(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

GG Lee read from site

There is no evidence that the MMR vaccine causes autism. A study in 1998 by Dr Andrew Wakefield suggested there may have been a link between the MMR vaccine and two conditions, autism and inflammatory bowel disease. The study was flawed and has since been discredited. Many extensive studies since have proven that there is no link between the MMR vaccine and autism and inflammatory bowel disease (Gerber et al 2009, NHS nd).

There has also been an independent review commissioned by the World Health Organisation and carried out by the Global Advisory Committee on Vaccine Safety. This review concluded that there was no evidence that the MMR causes either autism or autistic disorders (WHO/GACVS 2004).

Jialat. I can't find my daughter's health booklet. Hope I did not miss the MMR!

calamari: Yup, go Down Under is probably the safest (except near the coasts I guess). We actually booked a Hokkaido trip for June but now we are changing it to Sydney/Melb instead. If we go to Perth again must try the farmstay you mentioned because while Sunflower farm is really nice and laidback, the cottage was quite rundown.

today marks the end of my confinement! yippee..

i'm not sterilising my girl's bottle already, but still using pigeon cleanser. I also experience yellowish water in the steriliser, but thats only when i didn't clear the water after i sterilise. I notice yellow stain at the base of the steriliser also. If I use lemon to cleanse it, then it will be gone.

By the way, if we register for the childcare/playgroup, the intake is in Jan 2012 is it? I'm very new to this.

jaclee: wow time flies. Hope u are having fun with the 2 princesses

If you register for playgroup now, intake is in 2012. But for the school I am registering my boy, I have asked for intake to be in July 2012 as he will be too young for Jan 2012 class.

Calamari, ya times flies.
another qn, playgroup starts from 18 mths right? So our bb are too young for Jan 2012 intake is it? Or the 18 mths is for another kind of childcare?

jaclee: yes i think playgroup starts from 18 months, so Jan 2012 should be ok. For my case, its sending to preschool Pre-nursery, and its meant for 3 years old, so I am starting him at 30 months (July 2012 intake).

hello mommies,
i'm thinking of placing my twins to the playgroup but Dec babies they just reach the age of 2 yrs old. So I'm confuse to send them to playgroup or pre-nursery at age of 3yrs (2012)

Has any mommies venture out giving your babies/toddler spegetti or soupy soft rice instead of porridge.

Juliana: you can cook macaroni or udon (cut up) to let ur baby try. My daughter eats mostly everything incl macdees french fries n hotcakes. She seems to be sick of porridge.

mrstan: hi the fever after mmr will surface4days later , my princess also v cranky since the jab n i m wondering when will it go ago as she refuses nap n food noticed she love bread v v much now

lollipop : fever only surface 4days after mmrv ? Then I hv to watch out this Fri & onwards liao....;p
Oh, my bb all along likes to eat bread....;p

Juliana : I already started giving my bb a little rice. She likes to come over to my side whenever I eat dinner (althou she already had her dinner earlier liao), so I juz gv her a tiny bit of plain rice each time & she likes it.
Oh, I also tried giving her pasta once - those food pack wan thou....;p

Re : bb class
I was thinking of sending my bb for educational wkend classes like shisida, igenius etc.
Still deciding which to go leh.
I already register for shisida wkend class but was told they do not hv wkend class for next semester (Apr-Jun)....they still trying if they can set up 1 on Sun but still cant confirm yet...

Mummies, any suggestions for other gd class to attend ?

I feed my boy 2 meals rice already. And he prefers them slightly dry like adults and not those soaked in soup type. Also tried pasta but he dont really like. He loves hotcakes, and jolly bean cheese pancakes, jap custard buns etc. Oh and he loves to pinch our noodles when we eat. Ice cream, yakult he also loves!

Morning Mummies/daddies.

Guess I know why some of our bbs are cranky le.. think not b'cos of the jab.. think the 'big' teeth is sprouting.. that's why loss of appetite and very very cranky..

Just monitor and observe ya.. cos mine think is sprouting le.. can feel.. hope will end soon...

