(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

QQ> you take care. given my #1 born at 36wk, my gynae already prescribed me the med fr. 29wk to prevent early contraction... now i still can feel a bit braxton hicks even after taking the med. can't imagine if i don't take it at all. so don't worry, as you said your gynae is ganjiong, am sure he will take good care of you. have a good rest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nature_Lover> that's a good calculation. i think April or May issue of Mother & Baby does show some expenses table and calculations too.

Eeyore> ya, this thread is very happening. so late i am still awake, really concern how is everyone being.

Sunfl@wer & Penguin> both of u take care too.

MVH> which mth did you give birth ur #1? could be it a more cooling weather? my #1 time was in Aug, and i sweat a lot... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

aiyoh, don't scratch. probably put some cream to sooth the itchiness. either skin stretching or stretch mark cream caused the itch. instead of tummy, my arms feel itchy these 2 nights (days ok, only nights), can't be stretching also bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wish all mtbs here the best. let's jia you for our last trim. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haitang, u also insomia like me? I m very lazy to apply cream lol.. My #1 is born in late march.. Quite warm.. I remember I change my shirts 2-3times a day.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] aug hot ah? Jialat then..

Oopps.. Sleepy that I type wrongly.. My gal is born late feb not march...

Btw anyone knows when e gynae will do cervix check? Starting from which week? Dun like e feeling ..

Haitang, i see. u also kena medicine now to prevent preterm labour. just to play safe also. i thought wk 36 is actually quite ok for delivery.

MVH, i also dunno. maybe ventolin is a common terms? or the brand is it? i also blur i found it familiar. so it is used for ashma ah. and got side effecct on me. heart beat super fast and at one point my hands were trembling.

eh dr ang is going off this weekend, i hope nothing happen this weekend man! scary. eh if u want u can let dr ang know, then u take medicine with u to genting, just in case got hardenig, u can releif a bit with the medicine.

penguin, it is abnormal to have bleeding on and off, but I can tell u it is COMMON. my cousin bleed until all the way till delivery. as long as no contraction and bleeding in control, then ok. i was also bleeding last time, but mine was too serious, and eventually preterm labour cause too serious liao. bleeding cannot stop. it is 10-20 times worst than normal menses. i got serious active blood clot inside womb then.

if the bleeding dun soak your pads everyday, it seems to be ok from then ppl that i heard. many ppl shared their bleeding experiences with me last time, all of them were ok. to play safe, regular check up, and dun squad too often. walk slowly, dun carry heavy things. just like a queen at home can liao.

Waist competition:

Due Date: 35 wks

Prize for smaller : KOI from TPY (to enocurage gaining more)

Prize for biggest : Soya Bean Drink from Geylang (healthy choice since gain so much)

"Prizes sponsered are the courtesy of Ahnah"

dsqyvonne: 38" @ 28 wks

pekkle: 38" @ 31 wks

Nature Lover: 41" @ 31 wks

Saffy: 36" @ 32 wks

MVH: 42" @ 31 wks

ducklingeshop: 40" @ 31 wks

xpink_xuanx: 47" @ 30wks

charmaine1978: 35" @ 32-33wks

winnie: 42" @ 32 weeks

ahnah: 34" @ week zero

white_lady: 37.5" @ 30 weeks

haitang: 36.5" @ 32-33wks

sunflower: 39" @ 31 wks

nekowong: 37" @ week 28

Angel: 42" @ 33wks

eeyore_03: 37" @ 32 wks

mrs ahnah: 42" @ 29 weeks

Starz: 37" @ 29 weeks

cheekrene: 37.5" @ 30 weeks

Bakaholic: 37.5" @ 29 wks

jascmy: 43" @ 29 wks

My BB jump a lot since yesterday morning till now. Maybe he is practicing breathing so hiccup.

Haitang, Ann, QQ: The cost is ard there isn't it.. =P and yes, the baby bonus will never be enough... =X and right keeping the receipts is for fun? can "claim" anot, hard to tell.. =P Im sure by the time our babies grow up, prices would have skyrocketed.. =X

Waist competition:

Prize for biggest : Soya Bean Drink from Geylang (healthy choice since gain so much)

alibaba:36" @ 31 wks

my left knee ache more now.. haiz.. any remedy?

