(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

i feel gen sch din handle the HFMD cases well.

Juz spoke to the principal..

wanna ask those cc who bb is sick how is ur cc handling the bb?

in my mind, i quite like little campus, cherie hearts & my first skool.

too bad my hse there little campus they can go enter when they are toilet train.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jasmine,

u made me looked up baked rice recipe hahahaha.

1. Wash and rinse rice until water runs clear.

2. In a heated wok or saucepan, melt the butter. Add the sliced mushrooms and cut chicken pieces, saute for a few minutes until the surface of the chicken pieces is white.

3. Add the washed rice, salt and black pepper to taste. Stir well.

4. Wait for the rice mixture to cool, then transfer to a rice cooker. Add the garlic cloves. Add water to cook rice (I use slightly more than 1 1/2 cups of water – adjust the water amount according to your cooker).

5. When the rice is cooked, portion out the rice into individual oven-safe baking dishes (or use a 20cm x 20 cm square alumnium tray) until about half the height of the dish.

6. Smear some mushroom soup sauce on top of the rice, and topped with a layer of shredded mozzarella and cheddar cheese.

7. Baked in a pre-heated oven at 200C (392F) for about 20-25 minutes, or until all the cheese has melted and is very slightly browned. Garnish with parsley.

rach,

i don't have oven! think i should buy one when bb J is older first. then can try more recipes.

sunflower,

think bb L will love it!

sunflower,

there are 2 methods. one method is to stir fry the sliced beef with unsalted butter and blend. the other method is minced the beef (tenderloin) and cook with the other veggies.

Stir fry with butter is not very healthy? I see if I can use the food jar sauce as the base to cook the minced beef and vege together. Then cover up to 'men' till soft. Thanks !

MVH, Pekkle, Sunfl@wer

I tried giving my gal rice but she will just take one bite. I tried giving her mash potato/pumpkin or sweet potato she just take a few tsp... Anyway today I give her food jar, Heinz fruit yogurt and she ate half jar... At night I also gave Heinz pumpkin corn mix with a little rice cereal....she took abt 10-15 tsp... My greatest achievement so far!!

This is 3rd week of her solids strike, I'm getting paranoid. She usually poop everyday but hasn't pooped last 2 days.

Oh, I will go find u gals on fb... I've got sone friends requests buy I can't keep up with who is who. Thanks to ahnah's list on the fb group,

Winnie, my gal's cc is they won't allow kids to have fever to go school.. Other than that, those serious type like hfmd, chicken pox, needs doc to certify that kid has recovered to go school (I spent $30 juz for certification when my elder gal got hfmd).

When my gal develops fever in school, her teacher calls me to pick her asap, n she is separated fr others, stay in sick bay wif her teacher.. Her teacher is quite nice, coz she also put cooling pad on her forehead while waiting for me to come..

Scent, good that yr gal starts eating! Jia you!! let her try as much variety as possible then u can narrow down some that she likes. Keep offering back those food she rejects n soon she will accept them..

Usually, ifc only bans baby with fever from entering. Flu, cold, cough can still go there and they will feed meds upon your request. Initially i was so appalled by it but well, not all of us can take leave easily so might be a good thing. But i do keep my boy at home if he is really feeling no good as i want him to recover faster.

I gave up the part about infecting other ppl cos no point for me protecting the rest while others disseminating the bugs rite?

wah, talking about bb food... I think I'm the laziest one...

usu weekdays when I work, my mum and madi will decide what my boy have for lunch and dinner...

but weekends, my boy will just eat fish porridge or rice with fish soup outside, for convenience...

eeyore, rachel

That's my worry. So far this type of therometer is aga aga only.. i saw the nurse still using those digital type that insert at the armpit or butt.

ahnah,

yep, so i kept 2 thermometers at home, one put under armpit and another ear thermometer. Just to double confirm on the temp. Cos I scared temp went up too high yet thermometer shows low grade fever and didnt give him medicine.

