(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

bakaholic (bakaholic)if you go for c-section, you will be under anesthetic and will be unable to breastfeed immediately. Depending on the dose and type of anesthetics it may linger in your BM for some time so it depends. In the meantime- Baby formula

madam yip, u r funny.. lol.. yup.. maybe thru discharge.. i dun remember my gynae did ultrasound scan during my labour..

ann, try latching on than pump.. latch on will release those good hormones and milk flows faster.. i remember the 1st time i pump out milk for my #1 which is 2months later to prepare myself to work, i only got 40ml after 30-45mins.. very depressing.. but baby can drink well directly from breast..

A mother who has had a cesarean faces extra difficulties in starting breastfeeding, and her baby is less likely to be breastfed compared to a baby born naturally.

jasmine G,

me too.. hehe.. spicy food i still take abit.. but will suffer after that.. cos of the heartburn and acid reflux when i sleep lor.. that one i still cant resist.. hehe.. junk food.. bobian.. luckily i have a colleague who will stop me from eating junk food.. hehe.. he will offer me 1 small piece.. then the rest he will finish so that i cant eat.. LOL!!

littlepiggy,

haha, by the way is acid reflux like when i'm lying on bed, i feel that something keep flowing to my throat, makes me feel nauseous?

Huffpuff,

me standby 1 tin of similac when giv birth to my boy 2 yrs back. In the end nvr use n hav to sell away. At hospital I try to latch on my boy whenever I can n top up with formula given by hospital. When discharge hospital giv some ready to drink formula to standby but I din use. Guess me lucky cos got enuff supply for my boy. Tis time I just standby 1 tin friso.

Ann,

direct latch on should b more efficient than pump. Breastfeeding is not an easy job. Jiayiu!

jascmy

ya i heard about the fire issue of the carpark.. but my place there cant hear or see that carpark leh... it happened midnight??? wah lao.. heng my car parked at the other carpark..

jasmine G,

yes.. u will feel something flowing back into ur throat.. sometimes when too much will end up like burping water out from mouth. So best is to put another pillow so that the acid wont backflow too much. If we eat too spicy, the acid is stronger, then will end up feeling heartburn together. For me, cos i can take milk, i will drink half to 1 cup before i sleep so that can neutralise the acid.

littlepiggy,

oh thanks for explaining, i was still thinking why this happen when my last meal is like 5 hours ago. so shouldn't be eat too much. okok so i should drink more milk before sleep.

jasmine goh: I'm using Medela freestyle pump. Its working fine for me so far... I'm very stubborn about breastfeeding. Even though I have low supply even for #1, I cried lots but kept on persisting. Happy to say I bf her for 14 mths and she didn't have fever for her first year.

MVH: Yah I did latch on as much as possible but for 1 week already, kept having bleeding and sore nipples cos still trying to have correct latch... so for nite feeds, I have to pump to give my sore nipples a rest. My #2 mouth quite small for my cup size DD..... so he tends to suckle at nipple instead of areola... Gotta keep practising and forcing him to open mouth big big.... Have been 'fighting' him every day liao.... only since yesterday I notice he is more 'guai guai' to open mouth...

bakaholic: My PD is very pro-breastfeeding so even with jaundice, she will keep on asking me breastfeed. As long as baby is hydrated and got poo and got pee every day, its okay. My #1 had jaudice for 3 mths.... its breastmilk jaundice so its not harmful. Please don't let jaundice or having C-section stop u from breastfeeding. You can supplement with FM in the early days but keep on latching on or pumping.

Halo everyone.

As usual so many posts to catch up on.

My last check up on sat wk38d3, bb still at 3.2kg. Heng nv put on much since the week before.

How come my gynae didn't check if I am dilated or not huh? I'm suppose to go back this week to have CTG scan. Also haven been sleeping well. Since last night, every other hour I can feel that my V area very painful n arching. But each time only last for 5secs... Wats that???

jasmine G,

hehe.. no worries, but really we need to cut down on spicy food.. else the acid reflux will keep coming to "haunt" us de. Oh.. oso dun let urself be hungry too. Cos if too many hours without food, thou we not hungry.. acid will build up inside oso will get the same issue.

ARGH!!! Anyone can tell me how can i stop scratching my tummy?? I put lots of oil and lotion to prevent the stretch marks from making me itchy.. but i still itchy handed scratch until now so many scars and painful.. Maybe tonight sleep that time ask my hubby to tie my hands up.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wl,

V area painful and last for 5secs every hour? Sounds like contractions to me.... If u keep having this 5 secs pain around there 4-5 times within an hour, do give your gynae a call... It could signal the real thing!

Jasmine, the problem with me is I donno how menstrual cramp feels like. That's why I'm worry that i can't tell that I'm having contractions. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ann, I also hope that it's for real. At least I don have to stay up late at night wondering when bb is coming out. I will continue to monitor. Thank u!