Noted all your advices, cause none of my peers nor siblings experienced the bleeding, they had no idea how scary it is..

I'm looking forward to maternity leave soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

work place is quite far from my house and hence travelling is tedious.. sigh..

QQ: Dr Ang? Are you refering to Dr Lawrence Ang? Are you seeing him too?

I did a web search on preterm labour and some babies are borned at 24 weeks and survived, but those mostly happened at foreign countries. hence, it led to me thinking here in Singapore there are actually not many preterm labours and so it scares me if i were to have one, it seemed like the baby is less likely to survive..

By the way, regarding the waist competition, what are the normal range of inches to gain for a normal pregnancy? My colleagues commented my stomach is too small and said that the bleeding is caused by wearing tights (pants), they advised me to buy those maternity skirts which i didn't want to..

Hi Nature Lover: Thank you! I'm at week 31 now, you?

Hi ahNah: The pants are not really tight but i wear them as low as possible so as not to "tie" the stomach to prevent it from growing larger, according to what my colleagues said..

penguin,

yes same dr ang. so u seeing him too? i see.

try to avoid tight clothing, but if it is elastic type, ok bah. yours spotting on and off right? did he give u injection? and pills? the injection helps.

no worry, any problem react quickly. my fren delivered her girl at 1.3kg last year, natural delivery, ok. just that too small size, need to grow to bigger in NICU. some twins also deliver around 1.9 -2kg. also ok. but same need to stay hospital for a while de.

alibaba, knee pain? walk less or maybe u need to wear more comfy shoes. sports shoes /cover shoes better? cause got support.

Hi Nature Lover: You have any idea where to get larger tights or pants? It seemed that I am getting lazier to go out now due to the extra weight I'm carrying.. And everytime i walked a little more distance, i will bleed a little..

Spotted some stretchmarks recently too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] All the stretchmark creams applied are of no use...

penguin, ahNah is still 0 wk pregnant. haha!

like that u better dun walk leh. avoid walking so much. walk liao bleed.

my fren got twins last time, also bleeding. the reason was placenta a bit detached, slowly. however, still controllable after jabs and medicines. cause not v serious. do u dun worry. u have gone so far, now 31 wks liao. no worry.

but my worry is dr ang wont be around for a few days this weekend. i hope no problem with me. otherwise i dunno who is the stand in doctor also.

Hi Nature Lover: My edd is on the 16 Aug, yours? I hope the little one comes out on National Day! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] also because the day after National Day will be hungry Ghost Festival, I am scared to give birth during that period of time, would rather stay at home for confinement so chances of stepping on the ashes would be lesser.

Hi QQ: Yup, mine is spotting on and off. I'm seeing doc Ang, seemed that he has alot of patients [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wonder will he be the one to help me to deliver. He did gave me injection at the start of the pregnancy, it seemed to help a little. I have gotten the hormone medicine and injections at kk due to bleeding at nights. Now, i'm taking this medicine "salbutamol" doc ang precribed.

Have any of you experienced weird or scary things throughout the pregnancy? I've had alot and it's quite scary to me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Penguin: They will not make the stretchmarks go away but will lighten it.. Im using the one from mothercare, it lightens the marks, the trick is to massage them into the skin and to stroke it upwards.. my malay colleagues tell me using a comb to "comb" it will also relieve the itch (comb as in with your shirt on, not directly on your belly)

I got all my pants from "chap pan lang" stores... im a budget mummy... =P I see, i get type.. where do you stay?

Hi Penguin,

I can understand how u feel...

like since no one encounter such problem, no one will believe...

but tell u another incident, my cousin, when she was preggy with #1,

she cannot talk, once she talk, she'll puked, no one believes initially also.

She even have to quit her job and bed rest at home...

but aft she delivered her bb, she's back to normal but develop slight depression, turn out her mum had to help out with the bb...

now her kids already pri sch, luckily her 2nd pregnancy was a breeze.

So dont worry so much, take care of yourself, dont exert too much, listen to what the gynae says... at least they have expert advise.

MVH,

must take care and control your scratch... otherwise these marks might turn into permanent.

