(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ann> did u squat a lot when u were bearing #1? :p

Anyone here used or is using those belt that support our tummy? is it helpful? feeling tummy very heavy, have been carrying my tummy with both hands when went out for the gathering ytd. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sigh, sleepy again. will catch a nap before dinner. be back tonite.

I ask a DUH question ok. Anyone bother to apply light makeup during hospital stay? Otherwise when taking photos look quite haggard right?

Coz for me, I didn't. And when I look back at my old photos, I remember telling myself next time I will apply a bit of powder and some lip balm at least.

alibaba: haha, I dunno how to control how hard I push... I didn't get much pain on the stitches after birth though... so I think it wasn't a big tear.

ahNah: ask her to do squats daily?? If she's on epidural, you won't see her in pain....

penguin,

same here. i am having problem turning and tossing in bed at nights. my back hurt a lot.

haitang,

no choice. my job require me to carry things, walk many times a day or squat. it give me lots of inconvenience.

re: swimming

i heard we can only swim during 2nd trimester. towards 3rd trimester, we will start to have cramps so we got to be careful when swimming.

re: hospital bag

i am packing mine on this weekend. my husband is kiasu la, he had been asking me to pack soon otherwise we wont have time nearer to the month. by the way, are you all packing in lugguage? i see some couples bringing lugguage to hospital during the stay.

re: seats in MRT

there are lots of inconsiderate people in train. some office ladies won't give up seats to me. even those young office guys also pretend not to see when seated at reserved seats. i wish they will have karma lor.... haha...

4D scan

I am going for 4D scan this friday. Although I am in week 30, it is slightly late for 4D scan. I find it quite reasonable and the location is at paragon medical. i am very excited to see my active girl who tend to make my tummy look funny by moving too much.

Babybee: My MIL looks after during the day only. We bring home every night. I think how much you wanna give your MIL for looking after baby depends on your budget...

haitang: Yeah, I squat every day.... I also moved office twice during 28 wks and 34 wks. After the final move on 34 wks, I gave birth liao. Didn't even get to sit on my new office desk....

saffy: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I even wore contact lens during hospital stay so that my visitors won't see me with my ugly specs! But I didn't put on make up cos find it 'mah fan' to have remove it b4 i take a nap...

Babybee,

I also have issue on giving money to my mother for taking care of my baby. I think it's all depend on the budget we have. My husband and I agree that we will pay for the baby's necessities and only pay for her allowance and electrical/water bills.

anymore mummies still wanna get the babyland cloth diapers?

$10 for cloth diaper + 2 inserts.

I've asked the lady to mail you all the cloth diapers indivisually and still charge us at BP price and she agreed. :p

Nature Lover - 4sets

weiling - 4sets

if ur caretakers is not working then i think giving a token shd b ok ba esp if ur own mom or MIL....maybe like $300-$400?? outside market rate is abt $600

Am back from shopping..

Got a few good buys from mango before others rush in at lunch in Ion.. then eat and get $10 voucher from Capital land for the first 50 that spent min 120$.. hee hee

Winnie,

Your's infant care so cheap!!!in fact, i am going to check the PAP infant care this sat at pasir ris area...after subsidy i need to pay $577....

Cheekrene,

actually very worried abt this problem now...in fact, my mum has agreed to quit her job to help me take care..but i told her due to my budget, i might not be giving her as much as wat she is earning now...somemore, she also needs to see doc like every 3mths to take medication...and also worried abt money issue in future...

headache now!!!wat should i do???