Scent, i think the solids strike shld be over soon since she is starting to eat some solids fr the food jar...feed her more water maybe lack fluids...does your gal eat fruits? mine not big on fruits also....basically i feel that my gal don really know how to enjoy her food...haha!

i see many babies having yogurt...ydae just bought and will feed her over the weekend when she comes home with us...hope she will eat some la!

My boy started breakfast yesterday in ifc. Teacher told us he very happy to have breakfast. Each time the teacher feed him with one small piece of bread, he will clap his hands and smile. For him to hav breackfast, it will mean one milk feed drop.

Now he only drink 210ml FM at 6am, 200ml EBM at 5.30pm and 190ml EBM/FM at 9.30pm. And he eats 4 solid, 8.30am breakfast, 10.30am porridge, 3pm potato puree or cereal, 7.15pm cereal and fruit puree.

Is it too much for him??

jascmy,

i tink it's ok... my ger daily intake:

b4 IFC 7am - milk (latch on)

9am - morning breakfast (cereal/oats porridge)

ard 12pm - lunch (porridge)

2.30pm - fruit

3.30pm - tea break (cake/break)

ard 5 pm - milk

@ home 7pm plus 8pm - dinner (porridge/rice/spaghetti)

9pm - milk (latch on) then sleep

Rachel, don know leh, he use to drink 180ml of milk at 8.30am. Yesterday onwards, changed from 180ml of milk to breakfast (bread/beancurd/kueh/biscult etc....).

crescent, you ifc better leh. Can see my ifc have lunch at 10.30am and nap time at 12pm. Just 2hrs after breakfast and its lunch liao. And nap at noon time. Funny hor.

i tink is diff teacher leh..

the infant will zzz from 12noon - 2plus in the noon tat it.

the toddler will eat lunch at 12noon if i never rmb wrongly.

Sometimes the ifc teacher will help out at PG. Maybe thats is y the infants need to nap earlier so that the ifc teacher can help to feed and bath the PG.

jascym, maybe u can try to give milk as a drink to ur boy during breakfast?

bread, biscuit, kueh with milk? sometimes i do that...

last time @ the infant side naps about 3-4 times a day...

my ger now @ the mobile side nap 2 times a day.. once in the late morning after breakfast, b4 lunch. then 2nd one after tea-time/milk...

wkends @ home she oso naps 2 times, about the same timing @ IFC.

MVH

soon i'm running out of things to feed her.. today i realised that if she gets distracted by a new toy she sort of forgot to refuse food,...managed to offer her stuff like tissue packs, watches, any junks that is not part of her toys interest her~~@@!! still...just managed to trick her into eating abt less than 20 mouthful....im so tired!

pekkle

i agree with u...my gal also not interested in food. but if i give cheerios or puff she eats without protest and ask for more...!!!! picky eaters..i guess. I also gave yogurt but its so hard to find them baby yogurts these days!

bakaholic

after 2 days no pooping she finally pooped 3 times today but hard stool. I think she is not getting enough fibre since rejecting fruits n veggie....i give Gerber pruns and mix with water...it helps alot. This she likes to eat!

mummies who are still pumping milk.

do u felt ultimate sleepy during pumping time?

but after pump finish, you don't feel that sleepy anymore?

its been like this for few months already.

so funny!

i can fell asleep on the spot sitting on my chair during pumping.

just feel so funny. lol!!

Jasmine

I gave my boy cottage cheese yesterday and the day before and he loves it. I fed him direct from tub, no cooking. Today he has some rashes around his neck. Wonder if this is allergy or not?

Make red egg not so easy... out of 20 egg, 6 over cook and cracked. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Rachel and jasmine

Just now I went to cold storage to buy cheese.. Read the content on both mild cheddar and cottage. Realized cottage got fresh cream so I bought mild cheddar instead. Very exp for a small block ..

Rachel, heat rash is tiny bumps.. If they grow bigger, could be allergy .

Jasmine

Petit miam taste ok? Sweet or sour? Wana buy just now but my boy allergy to strawberry.

Scent, yr gal is like my gal when she is 6-8mos time.. She needs toys or cartoon to be distracted so that she can eat.. Somemore still need to change a lot of toys when she is sick of the old toys.. That time she only eats 2-3tbsp of healthy times cereal, or 1tbsp of organix cereal max.. Slowly she improves by eating more n more.. So jia you n soon she will eat more!

Rach,

My boy's allergy symptom is red patches..

Sunflower,

I bought the organic mild cheddar shredded packet. $11-12 for a packet. Petit miam is sweetest among all baby yogurts. Even my elder girl who hate sour stuffs love eating it. So I give her eat the strawberry ones.

Jascmy

Sorry I've been speed reading n just saw your post. Yah, I think so too, BM or FM to me the difference is one digest faster n the other stay in stomach longer? I continue to give bm because FM is really very expensive....haha. Just that recently at the hair salon some auntie were telling me BM not enuf nutrients that's why my gal so small and only two teeth...(but I can see 3rd tooth protruding) but no signs of 4th tooth yet. I thought both grow together???

MVH

Today whole day only ate half an avocado and two to three tiny pcs of sweet potato... It's been three weeks no proper intake of solid food I started giving her multi vits again. I last given her vits was in last year Nov! Last time prescribe from her from PD is 0.3ml...not sure turning one year old shd give more?? I didn't give her since last year cos she hates it n vomit after taking multi vits....now I am really desperate...

Anyone knows how to tell if baby has enough iron n calcium in their body other than doing blood test?

Scent

Think u Shld start supplement with fm now. Bm is really not enough nutrients if ur gal is not taking much solid. If u wan ur gal to grow well , expensive Also must pay, better than u pay for multi vits right?

Scent, why not give probiotics n see if she improves her appetite? Probiotics r good bacteria in the stomach n intestines to improve digestion etc.. My pd gives bioGaia drops, not sure if it is selling outside or not..

Have u try giving yr gal other stuff like bread, eggs, snacks like rice cake, puff, fruits?

My gal likes to eat swee kuay, she can eat 1 whole n asking for more.. But got some salt inside la, so I dun feed too often..

My nephew is also very small size even though on FM.. His height is at 3%.. The nurse at polyclinic asks my mil to feed him eggs.. So maybe eggs can boost build?

Have u tried asking someone to entertain yr gal while u feed her?

Don't give up okay? Jia you..

Sunflower

Fresh cream cannot eat now?

Jasmine

I think most likely is heat rash. They are drying up already. I just put lotion then some powder.

Sunfl@wer

its not entirely $$ issue with giving FM... my gal is on 100% latch on since birth becos I failed to train her to take a bottle...but she is now learning to drink from straw...but most of the time choke..and vomit due to choking...

She used to take solids well I am hoping this phase will pass once her teething discomfort is over.

MVH

Thanks, I will ask the PD next visit when she is due to vaccination in mid Aug. As for snacks she loves it, puff or cheerios (I give Oatios) but fruits she dun eat much (apple and pear) only take a few bites she dun want already but avocado she can finish half. So I save the other half to feed following day...I tried giving papaya n banana she hates...Bread wise she eats a bit...yolk she has allegy to it. Last 3 occasion vomit within 2 hours consuming yolk. She mostly just want to drink water only...

ANyway, I will try my best to keep offering food. Some pt in time she will eat...I believe so. I just need alot of patience feeding her...

Rach,

Thats good.. Normally if ok with FM shouldnt have a prob with cheese.. I let J tried grapes 1-2 mth ago.. Both in cooking and mashed grape dessert..

Morning all, I'm feeling so miserable now. All my close colleagues not in office today. No one to turn to. Tears keep dropping down.

I really had enough of this man. Can't stand him anymore. Esp the way he treat my Mum and my family. Really think of Divorce leh. Don knw y I fall i n love with this kind of disrespectful person in the 1st place.

A person who I can't share my troubles, angers, sadness and even joy and happiness with + not willing to help in my most problematic problems in life (family issues - my family = his family rite) = STRANGERS.

Do u all agree?