(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ah bee,

go for a check up..if u encounter pain from braxton hicks, u need go consult ur gynae asap.

i was like this on week 27.. and i rush to hospital..i have irritable contractions detected..and these pains caused my cervix to dilate.

i m thinkg if we shld organise one more outing? west one too far for me to join [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morning ladies!!

dreymin,

i've replied u liao

ur MIL can buy for u mah how come u still wan?

sunflower,

they say this wine better lah....i duno oso but i noe it's not so expensive lor...heehee

ahNah,

I am open... North and North East or in Town is aso good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower,

it's not difficult to make but the problem is the ingredients lah....they no sell n the condition of the plc u store oso plays a very impt part

ahNah,

dun worry abt thermometer lah...so long hv 1 at hm that's the most impt part....when u bring bb for jab do rem to get fever med from them to standby at hm....n in case in future fever can still take back oso....bb's med can keep in fridge for abt 4mths....if temp hits 38.5deg den get burfen from guardian etc...to b given 8hrly (they'll tell u how much to give).....if u worry then go PD lor but they'll give u that med oso lah....temp hits 40deg then u can consider gg to A&E if not waste $ oso....they'll still give u the same thing s well n as u to monitor....fever normally will goes off within 3days...

LOLx i sounds like doc hor....coz y....that's wad happened to me recently n likewise for my friends oso...so conclusion is kan jiong they'll still tells u the same thing give u the same med

Dun take too much of wine during confinement. Maybe 1-2 teaspoons if not, baby will be drunk.

Ah bee,

Braxton hicks should be painless. if you feel cramps, pls call your gynae or go A&E.

ahNah,

You mean the hospital bag? when to prepare?

used for cooking not so worried....if u drink direct then dun take too much

ahNah,

if u worry then pack now lor n leave inside ur car

thx all. i feel cramps last evening (after work) and on & off at nites n this mrng. but when im on way to work, seems ok le.. (sad, tdy no1 give up seats for me.. stand frm cwealth to boon lay)

do i still need call gynae? cos nw no cramps but oni tight n hard feeling.

suika

Thanks for sharing, the current thermometer at home is for mouth usage and for adult. Guess have to get a 1 Degree type during this wkend fair.

Thanks ahNah,

I better start buying the stuff.

Btw, anyone heard about this confinement practice about adding few drops of guiness stout to bb bath water so that they are not scared of cold?

suika,

ya i heard its very easy..its the portion of the ingredients and the storage that plays the part.. the ingredients can be found in medical halls...

ahnah,

confinement lady wont make the confinement wine for u leh.. she will only take your ready confinement wine to make dishes.. u need to start sourcing.

bakaholic,

the confinement wine will be cooked with dishes, the alcohol content will not be that great..so no harm when we breast feed the baby..

suika

I think we will prepare n leave it at home near the door step.

If last min kanchong... i won't drive, cause my driving will freak her out.

ah_bee, good to have a thermometer. When baby goes for injection, most of the babies will run a fever after that and we need to monitor.

purelyz, take care. poor boy.. hope he recovers soon.. haitang, yrs too! take good care. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for those mummies who intend to breastfeeding, dont take too much confinement wine.. coz will cause heatiness in baby and baby can be cranky easily or jaundice..

i m now 30w+ but my next appt is 4 weeks later leh.. ;(

Sunflower,

But previously our CL bring to wet market and get the confinement wine from there, and then she cook for us .. can consider restaurant cooking skill liao.

i also can feel my bb kick is more and more powerful liao...

any rec where can i buy infant car seats?

hubby bot the wrong wan.. she can only sit when she is 9 month old... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hey can i ask, for those taking confinement wine - is it the same as taking DOM? and if we intend to breastfeed, will the alcohol content affect the breastmilk?

ah_bee, i think it is braxton contractions.. try to monitor again.. change position when it happens again, normally after changing position it might go away after that. If it happens too often n it worries u, better to check wif yr gynae..

chicken essence:

does anyone hear that when our water bag burst, we should drink a bottle of chicken essence? to me, i never heard before.

dreymin,

We can have central gathering. I think city hall will be the best place for all MTBs. As our tummies are getting bigger, we can meet up near MRT station which will be convenient for all of us.

ah_bee,

to play safe, tell your gynae about it. He will advise you what to do in future it happen again.

