(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Charmaine,

NOt yet, my mum and SIL insist they want to babysit our boy when my wife return back to workforce.

Even we offer her a maid she also dun wan.

BUt that is Plan A.

Plan B is a get a standby Nanny or Infant care in case my mum is not available.

Angel,

that's y if it's planned c-sec, normally gynea will give u a date that's within 37wks...coz mostly by 38wks mummies will starts to encounter contraction issues or waterbag breaks etc...gyneas r actually helping us to save $ on the dbl charge

ahNah,

all hospital sure to give 1 pkt 1 lah....if not wrong shd b pampers....think they supply to all hospitals

i'm also trying to find playgroup for my 18mths boy but can't get in to the 1 nearby hse 1....haizzz

charmaine and ah nah,

i m enrolling my #1 to playgroup or N1 who is around 27 mths now, not planning for my #2 yet, hehe!

katelee,

every penny costs esp when you start to hv more expenses when the kid is out. i m sure all mummies here wl make a good judgement on wat is essential versus wat is extravagant; according to their own budget and comfort level.

mtbs & ftbs going for the gathering tonight,

hope u guys have fun! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dun forget to take pics this time & upload to FB ya.

Mvh

ya lor. i tink montessori is kind of charging abit more exp than the usual... i even saw some chargin above 1k+ for just a half day... but i feel sending kiddo to CC can be a good ting rather than staying at home , learn nothing.. trying to find one nearby my place.. but seems to no available except for "my 1st skool"

wah.. i tink it's quite an ok weight leh... dont need worry to much la..And how come Dr ang so early tell u about the timing to call him liao. last time i tink he nv say that to me leh... maybe he received too many calls after midnight.

ahnah/charmaine

u two so fast sourcing childcare??? if u were talking about newborn, u shld look for infrant care/nanny/maid or ur relative to help take care... for me, i am sourcing for my 18mo #1... & i would advise all of u.. if ur consider to put ur child to Childcare.. pls do it at least 6mth earlier.. cos it's rather difficult to get the slot with the increasingly no. of child. hehe..

dreymin

play group is around 100 to 200 rigt .. but full time infant or child care can go up easily to 800 to 1450 SGD.

alibaba,

not child care .. is infant care. Childcare is for my nephew and niece from the other island.

6 months earlier only ? we thou some zone/area even need 18 months in advance.

suika,

i see, woody din give me the dates range, i was the one who gave him my dates lah. and i din know abt the double charge then so having 2nd thoughts now.

need to discuss with hb & see how we shd proceed.

suika

just put on waiting list for those nearby ur place one 1st.. meanwhile see look around ur area...

ahnah,

u mean i'll be at the gathering tonight?

oh no, i wont be joining u ppl much as i like to.

me gotta stay home help monitor the maid & look after my mil too.

but i hope u guys have alot of fun lah! post more pics ya. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahNah,

if ur mum is willing to look after then better coz it's nvr better hving someone close to u looking after ur NB lor....oni thing to worry is over pampered by them lah....but u noe ur bb is in good hands for sure

Angel,

might not b dbl charge....but confirm eve n holidays itself the charges is higher

mayb still too early to decide on the dates now but since u hv a date so he no say anything ba

alibaba,

must pay $ liao....no put name oni 1

ahnah

i only say at least hor.. some Kiasu mummy do it even earlier when bb is newborn or when she is still pregnant!! that's for those highend school!!

suika

must pay $$ meh.. they dont have confirm slot for u,, why must pay $$.. kns leh.. i go see one CC, they nv ask me for $$ leh. only if i register den pay $$...

ahNah,

You wish! the oost is much higher. PG and N1 nursery is actually higher than N/K1-2.

The cheapest i found for childcare (PG/N1) is $300-$400 w working mum subsidy.

The mid range is $600, high range is $1K upwards.