So good still got off-site training...

Penguin: what scary things? talk it out then you will not be fearful ba.. My edd is on the 12th.. im expecting bb to come late july or early aug... heehee.. i also dun wish to stay hospital during the 7th month... kekekkee..

penguin, welcome to the tread. Wat are those scary things? Urs is Bb boy or gal?

I'm having very slight menses like pain now and headache. Left eye also twitting since last Sunday. Worried something bad is going to happen. Bb very active since Sunday too.

Hi QQ: So i conclude ahNah is a guy here?

Yup he gave me a week plus of hospitalisation leave to rest at home, so as to prevent anything from happening when he's not around..

I've read about the placenta detaching online, and it seemed scary!!

Also, doc ang advises me to rush to KK if i were to have any serious bleeding at night, ICU in TMC is too expensive.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wow, 1.3 kg at how many weeks gestation?

Hi ahNah: Really sorry if I have offended you somewhere, i'm on hospitalisation leave now, really hope my colleagues will be able to cope with the work.. But none of them seemed to ask about my wellbeing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

eeyore, really strange le. cannot talk during preg. yes no one will believe that. luckily all kids grown up liao.

penguin, i hope i can deliver mid july (38 weeks) till early aug (close to edd). as long as bb healthy, happie i am happie liao. dont think too much about the ghost festival bah.

i ask nurse, she said when i am at home,monitor bb movement. one day min 10 times, then i am safe. if less, then call dr. cause i cannot monitor bb heartbeat at home mah.

Stretch marks: Mine only appears on the left side of my belly... its alraedy like "streaky bacon" and my right side is still smooth... weird anot?

Belly Wobbling: Im so counting down to delivery but I know I will also miss the "wobbly belly" sensation.. =P

Penguin,

if you can't get larger pants/tights, maybe just wear dress? You are nearing the end of the pregnancy so maybe just get 1-2 pieces to rotate through the wk. Or you can get it online cos the US sizes are really big. Do rest more and minimise movement.

Actually my doc says after 32 wks is quite safe period. But of course bb may need to stay in hospital for a while. So dun worry. I am also in the high risk group so I am just taking a day at a time. Now I am only 29 wks, hopefully can push till wk 35 or more.

Sunflower,

When you doing growth scan? I am scheduled for doppler scan to check for blood flow to baby in 2 wks time.

hee.. penguin, u made the right guess.

1.3kg at 26-28 weeks. she has a flu, and cough. then deliver bb after that.

placenta detaching? dun read too much la.

now it is not relevant already because we already final trimester.

Yah penguin, dun scare yrself silly and dun think too much.. now is the tiem to keep a positive mind as bb is very tuned in to our body signals.. =) LAugh as much as you can.. esp the mummies and ftb in the forum will make you laugh with all the funny funny posts.. you can start by joining our "waistline competition" ! =P

alibaba,

your knee cap pain, is it lack of calcium??

like nature lover suggest, maybe wear a knee guard, it should help a little...

i haven't buy my steriliser, plus some small items. hm..

feel lazy to shop for these items.

and not yet wash bb clothes too.

ahNah, I don have my gynea's contact no. The most is call the nurse helpline. Or go straight down to delivery suite (after 25 weeks can't go KKH A&E)and been tied up again to monitor heardbeat and contractions. I don wan that leh. KKH is like that de. I see how later.

Morning Everyone,

Somehow my details went missing after i had keyed in.

Waist competition:

alibaba:36" @ 31 wks

Leobaby: 38.8" @ 28 wks

What is the procedure like? call nurse then rush down to hospital and then the gynae will turn up just before delivery.. is that right?

can i also ask.. will they do "hair removal"? cos i keep hearing these old wives tale.. so dunno true or not.. sheesh..

Nature Lover, yup, for KKH is to call the paging service or the nurse (office hours only)and or rush to KKH and your Gynea will appear to help u deliver.

MVH > shld refrain from scratching the tummy as far as possible....cos my beautician was telling me the scars can become quite permanent....a bit harder to go off kind....tink you need to apply more moisturiser ah...

Morning Everyone,

Finally, I managed to move my butt to measure my waist... want to faint liao!

Waist competition: