for stemcord?

anyway, the extracted stemcells might not be enough should the child need to use. so in the end still need to buy from public bank. but at least you might just need to buy 1-2 bags instead of 3-4 bags.

Cordblood,

I sign up cordlife. Heard there is a lower percentage to use back the bb's own cord blood. it is more applicable for siblings..is it?

Machine extract need to add another 200.

bb's gender,

My hub was asking if the bb is a girl still since cannot find his birdie.. but the 19 week scan already confirm the gender.. then he keep saying the bb might be a girl le to the sonographer.. till last min after 20 mins of trying.. saw part of the birdie...

Ann, Yah .. she is on. cause she also wants a girl. Can doll her swee swee mah.

scooby2010, just go with your comfortable one. No need to follow others.

ahNah,

if it's already bpa-free, how to release bpa?

I think for non-bpa free bottles, they will release bpa when it gets worn out.

Starz,

I dun believe that the cord blood will save the child if the disease is genetic.

I think Tiger food jars are best. Thermos not as good in retaining heat. I have used both brands. Never tried Zojirushi though...

starting from last night , i felt tummy pain and throw up , then today whole day feel so restless and bloated , why like that huh ?

and feel baby have movement but lesser

Quoted from jascmy:

"My Dad always ask, since hospitals get it from us free (blood and cord blood etc) why are they charging such high amt to those in need of it. They are earning money from us."

we often get this quest when we sign up for our #1

Haiz..

Quoted from jascmy:

"I jus believe to save life. They are good ppl out there who will help those poor and in need."

Cannot agree with you more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

In case everyone forgotten

Our Waist Competition

Due Date: 35 wks

Prize for smaller : KOI from TPY (to enocurage gaining more)

Prize for biggest : Soya Bean Drink from Geylang (healthy choice since gain so much)

"Prizes sponsered are the courtesy of Ahnah"

dsqyvonne: 38" @ 28 wks

pekkle: 38" @ 31 wks

Nature Lover: 41" @ 31 wks

Saffy: 36" @ 32 wks

MVH: 42" @ 31 wks

ducklingeshop: 40" @ 31 wks

xpink_xuanx: 47" @ 30wks

charmaine1978: 35" @ 32-33wks

winnie: 42" @ 32 weeks

ahnah: 34" @ week zero

white_lady: 37.5" @ 30 weeks

haitang: 36.5" @ 32-33wks

sunflower: 39" @ 31 wks

nekowong: 37" @ week 28

Angel: 42" @ 33wks

eeyore_03: 37" @ 32 wks

mrs ahnah: 42" @ 29 weeks

Starz: 37" @ 29 weeks

cheekrene: 37.5" @ 30 weeks

Bakaholic: 37.5" @ 29 wks

jascmy: 43" @ 29 wks

alibaba:36" @ 31 wks

Leobaby: 38.8" @ 28 wks

weiling: 39" @ 33 wks

purelyz: 39.8" @ 32 wks

BPA is used to make polycarbonate plastic. So if the bottles are not made of polycarbonate, it should be bpa-free but do make sure the label "bpa-free" is on the packaging.

white lady,

I had something like that two nights ago at ard 5am. I woke up went to the toilet and came back with this pain just below my chest for a moment i thought i am having a stomache ache or gastric, went to lie down but the pain got worst so i sat up and it lasted for half hour.

called the nurse and she say it is most likely to be a contraction. and say that in future if something like that happen again have to go down immediately to the hospital. they will use a cardio and contraction detector to monitor. she say anything can happen.