(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

Rer rer: thanks for the infor link

Jaclee: heard from frens Cherie hearts not bad

mommies, i'm bringing my boy for his first overseas trip (to brisbane) end apr/early may.. any idea howz the weather like? wat kinda clothing shld i prepare for my boy? wat else shld i prepare for the trip?

also thinking of bringing my boy for his 1st MMR jab this wkend.. by end apr/early may shld recover from any side effects le right?

my sis was telling me tt kids will most likely fall sick during their first overseas trip.. issit true?

cayenne: End Apr/Early May is mid-autumn so it may get a bit chilly in the morning and evening. But Queensland being the sunshine state is the hottest state in AU and hence temp during that period should not be anything below 15 degrees. But bring a few jackets just in case. Brisbane is a great place for kids. Don't miss the coasts, especially Sunshine Coast!!

Lollipop, ya think a lot of mummies busy researching childcare

Any mummies bb can talk already? Mine still only a few words leh,mostly still babble!. He says daddy very accurate, po po also not bad but can't say mummy!!

gg, i m oso waiting for my boy to call 'mummy'! sometimes, i wonder if he knows i m his mummy.

and yes! 'papa' is very clear.
well, @ least ur bb oredi knows a few words, think 'papa' is the oni word my bb knows...
sob, sob...
now, other than 'mummy', i m oso trying to get him to learn names of his body parts.

Hmmm my little cheeky gal knows quite a lot of things n words
I'm quite surprise. She knows body part like eyes mouth n tongue the rest still unsure n she's hyper active in the afternoon doesn't wanna zzz. But lucky in the night she's tired by about9pm phew

lollipop, i always envy parents with babies who go to bed early.
my boy is the nocturnal type.
his normal bedtime is ard 11+pm. sigh...
but guess it runs in the family, coz my #1 & #2 r oso like tt.
well, guess our schedules & caregiving arrangements have caused this...

Mine knows only a few like hands, toes, heads etc and popo and daddy and mum mum. But I see some pple their bb can recognize words already. Must teach I guess but ftwm very hard lor.

thanks dolly.. hehe.. thinking of going goldcoast.. to movie world.. haha.. so must bring all long sleeves + long pants + jacket + cover toed shoes for the boy? shucks.. i think i need to go buy liaoz.. most of my boy's clothes are short sleeves or sleeveless + berms suitable for spore weather... :x

or can any mommy lend me their boy's thicker clothings?

morn..

oh my boy can speak afew words now...
he can call of us and name a few of his usual toys. points to some of his body parts too

this morn showed him a photobook that I make based on his bday... he blurt out "ZA-Den" when he saw himself! hahah

really fun to hear him babble now!
dun worry.. ur kids will start to babble soon!

Ling Lee : My boy sleeps about that time too, sometimes after midnight!

GG : Mine still can't talk. Only know the word "car" whenever he sees one. But he does understand and point to the objects eg, if we mention fan, clock, dog, fish, monkey etc.

my boy can say bird and ball.
he loves bird and dogs. he likes to watch birds flying past from our windows. when he sees dog, he will scream and wana run towards the dog.haha

he can also say mama, papa and ah ma but not to the correct person.
he can also understand and points to objects such as clock, hanger, banana, avocado, chair, head

cayenne: you can get from Old Navy/Gap online? Now should still have those winter clearance. You can stock up now! Can be very cheap u know!;)

mtdt: so cute
wah lau u best, with all the things you do, you still can do photobook! Super mummy!!!

My boy can only say a few words leh but unclear. I have been googling a lot on autism signs and it is freaking me out, i hope unnecessary worries. :p

cala,
i think it's normal for our babies to say only a few words now right?
dun be worried!
how old kayla when she start to talk?

yunzz: Kayla is too fast i think wahahahha, so cannot compare. She called Daddy at 8 months and at 15 months, close to 50 words :p

gg,
I tot thats very fast for our BBs to recognise words? My boy can only recognise objects and tell him what it is.

My boy talks alot!!!! I'm still wondering who he takes after. both HB and I not very talkative leh hahaha..... And he speak hokkien too... hahaha....

cala,
I've neighbours whose BBs are almost 20 mos but still cant talk leh.... I thk it's quite normal... just like you mentioned before some just take longer to talk ya

thanks dolly.. if i get now, u think can receive in time? i need to start shopping now!! haha...

oh yah, when u travel with noah, do u request PD for air-sickness medication or something? I worried Ash may not get used to the air pressure and making fuss on plane...

my boy's vocab oso very limited.. he usually expressed himself through pointing around..

yunzz: no lah! Now her peers all same as her. Just she started talking young. Girl lah, more talkative. My caregiver (who is my mom) talk talk talk talk to her non-stop hahahaha

cayenne: can, think order now perhaps get in 3 weeks? I only requested for the common ailment meds like cough, running nose, para, bufren, iliadin, and the lao sai ones. What works for my kids is when the plane is halfway through take-off and landing, feed them milk. That will take the pressure off their ears.

snowpear: yah...hehe. Because this child is a boy boy, i tend to be more gan jiong. Cos autism happens 4 x more in boys. In US 1 in 70 boys are autistic, scary stats. But i guess i am just a worry wart keke.

