(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Leo,

i think sultanas are smaller and sweeter but i ignored and just use all raisins. granny smiths are the green sour apples that you can usually find in supermarkets. mine also not that successful ... the cake part turned out moist and soft but the apples became abit burnt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] nvm, we try and try again!

WWW.CAREERMUMS.SG

is the first job portal in Singapore catering to flexible or part time employment. We strive to provide a platform for professional working mothers to register their interest in non-traditional working hours.

MIA for a long wkend, Can't read all archive except those posted today. Dunno why. A bit of "fire" posts. I think we can just choose which topics to discuss, so any neg comments can be ignore. Happy Mummies, Happy Babies!

I went to gynae visit. My #2 is now 1.2kg, my gynae say average size at 30wk. And I gain 2.5kg for the past 4 wks(OMG!). He is facing downward, so can't see his face. Next appt will be 2wks later.

My #1 fever and fall sick again. Yesterday go A&E cos his fever shot up to 40.1. So scary. It's viral infection at the throat. Poor thing...

If i've miss any qns posted to me, pls post again.

For the West gathering, are we still meeting? Or we can change date?

I jus pay deposit to take maternity pics (birthday gift from hubby). Studio Loft. I take on 32 wks. Usually the best time is to take during 33 to 36wks but the photographer say my tummy big enough (sad... i tink she mean i'm "fat" enough bah?) Haha!

Those waiting to collect the books for the FBI programme can collect le. Collected mine today.

Saffy,

I also like to make tiramisu, simply love it..! but u shld rest now lar..try not to go near oven so often as there will be static which is not good for baby. I’ve stopped baking since preg..

Suika,

Confinement wine is different..its the fermented glutinous rice wine.. need to take these during confinement.

Dreymin,

I have good source for confinement wine, but very exp..my hubby just learned from his colleague, will be trying out our own next weekend.

Leo,

Agreed with bakaholic, ur temp too high..

Just went to the talk.

Re: Cordlife

Cordlife will have promotion for motherhood fair.

Anyone interested?

There is a recommendation for friends of $50..

I want to have a tag alone.. anyone?

Ahnah, may I know how much is stemcord?

Re: Career

Thanks ahnah... after a day of super shopping I thinking of earning money.. thanks for sharing.

Re: Babysafe mattress

Just to share

Saw this 28" x 1.5" x ?? mattress with bolster with flat pillow with mattress cover for 140 at Takashimaya... Not sure if that is good price or not and 1.5" too shallow leh.. it says playmat mattress

Re: Thermometer

Just now the doctor talk say infant should use armpit type coz ear difficult to measure.. ai. just got a ear type le..

thks ladies for the advise on the temp. its my first time baking ever since secondary school home economic class.

do you gals know you can buy direct from babysafe online and get better deals. I was at the previous mother and baby fair, after fair my girlfriend called them and was offered good rates for the mattress and somemore can custom size.

Charmaine,

I have contacts to the cordlife if you quote my name should get the $50 since i have already sign up. Interested let me know.

Leobaby,

They will also give you $50 dollars after processing if I quote your name.

Can you PM me your number so I will call you to have your information if I need to sign up?

Re:Thermometer

I have been using ear thermometer for my son since infant, measurement always shown slightly higher and not as accurate as mouth/armpit thermometer. so i just got an extra mouth thermometer to double check his temp whenever i find the ear thermometer shows too high and scary. but ear type still very easy and fast. those forehead one his school is using, faster but not very accurate.

Charmaine> guess stemcord probably will be in the fair too?

Saffy> ok, will check out the rum next time at the duty free. for tiramisu, i did boil the kahlua with coffee first, so liquor does evaporate a little as you said. I didn't take now coz of raw eggs. recently tried that flavour when making ice-cream, didn't put the egg, so got to relief the craving a bit, still didn't dare to take much leh.

Leo_baby> for sultanas and raisin, i think one is green raisin and one is black raisin (pls correct me if i'm wrong)? i'm know that the price is different, wetness and softness are also different. but usually i put one i don't use another le. didn't find the taste much different though.

Charmaine> you really energetic leh. after my shenzhen trip, i already lost the energy. in fact at shenzhen, i shopped also mostly online, only walked out for food. my hubby kept saying i'm old liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

will see you at expo then. wonder if they rent cart for preggie to roam ard the area... :S

purelyz> your gynae appt. every 2 weeks? how come so frequent? i thought most gynae (especially those with package) see preggie only once every 4 weeks? mine without package so he sees me every 3 weeks.

my #1 also down with fever since yesterday evening. today shot once to 40 degree... sigh... virus everywhere. did the doctor tell you what virus or name of "illness"? wish your #1 gets well soon...