Half day and full day cost can be very close, differ by just $50-$100 as the working mum subsidy for half day is $150 while full day is $300.

suika,

do check out cambridge cdc, they have quite a good curriculum and the kids look quite happy there, which is my barometer for chosing a childcare center [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yah alibaba is right.. when i was preggie with #1, my fren already asked me to sign him for st james kindergarten, i thot she was mad!

suika,

here is the link for cambridge cdc.

http://www.cambridgecdc.com/singapore.htm

the cost for PG is around ~$570 full day after subsidy for the center near my place, excluding enrichment classes for speech & drama and gym. the principal told me the costs wl vary for location due to running costs like rental and teacher salaries.

MAID :

those mummies who have maid , i want to check , when ur maid first come to ur house , did u let them call back their country ? if yes , who pay ?

my maid today start to be in daze suitation, act blur , then ask her , she say she miss her family , want to contact , so how ?

white lady,

urs is new maid rite? how old is she? she's here oni for days lor best not to let them call back.....u call back agency tell them let them tok to her instead

i juz let my maid called back home when she's at my plc for 1mth liao n taking into consideration that she's out of her country for whole 5mths n yet to call back to her mum so i let her use the phone longer (let them appreciate then they'll work hard for u)

for my case coz i dun hv to pay for the calls so mi no make her pay oso but wad's the norm practice is after 1mth they'll receive $10 as pay n u can let them use this to get calling card n oni to use it upon ur approval.

whitelady,

yes i do, esp during the first week when they come to my home. i pay for the phonecards for my helpers and encourage them to call back at least once a month. i spend $9 for a phonecard and they use for 1-2 mths so it is not a lot of money.

my maids usu dun like to call home but i insist coz their families wl worry for them. i heard some maids get very emotional after the calls and wan to go back esp if they hv children or aging parents. if ur maid is happy, then it is aso easier for you, it is really your decision.

hi all, I just went to check out Mothercare sale..... Nothing much except that they are selling the baby rompers (all sizes) at 30% off for those 7 in 1 pack type. I bought 1 pack for 6-9 mths @ $32+ after discount... so each piece is less than $5.... buy and keep....

The boys range is not as nice as all the pretty and sweet baby girls range.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

for my #1, i only start sourcing for childcare (toddler class) when he is 15mths, cos i plan to send him to one when he is 20 to 24 mths. i wan to make sure my kid noe how to walk and noe how to ask for milk or make request. If send kid too early, like very sad le. Later get bully.

My boy got in to "my 1st skool" at 20 mths.

It's very impt to visit the childcare, see if the place is overcrowded a not, clean, teachers ok a not. I got went to a few, so many kids and i can often hear teachers shouting. Look like a market than a sch.

My requirements are (prefer) without aircon, no tv, got bring kids outdoor, clean place, affordable sch fee.

Ya, infant care start from 2mths to 18mths. It's really costly. Teacher to infant ratio is 1:4. As for Toddler is 1:8.

btw i use phonecard coz i can keep track of how much the costs are.

my 1st maid abused our trust and used my FIL's house phone to call her family, i think she racked up quite a big sum.

she was aso v lazy and refused tasks while i was 9mths preggie with #1, so i sent her back to agency after 2 weeks.

white lady,

i dun've a maid yet. But i heard from my frens, they allow maid to use house line (calling card) to call back. They pay for call made once a mth for abt 15 mins (flex).

Dun let them have hp. Cos i often see maid talking on hp when they fetch kids back from sch. So dangerous on the road...

Yes, I agree with purelyz... for childcare, most importantly is must be clean place (including toilets), no tv and no aircon..... For my #1, I sent her to a nearby childcare (half day) and end up, I noticed the CC let the kids watch alot of TV.....and once, she even puked in the toilet cos the toilet was too stinko.... after a while, I thought there's no point putting in that CC, so I pulled her out and waited till she was old enough to go to a proper Nursery class at a nearby church kindergarten. Also, if possible, check out the food menu! Some CC serve really ultra basic food... eg. plain porridge with just 1 piece of carrot for lunch.... I see also I have no appetite...

a devil's advocate there seems to be here! =p

so fun to read thru ur threads!

hihi...i'm from the sep thread, but cos edd changed to 31 aug..so I've been following here...