Thanks Canopy & Fitti for your information abt subsidy!

calamari: i also abit worried abt autism too. i read that the symptoms will show when the child is abt 18mths. my boss has a son with autism, very smart child but couldnt talk up till 3 years old.

cleo: yah me too. I have friends around me whose kids are either autistic or dyslexic. Many cases. So got me intrigued into reading more into it. My nephew is also dyslexic so I am a bit more aware. I guess nothing wrong with that, but just have to intervene when young once diagnosed and go for the right therapies. Most are high functioning kids who are very smart but just need to function well socially.

ling lee: my boy is nocturnal oso, but can't blame him cos we all slp so late too. He refused to slp 1st. Gd days 10 plus 11, bad days....12 plus to 1am!

abt talking
my mil jus comment y I never teach my boy 123.....said her nephew's one who is 2 weeks younger than my bb knows how to ans 10 when they count to 9. Kinda pissed! I got teach him what but he doesnt reply wat to do.He knows how to say papa,ah ma, mama, yeye, bus n ball , the rest he can recognise n point to it when we mentioned. I tink my mil is blaming me for not teaching him enuff since I m not working.

Re : abt bb talking

Woh mummies, it seems all yr bb so smart & can speak quite alot of words liao.

firipy : yr bb gd liao.

My bb only knows how to say "papa", "mama" (once awhile), "head", "mum mum", "nana" (short form for banana), "app" (short form for apple) & lots of other bb words....;p

rer rer:dont get pissed off thats the problem with ppl like2 compare n compare if not is complain haizzz
anyone wanna go john little expo sales together?
wow kayla is super 50words ? mine about30words i think
Ling lee: all kids r different my the other elder one is night owl
every weekend only goes 2 bed after i exploded haaa around near 1am oh my god they r hooked on DS games n iphone smurfs....gotta faint liao
recently jus created a facebook account for my eldest as she kept pestering
can u imagine??? P1
IT advance now
think i P1 time still gonggong one

Mstan, ur girl is very gd leh, at least those that she can say is a variety. My boy kept repeat words starts with b sound. Sometimes dunno we dunno bus or ball.... Lollipop, since born ald compare, fr height, size, skin colour, hair to their poop! My mil can ask me if my boy needs to see doc cos he poop at least 4-5 times when he was less than a mth old. The other bb only poop once every other day. My boy was on breastmilk while the other fully on fm. I so angry I told her that bb then got prob only few days old shit so little!

Lollipop, my boy will snatch my iPhone fr me make noise to play him Thomas clips or play with talking Carl or Tom cat. When Is jl sale?

anyone has the massage lady Mdm Rokiah's contact number?
I'm trying to look for a good massage lady.

Thanks in advanced!

firipy : my bb also poo alot when she was on bm in her initial mths wat.
I thought those bb who dun poo everyday is not too gd....heee....;p....remember pple said adults who poo everyday is gd so I find as long as bb poo once or twice a day is gd....;p

Re : bb talking

My godbrother's son speaks very late at ard 3yrs that the doc also worry so ask his parents to see a speech specialist but his mum dun wat.
Now that he is bigger, he can speaks as normal.
So she ask me dun worry too much....;p

firipy : oh, my bb also loves her daddy's iphone but prefer to listen to the music/children songs on it rather than play games/talking cat....;p

Seems like all out bbs love I phones just like we do!! My boy keeps snatching ours and will just anyhow press or slide pics.

Wow some of ur bbs know so many words already!!

Fripy, can understand. My mil loves to comment and compare too, weight la height la, social skill, shyness, diet, ability to talk la everything compare. I get cheesed off too. But after a while I start to ignore already...one ear in one ear out...just pr pr lor...

