(2010/02) February 2010 mtb

Christine (evangelinemum),

Can u check u how u make the sacred tea??? How long do u drink to see the effect of it???? I m now drinking this too.....yet to see my supply increase...so now i m wondering shld i cont'd to drink this tea???

Mambob :

I jus add the cereals together wif the milk powder into the bottle leh.. den use a spoon to stir... So far the teat ok leh.. But sometimes there's lumps which will block the hole.. so I will stop Jolie from drinking, shake shake again den let her continue lor...

But I think nanny got "enlarge" the hole abit cos she's feeding Jolie the "si shen" cereal, which is not tat smooth...

apple :

Ya.. I saw it on the box too.. but as it's on traces.. and may.. the amount shld be very minimum to cause any harm . effects to babies...

Whoofy

I try stretching till 4.5hrs at a time and there was once, he really can finish 170ml wor..

But the thing is tat, he only drink his milk and not having cereals!!!

In the past, he can finish 170ml in 3.5 hrs but now can stretch till 4.5hrs?

Somemore, it's w/o his cereals lor! -.-"

I find tat after having his cereals and also milk, his feeding time becomes very eccentric! Heiz..

I think i still can't catch hold of how much he drinks and also wat exactly is his intervals like..

Whoofy/Lovie: Wah, so good, your baby can stretch for so long.. SO far rachael only stretch to 3 hr only, mostly 2.5hr ask for milk now, she drinking 150ml now.

Lovie :

Slowly lor.. u r not working.. so can spend more time wif Kiefer to understand his "pattern"

For me.. I can only try to follow nanny's schedule during wkends den slowly get the hang of Jolie's ..

Apple,

I started estovan with the organix rice cereal cos there's only white rice and nothing else. No gluten, etc. It's recommended for babies at 4mths who is prone to have allergy. My boy has mild eczema and am worried that he might have allergy so started on that 1st.

After finishing 1 box of organix, I'm giving him bellamys now. I didn't want to give him organix again cos they need iron-fortified cereals. According to the staff at vitakids, they advise to start with organix if you are worried about allergy. If your girl is fine with organix, then slowly introduce bellamys or even happybellies brown rice. That's what I'll be giving him next after bellamys.

I'm currently adding probiotics in his cereals to protect his stomach. If I start giving him happybellies, they contain probiotics so better.

Whoofy,

I read from the Internet that it's not advisable to feed baby cereal via the bottles. It's better to feed them cereals using the bowls so that they associate drinking milk with bottles and eating cereals from bowls. When you feed cereal, you encourage her to move her jaws and bite. If you use bottles for cereals with milk, it will be very liquid and they will just swallow without biting.

I'm now very disturbed whether I should start my new job in august or stay at home for another 6 months to spend time with my boy.

I was daunted by what my doc said to me. He told me babies on total breastfeeding are very reliant on mummies. Ask me if possible to stay at home to spend time and nurture baby till he goes to playskol at 18mths. They will grow up to be more good natured and satisfying. This is very important for the 1st child cos will influence subsequent child's character. He says emotional needs are more important to babies than material needs. They are happier even with a piece of rag on them as long as mummy is with them.

After hearing what be says, I feel so sad that I'm going back to work and leaving baby with my mum and maid. I know he'll definitely be very unhappy cos he gets to see me when he opens his eyes and before he sleeps at nite. When I start work, I might still be working when he's in dreamland. Sigh

apple

Tat's bad.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

How abt u feeding Rach more and see whether can her feeding time be stretched?

WHoofy

No choice lor. If i dun get the hang of it soon, i will be in total loss when i start introducing him other stuffs!

Bryest

If ur family commitments allows it, why not delay work for another 6 mths? This way, u wont feel regret abt missing his milestones!

bryest: i also agree with Lovie. Maybe u discuss with ur hb. if ur household expenses allow u to stop for another 6mths, then stay with ur son for awhile longer lor.

Thanks for the well-wishes! I really hope Baby no 2 is fine!

Had a traumatic morning ytd. At 3am during the night,my gal fell off the bed with a loud "Pomp" sound. She cried very loudly and we dunno if she hurt her head or not coz when my hubby picked her up,she was in a sprawling-down position(tummy down). Took her to KK immediately coz scared she will have internal bleeding or watever. Kept under observation for a few hrs and the doctors said she's ok,could go home. Coz she could smile,play and move her limbs freely. Haiz. So now no more sleeping on the bed with me and hubby. So heart-pain when we heard the "Pomp" sound and her cries.

My Kiefer keeps on wriggling and turning his had ard when i feed him milk! Am so mad lor.. After drinking a few mouthful, refuse to drink liao.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Petal bud,

i think my boy got diarrhea after drinking new yellow tin Enfalac.

i heard they change to a new formula.

