(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Pneumococcal jab

My son is in Malaysia so I let him folow up with the PD back in Melaka. He has gone for 3 Pneumococcal jab, each when he is 3 months, 5 months and 7 months(the last one we actually delayed becoz the PD went into meternity. Just recently gave him the jab when he is 8 months). The next jab would be one year old. Well, so far my son always had downgrade fever when taking immunization jabs (even the 6 in 1 jab). He never had fever or fall sick so far, only the fever during reactions to jabs. He did not had fever for the last Pneumococal Jab which I was glad. Maybe he is big boy adi and strong enough to react to jabs..hehe.. thats my own theory..

Maid
I never had good experience with maid. Hired maid to help my mum out. Really depends on luck whether the maid you get is good anot. Some times agency also a big problem. I engaged my maid agency in Mlk since last year before delivery. Until now couldn't get a maid which could work for us long. First one said miss husband, want to go back; second one said want to get married, want to go back; then third one faked her info so indonesia agent cancelled our application; forth one, no more choices from indon, had to get cambodian.. sien.. by that time, my boy boy adi one year old, want maid for what?!!
There are quite a few interesting stories that I heard about maids.. Relative's maid wanted to revenge on something, suddenly one day open her clothes and accused that the employer raped her! heard another one also that the maid had multiple partners and actually caught STD! Some even brought boy friend back to their home! If got maid, really need to control them, if not they will "luan luan lai"..

Start walking early

My cousin's daugther had bow legs and she said her PD said it may be due to start walking early since she skipped the crawling part. One of the ways to solve bow legs is by corrective surgery. But I do read in BabyCenter.com that some babies did not even crawl before they start walking. If babies start walking early, i would think it is important to observe that BB's legs are strong enough to support themselves. If there are signs of bow legs, then it would be best to seek advice from doctor.

http://www.ucsfchildrenshospital.org/conditions/bow_legs_and_knock_knees/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genu_varum

Morning all!

Fresh start of a brand new week! Mummies, stay positive and have a great week ahead!!!

Cruising/Walking
I agree with maelyn. If your baby prefer to cruise/walk early, then you gonna make sure that he/she has strong enough leg muscle to support himself/herself. Both my kids are early walker and they don't show any sign of bow legs.

Harlow mummies,

Don't forget to love and pamper yourself now that we all have become mummies. Many times , we give so much of ourselves to the family, children and forget to threat ourselves well. At least once a week or once a month, go buy something for youselves like a dress, tops, or go for a movies wi friends, or come out with friends to chit chat and have a good laugh. We all have gone through so much from pregnancy to labour and now, it has been 1.5 year. We deserve a good pat on our shoulder. If men don't appreciate us, the more we have to love and pamper ourselves.

Hi Kam,

My son likes to stand on the cot bed by holding on the edge. It seems like he has a bit of bow legged. Difficult not to let him stand.

Kaira,
If your bb is due for jab soon, you may want to consult your PD, to see if he really has bow legged. My bb can stand and cruise like 70% of her awake time, she loves the freedom to be able to moving around (her crawling skill is not good), just can't keep her sit down for long :)

Hi, I'm selling off my HAENIM Playyard at a discount price $100 (bought 6 months ago $180+).

Item in good condition.
Product Code: 6 panels HNP-734 (Japan)
consists of 1 Activity + 2 Door + 3 Plain.

Any interested mothers please PM me.

<font color="dc143c"><font size="+2">Move &amp; Crawl Ball</font></font>

http://www.target.com/Move-and-Crawl-Ball/dp/B000231EX2/ref=huc_ic_1_IMG

mummies, anyone keen??
Est to be about $31-$32 after shipping..

after reading all the latest posts... i must say that we mummies are really v wei da as we really do whatever we can to 1st make others happy.

To Rach and Princess, you both are v young mummies. When im at your age im not ready to get married, i was still having fun partying.
To add on the other mummies' replies..
Rach> i know your husband only trust you to take care of your gal. for most ppl, they are usually v KC over their 1st kids. your girl is now v v attached to you, bec it had became her habit. I rem you mentioned that during your confinement time and straight after, your gal was not really v attached.. Babies are smart, they know what they can do to get what they want. you got to slowly let her know that mummy cant be with her 100% of the time. i know its easy for me to say and type here, but it can be done thou heartbreaking to see them crying. but sooner or later, you got to let go eg when you enrol her in playground, so please try early.
You will roughly know whats your monthly costs, beside covering that we must also prepare extra for unexpected expenses. i must say its both parents' duty, to do that for the sake of the whole family. You are trying now to supplement the income by doing BPs, but if its not giving you enough income and considering the time you spend you got to think of alternative and make your husband see the big picture as his income is also not v fixed. He wants you to take care of the kid yourself but angry when you got to work till wee hours on the BPs and get callssss. ask him to wake up! Sorry to sound so harsh, but i sort of meet up and chat with you the most compare with meeting up other mummies. you both are still so young.. our financial commitment will increase as kids get older. so pray abt it and find a good time to really sit down and discuss. not to be argue but to really draw out plans.
Princess> when you know that your son's sensitive airway condition is better, or when his body is stronger and you are ready to start working... let me know if you are keen with Cheries heart North serangoon. i think its pretty near to your place. my hubby knows the principal there.. no promise but i hope it will help. You are a brave girl and i can see that you are really v tired( your eyebags v big le ..from the pics on FB).