Ms Tan: My girl was in Julia Gabriel Evans branch since she was 18 months for about 1 year before she switch to half day preschool. My boy is still on the wait list for July intake at the same school when he turns 18 months old. Wait until old :p

I called up a few centres for next January intake but all full house. Sigh. I wonder how early should we register in order to get a place...

cala,
your preschool allows u to join in the middle of the year in July 12? that means they have to keep the space vacant for u from jan-jun 12

calamari: Yah, I thought I was being kiasu to call up now but all full-house already. Left the more expensive ones =(. Tmr between 10-12, I am going to see 3 pre-schools! *headache*

yunzz: yes, thats right. Like now in my daughter's class, there are some classmates who has not joined the class yet till July cos they are born year end.

fitti: never mind, surely have one. Some parents put their kids temporarily in 1 sch, then when there are vacancies in the sch they want, they will transfer.

cala,
oic. that's nice of the school.
i am also worried that my boy will be bullied by the older kids in the class as he will be the youngest.
if i din remember wrongly, u r sending your kids to pat's right? Any reason as to why u chose pat's over chiltern house since your kids were with Julia gabriel?

Canopy,
wic etonhouse u enrolled your child in?
i went to visit etonhouse newton yesterday.
the school bus fees are crazy! about 700+ a month for both ways!
the teachers there seem good but classrooms and a little cramped and place is abit old and not well kept.

yunzz: its normally a natural progression to go on to Chiltern House or Eton from JG. Eton House Grange Road is the international one and costs a lot more i think. As for my choice, mainly is due to distance. I am staying at Clementi and the nearest Chiltern is at Turf Club which is too far for the kids to travel IMO. Will be too tired for them to travel such a long way if they take school bus. Pat's is just 3 bus stops away from my place and my mom fetches my girl from school everyday so its easier
School fees-wise, Pat's and Chiltern are more or less the same.

ic. thanks cala.
coz i am considering CH. gathering feedback on the school. anyone has any feedback on CH?

yunzz : I have put kiren on wait list in Etonhouse Vanda Branch. The one opposite Hwa Chong & next to Nanyang Girls. It is a landed house but quite small to consider as a bungalow.
Agree with cala that distance is one of the consideration, this Etonhouse is 5mins drive from my place, and enroute to work for me; hence i can drop him off every morning.
I called up last week, the wait list # is 12.
Hey, i thought u have wait list in Pats schoolhouse @ halifax liao.

yunzz : agree with the high fee for schoolbus, it is charged according to the distance. mine is abt 400+ for 1 way! But no taking it cos, 1) save $, 2) kiren is too young for schoolbus, 3) hubby can fetch him anytime. He will be fetching him after school; and i sending him to school. =)

Canopy,
the waiting list at pats halifax is too long. i tink my chances are very low.
so better look for alternatives.
oh u r on waitlist at eton vanda. eton newton still has vacancies.
good for u tat hubby can pick him up anytime!

yunzz: oic, told u that Pats halifax was my 1st choice but the person who answered my call told me don't bother as the wait list is till 2013. Hence, selected Etonhouse @ Vanda. The newton branch is about out of way for me when i go to work ever morning. And Vanda is so near our place. Yup, really blessed that hubby can do it.
By the way, you need to pay 535 to be put on wait list, and the registration fee is 1300 i think. But since there's slot in Newton, u can save on the 535. Per term (10wks) is 4173 before govt subsidy.

wah! i thought registration fee is 535. why registration fee needs 1300?!
i dun think their charges are justified.
i tink i will go for CH.

any feedback on cherie hearts, or pcf? coz these are near to my place.
may also be considering pat's as its on my way to work. calamari, any idea what are the charges? may i know govt subsidy is how much or where to check the subsidy?

oh ya, i intend to put my girl there for half day only. just to check, all the playgroup starts at 7am?

Hi yunzz

Sorry, my mistake. You're right, 535 is the registration fee. 1300 is the deposit if you're allocated a slot.

Pre-Nursery 1: Annual School Fees
10-weeks School Term (18 months old - 3 years old)
(Fees payable when student starts school)
School Fee S$3,900.00
GST 7% S$273.00
Total S$4,173.00

Fees Applicable on Enrolment
(18 months old - 3 years old)

Registration fee (non-refundable and includes GST) S$535.00
Student insurance per annum S$3.21
Deposit (refundable upon 8- week term time notice) S$1,300
Total Fees upon Enrolment S$1,838.21

Nursery 1 to Kindergarten 2: Annual School Fees

10-weeks School Term (3 years old - 6 years old)
(Fees payable when student starts school)

School Fee S$3,600.00
GST 7% S$252.00
Total S$3,852.00

Jaclee : you can use the following link to look for a childcare near your place. It will list out all the fees involved.

http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/CCLS_Home.jsp

Reg Cherie Hearts : read that they have defaulted paying loans. Not too sure whether it will affect the outlets.

i also intend to put my boy for half day only, would prefer him to bath and nap at home.
any advantages to put baby for full day?

yunzz : i think diff branch charges differently leh.