Jasmine G,

yeah, i intend to ask the nurse to cup feed at night if im too tired to BF him..

bakaholic,

ohhh.. i have scheduled mine but still hopefully my boy will turn down within this week.. ;p

ktm,

once again, thank u so much for all your 'wonderful' comments.. not all mummies who go thru c-sect will opt for GA, i believe most of them will want to go for c-sect with epidural, so that they can see their babies immediately n no matter how much difficulties we mummies going thru, we will definitely brave thru it! pls kindly keep all your discouraging comments away, u are not of any help at all.

wl: Once baby is out.... U will also have to stay up at night... but its for different reasons ... hee hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Take care and if u really don't feel well, just give yr gynae a call.

Milk powder

Similac is RM57.90 for 900gm..

Enfalac is RM78.90 for 900gm..

The exchange rate now is 1:2.3

They are much cheaper than SG, but the contents are also lesser than SG..SG milk powder is much better..but actually Carrefour in Singapore is also selling JB’s enfalac..i saw their packaging before.. I heard from malaysian, JB enfaclac is good.

Penguin,

Better check with gynae, tink you starting to dilate.

wl,

your baby very low liao..better ask your gynae to check cervix..

ann,

v-area pain is contractions ar? i thought is becos cervix opening, and baby is very low..like pushing out..i have this feeling when im standing or baby is stretching..but when sitting down, no such feeling.

Sunflower: How are u? I was wondering if u have given birth... Cos I had that V-area and anus-area pain (like pressing downwards) for a whole day and I went into labour thereafter... I guess all these contractions thing is quite confusing... I wasn't even convinced I was in labour even tho I was already dilated to 5cm in the delivery ward... The nurse had to keep telling me that I am going to give birth soon...

Also wondering where's Charmaine?

Winnie ,

ya lor , enfalac at NTUC is $43 , i bought at carrefour when they got 10% off ... so is like $39 ... if u buy from neighbour hood shop cheaper , abt $39 or $38 . bb can fiinish a tin a week leh ...

ann (ineedmilk)it's not easy to tell, that's why always be on the safe side. The baby is under tremendous stress at this stage and often extended contractions will put the baby in distress.

ann,

im still around leh..baby too comfy inside, refused to come out..i was hoping some action during the weekends, but nothing leh..

that time when u have bloody show, is it alot? im afraid i have waterleak together with the bleeding. cos up till now, still on-off brown spotting ,and lots of sticky discharge.

Just to share a light-hearted moment that I had with my #1 girl 2 nights ago:

I was breastfeeding my bb and my #1 was watching me. Then after I fed my boy for a while, I gave up and was going to ask my hb to bottle feed him FM. So I told #1 "Okay, Papa is going to feed Baby now. Later u want to help to feed baby a not?" My #1 looks shocked and horrified.... She kind of clutched her chest and said "NO". Then I realized that she thot the whole family was going to latch baby on! I had to clarify with her that only Mummy had to offer her boobs to bb..... and Papa and other pple just bottle feed..... After which, she was very relieved! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ktm: I agree, its better to be on safe side.

Sunflower: My bloody show was like light bleeding ie 50 cent coin on a normal pad..... Bright red blood... that is for the 1st hour... After that, I dunno how much bleeding I had cos I was already changed into the delivery ward scrubs. When the real fierce contractions come, u will feed painful menses cramps + lower back ache for 5-10 seconds every few minutes. But that type of fierce contractions come.... u should be in the delivery ward liao....

jasmine G,

Haiz.. i keep telling myself.. dun scratch.. else very 难看.. but end up.. i still keep scratching.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sunflower,

u must be careful liao hor.. any more actions think u better call ur gynae le..

ann,

ok thanks..i will look out for more symptoms.

littlepiggy,

thanks.. hoping to deliver this week.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank white lady. Next time will buy from shophouses..

Sunflower: ur in the same wk as me. I gonna deliver this wed liao.. Kinda of scare!

winnie,

hehe.. u must jiayou! rem to post ur bb pic k !

i also hoping to deliver on wednesday..then we both same EDD, same ADD!!

winnie: Don't scared..... I think C-section v fast u can see yr bb liao... whereas natural labour gotta tahan for hoursss to see bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

white lady,

carrefour selling 2 types of enfaclac..one from JB, one from neitherland.. but i duno if the JB one is from thailand.. but cfm is from JB..

sunflower,

oh.. okie.. mistaken.. cos read earlier, someone in TMC.. haha..

me ah.. sat gynae say within the week i might due.. so everyday still go work as usual.. and wait lor.. I was hoping can wait till Saturday bah.

littlepiggy,

oic..hehe.. this week will have alot good news!

whitelady,

yes 2 types ..i saw at suntec carrefour..JB one with all malay words.. SG one with English..i verified when im in JB too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littlepiggy

probably u have to stop applying the oil or lotion. maybe it make u feel more itchy.. try to don scratch directly on the skin, use rub instead on ur top to soothe the itchness...

sunflower,

hehe.. yah.. this week think will get lots of good news liao.. hehe..

alibaba,

hehe.. not the oil or lotion making me itch.. sometimes is that the oil or lotion dry up liao.. then my clothes "touched" my skin.. then i will start to feel the itch again.. else is when i am feeling too hot and start sweating.. the itch will come. Hehe.. i tried to control by using my top to soothe the itch le.. but at times.. too itchy until i just start scratching directly.. thats y i think i shld just tie my hands up.. haha.