(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

Sandy, it's alrht. No worries.

Canopy, oh no! Wat pd said? Fever 40 degree is no joke leh. Alot of hfmd since may. Think sg declare It as epi nw? U take care too. Adult will b more jialat if kena..

jenny : boss is outstation for 2wks, and i'm covering for her and my colleague who is on maternity leave till sept, so a bit tight. and i've applied for childcare leave next monday afternoon and whole of tuesday when my boss is back next monday. Didn't want to go to KK as very slow. Was waiting for my PD @ TMC to open this morning. Anyone can recommend me where to go when emergency beside KK?

Canopy, ya, recently I was also thinking PD clinic is a high risk place. Lots of sick bbs there lor, and u never know if someone there got HFM, and they put bbs on the same bed when they adminster checks, jabs, weight them etc..all sorts of germs lurking..even on the PD who touches all bbs! Must be stressful for u, pls take care, adults can catch it too if immune is low..

Thanks Ainsley! Now @ my desk drinking Gingseng Water. Hope not to feel too heaty after late nite! Thought can attend the gathering @ Carol's since the date has been changed from 12th to 19th. Now can't go liao. Oso gotta to cancel our hotel stay @ Ritz Carlton this weekend cos suppose to celebrate my birthday there..... now my birthday wish is for my bb to get well soon.

Thanks GG! I thought so too. Like today when we were @ the PD, one boy has a lot of bristles on his hands, and he was playing with the toys there with other babies!!!!

Canopy, went to google and read that usually should recover in a week's time. Dun worry too much, and make sure bb is hydrated. Next time we bring bb to clinic must not let them touch things, and wipe them clean once they are back. Esp now they keep putting everything (esp their hands) into their mouths and are salivating all the time.

http://www.hpb.gov.sg/health_articles/hfmd/

Happy birthday to u in advance!

antihistamine !!! i tot children cannot take antihistamine ?? but eh the zyrtex my pd give i think its allergy for flu.. so consider antihistamine ... my medicine tat time is cough and phlegm.. dun remember the name.

Canopyhaze.. my pd say, if emergency, i can go tmc or mt alvernia the A&E clinic for the doctor to access 1st. If really need to get PD, he will come down but its $150 for my PD to come down... eeeks. But kk is really very rough with babies.

canopyhaze... think alicia is the best person to ans you le.. cos her bb just recovered

You also need to take care ya.. cos you may have got it le.. just you don't know cos there is the .... period..

ainsley.. hehehe... hope you like it..

btw.. happy birthday in advance ya.. canopyhaze..

Canopy, heard dat Mt A is good. So far reviews on KK like quite jialat, but then think it is the most well equipped bb hospital..other hospitals always refer the most complex cases to kk..

U can consider Raffles Hospital also. One thing for sure, their service is one of the most prompt and quick.

ivy, huh.. Then i cont to let her take the med ant. the med is fr pd, not gp leh. shd b ok?

LUWEN!! wat med did cecilia gave reyes ah? the brown brown one? Diphenhydramine? Then flu is the orange one?

josephine did u give anything new to ur bb?

ivy my doc oso give zytec leh... for his flu.

canopy boost ur own health take more vit c and rest as much. coz if u oso sick then hard to take care of bb.

canopy: i also dun like KKH. You can go to TMC for emergency. Call the PD down for additional $200 if its an emergency. If not, similar to Mt A, Mt E, RH, its only the GP who will be seeing the bb. KKH is the only hospital with emergency PD always around 24x7.

thanks mushloom! Yalor, can't be sick as no one is available to take care of him for the next few days as MIL, aunties will be going to genting for Fei yu Qing's concert; and will only be back on monday's nite! And hubby has work assignments & meetings on monday & tuesday hence i need to take leave next week to do my mommy's duty!

Antihistamine is mainly for flu & ezcema to reduce itchyness and make you drowsy! BBs are not suppose to take it!

Lynn, is the lunch on 14th confirmed? Wan to exchange hp number as I am afraid I might not be able to come in frequently ….very busy at work 

mushloom, zrytex doesnt work for my girl at all, quite hopeless.

Ainsley, if pd give shld be safe bah.

