(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

suika, yah.. i also think video is only allow after the delivery.

I dun have distress balls, i always bang wall with my head one.

Bite ? so scary ... must bring some dog's soft toy liao.

suika,

your gal gd leh. how much FM do you give for her last feed? and she won't wake up until 6? i also give mine FM in the day when her demand > my supply but like no diff leh. she still gets hungry after 2h

Thanks all for yr listening ears.. Just wanna complaint here, coz can't complaint to hubby bat his mum.. I just ren lor.. Anyway, grateful for her to take care of my #1 in e day time during my confinement.. But it will be a great challenge for me to take care of 2 kids myself after confinement..

suika,

wat position u using for latching on? i have problem latching my baby..he is too agressive and wants milk immediately..i think my cradle position make him feel uncomfortable, so end up we always fighting with each other..then no choice, gota give EBM. how to improve this? i watch youtube, trying to find how to hold them more comfortably..

Sunflower, my gal also fights wif me everytime when I latch her.. She will arch her back, push me wif her hands, kick me etc.. I battle wif her n slowly bring her to my breast.. But I think most importantly we need to be calm n assuring so that they will be less kanjeong n settle down to feed.. This is my own experience la..

MVH,

ya ya,same , keep pushing hands , kicking and mouth keep opening and crying.. i try to be calm and lead him slowly..but still cannot..my hb see him like that damn heartpain, in the end ask me to give up and give EBM instead.

MVH, u dun like pig trotters?

it is for womb contractions, so that we can gt back our shape earlier? good right?

ahNah, my hb lucky ah. i did not bite him, did not grab his hands... and bb out le, cause my gynae scared bb too big, open a big hole and let bb come out even before i push hard hard. sigh

!

good morning all...

fumiko, jia you!

Just finished reading the archive...

all talking abt CL ya...

I m really consider lucky as my current CL is quite good... she did not watch tv at all and love to talks to my bb always... most of the times, my bb is wearing cloth nappy as she said it is more 'tong feng'... she only let my bb wear diaper ard 9pm b4 the last feed fr the day... so really save a lot of diaper $$ for me la :p. she also use the cotton balls to clean my bb butt as she said wet tissue not really clean :p

she is always bz as i EBM exclusively & did not let bb latch on... so she needs to wash & sterilized the pump & bottles every time after i EBM... i let her do all the feeding most of the times :p I only carry bb to 'play play' sometime :p (so bad mummy hor)

1 thing I really likes my current CL is she is really a tidy & neat person le... yesterday i read some1 here saying their CL very dirty & never clean the kitchen, so i go n do a spot check (cos normally i bochap what she do in the kitchen la, hehe)... to my surprise, she did help me to clean my kitchen cabinets and re-arrange the stuff properly!! wah... then i smsed my hb said when this CL go back, we really need to give her a big ang pao!! :p

anyway. like what QQ said, no 1 is perfect too... she did not put the 'ru yi yuo' for my bb after bath le. instead, she bring her own making oil (accrd to her, this oil is better than ru yi you and very good for 'qu feng')...Dunno what ingredient in the oil la but i really dun like the smell of the oil as it smelled like 'ma2 you2' le... so now everytime after my bb bathed... he will smell like a confinement dish that i always eat with ma you too... haha! anyway, i just let it b la... since her intention is good at the first place lo :p

Sunflower: I also hav this problem when I latch on bb. I see liao heart v pain so I chose to gif her Ebm instead of latch her..

Suika: last nite she bring my bb in again! I really cant stand her.. Need to endure till 26jul she go Hm..the best is she bring my gal n at the same time watch tv with me n hubby in my master bedroom!!

Csection mummy after hw many days then we can start to eat chicken?

Haha sunflower .. Me too .. Everytime bb impatient on my breasts n start to wail, my hubby heartpain then he will immediately go warm up the expressed milk..

