(2010/02) February 2010 mtb

Hi Ladies!! i MIA for soooo long and have missed out soooo much!! how ya all mommmies doin?

hi Apple, can help to update my details pls? thanks!

Portia, how did everything go? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby girl

Name:

EDD: 25 Feb

Hospital: Raffles hosp

Doctor: Dr Lee I Wuen

Baby no: 1

Age 29

Serene n chrstine: jiayou! Smooth delivery ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wonder how's yikai.. ??

Serene: Wat's ur contact number ar? Maybe after my birth, i can msg u.. haha...

apple, freesia, fii0nn, serene: Thx, Mummies! A bit freaking out...

Serene: i also wish u a smooth delivery!

Serene,Christine> jia you!! May God bless both of u smooth safe quick delivery..!

Apple> so fast u clean hse le? U still got 1 more mth rite? Wait dusty again?

Bbin> huh? Shucks, posted? Archive Liao la.. Which dae u posted ur story? How u feeling now? Sore nipples better den crack la.. Sounds pain still.. Jia you!

Gyan> wah.. Y got naked pics?? The tummy expose onli rite? Hee..

We are back home already. My girl is born on 27 Jan @ 0856hrs. She weighs 3530g / 51 cm. I had natural birth w/o epidural... Too late for epidural...

I will post my birth story once i have it ready. She is waking up soon for her feed.

To the rest of mummies who are delivering soon... Good luck ... when u see yr little ones all the pain are worth it....

Gyan, can't wait to see your pics.

congrats happiness& bliss...

We had a false alarm juz now. had some contraction and show. gynae wanna me admit.

turn out to be false alarm... good full dress rehearsal... heehee...

Hi bubblegumz: wow another RH mommy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So far it's been Portia & me at RH

Hi All!

I'm here posting at TMC ward =)

Wish mi all the best ya?

Serene, i ve gotten ur msg le... and hve replied u as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Christine: Wah, in d ward le. So excited for u!! gd luck! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happiness&Bliss: wow! Natural w/o epi.. *Thumbs up* congrats!!

happiness> tatz great! post bb pics when u free ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee

lois> contraction & show still false alarm? wah... den how wru now? hospital stay or rest at home?

Christine,

Surprised they let you go to ward first, is it becos you hasn't dilated and still must wait? I rem my 1st time, after admission, goes to observation room where doc break my water bag, clear bowel, shave me, then push me to labour suite where the anaethetist came to administrate the epidural and after is waiting game till delivery.

Angel : ummm, naked, only vital parts covered by hands lor...

fii0nn/pancake : oic, at least not so pressure if i forgot to bring the box... yes, i'm delivering @ gleneagles.

bbin : i chose total 14 photos lor, so total is actually 300... actually the gal ask y not i take all the photos, that means to juz top up 250 on top of that 180, but this package only provides 6 hardcopies photos and the rest is softcopies, n there are so many repeats... so i only chose 14 pcs that i prefer most lor

angel,

nw not only got sore nipples, i'm suffering from engorgement... best is still no milk flowing!! juz don understand... y so hard... my gal refuses to latch... haiz...

gyan,

wow! 14 photos.... means u're very satisfied wif the results.... me not much to choose from... coz the model not nice, so result not gd oso...

lois> oic, tk care ya..rest well till bb pop den can push.. hee

hmm.. me wonder when bb wanna meet me & daddy?

gyan> wah.. so sexy?!? haha

the pics u tk alone or got some wif hubby 1?

bbin> wah.. engorge somemore but no flow? if bb dun latch, maybe u can try pumping?

hmm.. wonder when my turn to try BF ..stress

bbin : where got model not nice... ur standard too high lah... i chose 14 pcs cos oredi budget that i willing to spend arnd $300 mah.

Angel : i took alone lah... aiya, my hubby dun like to take photos one.

bbin, are you getting a massage lady? can ask her help you massage your boobs, heard can allow milk to flow better.

ya, she making us wait...

Just come back from my in-laws.. Almost blow my top..

Anyone told that if baby comes before CNY, hubby and elder child not allow to participate in reunion dinner?

Just sharing my bill:

Dr Joycelyn Wong

TMC

Natural with epi

Single premium ward

3 days stay (cos i admited before 11.30pm)

Cash paid: $3000 =)

My birth Story :

26 Jan

7am - woke up to pee ... realise there's blood..

hb ask if i want to go gynae, i say no its

ok.

10am - start to feel contractions, so make my way

to my gynae. She told me I am in labour &

to admit to Mt A. I ask for some time cos

want to do some final preparation.

6pm - Admit to Mt A...

6pm to 12 am - Irregular contractions.

27 Jan

12.05am - Put on drip to hasten contractions.