This friday terence going to watch worldcup opening at colleague house, im alone with bb... now thinking whether to let her sleep on bed with me hehehe, but wait she roll off bed...

canopyhaze : take care. Let your baby drink water now and then also can help bring down temp... Advance Happy Bday! : ) My elder boy also down with flu while me and my mum down with throat infecttion till now no voice le....

Hi Mummies/Daddies,

Thanks Ainsley for informing me via facebook about the event postponed to 19th June. Noted.

Carol, get well soon!! Looking forward to the gathering and to let Baby Faith know more friends.

Baby Faith can recognise people already, otherwise i cannot explain why she will cry with the fortnightly visits to my Mum's place. She look around every corner of the house and i suspect she can sense the difference in environment/ places. She takes around 3-4 hours before warming up to my parents, where she will smile/laugh when looking them in the face.
Her usual reaction to unfamilarity is, stay silent (the 'no-smile-moody' mode) and becomes very observant.
Even when last night, we put her in the Baby Bjorn carrier and walk around at home to test and try, she also stayed silent, kept looking around.
That's why me and hubby making it a point to take Baby Faith out during weekends to expose her to more people and can increase interaction.

hi Canopyhaze: Take care of baby and yourself too.. We understand your pain, but be strong! Will keep your baby in prayers!

Haf a great weekend mummies/daddies!

1xmummy

Oh no canopy take care of yourself n drink lots lots water n eat fruits to boost immunity so u have the energy to take care of bb! Happy birthday in advance.

canopy - aiyo.. why so suay! Hope baby recover fast fast.

Ya, usu when i visit PD/GP - I will wait outside of the clinic. dun like to stay inside with all the sick kids :p

BTW u gals bought any Insurance plan for kids? Esp for Accidents... I bought a plan for my No1 kid and the plan covers HFMD etc. Can claim all reciepts from GP/PD/TMC/A&E etc. dun need to stay hospital also can claim.

I feel it's really gd. Esp like wat everyone says.. go MT A A&E, then call PD can cost $200 etc.

I bought for no1... i can claim all kinds of falls/bites/diahorrea etc. I even claim for dentist for my no1 (as he fell and hurt the tooth). SO I feel it's really gd. Per year is ard SGD150 nia. CHEAP!

MTDT,
which insurance company did u sign up, what is the policy name and monthly premium?
I wanted to sign up one before but premium is too high.

mtdt : yalor, damn suai, thought we are very carefully liao. I've bought insurance for bb from AIA, anyway my company will pay for everything.

AKK - It's AIA plan. but cant rem the name of the plan now. I rem it's annual premium of $150+. It's pure accident renewal every year... so based on receipt nia. U hv any AIA agent fren? can ask them... or I can intro u my agent friend.

Expensive kind - is it those life/education insurance?

and of cos, do upgrade the kids medishield to cover from 1st dollar onwards for all hospital. U know for kids... we sure go for the best of the best... when my boy had hernia, i straight away whiz him to a specialist at Glen E and stay ward A for it. (I know kua zhang lah :p)

If it's some medical condition for myself.. most likely i go polyclinic get referral and wait for appt to govt hospital! :p

Canopyhaze - ooh.. best if company covers then

My company only covers panel of GP... but i still prefer to go PD.

I rem the AIA plan - TMC also can cover.
When my boy was down with bronchiltes during his 2yo.. I goes to EYS doc for medi. thus claimed all of the receipts.... :p

ains : ya.. the norm cough n flu med for kids lo.. dun worry bout the drugs.. they r jus symptomatic.. they cant cure the cough pleghm n flu but they help to relieve the symptoms so that our babies can rest better to cure themselves.. better to nip the prob in the bud rather than wait for it to aggravate and the baby might need antibiotics which is worse for their system.. my sis is in pharmacy n i've checked with my pharmacy fwen.. the drugs are safe.. place faith in dr cecilia! she v experienced pd.. i only gaf my boy for one half day and his cough seemed to go away le.. only left a bit of phelgm.. i stopped the drugs once his cough n runny nose appear to be better..

aiyo ever since i deliver #2 my health and my kids health quite poor. bb oni 5 mths plus but oredi kenna twice cough liao. or is the air too polluted here? now i down wif flu again.

Ainsley- reali?? Bananas cause constipation?? Oops.. Then mi better stop!!

