(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Hi mayya,

Thats a lot that your kid can speak
My boy only say papa. But he can understand what we tell him, just don't want to open his golden mouth to speak yet .I Will be bringing him next week to polyclinic to get referral to Kk specialist. But many pple tell me it's quite common for boy to start speaking slow.

mayya
u're not alone! my girl is also not talking much yet!

kaira
can share with me the procedure from polyclinic to KK specialist when u have gone thru it? i'm keen to know.

Kaira,
Why need to bring to specialist? My boy started talking after 2 before that nonthing much from him. My gal can say long sentences (less than 10 words) now but not sure y always call me nini.

Kiki,
Those japs are completed. Now is the extra. The pneumo and hepa A. Hepa is end of the yr. If the last jap at 18 mths, y my boy took another one at 24mths? I better bring the health booklet to pd.

Kiki

During weekends I'll make the fresh ones like broccoli n spinach then freeze them. My mom will warm them a little before feeding to Yihui. I try to make them slightly chunkier.

For the frozen ones I bought from supermarket to try on her. Before the meal my mom will just steam n let her eat. Initially she ate some then she started to pick out the corns to eat. Then I told my mom to let her eat the corn n blend the rest. I just bought a corn kerneler. I'm going to buy fresh corn n remove the kernel then steam for her. She keeps asking for corn.

thats the thing... i hear everyone say boys usually take longer to speak. but my 2 year old nephew is already speaking in short sentences. and my 22 mth girl isn't speaking very much at all. when aunties ask why girl take so long to start talking... they make me feel like there's something wrong with my child!

My 3 year old girl had stutter problems before...and i brought her to see a speech therapist at Leo Magan's Speech Sanctuary. My dd1 improved tremendously after the first visit. Therapist went through with us ways to speak to her that will encourage her to stop her stuttering. But fees not cheap yah. Can't rem how much, but i know i remember its not cheap.

Mayya,
My brother ever told me when kids started to explore speech, do not reply ba...ba...nor.....
Her gal had to see the speech therapist cause the maid doing this to her and at 3 yrs, still can't speak.

Think parents have to be talkative so that kids start to talk earlier. Someone ever said she kept talking to her baby, not sure who...

Kaira,
Will let you know once I visit the PD.

Connie,
Pneumococal has become a COMPULSORY jab. Hep A is optional.

kiki,
According to my PD, MOH has pushed forward the chicken pox boaster jab to 3 years old. So if you opt for chicken pox, this is another jab before primary 1.

potbelly,
Wah, then you continue to puree till when?? I personally think it's not the right way to let her eat veg this way. My gal doesn't like veg much also, she is only okay with brocolli, the rest don't like, she is a meat eater. Slowly lah, try again and again.

Joopz,
It's too early to label your kid as "not a food person". If you think that way, you might not have the motivation to make him to become a food person. Don't think that way. Show him and tell him how nice to taste different type of food, and that eating sufficiently will keep him healthy. Just keep trying, don't give up! Like potbelly said, 3 tablespoons of rice is quite a lot liao loh, my gal also eats about that amount, even my boy who is already 3.5yo only eat about maybe 4-5 tablespoons of rice plus lots of "liao" lah.

kaira / kiki / Mayya,
From my #1 peers right, there were 2 boys who were late speakers, they only to start talking after 2.5 yo, and only after 3yo they talk a lot and very soon catch up with the peers, no problem at all. It is true that girls usually speak earlier than boys, but still I don't think you should worry as long as she can say a few simple words.

I have a nephew who doesn't speak, don't even call baba and mama, and he is already 4.5 yo now. But his case is different. Since young, he not only didn't talk, he didn't have eye contact with anyone, and didn't like to play with others. My brother and SIL thought he is just a late speaker and ignored the problem till only recently brought him to see speech specialist. Luckily he is not diagnosed as autism, but has delay learning ability. He is now going to the speech speacialist once a week, have improvement but progress is slow.

Look at the child as a whole. If he/she is generally happy, willing to make contact with other, can take instruction well, has a gentle temper, no problem in socialising etc, think he/she is just not ready to speak. Bear in mind that there is something we can't force them to. As parents, we can only try our best to provide the right environment for them. Talk and read to them more, like at least 1 hour of reading per day, cut down on TV/iphone/iPAD. But of course, if you think a visit to the specialist would help, yes, please go ahead, but please make sure the assessment is a gentle one and won't give him/her any stress. Children do get stress up and that's really not a good thing.

Kiki

If you get a referral letter from the polyclinic to Kk you will pau subsidized rate. If you get the letter from gp or walk in to Kk you will pay the private rate. Difference is you get to choose the doc.

You can just go to the polyclinic, see the doc n just say that you need a referral letter to Kk for speech therapist. And they'll write the letter for you.