Dreymin- i had plans to send my kiddo to montessori...like very nice but ex la...but on second thoughts the environment she is gg back to after classes must compliment too... I dun think my DH and I got the energy n capability to create that environment which both of us were not grown up with... =p

I (26wks)was told by woody gt low lying placenta n was pretty worried. anyone knows when it will move up...is it 30wks? was really keen on natural birth but if this is what to be then no choice lo

oh, btw..annah u are such a interesting hubby to be in the forum of so many preggies..n lil wonder u also suffer the preganancy symptoms...(tot i read it in some of the threads)

kendra,

Yes, i got the symptoms as well. Easy anger, wake up weird hours in the mid night and some more can eye open big big.

Keep changing sleeping position with my wife. She flip to right, i flip to left.

She hungry in her office, me as well.

She not feeling when i sneeze in the office.

She will eat bak choy mee when I got that craving during my office lunch hour.

Funny right ?

kendra,

welcome to the thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we had the same thots as well; which style works for DS based on his personality and aso v imptly whc makes a easier transition to pri sch. at home and outside he is exposed to a fair amt of stuff experientially whc is similar to the concept of montessori.

i must be honest, montessori is quite expensive and aft doing our sums, $1K for a kid is already a lot and if i mutiple tat by 2, we prob will not be able to afford it!

Suika ,

a $9 card can last 1 - 2 mth ? thats long , what card is that , where to get and call from our home line or public phone ? btw mine is phillipines

whitelady,

my hb also let the maid called back home regularly but she'll always ask for permission first. she buy her own phonecard & the amount is deducted according to her usage.

kendra,

welcome! do add ur details to our mtb list. we have a aug mtb grp on FB too, join us there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann,

where is the mothercare sale? is it at every outlet? i love thoes 7-in-1 romper packs, i find the quality quite good. think i bought 3 of those for my son last time.

cheekrene> i'm not planning to buy newborn one. i will use the hospital pack first then not enough then go buy another pack or something as most of the time will use the cltoh diapers. cos my frens buy already in the end also nv use cos it depends on the growth rate of ur baby also.

my last weigh at Dr Woody shows i am still -1.5kg from my weight when i first see him. if calculate from start of 4th mth onwards, i gained 6.5kg

Charmaine> yes infant care, now the more popular ones might not have space already. have to start looking fast. my fren enrol her upcoming newborn in Cheries is think. it is at vivo city. the grassroot club at yio chu kang also have infant care. i was looking at gg for that infant care that time.

whitelady

the one i got is sunflower card, $9 with $11 value. my maids r all indo.

u can use tat to call from any land line/house phone.

u can ask the moneychanger which one has better rates for philippines.

i use this one as it has been tried and tested for voice quality and connectivity for indo.

ahnah,

i was just told to submit ur antenatal package (if any) to the hospital & they will take care of the rest.

Q: Can I withdraw Medisave to pay maternity expenses?

A: Medisave can be used to pay the delivery and pre-delivery medical expenses incurred for the delivery of the first four living children of the mother on or after 1 August 2004. Prior to 1 August 2004, Medisave can only be used to pay the delivery expenses incurred for delivery of the first three living children.

Medisave can also be used to pay the delivery and pre-delivery expenses incurred for the delivery of the fifth and subsequent child of the mother on or after 1 August 2004, if both parents have a combined Medisave balance of at least $15,000 in their Medisave accounts at the time of delivery.

The patient can use her own, spouse and/or immediate family members’ Medisave to pay the delivery and pre-delivery expenses. Immediate family members include patient’s parents and children.

The pre-delivery expenses have to be claimed under the Medisave Maternity Package. However, post-natal consultation fees cannot be claimed under Medisave.

hi Kendra,

u oso under woody? which branch u go? i'll b seeing him later this evening

low placenta? if no move up than i guessed he'll advice u accordingly later....at times it'll move up

white lady,

not mi getting the calling card....my maid is from indo, i let her use my bro's acc to call back which is cheaper for me (coz not me paying lah...heehee)