Winnie,

Since you got the one after 9 mths, just get those from new born till 10kg one.

Kiddy palace, departmental stores will have. Or you can check out the motherhood fair this weekend.

winnie_gal

After we get the scanning from last visit, we know the head alread at below, so whenever there is a movement at the bottom of the belly, we are guessing the bb is not kicking but is PUNCHING.

And yes, as weeks go, the bb is more powerful already.

Saffy, my last CL said u can take DOM only after 2 weeks (from delivery).. Have u taken DOM before? coz i feel that it is super sweet, even after cooking with some meat.. I cant swallow down my throat.. in the end, i stop drinking after 2 tries.. lol.. But all the wine thingy affect the breastmilk quality, i think...

MVH,

my gynae appt is going to be down from 1 month to 3 weeks, subsequently it will be 2 weeks and then 1 month before my EDD, it will be every week.

cheekrene, my cousin said she drink chicken essense every morning towards her delivery date.. so that she got more energy and can push better when the date comes.. but i dunno issit true or not.. n i dun have the habit to drink chicken essense leh..

winnie, I will be carrying my Bb in a sarong carrier and sit at the back of the car till he can sit up and sit in a car seat.

I also feel Bb kick stronger liao. He likes to knock on my tummy many times.

cheekrene, i think my gynae is going for june holidays wif his kids.. tat's y my next appt is 4 weeks later.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] by then I will be 34w liao..

ahnah,

we can meet up at Raffles city which is near MRT station. some MTBs may take mrt after work just like me. so i find it convenient for everyone

MVH,

i took one small sip but i didn't like it! i think in the end we used most of it for cooking too. because of the breast-feeding, i was quite particular about what i ate too, e.g. if eat too much ginger, breast milk may taste like ginger and bb won't like it etc.... hahaha

MVH,

is it? i dun have the habit to drink too.

wow, then if wanna check with gynae, you might have to disturb him during his holiday. do he has a partner who is a gynae? for mine, when my gynae is not free, he will ask his partner to help him.

saffy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MVH,

jaundice is not caused by confinement wine leh..When babies are born, their livers are not used to breaking down a byproduct of red blood cells, called bilirubin. It may take a few weeks or even a few months for the liver to mature enough to break down bilirubin properly.

ahnah,

how come u have previous CL ? i thought its your first baby?

Cheekrene, my gynae is alone.. ;( so pray hard, nothing happens these period lor..

sunflower, i heard got a type of jaundice called breastfeeding jaundice.. that's becoz of mummies' food intake tat causes the liver not able to function as normal, hence jaundice la.. so ppl will advise not to drink too much confinement wine, ginger etc.. dunno issit true or not.. my gal got jaundice during her 1st week.. not due to breastfeeding jaundice.. but i try to cut down on confinement wine n ginger too coz i scared the jaundice level cant go down..

hey anyone knows when is goodwood park having the durian dessert buffet again? feel like eating durian.. (Blame it on ahnah.. kekek)

MVH,

oh ya, i also heard ginger can worsen jaundice due to breastfeeding.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Thermometer

the ear type is easier to measure. armpit one quite tough, cos bb/ toddler keep moving. As bb have higher body temp, it is only consider fever when bb is 38.5 degree.

Re: Confinement wine

any lobang? Last time, my mum order from my uncle's friend's mum. Now she dun make le. So i need to look for other supply.

Sunflower,

better dun DIY urself, leave it to the "expert aunties" bah...

Charmaine,

Last gathering pic not posted on fb yet. Too busy with #1. I'll post it this wk.

Haitang,

Usually after 30wk, gynae appt will be shorten to 2 wks once. My gynae no package. We pay every visit. For my #1 also like that le. i tot is normal? Can take MC from work every 2 wk... Hee...

dreymin, MVH,

Thanks. #1 still fever but still very active.

ahNah,

dun nd pack bag so early la. Kiasu!

ah_beee,

it's normal to feel the cramps now. Ur body is getting ready...