Ivy- wat else u gib bb?? Mi will try apple purée tis weekend.. Ig gib juice.. Do we gib the whole bottle?? How much we can gib each time??

Canopyhaze- how is ur bb now!? So sad!! Dun like to c bb sick!! Extremely heart pain lo.. Sigh!!
U must take care of urself oki??

ivy, sleep with baby on top of u loh

when i sleep with my boy, i always put him to lie on my tummy and chest.. like koala bear pose. i like this warmth

next week hubby on biz trip, think i may do this.. heheh..

canopy, hope ur baby get well soon. its v tramatizing..i slept on a horrible foldablebed in a B2 class ward in KK for 2 nites when my boy was sick..cuz this is the best ward avail..

canopy, it'll take abt a wk for them to recover.
the last time, my niece oso kenna hfmd when she was 6 mths old.
really v ke-lian.

meanwhile, do watch ur own hygiene.
coz adults kenna, really more xin-ku.
i got it frm my #1 b4.

ivy, my boy oso on nubeliser for a few days.
luckily, he gong-gong, so quite cooperative during the inhalation.
well, i had been alerting a doc @ polyclinic, a doc @ kkh & a pd since my boy is a mth old tt he sounded phlegmy, but they juz dismissed it & said tt it's normal, there's nothing wrong.
till finally, my boy is 4 mths old, i really cant tahan liao, coz his phlegmy condition had aggravated.
brought him to another pd who gave him all the necessary medication & of coz nubeliser.
really dunno wat's on the minds of 1st 3 "professionals" i had consulted? sigh...
anyway, the 2nd pd i went to said tt we produce mucus daily, the variable is the rate our body get rid of it; if the rate is slower, then it'll accumulate & become phlegm, as the nasal cavity is 'connected' to the airway.
as time goes by, the airway would b narrowed or blocked, hence leading to wheezing in the lungs, & mayb even bronchitis.

Ling, my girl tat time on neubalizer, sometimes she blur blur then not much struggle hehe.

Miu,
banana if ripe by right wont cause constipation. So when u get banana, ask the fruit seller, banana for baby, its very small one, give half once a while is ok. I give pear, avocado, rice cereal so far that all. Dun give juice, it should be the last thing to give, thats what i read lah.

Flying off to Penang tom morning but the whole family is sick. Even I started to have phelgmy throat and runny nose today. So many med to bring. Faintz! Hope everyone gets well soon esp Raelynn. So heart pain to hear her breathe, so much phelgm inside. :p

canopy, take care of yourself & the little one!

seems like alot of bbs not feeling well recently....my boy too!!! he has to postpone his last dose of 6-in-1 to next week...

How do u knw bb has ulcer in his/her mouth? my boy also crying and crying...but we presume is teething..tot we feel something on his upper gum leh...he still drinking per normal..we applied teething gel onhis gum then he drinks his milk happily...

his face has some red dots..i presume is from his saliva? went tmc24hrs clinic, the doc nev said anythg leh...he said teething shldnt hv fever....

anyone can advise?

ManU, my PD lays the baby on the mat, and uses a tongue depressor to push the tongue out of the way and a torch to check. Maybe you can try using a spoon? Get someone to help you hold the baby down. :p

Thks Pauline...he tried that (my boy sitting up on the lap on my hubby) but my boy keep refusing to open his mouth..then the doc just let it be and continue talking to us...maybe GP doc is like that 1...

Anyway he seems to have running nose now,so might bring him see PD later....almost a week to his coughing...

I also heard an interesting news in Class 95 radio yesterday, something like below. I might not catch it correctly entirely. If you are interested, you may try calling Class 95. I did a quick google and couldn't find any hit results. It could be a on-air promotion only.

Loreal (could be other brand if I got it wrong) Lunch makeup session for Corporate companies:

- learn make up (not too sure what's the contents though)
- 45 mins session during lunch hour
- only on Wed (it seems) and promotion is till early Jul (pls check also)
- $5 / person
- includes lunch from Delifrance
- and make up products
- gather 15 colleagues and email to class 95 (sorry that I didn't get the email address)
- if I didn't hear wrongly, it's not a sure-get, might have to be picked/selected by Class 95/Loreal