(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

cheekrene, yah, depends, cos there are considerate singaporeans around. from my experience, the not-so-considerate ones outnumber them ba, cos i usually dun get seats...but used to it liao lah..haha..

hufpuff,

i agreed with you. i can count on my fingers on those who give up seats to me. i remember i have been offered 3-4 times. haiz...

alibaba. hahaha!! the story is so so so funny.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually i have a fren, someone offer her a seat cause thought she preg, she was so happie because she was tired after whole day's work. She said so good got ppl give her seat. but for me, even 5-6 month old preg also nobody give me. sigh! haha!! but that was just once only. quite funny too.

my fren's response was, she doesn't want the guy to feel paisey as she was not preg, plus she dun want ppl to think she is fat also. haha!!

Dreymin, depends on whether you or your hb will be the one using it. Ergo is quite bulky right?

My fren told me BECO is good (light and steady), i never tried before. i used SLING(little pod). this one u can use it for bf too. but until one stage (1 yo) then i din use anymore because it is quite tiring. anyway i prefer to use stroller cause only 1 kid then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i still think my sling was a great buy . actually ppl call it pouch la cause it is without the RING. Not sure if you understand what i mean.

if we got gathering next time i bring out and show u.

but if your hb will be the one using it, then sling/pouch is not suitable. you got to get other carrier like ergo, bjorn or beco.

dreymin

i have a beco bb carrier.. seldom used it.. cos i drive & most of the time use stroller. can be used from infant to up to 20kg.. tink probably will come in handy when #2 come. i personally feel.. the carrier brand depends on ur needs.. baby Bjorn , bb can face out.. whereas Beco cannot. they practise bb face in, so bb dun get frightened easily if anytin happen. Beco is good to use if go aircon place... cos i find it'll be too hot to use it if we go zoo.. however i have many mummies from previous thread are happy user of beco. especially those who take public transport.

refer link below

http://www.becobabycarrier.com/features-description.asp

QQ

yah lor.. i wondering how come that aunty still buay paiseh. cos she too fat til pple tot she pregnant...

I oso have baby pouch from pupsik, it's actually only fit to ur size.. those who wanna use it, mus be about the size as u... i like it too... but cannot cradle carry bb when bb is bigger. est newborn to 3mth old. after that bb neck is strong enough den kangaroo carry.. the negative pt is all the weight projected to shoulder hence, u will feel tired /ache after certain time of carry...

Tat's the difference between bb carrier & bb pouch.

winnie and cheekrene,

nw i feel my tummy sooo big even though its just 6 months..and i feel pain when getting up or bending down.. later 7,8,9 months dont know how..plus i'm short.. so i will really look like penguin haha

so yesterday, we went to see my gynae. this is the first time, i got rather upset with woody. cos when i tell him my concerns, he just told us if i think i might be having pre-term labor, then we shd be heading straight to KKH & not to his clinic becos he dun have the facilities to determine for me. then why not tell me that when i msg him i/o asking me to come down & see him??! anyway, he did a v-chk below. he said got some watery discharge but its considered normal becos its not due to leaking waterbag. my blood pressure & urine test also fine & he said bb looks ok too. still, he gave me antibiotics (need to pay extra) for the discharge (??) & told me to complete the course. i also told him i experience numbness in my left thumb & 2 fingers (carpal tunnel) but he also just said its okie. my hb was concerned & asked him then how do we know when we shd rush down to KKH?? he said when i felt pain (contractions). i told him i been having pains in my tummy for abt 1 wk & i describe the feelings to him. he said its braxton hicks contractions. but i dun know how to tell BHC apart fr the real thing lor. also he din give us the scan anymore so dun know bb's FW & measurements at all. think got read from suika that starting fr certain stage, he dun give out scans to parents anymore?

purelyz,

sorry to hear ur unpleasant experience while in tokyo. perhaps that lady was a black sheep or maybe its also due to communication breakdown. japan is one of my fave country to visit & the japanese are still one of the nicest people i've ever encountered anywhere else. i've been to japan on many occasions & each time, we received much kindness even fr complete strangers. just my 2cts worth lah. i can also understand how awkward or uncomfortable u must have felt if u feel that u r the topic of their conversation.

btw, previously i mentioned my hb's gd fren is going to pass us some bb's stuffs. i was worried then if these things will be too worn out... anyway, my hb finally brought all the stuffs home fr his fren's place. havent really gone thru everything yet as some stuffs are wrapped up in plastic bags. but roughly, there's a bb cot (looks quite ok), bb tub, 2 strollers (for diff ages, one brand is combi, the other one cannot see the brand cos hb asked me not to touch), pigeon multifuntion sterilizer set, 2 bb chairs, think there's also mattress & cushions etc. have yet to clean & disinfect yet. hope all in gd & working cond. still got a bunch of stuffs to buy though like breastpump, FM, milk bottles, teats, pacifier, cloth & disposable diapers & the lists go on...