Kam

My mom is the one feeding. It's difficult for her to prepare the veggie when she's taking care of Yihui alone. Since she likes corn kernels so much, I'm letting her eat corn kernels n other veggie puree. She takes chopped tomatoes too. It's just the green veggies she wants puree. So just make my mom's life easier by pureeing the green veggie for her.

hmmm... I'm actually a firm believer of speaking a proper language to my kids, be it english or any other languages. No baby talk whatsoever. We also do not encourage tv watching but when they are at their grandparents', that's a different story. Iphone comes in handy only when we have meals outside. Otherwise mommy daddy won't be able to eat at all. Daddy and I take turns to read to our girls every night before bed. DD1 had a slight stutter before but like i mentioned, it went away after our 1 visit to the therapist. Before the stutter, she speaks pretty well for a 2 year old. Therapist suspected her's was a case of the brain thinking (and prompting her mouth to speak) faster than the mouth could. But all is good now for her.

My dd2...She tends to have very....very bad tantrums. She would throw herself on the floor and bang her head repeatedly, kick all that is around her and scream herself hoarse. While we do not condone and do not give in to such behaviour, it is starting to take its toll on my hubby and I. When she has her tantrums, I'm sure neighbours from the opposite block can hear her. :p I think she has such tantrums because she is unable to communicate her wants and gets extremely frustrated. But what can i do to help her? She's not sociable and hardly plays with other kids when in a playgroup setting. But she plays with her sister just fine though. *phew*

I'm a stay home mom and have been the past 3 years and every time something seems wrong or someone points out that my children behaves badly in public, i tend to feel like its my fault. Because I'm with them 24/7, I feel they pick up most things from me. Any stay home mommies feel the same way?

Looking at DD2 as a whole (like KAM mentioned), she can take instructions well, doesn't have a gentle temper, doesn't want to socialise (we persuaded her but didnt force her) but plays very well with her sister.

I hope i'm getting worked up over nothing. Will prolly wait and see when she turns 2. But what is the normal speaking age? And when do we push the panic button? anyone know what else can be done to encourage my dd2 to start communicating....

Itsy

Tried that. She will spit it out. The only ones she will take are corn kernels, cherry tomatoes, fish, grapes, apple, rice, raisins, biscuits, mushrooms. The rest must be mashed. Haiz.

That's y when I see ling's cooking photos for Jaelle I'm always envious.

kaira, potbelly,
i think when i'm free, i'd bring her to polyclinic to get the referral letter. actually am thinking of waiting and see how when she hits 2 yrs old which will be soon. i somehow feel that if there is a problem, it is better to see a specialist earlier. and if there is really nothing wrong, then the only thing lost is some $ and no harm done. =p as her mummy, i'm puzzled and really beginning to worry coz she can understand alot of things but why just don't wanna talk?! i'm skeptical when my PD recommend that i shd send to CC.

kam,
whats your definition of 'a few simple words'? like how few is few to you and is ok? K can only say abt 5 words u know! but in her 'dictionary', i'm certain she knows more then that! whenever i ask her 'what is this? pointing to a picture.' she always reply 'mama'!! i keep telling her not everything is called 'mama'! but if i ask her to point to the items name. like i ask her...where is car or where is duck etc etc, she knows!

mayya,
gosh, your dd2 has quite a temper. i can't imagine my girl doing that. i think i'd be damn stressed out! can she communicate her wants by pointing? although my girl is not really talking yet, she often points at things she wants to indicate to me. actually ppl say #2 usually talk faster then #1 coz there are 2 of them and the elder one will 'teach' the younger one.

kam, connie,
oh...didn't know MOH has changed the chk pox schedule. the nurse at the polyclinic who gave her the jab didn't mention. maybe i shd call to ask. she just told me all jabs done and next one in pri 1!

christina,
4 days?! erm...sounds like badly constipated to me. i think the younger they are, she should be pooping more then is normal.

it happen before n my fren use a cotton bud w baby lotion to poke e backside of bb n he poo. But nw they tried n it doesn't wrk anymore. Do u tink shld c dr?

Xris> is the 2mos baby on BM?
they can dun poo up to 12 days n nothing wrong so long the eventual massive poo is soft n not like pellets...
But if not on BM, I'm not sure...
My PD told me bm babies can dun pop 12days also not worrying... So long it's soft when she eventually does..

christina,
huh?! poke the backside with cotton bud?! er...i won't dare to do that. keke.. what if the cotton got stuck inside then u have bigger problem! how abt try massaging the tummy a little? a warm bath might help also to 'get things moving' inside.

rach
really? your pd said no poo for 12 days is ok? i thought if taking BM shd poo even more often then on FM. gosh...last time kimberly can poo like 5x a day when on BM! almost after EVERY feed will poo. i thought something was wrong but my PD say her system bery good thats why! *faint*

mayya, Kiki,

My cousin brought her daughter to kk for speech therapy when she's three years old.