My bb also jaundice.. Yest went to the baby doc assigned by tmc.. (bb was 1 week old).. Then he's 14.2.. Below 15 Is ok for his age. But tmr still gt to test again.. But damn ex lor the paediatrician chg! Lucky my CL ask me bring him to polyclinic instead for the test.. Since do the test anywhre is the same.. Cos I din noe newborn gt priority in polyclinic.. So tmr morning I gonna bring him to poly instead .. But he still look yellow leh. Haiz..

sunflower: My boy also does the same fighting sequence with me when latching. But once I manage to get him to latch on and the milk starts flowing within the first few minutes, he will quieten down and drink. I think they do the fighting thing cos they are impatient.... When he's exceptionally fussy, my hb will carry him and talk to him for a few minutes to calm him down and then he will latch on .... The thing about latching on is that it takes persistence and practice... Gotta keep trying again and again.

QQ: My boy stopped his nonsense last nite.... My hb went to buy NUK bottle and we tried bottle feed him with some FM at 1130pm. He only drink 40ml and then he latch on all the way till 12+am. Then he guai guai slept till 4am... I latch him on and then he slept till 730am! I finally get to sleep 3 hrs straight for once .... So I think maybe the past few nights is not colic but he's upset that he's hungry and yet gotta marathon latch on? Cos my milk flow is not as fast as bottle..... I realize my 2nd let down only comes after 25 mins... which he is too impatient to suck for 2nd let down....

Saffy: I also try to take naps during the day when my boy sleeps but this week, I have to look after #1 cos my MIL has to attend to urgent family matters. Super siong..... Can't take nap at all.... End up, I see my CL dozing away on my sofa, I feel lagi worse.

winnie: Can you just change your CL?? 26 aug seems quite alot of days left for u to tahan........ I think its too much for her to keep passing baby to u since CLs are supposed to be experts in taking care of babies.

I think after your C section wound heal liao, can eat chicken leh. At least that's what my CL said.

ahNah,

what QQ mean is the gynae did an episiotomy.... a cut to make the opening bigger to make it easier for a big baby to come out... Hope didn't scare u hor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunflower, my gal also fights wif me everytime when I latch her.. She will arch her back, push me wif her hands, kick me etc.. I battle wif her n slowly bring her to my breast.. But I think most importantly we need to be calm n assuring so that they will be less kanjeong n settle down to feed.. This is my own experience la..

winnie, normally ppl said for c-sec can eat chicken after 12 days only. But hor, i start eating chicken after 1 week only le... cos i went back gynae place for post-natal check up & my gynae said no infection and can eat chicken, so i told my CL and asked her to cook chicken for me... hehe... anyway, i did really follow confinement rules 1 la :p

ann,

oh dear how do you tahan that? i think i will go crazy lor, or at least kick your CL to wake her up. this type of thing no need to give her face. Do you have anyone else in the family who can temporarily help you out for this wk?

My CL is not bad. Cooks super well n she takes care of the bb at night.. We did spot check the first few nights and she easily awake at every little noise so we felt quite safe with her .. She is avail in sept n oct.. Let me know if u mummies need to get a CL

ann, huh? so my ah boy was also crying cause hungry? could be hor. but then he vomitted milk la. scary.. a lot. after latching.

my let down is too fast for him, he kept pulling my nipple to TAR brake. aiyo. i gave up after a while.

same here la, i also fighting if i want to latch bb. jialat.

yes, anhNah, i din scare u right? i ask my hb if doc got take scissors? he said yes,he took scissors and said: let me assist u. cause he was worried that bb was too big. eventually the bb was not that big afterall. smaller than my #1 i din have any cut for my #1 hor, haha!!!! but luckily his sticthing is v good.

CSY, same here lor.

everytime when i latch if hb is at home, he will say :eh, give bottle la, otherwise how to know if he is drinking well ah? i want boy boy to be fat fat.

so usually i give bottle at night, then day time try to latch. but today i am a bit scare, maybe i pump ba

winnie, hm.... if cannot tahan then listen to your mind. u can do anything u like.