I'm going to see my Gynea for the 1st time this evening. Will get a double confirmation on Bb's gender too. If confirm boy then I will have to go buy Bb clothings liao cos my sis only passed me a lot of gal clothings and very little boy clothing.

Hope someone can pass me some boy clothing so no need to buy. Hehee...

Can i find out if anyone has experienced minor swelling of the feet? I am 21 weeks now. Should i be concerned and see my gynae?

bakaholic, I'm also 21+ weeks now. My legs swell since one month ago and its very serious. I asked my chinese physician colleague, she say no need to worry it will only be gone after delivery. What we can do is go for massage. But I don't want to waste money on it so just bare with it loh.

Later will check with gynea too.

angel, glad to know everything is fine. did ur gynae send the discharge for testing? cos i have had yellowish discharge since early on and my gynae sent it for testing. the test came back negative for infection so no need antibiotics leh.

bakaholic,jascmy,

It is normal to have swollen feet is due to water retention.Make sure u dont have sit too long which will make it more.

My mum use to make barley water,just boil barley in water for couple of hours and drink the water alone.Add sugar if u want it.But notmally I take it without as afraid of GD and this works for me.

Hi Jascmy and SahaMum,

Thanks for the reply. It makes me feel much better. But i am at risk for high blood pressure so I guess I should get a blood pressure monitor to check.

Angel (daintyaqua) : My gynae also dunno at which month also no longer giving anymore scan image liao. So i think its common.

You're lucky that got ppl pass down things to you. When i had my #1 at 18yrs old, i dont have any friends same as me have kids, so i got to buy them off from ebay or shopping malls. >.<

Btw, are you all pantang? I was told that can only take handsme down clothings after 8months pregnancy. But hor, i early early already take some handsme down clothings from friends liao. And some left over clothings from my #1 and #2. Already packed them nicely with label in a bag. Hahaha...

QQ & alibaba,

thanks for the tip on carrier/slings/pouch. i think more likely for me to use than hubby.

i m quite tall (1.7m) and big-sized so i think no prob for me to use baby carrier.

i heard Beco is gd for those who are more petite.

had so much trouble using the sarong sling but i hv seen my other frens use it w ease.

i m juz so clumsy using it tat my boy aso cant tahan, haha!

Angel,

my gynae only say how heavy is the baby after DS for my #1.. I guess weight is the benchmark to gauge how big our baby is .. just like those premature baby.. they need to exceed certain weight to be discharge..

For carpel tunnel..

it is normal for pregnant ladies to get it.. can be anywhere as long as it is joints.. coz our joints are "loosen", preparing for delivery.. I had swollen wrist for the last 2 months for my #1. very red and swollen, somemore pain till cannot sleep, eat.. go toilet also use 1 hand.. gynae cant do anything.. except give painkillers.. went acupuncture also no use, juz to relief pain.. but after delivery, my wrist went back normal stage after 1 month..

bakaholic n jascmy,

u can try to massage yr legs every nite..

eat less salty food if possible..

angel,

glad the doc gave u all clear... i found an article which may help to clear your doubts.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/braxtonhicks/

Braxton Hicks contractions

Approved by the BabyCentre Medical Advisory Board

What are Braxton Hicks contractions?

Some time towards the middle of your pregnancy, or maybe even earlier, you may notice the muscles of your uterus (womb) tightening. If you place your hands on your bare bump when this is happening, you can feel how hard your uterus becomes.

Each tightening usually lasts for about half a minute, and probably won't cause you any discomfort. You may have this sensation once or twice an hour, a few times a day. Not all of us feel these contractions. They get their name from John Braxton Hicks, the English doctor who first described them in 1872.

You may be aware of Braxton Hicks contractions from as early as 16 weeks. However, without you realising, your uterus has been contracting gently on and off since about seven weeks. The bigger your uterus gets, the more you notice the tightening sensations when they happen.

What do Braxton Hicks contractions do?