The doctor will check the physical ( hearing and tongue). The therapy will last from 45 mins to an hr. They will also teach the parents ways on how to encourage the kids to speak.. U have to keep practicing wi your child and also got to keep going back for the therapy. They have one to one therapy or group . The polyclinic will book an appointment with kk,
waiting time is between 1 to 2 months. She didn't get referral letter , so she pays between $50-$70. I personally feel a good age to go for the therapy session would be 2.5 year.

Kiki

Sometimes they know the words but they simply don't want to say or their tongues are not nimble enough?

We flashed a lot of flash cards at yihui and started when she was about 6 months old. Recently she's been surprising us with the old flash card words. So sometimes they may know but aren't able to pronounce the words.

But you may just want to check with the specialist just for peace of mind. Besides if you go through polyclinic for referral it'll be subsidized so it won't be too ex.

Just realized ur Todd are eating 3-5tablespoon of rice???
Ry can eat a bowl (our rice bowl) full of rice...
But somehow I've cut it down to abt 3/4 bowl maxed...
But she eats mainly rice with soup and certain egg, vege, beancurd and chicken....
If none of the Liao are available, she will have plain rice with just soup....

Magyar
I can understand e fustration. At 2, my boy still can't express his want so kept crying, lying on floor, bang here n there, shout at e top of his voice. But it improved a lot now. But I do have a problem, he will still shout n cry when he want something which I didn't give. I kept asking him to tell me n not cry cos I don understand. Think this habit hard to kick .

Christina
U better see a pd. She will have to check is ur bb digesting well. Last time e pd insert a tablets n observe my gal poo. Apply cream on cotton bulb n rotate around e hole.

Jab
Chicken pox need 1 more booster else will still have chicken pox. My sil son have only 1 jab n he got ccp at 5 yrs old.

Will whine to u ladies again this evening.
Gotta go for drama class at act3 in an hrs time. Happy weekend everyone!

Oh and if I may add to the constipation topic, my dd1 was on bm and she didn't poo for 12 days. Pd and docs said it's normal but I thought they were crazy!! So I went KKH and insisted they do something. They warded her and did some scans and tests and all turned out fine. Then they gave her suppository but still no poo for another 2 days. On the 15th day.. She poo out watery soft poo. Pd saw and said its very healthy poo.

I felt bad for not listening to them the first time. Bah. Wasted money on tests. But I also felt relieved at the same time cos 14 days of no poo is no joke man!!!

Ok bye.

Yup... BM babies are fine even if they dun poo for a long time...
Doctor can't explain why but just said some babies are just like that... It may happened a few times here and there but shouldnt be a regular thing....

SO long the end result is soft poo... And often massive.... DOctors will say it's normal and no cause for concern...

It's funny how sometimes we wanna consult the professionals and yet dun trust what they say... Lol....
Cuz we think we know better....

Bt it's always lesson learnt...

Dun fret, Xrisgoh... Monitor and see how ur baby goes...
Do share with us and update here when ur baby eventually poo!!

Kiki
Could help laughing when you said "i'm skeptical when my PD recommend that i shd send to CC"... reminds me when i brought L to see his PD previously and I did asked his PD abt his social skills, he's v timid, dun like to play at indoor playground, etc. He said not to worry, let him observe first, etc and asked if i send him to any CC, i said no. Guess what, he didn't recommend me to send to CC, instead he said i shld give L another sibling, so that he has someone to play with and smiled at me.. hahaha..
at the moment really dunno how to react and i just smiled back...

remember that some of you have ordered books from Book Depository before... how long does it take to reach Singapore? Thinking of ordering some books from there...

kiki,
In my nephew case, he said NO WORD, nothing till he consulted a speech therapist at age 4+!!! Like as said, he didn't want to socialise, didn't play with his siblings (he's the middle child, the other 2 kids no problem tought), didn't speak, didn't follow instruction, he couldn't sit still to finish watching a 15-30min tv program, he screamed when he wanted something, etc.

I am not an expert. But I met Kim think 2 times? I know she is more than "normal". She interacted so well with the other toddlers and adults. 5 words may be very few compared to those speaking early, but she is speaking. But yup, if this is bothering you so much, bring her to see a specialist bah.

Connie,
Incorrect - even if you take the boaster jab for the chicken pox, you may still get the chicken pox outbreak, cos the vaccine is not 100% effective, maybe up to 90% after both jabs.