CSY,

Ya, polyclinic got priority for newborn, cos scare kena infection by the people there..and also newborn cannot wait too long there, later hungry etc..

Ann,

Ok I will try..meanwhile will also check out Youtube how to latch properly,..maybe too uncomfortable for him , plus he also super impatient when he is hungry..maybe only latch when he is not so hungry.

Winnie,

Ya I agree with ann, I thought CL supposed to take care of the baby and not passing back to parents? Still got a long way to go leh.. My baby sometimes got problem slping, my CL try to hoax.. but everytime, im the one who wants to take back the baby to hoax instead.. btw, when u doing ur first mth celebration?

First mth buffet :

Check with u all, I asked my CL to cook buffet for my baby first mth cos we only invite own family members..She has experience doing catering, so she is ok to do that..how much ang bao must I give her ar?

ahNah,

no nid to worry lah...oni i bite....lolx

saffy,

i gave 1scoop (60ml) but water i add till 100ml instead....

sunflower,

mi use normal way juz carry n latch oni....shd b cradle ba....i've got the brestfriend so after latching her i'll let her lie on that w 1 hand support the head oni n i can use comp liao

the nurse at MtA told mi dun worry coz starting my girl doesn't want to latch at all....dun wan mi n my hb even commented that my girl dun wan me no wan latch....very heartpain....but the nurse says not to worry.....u press ur nipple let abit of milk come out n dip on his lip....nurse says let bb come find u...u juz stay relax....n very soon they'll noe how to find n it's easier for them to open mouth big oso....u noe lah girl smaller size n mouth so small i really duno how to latch her lor n nurse says nvm....let her cry...the moment she cries mouth will open big big then u latch on....heehee stupid n funnie but it works...mayb u can try....dun give up so fast if u wana BF long

MVH,

the pig trottle is the ginger n pig trottle got the 'jiao zi' mah

winnie,

26th still got 2wks more ley....y not u see if u can another to cover for her instead if got then ask this to pack n leave lor

ahNah,

even if she bites u oso hv to let her lor....dun forget the pain we're going thru is much more painful then juz a bite lor.....no joke

YEAH!!! mi gg bath liao.....1st bath since delivery.....mi smell nice nice first then come back here chat again....ciaozzz

suika,

mine open mouth big big and crying for milk, keep turning to my breast, when i bring him to my breast, he cant latch well, then yell again.. sometimes it works, once it works, he can latch for 15mins then fall aslp..but usually need to fight for a while..ok i try again..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suika,

u got use herbs to wipe daily? or today just started to bath?

Confinement glutinous rice wine :

if we drink this and breast feed baby, will affect baby or not?

jasmine,

ok noted.. i will also try to drink more water to dilute..no choice, i have 'bu' since day 1 cos my son kena high jaundice..now already day12, CL say need to bu already.

hey, ask u gals ah..

can go polyclinic for jaundice blood test without appointment rite? Coz my FIL commented baby quite yellow, better go n check.. sigh..

QQ, Sunflower..

I dun really like vingear la.. so only eat a bit of pig trotters.. somemore i m too heaty liao... bite myself while eating lunch yesterday.. still eat so much ginger.. jialat..

AhNah,

I was squeezing my hubby's hand tightly when gynae does the stitching.. coz they took the gas away le.. keke.. quite painful as I can feel the poking.. so be prepared..

CSY,

since yest just check jaundice, why tomorrow bring to polyclinic again to check??

How much was your pd check with jaundice check??

Mine was around $124.

Mvh

yes go ployclinic no need appt. I just went this morn. Express Q for new born. Faster wait. Only after blood test see doc have to wait awhile. And best part is spent only 16+ buck nia. Doc say ny boy have slight Jaurdice which norm. Ask me go Back review on Saturday.

mvan_mum : i went yesterday to esh for jaundice blood test. cost only $10.70. around 45mins can get the report le. mine was 268 , quite high but doc say still acceptable for day 4 baby, bringin for blood test tml again. check with ur hospital hw much they charge? hw much polyclinic charge?

nv get to see pd... the lab fax/email the results to my pd den my pd call me back and say the range still acceptable and to retake on thursday again..