<font color="dc143c"><font size="+2">Tiny Bites Food Shears</font></font>
Got 40 orders liaoz...
anymore??
Will arrive by 10th June.

marie> wow. 25bucks. i dun think still have ba. i'm interested if available lo =p hehe. have emailed tat person =p

flower4> ops. the clinic is kinderland clinic or something at mt A oso. i think is same clinic as dr ong? hehe. not sure is it also

good afternoon mummies, sorry to interupt.

i have a gently used walking wings to let go(used 2 time only) cos my baby learned to walk overnite!

RP is about S$50. Asking for $35. Collect at Bedok or Alexandra. Can deliver if timing and location convenient. Pls text me at 9029 7390 if you are interested.

Thanks for reading!

What is Walking Wings?
Walking Wings helps baby learn to walk balancing more naturally, hands-free, and experiencing fewer falls. This unique padded support vest easily fastens around the chest of the baby and has two adjustable, detachable straps with padded handles for your comfort. It's healthier for baby's shoulders (no tugging on little arms) and kinder to parent’s backs (no more bending over!). Pediatrician recommended for babies learning to walk.

Product Details:
New! Improved Design with more support for baby and increased control for parents
Adjustable parent's straps have padded handles for greater comfort
Straps detach, so you don't have to keep taking Walking Wings on and off baby
Padded vest features adjustable hook and loop closure and safety buckle for secure fit
Avoid the back pain associated with teaching a baby to walk
Walking hands-free helps build self-confidence, babies feel like they're walking independently
Minimizes the number and severity of falls
100% Cotton
Machine Washable, dryer safe
Recommended Age: 6 months &amp; up
Vest fits: 19 - 26 inch chest circumference
3991312.jpg

mummies...advise needed!

my gal having fever on n off since last night, most likely due to teething. i'm giving 2.5ml paracetamol, is the dose ok or too little for 8 mths old baby? coz this paracetamol was prescribed when she was 4 mths old that time when she went for her jabs. i can't get hold of my clinic's PD, think the recept forgot to off the answering machine!! advise appreciated!!! thanks.

*Ling*

I don't know abt 'LOVE' bt then I know that hubby is still someone dear and impt to me. So when hurtful words came out from someone impt, the impact is greater than from those strangers or of less importance.

I also appreciate the very 'little' affort and help from hub. But then sometimes I juz wish that I can juz be a 'nurse' rather than the 'doctor', a 'calafare' instead of the 'lead actress'. When taking care of a child, a man seems nt able to complete a single task. Eg feeding. Usually it's the mother who prepare the food, cereal and the father tries to feed. If he is bored or the baby refused, the father will shout for the mother saying: baby doesn't want to eat leh, u feed la. They just CANNOT prepare, feed, clean up baby, wash the bowl, completing these tasks entirely by themselves.

And yes, that's why we have shi shang zi you ma ma hao and mother's day is more celebrated than father's day. Not that I wanted to put down daddies. But than its a fact that Most Mothers (Don't want to say ALL coz there juz might be some father who can) can do what Fathers can do (Fathers can work, mothers also can - aren't we ALL working before we have our 1st child??) But Fathers will not be able to do what a Mothers can (Mothers can become SAHM bt very lil fathers can become SAHF). Mothers are always the one who become 'sacrificed' when there's a need for 1 of the parents to care of the baby.

kiki,
I vaguely remembered my PD said give 1.5ml of paracetamol when I brought her for jab when she was 8.5 months. And I thought a bottle of med can only be kept for 3 months? After 3 months, should discard, unless yours is not those dispensing type of med.

kiki> paracetomol is based on weight rather den age i think. my boy 7.2kg, doc prescribe him 2ml of paracetomol

kam> i think paracetamol can keep for 6mths. at least for mine is 6mths, written on the bottle =p

Kiki - Ry is 10.2kg *faint* but when she was 2.5 months and she had a fever and less than 6kg, she was taking 2ml. So... I think 2 - 2.5ml is ok, just no more.

marie, bbq98, kam, michelle,

thanks for reply. ok, i shall stick to the 2.5ml and see how it goes.

kam,
don't scare me leh... think the paracetamol is abt 4mths old, of which i only fed once before last nite.

kiki,
Don't worry too much. Maybe the nurse more kiasi type? But definitely don't use after 6 months (though some people still do and they survive :)).

kam,
ok, noted thanks. nextime i will ask pd how come no instructions on my bottle or expiry date! then if blur blur like me now anyhow feed.