Currently i staying with my in Laws so now thinking how much extra to top up since i am not working at the moment. After birth not sure if i will be looking for a job see how is the situation first . Thanks for all the advise

dsqyvonne,

ur mum earning alot? my godmum oso quit hers to help mi....i'm giving her $600 mthly but i pay for all the rest of her normal expenses like food etc lor....

i think i won't bother to makeup with the fat face i'm having [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my bloated face quite difficult to make up now.. cause the eyes are much smaller [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ann: i heard that epidurals are more painful than labour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

winnie: will try my best to find and faster book one, if not later go back work then nobody look after baby then cham liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

haitang: yup, local but people say i look and speak like malaysian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheekrene: not only back pains, right rib also pain, don't know what's that pain..

littlepiggy: we preg so cannot run, i want to be able to jump and run soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

really really hope these weeks pass by fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheekrene: i am giving to my parents and my hb too to his parents even when they are not looking after our baby, or has not offered to. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] same human different life..

penguin : Not true. The poking needles on my hands for dripping is more pain than labour. Epidurals not pain at all, just that u can feel the needle go through ur spine.

xpink, really ah. I shouted loudly and cried when got poke on hands for drip leh. So labour pain is not as bad as that lah. I'm more relief liao. Thanks.

dsqyvonne,

i also do have problem. my husband earn money to pay for house loans and other bills. my salary is not high and i am not very sure how much i can give my mother. some more my dad will retire next year. i think we mummies really have lots of worries after delivery.

Babybee,

my husband ever ask me to quit my job but I do not want. I find that I won't have income for myself. Need to have my own saving to protect myself in future.

penguin,

did you lie flat on bed most of the times? it do happen when pain come. it can be anywhere. i also tend to have pain at my bottom part of pelvic bone. i always use thick pillow to support in between my thigh.

jascmy : Yes i nearly cried becos of the poke on the hands for drips too. I was hoping no need to poke for drips la. cos my gynae keep not able to find my vein, poke on my hand TWICE!

penguin,

same. i also give allowance to my mum. sometime i really give $100, if can, will give another $100. but now baby come, my bank will be dried up soon.

suika

to be frank, my dad passed away long time back...of course i would prefer my own mum to look after....then my MIL also one kind, work till like nobody's business and dun wan to take care....though mum said ask me dun put bb at infant care but on the other hand tells me if she quit her job very wasted....

xpink, I also got poke twice. Cos the small and young doc poke liao then tell the senior doc that my vein very small. So the senior dos asked her to remove and bring in a smaller needle and poke again. OMG.

xpink_xuanx and jascmy: i think i will faint before giving birth, maybe i'll just have c-sec when i faint.. am scared of the needles, the one going through the hand, i heard that moving the hand will hurt too? i think i will take epidural? if i cannot take the labour pain.. my threshold level for pain is not very high [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cheekrene: yup, i sleep flat on the bed, because when i turn to the sides, the baby kicked me like nobody's business. my big thighs felt numb recently too and i developed alot of stretchmarks recently.

Given up on my body already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so many ugly marks, acne.. haiz.. total ugly mummy..

cheekrene,

sorry I thought wk 30 for 4D scan abit early...

Cos this morning i was reading my wk 32 pregnancy changes... it mentions that the wrinkles slowly fades off so if wk 30, still got more wrinkles, wont be able to get good pix right?? anyway is that your gynae that schedule for u?? When my #1 time, we also did it during the last month.

cheekrene: i gave $300 and my hb gave $300, so our expenses are huge. after i get married i didn't give, but one month after my dad came down with a sudden mild stroke that left my mum alone to work, and so i continued to give.. haiz, thinking about the infant care expenses, the jabs that baby need to take, the checkups, we are also drying up..

the air con installation which will be up soon will be absorbed by me too.. heartache [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cheekrene

I think we both facing same problem now...somemore got to settle as we are delivering soon....so i was thinking, if i were to put infant care then my mum can continue to work liao lor....problem settle... BUT hor,my mum told me just now she dun bear to let me put BB in infant care....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dsqyvonne,

actually since your mom volunteered, you should seriously consider taking her help. As for money, I find that we will never be able to compensate for their loss in income. My MIL used to teach tuition and I think she prob earns around $1K+ per month. But once she started to look after my gal, she totally stop all her tuition. The extra money that my hb give her is only $400, can't cover her for the loss ..... BUT I think she is more than happy with the chance to look after her grandkid so the loss of income is ok for her. Is your mom staying near you? If yes, even better.

dsqyvonne: when i called to enquire to the infant care, they told me some infants tend to fall sick easily at the centres, it depends too. So your mum's main concern could be that..

ahNah: I think squats help leh...... but if your wife got cramps or signs of premature labour nowadays, you better don't ask her to do squats ...