Braxton Hicks contractions may just be a sign that your uterus is keeping its muscle fibres toned. It could be that these contractions keep your uterus in good condition and ready for the rigours of labour.

Some experts think the contractions also affect your cervix. In early labour, your cervix starts to get shorter and more stretchy, ready to dilate and make way for your baby. It's possible that Braxton Hicks contractions give your cervix a bit of a rehearsal for the stretching stage.

Other experts think that Braxton Hicks contractions don't affect your cervix. They believe that your cervix doesn't change until the very last days of your pregnancy, or once you're in labour itself.

What's the difference between Braxton Hicks and labour contractions?

Most women who are pregnant for the first time will ask their midwives or friends this question. The answer is often maddeningly vague, along the lines of: "You'll know real labour when it starts." Fortunately, there are differences between Braxton Hicks contractions and labour contractions that can help you tell them apart.

Braxton Hicks contractions:

are infrequent, usually happening no more than once or twice an hour, a few times a day

often stop if you change activity, so, walk around if you've been sitting, and vice versa

are usually irregular, and if they are regular they only stay that way for a short spell do not last long, usually less than a minute, continue to be unpredictable and non-rhythmic

do not increase in intensity.

Compared to Braxton Hicks contractions, labour contractions are usually:

noticeably longer

more regular

more frequent

more painful

keep on going, increasing in frequency, duration, and intensity as time goes on

You may experience what is called false labour. This is when Braxton Hicks contractions come more rhythmically, perhaps every 10 to 20 minutes in late pregnancy.

False labour can be hard to tell apart from early labour, particularly if the tightening of your uterus feels uncomfortable. However, during false labour your cervix won't have started to change yet. Your midwife will be able to tell by carrying out a vaginal examination.

What if the Braxton Hicks contractions become painful?

As your pregnancy progresses, these contractions may become more intense and even painful at times. When this happens, they may feel like the real thing. But however strong they feel at the time, if they ease off, they are probably Braxton Hicks.

You may find it helpful to think of Braxton Hicks as practice contractions you can use to rehearse the breathing exercises you'll learn in your antenatal class.

You may notice that Braxton Hicks contractions come more often when you do even light activity, such as carrying the shopping. If you feel discomfort, it sometimes helps to lie down, or, conversely, to get up and take a walk. It's the change in activity that can help to ease pain. A warm bath sometimes helps, too.

When should I call my doctor or midwife?

If you are less than 37 weeks pregnant, call your doctor or midwife if your contractions are accompanied by:

watery discharge or bloody vaginal discharge

lower back pain or cramping

These are signs that you may be going into premature labour.

After 37 weeks, call your doctor or midwife if:

you think your baby's movements have slowed down

you think your waters have broken

you have any bleeding

Check out other pregnancy symptoms you should never ignore.

If your contractions become longer, stronger, more regular and more frequent then your labour may be starting. Your midwife will probably have talked to you about what to do when you think labour has started, but if you're in any doubt give her or the hospital delivery suite a call.

dreymin

practise make perfect! hehe... for the pupsik that i am using have size... if u buy the right size u will not have the hassle of adjusting like some sarong sling that need to do adjustment while carrying ur bb...

Beco for petite mummies? i dun tink so wor.. cos my hb tried to use it also.. he is definately taller than u . 170++cm

I got the info from SMH July 2010 thread

Below are the contact numbers to request for free samples.

Diaper Sample

- Drypantz / Drypers Diaper 1800 466 3002

- Fitti / Pet Pet Diaper 6861 9155

- Huggies / Pull Up Pants / Little Swimmers Diaper 1800 484 4437

- Mamypoko / Pull Up Pants Diaper 6265 1648

dreymin, i use lucky baby carrier for my #1 till ard 1yr old..I would say that as the baby gets heavier, our shoulders n back ache more la.. this carrier can use for baby face front n inwards.

my #1 dun like sarong.. hot for her.. so my sarong is new.. but i would say sarong is so convenient, can breastfeed too.. but pressure on 1 shoulders esp when baby is heavy.

Water Retention

This is what i do at work; I stack my feet on empty photocopy paper box [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Swollen hands and feet (Oedema)

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/swollenhandsandfeet/#4

What can I do to reduce the puffiness?

Diuretics are not suitable for you to use while you're pregnant. These are medicines that make your kidneys release water and sodium so that you urinate more and get rid of fluid that way. You can try other methods to control the swelling:

Put your feet up whenever possible, to help your circulation. At work, keep a footstool or box under your desk. At home, try to lie down, on your left side, as this takes pressure off the inferior vena cava.

