(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Angel,

yup! so long it's not ur scheduled date it'll b more expensive....coz u'll admit urself n they'll push u to delivery suite first till they confirm u for c-sec then push u to op rm so u'll b charged for 2 plcs....that's wad i heard....but for scheduled c-sec u'll admit n wait in ur ward for the time to push to op rm

the FOC upgrade is really 99% provided u the super unlucky 1 lah

suika/angel

actually i'm one of the unlucky one la.. 1st night no 2bedden for me.. i stayed 4bedden.. & got so pissed off with one of the mtb... she is on CTG waiting for delivery... keep turning the aircon down.. & i am vvvv hot... didnt slp the whole night... the next day, hb helped me to asked for 2 bedden...

starz,

ya, me having c-sect so bigger bb is ok but then i also hope my bb wont be really jumbo size too, somemore its a gal lor.

suika,

oic, maybe its best to give TMC a call to clarify abt this. if this is the case & *touch wood*, i really go into early labor, i'll prob scream at whoever is pushing, NOT to push me to the delivery suite becos i'm having c-sect. haha... think i'll create a scene & make history at TMC. lol.

alibaba,

sorry to hear abt that! that's why i was quite sceptical when woody told me its an auto upgrade kinda arrangement btwn him & TMC. but when i queried further re. beds availability then he said only 99% lah.

EVENT 2

2nd/3rd tri MTBs gathering

Date: 27 May 2010 (Thur)

Time: 7pm to 10pm

Venue: The Manhattan Fish Market (Iluma @ Bugis)

Attendance

purelyz

dreymin

haitang

nekowong

ednique

charmaine + hubby ")

ann

fumiko

Leo baby

ahnah + ahnah's wife. (reaching around 8 pm++)

Xuan82 + hubby

so tempted to drink the KOI bubble tea. Wat is their min order and any website to see wat orders do they have??

Dreamz> will contact u if im gg 5th June Expo. Planning to take time off on friday to go there cos less crowded compare to wkends..

huh , so stress like that , cos i m also choosing c section at 38 weeks , and i so scare #2 will be early , now even stress , cos got to pay double , then i better stick to 2 bedded . at first still thinking of 1 bedded , but touch wood , in case extra charges , 1 bedded will be a lot $$$ more .

alibaba ,

not say 4 bed got more pple , that time i stay 2 bed , this stupid woman also , turn the aircon till very hot ! then i ask the nurse in , nurse also feel hot , help me make the aircon cooler, then this lady next bed , turn HOT again ! sucks right . if u cold , u wear jacket lah , for me i hot , what u want me to do , naked ah ! sucks one lah ... and not only that , middle of the night , she keep shouting n crying one , scare me till death lor ! haha , hope this round wont be so unlucky

Angel,

true lor... if ur bb girl is heavier, don't buy too many NB or 0-3mths bb clothes... either cannot wear or outgrow very fast. My fren gave birth to a bb girl not long ago, weigh 4kg... can't wear 0-3mths clothes...

U gals r so bad, make me drool over the KOI bubble tea... i nd to control my diet before the glucose tolrance test next week...

starz,

wah... 4kg for bb gal really heavy leh... my gal pile on 500g in 2 wks & i got a little less than 9wks to go. if i do the maths, my bb will also hit 4+kg lor...think i'll restrict my diet lah. was hoping my bb gal at most only 3kg at birth. haha. we din buy any NB or 0-3mths clothing. all are 0-6mths or bigger cos the bulk are hand-me-down clothings. but my mil wants us to get those wraparound type for NB lor. *heahache*

alibaba,

haha..that time i hospitalised..a lady kept complaining to the nurse that she is cold..so she adjusted the aircon till super high temp..and i also very hot..so i turn the temp colder ..and she turned again..and i turned again..non-stop till i discharge..how come pple will feel cold when they are pregnant!!

for those c-section mummies,, didnt know can choose date this early.. for me, i natural birth for #1 , aready give birth 10days earlier than EDD wor... maybe i tink u can set the date when ur EDD is nearer...

suika

It's Dr ang ... cos 2bedden full house liao la... i sway lor... have to take 4 bedden for the 1st night.

white lady

got more pple i oso cannot slp ... ahha.. cos hor some give birth liao, Full breast feed their bb mah.. so middle night the misssy will bring their bb to the mummy to breast feed.. den got sounds & bb whine etc... more noisy... den if got those on CTG one.. the machine oso noisy.. haiz... so less pple less noise lor... i also tink the same way as u... stupid one put blanket if u're cold la.. keep turning down the aircon..den i just give birth only... scare of pain. dare not alight the bed... i even dare not go urine til the next day.. haha.....

ur next round, u see if u can take 1 bedden anot lor.. i tink i still go for the free upgrade la. haa.. hopefully not so sway...

sunflower

maybe the lady gg give birth liao den kan cheong til v cold... -_-" so u in hospital busy with tuning the aircon temp nia.. hahaha..

