(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahnah,

I thought is ren tai tang???

I went to pasir ris outlet, and it's cheaper than other outlet... sometimes few $$ cheaper...

suika,

I bought gainiq too and pediasure...

Dreymin,

they have other branches in sengkang (i think) but still find pasir ris branch cheaper.

Exact price must go home and check... hb is the one to source and compare all the prices and he thinks there is cheaper...

Ren tai tang

Pasir Ris West Plaza

735 Pasir Ris Street 72

2nd hand bed ? Ever thought about structural rigidity, loose parts, bed bugs, parasitic insects, in short safety of the baby? Just a question not for the hypersensitive defensive people.

ahnah> won la.. u set a gd example ;) hee btw, hws the status of the diaper bags?

Kate,

then hv u ever thought of new items can b faulty, kept in store for ages w bugs too...of coz ppl will check the condition of the item first before letting their precious 1 to use

new items doesn't means sure good n used items doesn't means sure spoil

kate,

how many kids do u have? if u are preg with number 2 or so, then u also need to consider if your number 2 shld take the handsdown from your number 1 because u also need to consider structural rigidity, loose parts, bed bugs, parasitic insects.

of course when people buy 2nd hand, they will check the product before they buy. be it new or 2nd hand items, all items bound to have a risk!

Careful when buying milk powder from medical halls, it's common to see milk powder originating not from country of the main manufacturer. Although safe for consumption but it's clear why the lower price. do check the mfg country .

Kate,

I'm curious

how many kids u have??

When are u due??

where do u stay??

what do u do??

what does your hubby works as??

how long have u been married??

how old are u??

which hospital u opt for??

who is your gynae??

SunFl@wer I agree everything has risk but it depends what's at stake and for what purpose. To save money and put my baby at risk is something I can't bring myself to do. Although you can check visually one cannot be 100% sure what more you do not have to QA facility to do so . Every year many cots are recalled for not meeting safety standards. Just recently CPSC recalled millions of cots following the deaths of four babies. Even mattress, a study published in Glasgow showed BB who routinely sleep on a mattress previously used by another child is at higher risk of cot death. This was linked to bacteria in the cot and mattresses.

Quoting a CPSC spokesman : Do not use a cot you are unsure of until you have investigated the safety of the product from a reliable manufacturer.. Err on the side of caution.

kate--> i think your life must have been pretty stressful, having to scrutinise every minute detail of everything that comes ur way or anything that ppl say.. life is too short to be negative all the time!

crescent--> yes i had the pain before..mine was those sharp kind/stitching of pain.. then weeks later, i saw that the groin area got stretch marks.. nw still pain when i touch it..

dsqyvonne no, and yes ... New products has gone through current safety standard tests and certification (reputable brands) e.g. Cot bar widths must meet regulation standards. There is a thing called wear and tear plus a unknown factor as to the usage of used cots. Also why manufacturers limit warranty to 1-2years at most, parts can become faulty and many cannot be seen with the naked eyes.

Kate,

Since u always say dont try to save money and put our baby at risk...

why not u spare us money to buy something exp, confirm 100% safety things for our baby...

is your mission 拯救地球,拯救生命??

Ednique, many people wants others to agree to themselves to seek justification to their actions or decisions .Hence any comments which is not in line with their thought process is deemed negative.

eeyore_03, I can't force others into doing things.. I am merely stating my point of view and information... Which clearly is different from what you have in mind.

kate--> ppl are entitled to their own thinking but cant it be put across in a nicer n more polite way? if u have nothing nice to say, pls dont plc ur comments here as i dont see any benefits in all of ur comments made so far.

yah, means friends also??

meaning our point is different...

i'm here to meet new friends with same sentiment

but you are here to gather enemies with diff point of view???

Kate,

u already mentioned 'recall', so it can also be first hand.. so doesnt meant only 2nd hand have safety issues.. no one would want to risk their babies' lifes.

dont tell me ur change ur own bed frame every 1-2 yrs since limit warranty is 1-2years at most, parts can become faulty and many cannot be seen with the naked eyes.

and u are so secretive that u do not want others to know who u are and where u comes from??

just want to let most of us here knows that u came from a different planet with so much diff pt of view

and make us think that u are intolerable, insensitive, lousy person??

Crescent,

i also have this pain near my groin and inner thigh. It's quite difficult for me to walk. I will be checking with my gynae this thursday.

Kate,

if you want to share your point of view, you should put it in a nice way. We are here to encourage, support and give good comments to each other, not here to give sarcasm remarks. I just wonder why you don't answer our questions and we want to know who you are.

SunFl@wer you still don't get my point completely. Regulatory bodies constantly monitors and amend safety standards often after unfortunate accidents and laboratory tests. The point about recalls is to highlight the dynamism of safety.By purchasing the latest reputable cot ensures safety standards are met and material rigidity is assured -QC

puchasing a used furniture introduces many variables and uncertainties as to the rigidity of the furniture and what sort of wear it has been subjected to. My own cot will be subjected to proper care (known), servicing(known), and constant inspection(known). To make it simple if I buy a 2 year old cot from Madam Tan Ah Huay across the street, she tells me it's a good cot (unknown, and hard to verify) what are the chances of it passing current safety checks ? To save a few dollars there are simply too many unknowns : this translates to risks for my child.

Kate,

yah only when accidents happen then the regulatory bodies start amending the safety standrads...

like the recent car seat safety issues...

lets us all not be bothered abt this KATE lah....wasting our time n effort on such person

dun even understand the real meaning of QA/QC but yet trying to brag ard in here

we're juz parents who r selfish putting out kids at risk with the savings of that few dollars....

crescent,

i've been feeling aching too but my gynea says it's normal s bb is growing mah so of coz got pressure n at times it's gonna cause such discomfort.

kate,

u also dont get my point..doesnt mean reputable or first hand will be absolutely safe. QC are undertaken, so WAT ? some reputable brands have QC but also get recall back for problems.

one good example is the Toyota car.. reputable for its reliability, yet?!!

Real meaning of QA/QC ? the triad? What is there to brag about? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SunFl@wer not sure how I can illustrate so you get my point. It simple , really , old cot vs new cot.

Old cot - cheap (hooray)

new cot - more ex [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

now .. Old cot is less safe - why?

Key words!

Fatigue...

Rate dependant matl failure...

Any material stressed repeatedly will undergo progressive structural damage.

sunflower,

she dun understand the real meaning of QA/QC lah....can even quote words of some spokesman....so wad...these ppl r oso humans oni, even presidents can say the wrong things....whether be it new or 2nd-hand, so long u feel it's good for ur bb then ok liao...dun juz blindly listen to ppl say this n that can liao