Put on support tights before you get out of bed in the morning, so blood has no chance to pool around your ankles. If they don't help, see your doctor. She can prescribe compression stockings.

Drink plenty of water. Surprisingly, keeping hydrated helps your body hoard less water.

Exercise regularly, especially by walking, swimming or using an exercise bike.

If you're travelling long distances, take regular breaks to stretch your legs.

Eat well, and try not to have high-sodium and salty foods, such as olives and salted nuts.

If your skin isn't too tight and painful, ask someone to massage your ankles and feet, upward towards your knees. This can help to move the fluid away from your feet

Read our article on natural remedies for other suggestions about how to ease swelling. And remember that, although your puffy ankles may be uncomfortable now, the swelling won't last forever. Just like so many other pregnancy niggles, it should go soon after you have your baby.

quite scary to hear everyone got hardening tummy.

i also have it and it make me uncomfortable. i need to ask my gynae when i see him the week after.

by the way, does anyone encounter your legs being cramped / stretched out of sudden when walking?

dreymin, I thought someone in our thread is ordering Lansinoh for us? I cant remember who already.. I placed order also.. alamak poor memory these days..

mvh> me...just finalised the cost today. $18.50/box. think they got so cheap cos they buy in very big bulks =( , will see when the package arrive if there are still alot of empty spaces, so next time will know how much to order per package to maximise it.

are we organising another gathering? if so i can pass you all the ordered stuff then. the 1st old navy/gap orders and milk bag are already in singapore. waiting for them to send to me. 2nd order of old nav/gap is on the way from US.

dreamz, where did u buy the milk bag? i also want to buy. can use vpost right?

my fren has a shipment from vpost, maybe i can tumpang hers. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks.

angel, monitor carefully, maybe it is just BH. but hor, dun be too stress, cause stress also not very good. just monitor.

u got the emergency number of kk? or any hospital? keep it with u.

i had serious contraction last year, the intensity is like very painful, pulling and my back very sng.

then intensity kept going up, every few min, and in higher frequency.

so when u have pain, u try to see if yours is some muscle stretching type of pain, or contraction.

serious contraction is like a few times more painful than constipation type of pain (everyone is different). it is quite unbearable.

if BH, should be short, quite bearable.

yesterday your gynae had too many patient? maybe u can look for him again if really painful.

oh yes angel,

if you can u get a letter from woody, tell woody that in case you need to rush to hospital (kkh) then they can admit u immediately cause u have false contraction mah. it saves a lot of time because everything is stated in the letter. kkh ppl know what to do de.

but as i said, no worry bah. just stay happy. talk to your baby, ask baby not to be notti. :p

hi eeyore_03,

Please help to update,mine is girl.thanks

Just back from gynae check, now wk24 baby weight~800g, gynae say is within normal range(600-800g for wk24). he didnt give me scan also since last visit.

QQ> from diapers.com , yes can deliver thru vpost. i'm not sure abt the packaging, i am suspecting that the no. of boxes i bought too little so nv fill the box completely cos the shipping abit ex. so waiting for the package to come to verify.

im so happy i just board the train at buona vista n a gentleman offerred me his seat. my tummy must have been so big now that its noticeable even though im wearing loose clothing..

gd mrning everyone... early this morning i experienced a leg cramp n it was so painful. its more intensed compared to the usual leg cramp i used to get before preg. i cried out n lucky my hubby woke up coz i couldnt move my leg at all. he pushed up my leg upwards then only it stoppef. nw im still feeling the muscle pull effect.

anyone else kena also?

Morning, I went for my gynea checkup yesterday. Gynea say my water retention is normal cos I put on too much weight in such a short period (21+weeks), thats why more pressure on the legs so my legs start to swollen so early. Usually ppl start to have swollen legs from week 24. For me, I started last mth leh.

Can't double confirm gender yesterday, Cos bb cross feet with legs open wide. The crossed feet happened to block the impt part. Sian!

morning mummies!!