Flood was there when I went in the morning.

Cab has to detour as the CTE exit from carnhill is flooded at Cineleisure.. Same case before goodwood park.. But the flood seems to have subside when we left at 3:30. To be safe, we still take river valley road home..

Epidual really pain??

I have no threshold for pain one le..

I started sleepless night from Tuesday.. turn and turn but cannot sleep..

4 more weeks to 37 week.. so scared..

squats help ma? I heard we should massage the opening down there to relax the muscle le.. anyone tried?

penguin,

no wonder. initially my baby also tend to kick me like hamster when i sleep side way. but now she got used to it. when i woke up in morning, she will be still sleeping on my side. my husband said she was so cute, can feel a bump on my tummy. at least he know where she is.

eeyore,

i sent an email to enquire about 4D scan. the best time is from week 26 to week 28. at least the sonographer said they still can try their best to scan for me.

penguin and dsqyvonne,

since i have baby, i have been paying for all the baby's stuffs. my husband pay for my gynae's fee. so we have to be dareful how we spend. i used to spend money for my scrapbook and expensive len for DSLR but now i completely spend more on baby's stuff. -_-" now my mum is going to help me take care of baby, i get more stressed on money.

re: epidural

not pain at all. you can feel the needle poking at first but it's only for a short while, compared with labour pains.

re: squats

i have also been banned from squatting. but that's only because i'm too heavy to stand up easily after squatting, and also scared that i will tip over and fall down while squatting. i think if have low placenta also better not to squat.

Ann,

I knew...in the first place, we actually settled the problem le...she agreed too to help me look after...i think her monthly pay now is abt $1k plus plus...but recently, when i went back she started to tell me tat her working friends were asking have she consider carefully to quit her job (plus my mum easily get influence by other ppl words)Well....my mum also staying at east side(paya lebar) plus i am also working nearby...

penguin,

ya...i think so ba...cos she told me some teachers just ignore even bb cries and cries...so she scare lor...

alot of mtb by the surname of "ng" over here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] is it the hb surname or your own?

Have not log in for a very long time ...how was the gathering? I am currently on mc at home for this pain in the pelvis. It just came suddenly and grew in intensity.

Normal walking and turning in bed will bring about pain... even turning the foot or a slight lift of the foot is painful.

scooby,

i also have the same situation as you. i had this pain 2 weeks ago and now slightly better when walking. but when on bed, turning really hurt me so i have to turn very slowly.

dsqyvonne,

since your mom is undecided, maybe you can continue with your plan to put in infantcare for first few months. Then maybe after some time, your mom will have made up her mind?

cheekrene: me too.. my hb pay for gynae visits, whilst i absorb the larger expenses [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

shall trust you all and take epidural when i cannot take the labour pain. heard that at some point of time where you request for epidural but the doc will say no time already.

dsqyvonne: actually when kids spread contagious to each other, it's really fast. my nephew spread hfmd to my family twice.

I hope this pain will not be here for long ... else you will see me here everyday...

No wonder bosses dislikes employing preggies ... so much trouble... haiz...

re : epidural

for me , epi c section , i find the epi quite scary , cos when the needle poke into my spine , got the " eek eek eek" sound in my spine lor ... eeeee ....

Checkrene,

Not that i have a choice to quit from my job but my job requires me to reisgn when pregnant [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So bo bian of course after birth if wanna go back can still go back that why i have to see situation first