Thought of changing milk powder. But decided not to.

He has been drinking Enfalac since newborn.

i searched around for answers on diarrhea issue...

Found out by not mixing too much water in milk can help his diarrhea abit.

So,I mixed his milk this way:

Eg. 5scoops & topped up to 150ml mark.

5scoops & topped up to 170ml mark.(prev method)

His diarrhea really improved...

Soon no more diarrhea problem & he gotten used to this new Enfalac milk powder.

I wld use Enfalac Step 2 in near future.

mommies! juz wanna share....i find this damn cool! Was talking to my colleague the other day and she was mentioning how her life has change for the better after getting this formula milk 'expresso' machine..lol..put, press button and thats all. innovations arh nowadays! but too ex to buy but nice to see...hehe.i so suaku..didnt know got such thing like dis leh...

http://www.babywell.com/index.php?action=shop[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4263476.jpg]

Just a quick tip - this month New Garden is giving away their VIP cards for free.

10% discount on normal orders

20% on bday month!

Dear mommies, I've just email you all on gathering at Diana's. Please reply yah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tira: wat new garden sells?

Bbin : sometimes I try the same method and it works for me too....

Lovie: wat kind of treatment you r getting from TCM?

Bryest: I think you should try to train estovan to be more independence from now, I hv a fren got the same issue, fully BF till 1 year old, she tried to give bottle FM from 5 mths but keep failed and now the boy is 1 yr plus still very reliant on mummy and wanted to latch on... So even after 6 mths you may face the same issue again... This is just my own opinion, and you might want to discuss wif hubby n think it thru....

Bbin

U mean u let her sit on the feeding chair while u feed her?

Heiz..

I dun noe how to make him drink more liao.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Tira

Darling, u mean NEO Garden, right?

Cloh

Hahahahaha.. I've not been there yet so i dun know.

Hopefully, i won't have to have acuputure lor.. I super scared of needles!!!

y dont mummies using iphone chat on iphone! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

there's this free app for iphone, textplus, we can create a community there for SMH FEB MTB so we can chat in thr too! more convenient! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lovie, buy la! den we create a iphone SMH chat group! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cloh: u can only chat with other user on whatsapp if you have their mobile number. the app i was mentioning, the chat can be seen by all members in the group. so we can chat like as in here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whoofy: the app is call ' textplus '. try downloading and join the community 'SMHFEBMUMMIES'. i've created the group alr. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] LETS TRY IT!

mummies! poor group only got me and whoofy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

all iphone users come join!!!

download app on iphone call 'textplus'

search for community 'SMHFEBMUMMIES'

join the community and we're all ready to chat! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lovie : i also seeking TCM help on my painful wrist... seems to be worst as bb grow bigger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bryest : I personally think that doctors will tell u what they have learn but it may or may not apply to every babies. My mil work all her life n no bf her 2 boys but my hb and bil grew up to be fine young man. My bro and I were also not bf. My mother passes on when i was 3. To put it bluntly, we grew up w/o mum. But we are still law abiding citizens. It really boils dwn to how u nurture the kid and not so much of bf or not... of cos bf-ing mummy has a special bond with their kids and of cos SAHM can spend more time nurturing their children. However working mums will just have to spend doouble the time teaching and nurturing the kid. I myself has been bk to workforce for 3 months now and I do admit i am pretty tired from rushing home to spend time with my girl and expressing milk etc. But I do "appreciate" the time when I am at work. Cos this time away from her makes me appreciate her more and also appreciate the time sent with her more. Having said that,ultimately it all boils down to your own decision.

Happiness,

I think my doc is referring more of the presence of mummy with the baby, not so much of breastfeeding. People around me are telling me our children will only be babies once. If I can, to only start work after they start playskol at 18mths. Once they are in school, they will less reliant on us. I guess it really depends on our priorities. Tough decision. Sigh

Kath:

I will put a full tablespoon of tea leaves into a pot and then pour in 2 mugs of boiling water. Then simmer the tea over low fire for another 15 minutes. This will make a mug of tea. I do not really like it thick, so I normally dilute the tea by pouring half the tea into a mug, then add water. So I get to drink 2 cups in one sitting.

We are supposed to drink 3 concentrated mugs a day.

I saw the effects after 4-5 days. I used to pump only 40ml in 4 hours. After the tea, I managed to get 60ml.

How many days have you been drinking it? Did you buy the tea from my link? Cos there are quite a no of "sacred" tea in the market.

Morning Mummies!

Happi: i also agree with u that i'm more appreciative on the time spent with my ger after coming back to work. And ya... bf is very tiring... How many more days for u to stop bf?