Mt A charges $15+GST for the blood test.. troublesome as far from my place.

alibaba, must see doc issit? i thou can just take blood test.. thinking of bringing her to yishun polyclinic tomolo morning..

Eeyore: mine was 189 bucks.. Which includes the duno wad metalbolism check that they promote .. This cost 95 bucks. The paediatrician jus check check a while and that consulation alone cost me 65 bucks.. Gd money . Think polyclinic jus less than 20 bucks in total. Doc consulation only 5 bucks lor

initially gt to go back to paediatrician for jaundice check tmr.. So tmr instead of gg back to paediatrician I go poly better bah

Csy, yr pd very good already, only charge 65.. Mine charge me $100 leh for a few touches. Eeyore, I think we have e same pd, terrence tan at mt a rite?

haha!! yes yes. PD charges at least $45 for consultation, then test also additional costs. now u all should understand why i went polyclinic for jaundice check le. and see doctor or not is no longer important cause i know what is consider high and low. my boy 's is quite high though.

total cost for each visit is < $20.

if u want check at poly, then bring report go pd. also can.

suika, u never bath since delivered? i buey tahan one la. i bath on day 3 le. cause day 1-2 at hospital, a bit cold. plus got wounds, i just wash wounds nia.

ahNah, i heard that some women made their hb swear and swear in the labour wards. sounds funny hor but it is not that funny if u are the one inside the ward. (scare or not?)

white lady.

the best way is to buy a lemon, cut a few slices, then put water, and boil. boil boil.... i think 2 rounds? then wash the metal part.

alternative: mix white vinegar and water (1:1) ad boil, quite smelly la.

or buy those acid packs for descaling, and use according to the instructions.

suika,

i also bath on day3 after discharged leh.. my CL told me can splash the water even though using herbs.. i tot pple say can only wipe.

ann,

baby poos after every feed, guranteed! i aso count the costs, now 'forcing' my CL to use cloth diapers!

pd0513,

yup i aso hv to keep waking her up to feed, no choice...

dreamz,

my kids pd is quite good, quite a few of my frens bring their kids there too. her clinic at bishan. PM me if you wan the contact.

mpoon,

i wl stl feed if she wans, coz she just pooed. the problem i may not hv a lot of excess. but she seemed quite contented so far; i wl let her suckle till she is happy.

MVH,

your MIL seems v protective abt the baby, guess smtm we rub off our parents and in laws over childcare one way or another! I aso hv my fair share with my mum, she listens to the CL to gv water to baby, sigh!

QQ,

not sure if safe to take colic drops yet, i used to gv to my #1 but he was older.

the baby wl be well-fed even on TBF, my #1 was in the 95% range. i BF every 2 hrs and dun pump, he quite automatic with his feeding time.

sunflower,

i use the Brestfriend pillow, so far has been a great investment for me. i hv been using this since day 1 for #1. the pillow allows my hands to be free to even surf the net when BF [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re:eating chicken

i hv been eating chicken since 2nd day in hospital and CL cooked for me as well but she said cannot eat eggs.

re: bathing

i hv been showering and washing my hair daily... my CL kept asking me everyday not to do so and just wipe.

but the weather is killing me, plus BF baby so how not to clean up? hubby has been giving me the evil eye and said not to complain when i m older, haiz!

hellooooooooooo everyone!!!

today is only my 3rd day of confinement... feeling hot n perspiring like water tap, yet cannot bath!! walaoz.. the feeling is soooo.. indescribable ahhh....

went to see PD today cuz he got slight jaundice when at hospital, his jaundice got slightly higher but no need to do blood test yet, so have to go back to the PD again on fri to see how his jaundice is...

today, i bottle feed my boy with my EBM n he managed to finish 60ml... tonite will tried another time with FM n hopefully can last him longer...hehehe..

ok, i go nap le.. will be back later after my nap.. ;p