Gg, I wasnt angry or Wat but dunno y I suddenly got upset when I got hm. Its one of those days where i so wanna go bk to wk to have me time.... That bb progress quite slow, 14 mths plus havnt crawl, only start to stand n cruise nw. Maybe that's 1 of the minimal things she can do so mil bring it up. That bb's grandma who is my hb aunt always ask us if Ayden can do this or that or wat or nt every wk we see her..... Sometimes I get sarcastic n say he very gong one only know hw to point this n that

Hey, I do dat too! Sometimes I will just say yalor dunno y he so slow wat to do?! Think they get wat we driving at. My boy start walking only late part of 14 mths also but his cousin 3 mths younger can walk le. So they will keep telling u so and so can walk le, talk le, wah eat this and that le, got so many teeth le...endless one la. I can already imagine next time go school worse!!

mummies: I've more or less decided to quit my teaching job to stay at home. I've thought about it for a looooooong time and after several talks with hubby, decided to just do it. Tons of worries in my head but I think I will be very happy staying at home with my kids. No income, no allowance, no maid, no me-time (yet) and we actually will need to move from a private property to a bigger flat to prepare for the kids' future educational needs.

I've thought long and hard, and making this decision was so hard!

PLEASE WISH ME LUCK! =)

Fitti, good luck! Making the decision to quit is never easy. If you are ok with making some sacrifices in lifestyle, and lesser savings, should be ok. For me, I definitely have no regrets putting my career on hold for the last 2 years. But not all mummies enjoy being full time at home, some SAHMs I know enjoy it a lot. Another one, ended up scolding her son so often after she quit her job that she went back to working life after just 6 months. But if you never try, you never know if you like being a SAHM, so jia you!

Fitti, glad u found the courage to take a bold step for sake of your kids!! I thot of it too but somehow hubby ande concluded I won't make it as a sahm so still need to work. U will b able to give full devotion to develop your kids!! All the best!!

Yup fitti,

All the best! I also feel like being a SAHM but hubby think tat financially won't b able to make it. And I think after sometime I will b so bored.

Yesterday I listed down our household expenditure and had a shock when I realised that it is so high! We made another list canceling out the costs that we will "save" if I stay at home and the expenditure is still high. So glad hubby reassured me that with some lifestyle changes, we can make it. =) Downgrading is not a problem. Maybe slowly I can start teaching art again to small groups from a room in the next home. Maybe I can also finally fulfill my dream of oil painting everyday! When DD goes to school that is.

Wa, suddenly, I feel very hopeful about staying at home! HAHA!

Thank you mummies, for your kind words.

fitti - wow, i am envious of ur plan! tat really sounds great!
and yes, u can always set up a home based art class. currently my no1 goes to a home based art class and i think it wld be a great flexible work for u in the long run!

all the best!

Fitti: Follow your heart and you will be rewarded in more ways than you can imagine!!! Having been a SAHM mum for 14mths, I can say that it is definitely an experience that you will treasure and one that money can never buy. Enjoy every moment ;)

Re : teeth
She already hv quite a no of teeth now (abt 8 or more teeth)
She likes to bite quite some time back & I saw 1 molar below already out some time back. Didnt check her top molar....;p

Re : food/milk
My bb still drink abt 660ml FM/day with 3 main meals/solids. Usually porridge for lunch & dinner abt 150-180ml each time.
Is solids enough/too little for her age ?

Re : weight
My bb is usually only within 20-30 percentile weight as both her parents are skinny....so she only weigh abt 8.9kg....;p
Think she might be the smallest & skinnest bb here.....;p

i agree tt gals r definitely faster when it comes to the linguistic development & boys r usually better in the development of their motor skills.

my gal was able to speak in short sentences when she was 18 mths.
& her vocab bank was definitely richer than her 2 younger brothers @ 12 mths of age.
she was able to recite a few paragraphs of "三字经" by 2 years.

but now, looking @ my #3, juz hoping tt he'll know i m "mummy". sigh...
haha...
sometimes, i wonder if he knows his names.
i oso wonder @ times if he's a bit anti-social. :p
but guess like wat my hubby says, when the time comes, he'll b able to do wat he needs to do.

fitti, all the best! 加油!

sometimes, i wish i can spend more time with my kids, but work schedule is really hectic.

but like gg & genesis, i dun think i can make it as a sahm. :p
think i'll fare worse as a sahm than as a ftwm.
hmm... my maternal instinct is simply very weak.
haha...
think my hubby will fare better as a penguin dad, shld the day come when my family can go single-income.

Rer rer: ya agree mil everything also wanna compare now worse is that even my sil wanna kaypo kaypo in our family stuff... Really pissed off to see her. Always saying negative words /comments etc as though she's so experience in childcare but the problem is she dnt have children yet n wanna interfere in others things...
Fitti: u can make it
dnt worry too much things will work out eventually I used2b a ftwm but after my 3rd child I bcum sahm only difference is to cut down on spending

As my eldest is P1 n her hmwrk is quite a lot so staying at hm to teach n coach her is gd

But hope to go back to work when my youngest is bigger