Angel,

this your 1st child rite....actually wad woody says oso no wrong, if you really goes into contraction now, dun look for him coz the hospitals that he's attached to all very expensive 1....complication cases go straight to KKH liao coz if bb needs to stay for long term, whole spore there so call cheapest (in another way he's oni trying to help us save $) i did mentioned such things to him n that's wad he advised me too.....as for the scan pic, did u juz seen him recently oni? if visits too near, then normally he no print for us...anyway, now we wun b able to see much from the pic....oni watch out on the readings of the weight....he captures oni the tummy for his readings to be taken

if u're due for delivery, contractions will kicks in n duration will get closer....to 10mins then when actual delivery it's abt 5mins or less apart for each contraction

morning~

dreymin

practise on a doll where got use one! practise on ur bb when he/she is in good mood la..

ednique

i had this type of leg cramp before recently.. & it also effect me the next day.. leg still ache while walking... dont worry it's normal.. ask ur hb to massage for u before u slp. & u try to prop ur leg up more often if possible.

Angel

i tink ur gynae is rather straight forward just like my gynae. my colleague who has high blood pressure,& bb not adsorbing nutrient, my gynae straight away asked her to go to KKH, cos all the facilities there are cheaper can subsidise.. in the end bb was induced out earlier like 1mth + advance.& he only weight 1.2kg.. & has to stay in special care til bb hit 2kg. i tink til today he is still has not discharge yet...

contraction is a v intense feeling. for those who have low pain tolerance, will feel much earlier of the contraction. mine like the rest , at 1st my back felt v v v ache "sng" feeling.. den contraction kicks in . continuously & in between time is getting shorter & shorter... til within 1-2mins i was still at home, den otw to hospital..

btw did u sign for those antenatal course??? it's rather informative for 1st time mummy... u shld go for it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dreamz

my order leh? otw liao ah? must pay u $$ liao. let me know how much ok.

jascmy

u still bothered with the gender ah!? hehe.. have u went to ur DS? it shld be quite confirmed already liao leh... dont tink too much la.. those last min change gender are those "black horse" la.

RE: Carrier

I've an ergo carrier and self-made pouch sling, that is similar to pupsik sling.

personally i like using the sling, even until my gal was 3yo, i can still use it but of cos when she's bigger i can't use it for too long as her weight will be a burden to my shoulder, it's good when i carry her sideway and occasionally need additional hand see things... i don't really like ergo, so call it's good for ergonomics purpose as the weight is all on waist, but i find it very bulky and added stress to my waist instead.

dreamz, diapers.com. ok. Thanks.

but i thought diapers.com only accept US credit card that's why i did not try. U let me know about the packing when you receive it so that i know what to order next time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

alibaba, u are right la. cause when there is any complication, go to kkh is the best because it is cheapest. but remember must stay in the ward with the most patients so that baby's ward also cheapest. all other pte hospital v exp one.

eeyore, u can sew your own sling, steady!

yes yes, it is good as in we have hands to carry other things. especially if we go out alone with baby.

QQ,

hehe, not i sew one lar, my mum saw an unused sarong dress, so she just seup up the 2 edges to become a sling pouch then i find it very useful and save $$... I actually quite like sewing, recently even sew 2 dresses for my gal...

eeeyore

u got sewing machine ah.. hehe..tink mus use v good material clothe & thread to make one. i am definately not a handy person. hahaha..

i tot ergo is just like beco, they distribute the weight evenly to shoulder & waist.. i oso seldom use mine.. sling used more often than the carrier.

ednique

haha its ok to look like penguin now..but not after heee...

i look fat ..my gosh..so fat in pics..now looking at my photos also turn off haha..

going on biz trip next week to qingdao-china..gosh..m i going to miss my baby!

alibaba,

I find ergo shoulder strap are too broad, dunno it my shoulders narrow or what but somehow even thou there's buckle, i still find it like dropping off... in actual fact my shoudlers are not narrow...

However i do have friends loved ergo too... really depends on individual use... I thought of selling my ergo too since seldom use...

i also tot Jap shd be a very nice country with nice pp. I tink it's jus one bad incident i encounter... i'll keep sayang my tummy if i wan pp to give up seat for me now. Even it's very thick skin to do so, but only left a few mths mah. Haha!

ednique,

i get very pain leg cramp once every 2-3 nights. So pain that the next day, i can't walk as normal for the morning. My gynae say eat banana or take iron supplement pill.

2nd gathering

Let's do another one in May. It'll be more interesting. Cos it's time to show ur tummy! Dun tink it'll be like last time, some of the mummy's tummy not obvious. Haha...

jascmy & nekowong,

at times it's the fingers that's playing a trick there so gynea normally dares not give a confirm ans at the early stage