4 am - Cervix only open 1.5cm

6am - Doc ask to up the drip dosage cos still

only 3.5cm. Doc inform my hb if i dun

deliver by 8.30am need to push in for

E- C sec... cos my labour too long & baby

not engage and not even lowered.

6am - feel Waterbag burst.Hb call the nurse.

Check cervix and its open 6cm. More bloody

show.

6-8am - GONE CASE... too painful. Depended on

laughing gas.

8.30am - Cervix open 9cm..

8.45am - Started pushing

8.56am - Baby pop

Someone was asking abt the labour pains.... the level of pain is beyond words.... But the urge of pushing is like u want to pass motion like that... I hope I dun sound too gross here... hahaha....

Bottomline is, it is possible to have natural birth even when baby not engage. Trust yourself and tell yourself u can do it. But maybe with baby not engage the pushing is tougher.

just to update, i've popped today. Natural with epi. Tried v hard to go just on gas but couldn't take it n started screaming away... Just to let mummies who r still undecided whether to go on epi, i was glad that i did coz the dilations came so much faster after it was administered. But i'm also glad that i tried to go w/o it n experienced some of the pain first. All the best to those popping soon!

Hi Mums, I am working as a doula so I support laboring woman to achieve what they want for the birth. I always tell my clients that labor pain is not like the kind of pain that is like breaking ur bones. It is juz severe discomfort. You will feel painful is becoz you are not relax enough and some of you have the drip. The drip is an artificial induction drug. It will make the contraction contract harder and more and your body does not have enough time to release enough endorphin (natural pain relief hormone). It will be good if you can encourage more endorphine by staying longer at home or at the place you are comfortable in, your husband's love and touches, soft lighting etc.

For those mum that have pass your EDD, stil trying hard not to be induced or having a c-section, you can try foot reflex massage. I did have a contact so PM me if you wan.

oh bbin> found ur birth story! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

epi> will it make dilation faster? hmm... hmm..

wonder if my cervix will co-operate, & how long I can tahan the pain. Btw the pain kicks in when contraction starts? Or still bearable until the point when cervix open till quite big like 5cm or more?

grgrr.. scary, wonder bb wanna meet me b4 edd or after edd (fridae) leh?

epi may or may not make the dilation faster. If you have a long labor with not much dilation due to your fear, then epidural might be able to help by removing the pain factor and letting your muscle there relax.

why some feel epi will make dilation faster is coz, wif the pain factor reduced/removed, u're less tensed, thus cervix will dilate easier... some may feel no pain during contraction thus may not be contraction = pain... its all up to individual... when cervix dilate till certain cm, means contraction 'attack' will be more n more frequent/intense... so it'll come to a point when its contraction every min! tats wat i feel...

peppersalt > usually mums will ask for a epidural when she is in transition (abt 7cm to 10cm). I would strongly recommend you to have a VE before they do the epidural procedure as from the time you ask for the epidural till the point when the dr come to insert the epidural, your cervix might have open more already.

woh.. thkz 4 sharing gals [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmm.. tink looks like wat EG say abt endorphins sounds logic in a way~

bbin> how's the BF coming along? hope u're feeling better, dun 2 stress if dun haf.. try ur best. Heard from frenz muz be hardworking initial period, keep positive, flow will come. jia you!! moomoo~~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbin2010 > I strongly agree with what you have said [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And getting an epidural doesn't mean guarantee pain free.I have client took epidural yet still have half of the tummy feeling every bit of the contraction.

Bear in mind that having an epidural also means that this epidural medication will be also be in the baby's blood stream for 2 weeks. As during labor, your blood and baby's blood is still connected until the placenta is birthed.

EG> oh.. no wonder 1 of my gf say still feel pain even when request for epi during initial admission to hospital wor.. hmmm.. hmm..

Thanks for your well wishes. Just to update, delivered my baby boy 30th Jan. 3.345kg, 54cm. Natural w epi. Will update my birth story soon!

VE = virginal examination i'm guessing...

ya, apparently i'm made to lie on my right side after epi was administered on the left side... say hv to let the drug flow to the right side...

i didn noe it'll be in bb's blood stream??!! wasn't highlighted in the consent form!

Thanks Gyan. ^.^

Congrats to those new mummies!

Jia You to all mtbs!!

Recently too busy tired to do postings.. bb,breastfeed,stitches recovery,hard poo poo...etc

RE: epi dosage

1st dosage @ 1.5cm dilate - ok

2nd dosage @ 3cm dilate - ok (Dose set @6)

3rd dosage @ 6cm dilate - bad side effect immed afterwards...too high dosages (Dose set @12)

i requested nurses to lower doses aft 3rd plea.

Dose set @12 reduce to 8 then to 7.

At 7, dun feel pain leh...meaning they give too much!!

So gals...take note k! dun suffer quietly!