Angel,

u can get those at chinatown there

alibaba,

alamak...u really the sway 1 liao....actually i took 2beded at MtA the other 1 oso BF whole nite....for me i oso no it's ok lah coz i'm too tired to bother abt external noise....daytime no totally no rest at all coz must keep my eyes on my MIL if not i'll lose my boy....haizzz

alibaba,

My EDD is 19 Aug and opting for CS this time but doc persuading me to gv birth on 6 aug coz she afraid 10 aug there are no beds left. Some parents wl opt for 8 or 9 aug. I do not wan to gv birth too early coz afraid baby not fully grown yet.

alibaba/suika/angel,

i m opting for 1-bedded coz i heard horror stories of visitors overstaying their welcome. also i intend to start breastfeeding immediately so having the privacy wl help a lot. dunno whether to ask hubby to stay over for 1st nite or not, coz afraid DS wl look for either of us.

ahNah,

Slurpee aso high sugar level leh! Aso i tend to get headache/brainfreeze from that drink. I m sticking to green tea or chinese tea for now, trying to keep to just 1-2 servings a day.

dreymin,

i think c-sect for u on 6aug is fine. cos its just 13days earlier, u'll be nearly 38wks by then. 37wks alr considered full-term so no worries that bb is not fully grown ya.

angel,

It is a dliemna for us although the doc said it is ok, we read reports tat some babies have lung problems coz not yet 38 weeks old. So i will take the chance and wait till 10 aug. My #1 was born 5 days before EDD, so tat was not too bad.

dreymin,

so long 37wk bb will b fine....if bb not fully grown ur gynea oso wun dare to deliver for u 1 lah...dun worry

actually since urs is scheduled then u can try booking 10aug if u really wan see if got bed anot if no then take the earlier date liao lor

that time my hb oso stayed late but other visitors can't stay till so late coz the nurses will keep going to the wards....he kana chased back ard 11pm

Hmm.... think I will be the one complaning I'm cold. Imaging I'm sweating like mad in the mid of the nite (hubby have to sleep in air-con rm every nite so I no choice but air-con too)and still complaining air-con very cold. I don know why I hate air-con. But I have to sit in front of the fan most of the time cos really like suana if no air-con.

So I'm worried when my gynea nurse told me my Gynea is only for those B1 and above. I will be the one adjust air-con high.

ahNah, for your reading pleasure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/caffeine/

Caffeine and pregnancy: what's safe?

Do I have to give up caffeine now that I'm pregnant?

You don't have to give up caffeine, but you may want to cut down.

If you have too much caffeine your baby could have a lower birth weight than he should (CARE 2008). A low birth weight increases the risk of your baby having some health problems when he's born and in the future. There is also a possibility that high levels of caffeine could cause miscarriage. One study suggested that even low levels of caffeine could be linked to miscarriage.

Guidelines issued by the Food Standards Agency recommend that pregnant women have no more than 200mg of caffeine a day. This is equivalent to two mugs of instant coffee or four cups of tea or five cans of cola per day.

What exactly does caffeine do to my body?

Caffeine is a stimulant; it increases your heart rate and metabolism, which in turn affects your developing baby. But while unremitting stress isn't healthy, brief bouts of fetal stress, such as that your baby would feel after you drink a cup of coffee, shouldn't cause him any harm. It's akin to your dashing to the bus, another situation that briefly boosts your heart rate and metabolism.

Anyone who drinks coffee regularly knows that it can be addictive and that large amounts can also cause insomnia, nervousness, and headaches. It's also a diuretic, which causes your body to lose water and other fluids, all of which you need to maintain a healthy pregnancy.

Tea and coffee can also hamper your body's ability to absorb iron if you drink it with a meal or within half an hour of a meal.

Which foods and beverages contain caffeine?

Caffeine can be found in coffee, tea, colas, and chocolate. Some over-the-counter drugs, including headache and cold tablets, stay-awake medications, and allergy remedies also contain caffeine. Always seek your pharmacist's advice before you buy over-the counter remedies, and don't forget to mention that you are pregnant.

Even the amount of caffeine in coffee and tea can vary widely depending on whether the coffee grounds or tea leaves are brewed or instant, weak or strong. Colas and other drinks vary in caffeine content, too. See the list below for average caffeine amounts in some common foods and beverages. You might be surprised how easily you can get a large dose of caffeine.

• 1 mug of instant coffee = 100mg

• 1 cup of instant coffee = 75mg

• 1 cup of brewed coffee = 100mg

• 1 cup of tea = 50mg

• 1 can of cola = 40mg

• 1 can of "energy" drink = 80mg

• 1 x 50g bar of plain chocolate = up to 50mg

• 1 x 50g bar of milk chocolate = up to 25mg

I'd like to kick the caffeine habit - just to be safe. Any tips?

You may find your taste buds do the cutting back for you. Many women find their fondness for a cup of coffee evaporates during the first trimester when their sense of taste changes and nausea can strike.