Thank you for leaving messages on my facebook...few days ago, I had to go to TMC to do a Day Surgery for Uterus Evacuation cos num 2 was not growing and without heartbeat
was quite depressed but glad to know that I still have lots of support

<font face="segoe print"><font color="#FF6666">Ning...</font>

*hugz* I know how u feel... not easy but we just gotta let go.. since baby is alr not growing well in the beginning.. better to let go now then to lose him/her later on... the pain will multiply... I also went thru D/C for my #1 at 13 weeks preg. suddenly no heartbeat...

Be strong ya? take care! </font>

Ning,

Hugzzz... Dun be too sad. It happen to me during my first pregnancy before I had my son. I was very sad that time too and even broke down in clinic after the Gynae told me that baby No heartbeat. I understand what u are going through now. Lucky me to have my son now which was my second pregnancy.

Always remember you still have many many more chances. Embrace your future with a happy heart, leave behind all those unhappiness!

~Ning~
Hugs! Be strong n take care. Rmb to rest well n do "mini confinement" to "bu" your health. It also happened to me for my 1st pregnancy n I did mini confinement for 2wks... it's not easy but hv to let go n move on...

Wed 19th at 3pm @ Sembawang Shopping Centre
Mummies going:
1. Me
2. Jenifur
3. Kiki
4. Rach
5. Ling
6. Pamelia (TBC)

Anyone else wanna join, pls add on to the list k

<font color="ff0000">Wed 19th at 3pm @ Sembawang Shopping Centre </font>
Mummies going:
1. Me
2. Jenifur
3. Kiki
4. Rach
5. Ling
6. Pamelia (TBC)
7. Prinzess

Anyone else wanna join, pls add on to the list k

<font color="ff6000">Ning</font>

*Hugs* Just know that we are always behind u!

<font color="ff6000">IFC</font>

Jacob is sooooo going to IFC! After fiddling with the idea for so long, we finally went to register and paid liao! He will be there twice a week. Haha I know this is annoying but its my turn to ask, how to label their belongings??!

Ning

we can't feel your pain for you but we can support u with our listening ears. Take care.

Medicine

according to pd, medicine should be prescribed based on weight. But a lot of docs don't really check and just prescribe the amount from the top of their heads. So better double check. Also the med can be kept up to 6 months provided it's refrigerated after it's opened. If not, better don't use better be safe than sorry. Liquid paracetamol only costs around $2 per bottle. :p no point saving on that.

Ning
Be strong and take time to recover.
Best wishes from Angela, Marc and myself.

Husbands
Not going to defend all the men here. I do agree that bringing up a kid is a shared responsibility. I also agree that men can do more to contribute towards the home.

Snide remarks are always hurtful, but I guess we'll just have to try and deal with it.

Kudos to all the moms here. I know it's difficult, but perservere on for yourself, for your kids, for your husband, and for your family.

CHeers all!

Actually I don't understand why it's based on wt. A heavy baby at a young age may not developed the "capacity" to absorb the med as compared to an older but lighter baby.

Ning,
I am sorry to hear about your situation. Be strong and take care of yourself.

Bow Legs
My daughter seems to have bow legs as well. During her jab at 6 months, I asked the Doctor at the Polyclinic and was referred to the Specialist at KKH. Initially I thought that her bow legs are so bad that I was referred to the bone specialist at KKH. The doctor even mentioned why the PD did not ask us to take corrective actions like placing a splint on the leg. We were extremely worried.

We brought our girl there last week and the doctor told us that its normal that the legs are bowed now. It should correct itself when she starts to walk by the age of 2. We heave a sigh of relieve then. The doctor mentioned that its a normal for babies this age to have these kind of legs. It so common that almost all the babies have it. We were also given an open date to go back if we deam necessary.

I hope that I have help some mummies answer some of your doubts here.

Husbands
Well I am lucky that my hubby is willing to help me with all the chores. Normally after we pick her up from our in laws, I will bath her and take care of her till she sleeps. In the meantime, my hubby will cook dinner and clean up after the meal. When my daughter sleeps at around 9, I will be doing my paperwork at home as I am always out in the field in the day. There are times when I feel so guilty about not helping him to do the chores and try to do as much as I can during the weekends.

So I really salute all the SAHMs and FTWM who have to handle the chores after work. Jia you!!

ning> take care n dun think too much k? there's still more chances ahead

flower4> paiseh. i cannot chk now. cos pumping + on my osim at the same time. wil chk tml morning k. hopefully i remember =p

cookiezz> wow. i tot he's oredi at ifc. haha. anyway how come go twice a wk only? my sch no need to label one wor. only milk bottles where we stick labels. the rest of the stuffs, dey will juz put into his pigeon hole when he arrives at sch. den dey sort of recognise his belongings quickly

tlisa> lucky u, have a good hubby. hehe. mine is not bad either. there he is making baby's avacado puree while i m pumping away on my osim =p

It's sad to check the thread this morning and to find out so many of you have lost children.

Amazingly strong women to keep trying
and get over the lost.

Wed 19th at 3pm @ Sembawang Shopping Centre - Cool. so envy u all can meet during weekdays.

I also wanna join. but cannot take leave on 19th.

Have a great week ahead.