(2010/02) February 2010 mtb

tira: u dun like it...yup, abit invasive.

I was surprised/shocked the 1st time they did it!

But subsequently ok w it lah, so long they dun do rub rub on my tummy... @.@

Lois: So, u ok w it?

apple: Thought there is already a steamboat invite via facebook? I think it was sent out by gyan? Wonder who has accepted?

gyan: Are you able to update who has accepted the steamboat invite?

Really looking forward to my DS date... then i can be assured baby is fine and start my buying spree! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I just bought some maternity clothes from the old navy spree. hahaha...

Chongqing steamboat huh, dunnoe i can take it or not. This steamboat is more to the east side, but if those want to join is still ok.

at first, i dun really like it. dun like ppl touching me.

but now get used to it liao lo.

ya, as long as they dun rub on my tummy.

tats the life of a preggy woman

Apple: Gyan already has arranged one on 17 Oct!!! Did you not see? it is on FB!!!

Stroller is the only thing i invest in. cas my hb is v tall (1.97m) and i need one that is comfortable for him and me and my mom. everything must be adjustable!!!

Chris: charge them to touch tummy. then they will stop! hehe

Apple: oh, then we can also go to this Tian Fu. You arrange lor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i dun mind eating steamboat again.

apple: Nov 15.. But on 25th Oct, i got my guo da li... sigh...

chrisstan: i ve also enrolled for Mrs Wong Sat 2pm classes le.. but mine only starts in nov 28...

Christine: I think i will arrange one in Nov at east side but after your wedding. For Oct, i can't join for Chongqing steamboat, cos scare i can't take it. Certain smell i can take it but to some smell i still cannot tahan.

Your GDL stuffs settle, need any advise? You book your cakes and items needed?

Christine: If sat, my HB working and he is not able to join, only sunday he can join, that why i booked sunday. I booked 2 weeks ago but yet to make payment as the classes started on end Nov.

apple: icic... i also very particular to smell nowadays...

my GDL item list was only out last nite... i haben go buy yet... i guess the only advise i'm currently asking ard is the amt to give my mum for the pin jin... got range onote ar?

christine,apple,

i saw the schedule for Mrs Wong classes ard end-Nov.

But it ends ard Dec. I didnt sign up for it,cos thought i might be too huge to "waddle" ard... :D

So, i sign up earlier classes...but not Mrs Wong classes though.

apple: ic... i made payment last fri when i made the booking le.. so now, is really one item after another...

GDL -> wedding -> prenatal course -> buy baby stuff & confinement thingy -> give birth -> confinement -> baby shower -> honeymoon...

Christine: Which dialect are you in? Did your mum say about pin jin? Normally is girl side mum requesting for the range of amount.

christine,

that depends on ur mum.

if ur mum didnt say an amount, then it depends on ur hb to give.

Usually, put in extra $$ w the stated amt in angbao.

She will return u the extra $$ in that angbao.

Chrisstan: Oic.

Christine: At least you settle one thing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tira: So envy you can rest.. I must wait i off work.

apple: my mum is hainanese... wah.. put in the amt she state? She that time mentioned 8k - 10k wor! How to give...

I tell her upfront, cannot give la... Then she tell mi, then i see how much i can give, then i give lor.. tat's y i now stress la...

Christine: If your mum say up to guy side decide, then your HB have to decide how much to give is acceptable. Like for my case, my mum say let them decide the amount as their xin yi, as i'm not selling my daugther. Normally, after giving pin jin, the bride side need to return certain amount back to guy side.

Wah! $8K-$10K!!! That's alot of money to ask! @.@

My mum says any amt too - the hb side to decide.

So, i dun know how much they put in too? i also dun know how much my mum takes.

Maybe if too big amt, write a cheque.

Eg. Put $2K cheque + $1K cash in angbao. Ur mum will take out the cheque & return the $1K cash.

Christine: I think you better discuss with your HB on this Pin Jin, see how much he can give. By the way, did your HB side give any tables to bride side?

apple, chrisstan: oh.. my dad is hokkien.. ya.. i know on the rules tat some amt will be returned... i told my hb.. then we are thinking of 2688... but hor... i dunno if it's too little onot... so i'm asking ard to see how much on norm ppl give lor...

ytd, i ask my parents can use IB to trf the first 4 digit (eg. 2k as an example) and the remaining 3 digit (eg. $688) use cash.. then my parents reaction very big wor...

so i ask, cheque can onot.. my parents dun seems to agree wor... sob sob

then by the way hor.. pin jin is hb's parent give de or my hb give de ar?

nope. we change banquet to buffet style le.. so no give tables wor... hmmm... or i tell my mum tat hb will sponsor the buffet over my side?

christine : pin jin is frm ur hubby's parents.. nowadays.. most bride's mom are more liberal when talking abt all the pin jin & gifts.. depending on how wealthy the groom side is..

for me, I'm a cantonese & hb is a hokkein..

for cantonese, my mom request for :

- roast pig

- 4 types of dried seafood delicacy

- 2 chicken

- 2 bottles of liqor

- 28 oranges

- pin jin (up to groom to decide)

but of most of the above items are represent by ang baos to save the hassle... except liqor and oranges..

if I remember correctly.. my hubby gave 1888 for pin jin.. but all the ang baos tat was given to my mom.. she keep abt 70% of the amount and return the balance to my hubby.

Besides these.. my mom also prepared ang baos as representation for the following for my hubby ( request by them) :

- groom's pants & land

- father in law's shoes

- mother in law's skirt

- grandmother in law's skirt

- 2 bottles soft drinks

hope tis helps..

Christine,

$$ most probably from ur hb. Dun think his parents want to come out w money.

For us, we forked out $$ for our wedding...everything.

Eg. both side lunch buffet for Chinese tea ceremony...Guo Da Li cakes...etc.

We liked our parents to keep their own money for their own retirement mah. Being "xiao shun"! :D

whoofy: hmmm... my mum only gives mi the following:

- pin jin

- 20 boxes of wedding cakes

- 2 bottles of liqor

- liang diao zuan (instead of 4 gold, i take 2 diamond)

- another package of amt for helping mi to change diaper all these (which in chinese is call 'wash shit urine')

then my MIL requested nth, so after some researching, we came up with the following items:

- da yuan xiao yuan

- cao tou

- bedside lamp

- bathing tub

- 2 bottles of oranges

but whoofy, tat time u got give tables wor.. i dun ve leh...

chrisstan: hmmm... is it very rude to get hb to ask his parents to jus cfm tat pin jin is actually paid by my hb?

Christine,

Dun think it's rude lah. Their son mah...Say dun know the wedd regulation loh...

Just that, U dun be around when ur hb ask his parents abt pin jin...hide in room.

it's always a sensitive issue when comes to $$.

christine..

yes.. my hubby got give tables lah.. but also in terms of cash.. all the ang baos during the banquet we keep..

think reali depends on how wealthy ur hubby & in laws are (dun mind me saying).... and usually as parents.. they will more or less help out abit financially in the wedding.. for you, think must reali discuss tactfully with both sides parents.. such issues can be very touchy at time..

whoofy: hmmmm.. ya... i know... i went thru once with my mum... okie... will see how... but frankly speaking, is 2688 a bit too low? how come they dun ve a market rate for pin jin de.. sigh...

Oh my god. i have been reading this pin jin business. i must go tell my hb. he didn't give a cent! hahaaha, he got a lucky escape!