Otherwise, to reduce the caffeine in homemade hot beverages, brew them for a shorter time. If you love a soothing cup of Earl Grey, steeping your tea bag for just one minute instead of five reduces the caffeine by as much as half. Many tea companies now offer decaffeinated black or green teas.

Although herb teas often have no caffeine, make sure you read the ingredients list. You'll want to avoid large amounts of caffeine as well as certain herbs and additives that may not be safe during pregnancy. (Read more on the safety of herbs in pregnancy.)

If you're a devoted coffee or cola fan, caffeine withdrawal isn't easy. To minimise symptoms, which include headaches, fatigue, weakness and drowsiness, ease off gradually. Cut back by half a cup of the beverage each day. You can also try switching from freshly brewed to instant coffee.

If coffee fills an emotional need, such as your private coffee break, or it's an early morning ritual or the perfect end to a meal, you could switch to a cup of decaffeinated coffee or tea. If you're hankering for an ice-cold cola, reach for the caffeine-free version at least some of the time or, better yet, try a glass of mineral water with a dash of lime cordial.

jascmy

how come i suddenly catch no ball of wat ur post?? u said u will complaint cold & then sweating like mad & must on air con??

izzit cos i having headache now.. Blurzz

suika

why u'll lose ur boy? scare ur mil kidnap ur boy ah..

u ladies gg to opt to full breastfeed in hospital? my #1 i opt no.. i ask nurse to feed bb with supplement.. so i can slp.. only Latch him on during the day to stimulate supply..

suika,

We have put the date as 10 aug for now, and the clinic has submitted to TMC registration.

So hopefully i can be a lucky gal and get a free upgrade to suite if 1-bedded is not avail. Haha!

charmaine

Ok, I got it.

Finally I got the details already.

Can I proceed to send those info n order qty to the seller ?

Angel: omg.. ur bb gal put on so many weight a few weeks.. i rmb u told me, ur bb gal is only 1.4kg at 28 week + now 30 week already 1.8kg+.. wah lau, i scare mine also like that leh....

that y my gyane ask me to slow down dun put on so many kg... but how do i cut down...argh...

dreymin

that one I read already, but at the end of the day, everyone is diff.

Some can take a little bit

Some even smoke/drink in the end nothing happen.

Some even mention about it also got problem

alibaba, I mean I will sweat till whole pyjamas and pillow wet in air-con room every nite now. Not sure why. But I still complain that air-con is cold. Is tat call cold sweat. Hehee...

When I feel hot, I will choose to sit infront of a fan instead of air-con. I don like air-con.

winnie,

ya lor, bb was 1.4kg @ 28 wks then now nearly 1.9kg @ 30wks lor... scary hor, she puts on 500g in just 2 wks. maybe i'm to blame cos i ate hotcakes w sausage breakfast over the weekends lah. must try to cut down liao...

dreymin

i'm not sure if this time i will deliver #2 as early, if so.. it'll be 9-10 Aug. which is another "peak season" for TMC... haha.. wait i no bed to slp..

alibaba,

no lar..her tummy smaller than me..cant be giving birth soon.

dreymin,

y dont choose national day..good ma..for me , i feel 10th aug like not very auspicious..for me lar..

baby weight :

i read recently that if u eat too sweet, baby will grow very big..thats why need to do glucose test in case its cause by GD..is this true?

ahNah,

I agree... it really depends on your comfort level as well. My doc said to take it moderately. So i take but not overdose loh... I used to be very dogmatic about my diet, 100% no caffaine but i found myself v miserable. So i decided to cut myself some slack, so far so good, my son came out alright.

Since the nite before, I feel super hungry even immediately after meals. Mon and yesretday nite, I had my supper at 9+pm. I had instant noodle on Mon for supper and rice yesretday supper.

Very fat fat but no choice, my stomach feel very empty leh.

alibaba,

YES she will!! so i hv to stay awake to make sure that don't happens....so bad that the nurses sees her at the nursing room they'll draw the curtains up lor

alibaba,

Then we wl meet each other at the wards! haha! Mine kinda confirm on 10 aug, if no accident, touch wood [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower,

National day everything is charged at 50% extra coz PH, nd to pay doc and nurses extra, tat is why my clinic said dun opt for tat day.

I am gg for elective C-S and TMC only allows that type of ops on tue and fri so either 6 or 10 aug.

my wife tummy start to feel very tight and I can see the changes already .. and last night, our baby is dancing inside when we diff "popup" action from diff side of the tummy ...

duno he is somersault or stretching

i jus call SCBB to ask abt cord blood banking. The lady told me that the pre screening test will only be done after 32 wks. So i'll contact her in mid June, as now i'm 29wks. She sound so happy that i've make a step forward to give a chance to donate. She jus tell me that can donate dun mean 100% can bank, need to check after collection. I say i understand. Even before i donate, i feel so happy now that my bb is "doing a good deed". Haha...