Melissa,
Haha, good one! Good for the advise, don't wait :)

Actually hor, I think it's quite true, but no offence okay. Based on what I saw in the past few years, those who was solely taken care by grandparents or by SAHM usually speaks later than those going to cc. But everyone catches up and speak as well when they reach 3yo or so.

waiwai,
Aiyah, I have just deleted a 10% discount code from Book Depository :-(

For the many times we have ordered before, all the books came within 1 month. Around 2-3 weeks. But the last time we ordered was last Dec. Not sure if things have changed.

kaira, potbelly, kam,
actually i also don't know if i'm just being paranoid! there's this other thing too...when K wants something, she makes says this same 'word' always that sounds like 'ti-ta'. its like morning wanna brush teeth, she will point to her toothbrush and say 'ti-ta'! or if she wants something to eat, she will point to the fridge and say 'ti-ta'! when i ask her to sit on her potty, she will point to the table top where she knows i put the ipod and says 'ti-ta'! seriously...anything she wants she will say that word! i have no idea what that word is! that time i brought K to polyclinic for her final jab, i highlighted my concerns to the doc and she actually put a note to review this issue when K come back for the 2.5 yr assessment in march next yr. but i'm wondering if i shd go earlier then that or not. hmm... guess i'd wait a while, observe and see how. thanks for all the advise!

melissa,
haha...your PD very pro children heh...so are u gonna heed his advise? =p

waiwai,
Book Depository - take abt 2-3 wks and usually doesn't come altogether! meaning if u order say 5 books, it may come in 3 different packages.

kiki,
XY is also like that!!! Even though she can speak so well, but at times, she said the same words no matter what she wants, and that annoys me a lot. She says "ti-ge" which I think she means "这个". Like she knows to say "nen-nen" for milk, knows to say "di-ki" for her mickey mouse, know to say "pen" etc, but hor, sometimes she keeps pointing (to nowhere) and keeps repeating says "ti-ge, ti-ge" than to tell me exactly what she wants, and keeps whining which I can't stand.

kiki (and other mummies... long time no see here.)

just ask kim what is ti-ta? pretend u dunno what she is talking about and ask her speak properly?

sometimes F also like dat, said something but we dunno what he is trying to say and we ask him what he is trying to say. he got frustrated and cried den we tell him, "sorry dun understand what you are saying, can you say properly? what do you want?" it works sometimes. sometimes it doesnt. depends on how "hard" u are, i will "simply ignore" his whines until he say "properly" to me den i give in to him. i am the "heartless" kind of mum la.

kam,
really?! XY is also like that? but XY is really talking v well so nothing to worry! for me, initially i didn't worry but as i see other sept babies start to talk so well, i can't help but worry! then i noticed she keeps saying this same 'ti-ta!' word to everything she wants! i'm like what the hell is 'ti-ta!'??? i keep on trying to correct her but she still keep saying this word! =/

cindy,
i asked her before what is ti-ta but then she just keeps pointing to the thing she wants and keep saying 'ti-ta, ti ta, ti ta!' if i pretend i don't know what she wants, she will stomp her foot or jump up and down in protest! sometimes she will cry too lor! i get bigger headache when she cries, and usually i can guess correctly what she is pointing to and she knows that! headache!

I think its common in our kid who is learning to speak.
Kate was saying "beamer" for the longest time, to lift walls, to car, to random stuff and I was like you girls, thinking that she is just sprouting nonsense, but actually, she is not!

I realised that she is trying to say "mirror"! I realised when she can see her reflection on the lift walls, on the windows of the car, and random stuff like metal, she will says "beamer".

Then I corrected her and now she can say "mirror".

Like what cindy said, at times, they KNOW what they are tring to say, but they might have problems with pronounciation.

Our little ones mimicks us a lot!

I realised that I use "help you" a lot when Kate also uses it, but in a wrong way:

"No-want! Kate kate help you" - she meant she wants to do it herself
"mama, help you cut chicken please"- she meant help her cut her chicken...

so, Kiki, maybe you kept on saying "This one" to her whenever she points to something, so she thinks that those stuff are called "this one" i.e. Ti-ta

kiki

don't worry about it. yihui used to say "mena mena" (totally no idea which language she derived this word from) when she wants us to carry her. We just carried her and tell her it's "bao" or "carry". Nowadays, she will say, "mama bao" and she hardly uses that word anymore. She will outgrow it, so don't you worry about it.

Kiki> maybe that's why... When we talk to RY, we always ask.. U want this? Ball ball? If she nods her head, we will keep asking u want the ball ball? U want the ball ball?
I very kiasu...sometimes if I ask her... U want A or B? If she says B, I'll ask u want B or A? To make sure she knows what she wants and not just repeat the last word, which they have the tendency to...
I know of kids older than our kids who still can't articulate well... So I think shouldn't be big problem ba...
Some kids dun talk till older but once they start talking, they nv stop... Lol...