Ya purelyz,

Let us know when you load the photos?

there is no hurry..

My friend helped me with some photos.. but have difficulty posting as I am only in my 30th week.. and tummy bit small :p

Haitang,

I mean I don't see them selling babysafe online from babysafe.sg.. only see mustela hamper there..

So Asking leobaby if there is anyother site selling cheaper lo.. might need other products also.."P

Re: confinement wine

my #1 confinement my MIL ordered for me "hei nuo mi jiu" (black glutinous rice wine) fr. a friend. i think he also no more making liao. didn't take "hong zao jiu" but did use the "hong zao" for cooking, bought fr. supermarket one. as for nuo mi jiu sold outside usually quite "diluted" if compared to home-made one...by the way, coz of breastfeeding i don't dare to take so much also. last confinement almost every dish my MIL asked the confinement lady to cook with different kind of wine, till i breastfed my #1, his face also red red, but slept very well... hehe... not sure if really that "powerful". :p

I'm in my 29weeks now and gynae appt from 4weeks to 2weeks now.

now my #3 is roughly 1.5kg

purelyz and haitang,

hope your #1 gets well soon. mine has been having a nagging cough for 2 weeks, finally clearing.

leo_baby,

i hv a white elephant at home. was v enthused about baking and grilling. like most newly-weds i dreamt of turning into a domestic goddess :p

hubby got me a baby belling oven but it has been used just 2-3 times... hearing ur efforts hv got me thinking again!

RE: confinement wine

sunflower,

u r making them yourself? how to do it?

haitang,

i aso blur there r diff types of wine, we juz collect from my mum and pass to CL prev, keke!

but i know shld not use too much coz wl affect the baby and only after week 1 or 2 then can start to use.

my mum got me 5-6 bots previously, my hubby thot that was too much, said i was turning into an alcoholic.

so how much is really enuff? and wat types?

With homemade wines, I hope you distill

them and by knowing the BP of dangerous by substances like methanol you can get rid of them.

Sunflower,

The flyer says up to additional 20% discount storewide. There are a few $5 vouchers for the various departments with min. $30 spending.

Dreymin,

You can always grill fish/chicken or make baked rice in the oven. I even use mine to bake luncheon meat cos i dun like to fry stuff as need to clean up the mess.

Charmaine,

So, the talk is mainly on cordlife? I didn't managed to go cos too tired.

dreamz,

Thanks! i m gg down to TMC tmr for my check-up so can collect the books as well.

bakaholic,

yah i thot of grilling meats and even baking pizza, first i nd to get the oven fixed!

charmaine,

if you have FBI card, there will be $450 discount for signing up the cordlife.

re: west mummies gathering

Is it still confirmed at IMM? Under which name again?

ahnah,

don't forget. if friend refer you, you get another $50 discount. total of $500. that is why i signed up for 10 year package which is better offer for me. go and check it out during motherhood fair for more details. definitely there is discount on the spot.

gd morning ladies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Last nite i experiencing cramps (like pms cramps but not tt jia lat) on and off.. and my tummy super super tight n hard. i can sense movement below near my private part. wat does it means?? at 1st i tot i wanna da bian (shit) then i go toilet, i did do abit of "business" but after tt the cramp is back. *worry :S*

RE: West gathering

Im ok w sat gathering @ IMM. Wat time u all will reach? can exchange contacts?

If you have a newborn it's critical to know the accurate temperature, at just 38 degrees centigrade you need to rush to the doctors. With inaccurate devices margin or error is high some up to 1 deg . Knowledge is important.

HI sungflower,

Thanks anyway .... i think the link you provided is diff from what i saw ....what i saw was 3 days ago link ... abt avent breast pump .... provided by you ... but i cant find it now ....

ah_beee,

you can check from your gynae. it's good to ask him as i find that it look like braxton hicks.

i PM you my hp number.

ah_bee and Cheekrene--> yes i'm ok with the sat gathering too @ IMM. i've pm both of you my contact

ah_bee--> i think it's better u check with your gynae if youre worried. are you still having the cramps now or isit gone? i think its braxton hicks too and i frequently get the tightening of tummy recently as well, esp in the middle of night.