Here's the fee for the newton branch.
Pre-Nursery: Annual School Fees
Full Day Programme S$18,618.00
Half Day Programme S$14,766.00

Nursery One to Kindergarten Two: Annual School Fees
Full Day Programme S$17,334.00
Half Day Programme S$14,124.00

Other Programme options are available on request. All fees include GST and meals (lunch and snacks).

Half day session 9.00 am - 12.30 pm
Full day session 9.00 am - 3.30 pm

The school is open from 7.00 am until 7.00 pm from Mondays to Fridays
School opens from 8.30 am to 1 pm on Saturdays.

Fees Applicable on Enrolment
Registration fee (non-refundable and includes GST) S$535.00
Student insurance per annum S$3.21
Deposit (refundable upon 8-week term time notice)
Pre-Nursery
Nursery 1 to Kindergarden 2
S$1,450.00
S$1,350.00
Total Fees upon Enrolment (not including school fees)
Pre-Nursery
Nursery 1 to Kindergarden 2

S$1,988.21
S$1,888.21

canopy,
these fees exclude subsidy right?
subsidy for working mum is $300/mth if i am not wrong.

jaclee, yunzz: Upon registration for Pat's, a cheque of registration fee + deposit + 1st month monthly programme fee + insurance is to be given to the school.

Preschool Programme Fees:

<u>Extended Full Day (7am to 7pm)</u>
Registration - $321
Deposit - $1,300
Monthly Programme Fee - $1,391
Insurance - $3.75

<u>Full Day (7am to 5.30pm)</u>
Registration - $321
Deposit - $1,200
Monthly Programme Fee - $1,284
Insurance - $3.75

<u>Extended Half Day (7am to 3pm)</u>
Registration - $321
Deposit - $1,100
Monthly Programme Fee - $1,177
Insurance - $3.75

<u>Half Day (AM)</u>
Registration - $321
Deposit - $900
Monthly Programme Fee - $963
Insurance - $3.75

<u>Half Day (PM)</u>
Registration - $321
Deposit - $770
Monthly Programme Fee - $900
Insurance - $3.75

yunzz: Half day
I also prefer him to bathe and nap at home and have play time with his sister.

jaclee: $300 subsidy for full day $150 for half day from govt.

wow, the fees really not cheap ya. good to plan and look around early. can i ask, working fulltime, is there a minimum amt u must earn a mth? cos i work at a non-profit organisation full time but the pay not alot.

jaclee, I am looking at sending my boy to nursery sch nearby, only PCF or my first skool. I tried calling them earlier tdy but no ans....My plc is very populated with young couples n kids, heard fr my neighbour that mite need balloting for PCF. I am not very keen in sending him on sch bus etc cos now that I havn't get a job yet very shiong. registration for PCF is ard april to may. If the kid is eldest n parents non grassroot leader, we can only wait in May to register them for next yr. Cherie hearts is very ex leh.

fitti, my boy is taking soupy rice/mee sua/bee hoon nowadays, he spit out his "baby porridge". I gave up cooking specially for him, just give him watever we eat ald. Like soup b4 we add salt, I scoop the soup aside for him.

Wah, so long Nv post then see all the schools.. Like so stress hor... Haiz..
I only done light research n check on the waiting list for some, like very long lor.. Faintz..

Rer rer : where r u staying? Serious? Pcf also need balloting?
For me convinient is the most important factor

I also don wan my toddler 2take school bus as still v young
For pcf mostly is afternoon session morning all taken up fast
Actually I m thinking of putting my gal to childcare but as I m a stay at home mum so not much subsidy

Calamari, canopyhaze: thanks for the rates and info! Very expensive indeed. Think I am going to stop at 2 Liao.. Haha..
Rer, only pcf no need to take school bus for me, the rest are not walking distance. I didn't know pcf so popular, u have the rates? Coz I haven't called up yet. How abt little tots? My nieces used to go there. Now one of them is at pcf. And hor, now then I know pcf is pap community foundation. :p I wonder if parents are in pap kindergarten before, got affiliation or not? Haha....
Think have second thoughts abt Cherie heart now..

Lollipop baby: I am only shortlisting half day programmes especially those 3-4 hrs. I am quite prepared to stay at home next June so not considering childcare. Jan- June, no choice, baby needs to take school bus to nanny's place. I am abit worried actually.

Jaclee, will b putting my boy PCF childcare Tat's closer to my home. Nw he's at the IFC the standard still not bad so he'll auto upgrade to next door the CC