(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Has anyone bought their nursing nightgowns for hospital stay yet?

So far, those I've seen are quite ex ... any recommendations?

ahnetsan, assisted delivery is if bb needs help to get out and dr uses vacuum suction or forceps (kinda like thongs) to get bb's head out.

sweethalo, I'm not intending to get any. Regular button down PJs are quite easily obtainable (like the satin kind I wore for wedding makeup and hair) but I'm thinking of probably just making do with a low-necked camisole.

don't know leh..... I was surprise too.... but they said need to book for the room already.... and she said we can go for hospital visit anytime to look at what room we want to stay...

erm..... my auntie said just buy the normal pyjamas with button in front will do.... no need to buy nursing gown wor..... don't know whether is it correct or not....

hapeverafter, congrats on the boy!

Shelisa: I'll go GNC and check it out. I thought for us, we should get something where the EPA ratio is even lower But I guess a bit more no harm right? I'm quite tempted cos the price sounds so much cheaper than gynae prescribed fish oil. And yes, we actually forgot our anniv. Then to make up for it, as we didn't make reservations at any restaurant for dinner or lunch, we went to have high tea at Ritz carlton's chihuly lounge, which was still very nice and felt rather romantic, cos there were only a few other people, so place was not like those rowdy buffets, and the string ensemble was playing right next to us. So not too bad afterall
We'll try to make it up by having a proper dinner this weekend.

Cassey: I'm glad you brought up the pet monologue thing, cos I think I get it now! I'm really good with "conversing" with my cats, so maybe when baby movements are more pronounced, it may come easier to me, take each kick as a reply or something. But for now, whatever baby movements I can feel still feels like indigestion haha. OH! Baby just did a more pronounced kick to protest against my statement! So I said back to her "Hi baby!". And eh... it still felt weird hahaha! Ok, I'll try harder.

Ppl giving seats:
So far, it's been pretty easy for me to get seats cos I go out during off peak hours. But one time, I was trying to go from Orchard to Holland during peak hour, and so happen I was standing right next to the single priority seat in front of the TV screen. Sitting on it was a middle aged man with a beer belly bigger than my bump haha. I wasn't expecting him to give his seat up to me anyway, cos I didn't feel like I needed it. Then I felt someone looking at me, so I turned, and he quickly looked away. then I saw him sneak glances at my bump, and I think he was trying to figure out whether I was fat or pregnant. After 2 bus stops, he got up without speaking to me. I thought he was alighting, so I sat down (at that point, my bump looks more genuine when I'm seated). It was only a few min later that I realised the man was still on the bus, standing on the side. Guess he decided to play safe and get up afterall, in case I'm really pregnant. But apart from that, no luck on MRTs or anything else.

Oh, nowadays when I take MRT, I try to get myself to stand at a pole, so at least I know if I don't get a seat, I have something to hold on to and not fall if the train jerks. Last week, I was on train, and reached past one aunty's shoulder to grab the pole. I didn't touch her or anything, and my arm wasn't even that close to her. But all the same, she turned to me and gave me a dirty look, like I'm so hard up to hold pole for what, that sort of face. She kept giving me frowny faces. I wold have told her off if it weren't for the fact that she's an aunty. Sheesh.

hapeverafter, ya, same same. nurse told me that it's part of pre-admission procedures.

Nightgown - best to just get button down type, can liao. Dun spend too much to get nursing gown. Button down is good enuf and convenient to do BF.

Ahnetsan, dun worry. I think most ladies here are just look see look see first... most likely buying in Apr/May la. I have been reminding myself to look at these to check out prices when I have time. dun last min kan cheong, forgot, or anyhow buy.

tubbym, I was thinking it strange - then thought I remembered wrongly - that you're not the one with cats too. Having pets should make it very easy to sustain a one-sided conversation, no? Like when I brush my Cassey girl, I'll speak bb talk like "Who's mummy's pretty little princess?"... "You gorgeous little girl! Mummy sayang you so so much huh?"... yada yada yada... Bb bit different cos you're talking to your own bump - kinda like talking to a body part?! Bit strange, but imagining the little kicking swimming creature inside helps me =)

ahnetsan, no. Not me. I haven't thought of nightgown for hosp. It's more think of of PJs for home wear that facilitates breastfeeding. Most of my PJs are nightdresses so not very good for breastfeeding. But I guess camisoles give easy access. I've already got a nursing shawl so that'll cover up whatever needs covering, I reckon.

haha.. come to think of it.. our BB is conceived during our anniversary when we were celebrating it in hongkong... it's our 3rd wedding anniv cum 11th year anniversary. All the more, my hb cannot forget anniversary. I used to be the one forgetting anniversary though. :p

hapeverafter, Congrats on ur little prince.

TubbyMummy, i will be also gg to GNC to check it out within this week. As i feel, even gynae can ask ppl go GNC buy liao, i think shld not be a prob. Price range is affordable as my gynae say if we wanna breast feed we must continue on the fish oil.

Reg Deposite; i rem my frenz gg to give birth at Geneagles. And she stay in single bedroom. So the hospital side told her if she wanna 'confirm' to have single bedded room when she give birth, she must pay deposite when she is ard 5-6mths pregnant. So in this way regardless how pack or how full the hospital, she still sure to have single bedded room.

thanks for the feedbacks abt nightgown.. was thinking of getting normal button downs too since the maternity ones are so EX!! hehe...

bbjun! same here! Bb's foetal age is calculated starting from the exact day of our 10th dating anniversary. We conceived him exactly 14 days from the anniverasry =) We're elated...

Strangely, my hubby is quite good with remembering special dates.
So the pressure is on me =( I forget wedding anniversary, but can rem dating anniversary.

eh im a bit confused here...

for me, i've been gg to my gynae at his clinic only, so far, i've not been to thomson medical yet... for my case like this, when will the hospital inform me regarding the deposit? does my gynae arrange for me or i haf to do arrangement on my own??

ahnetsan, for me, I need to register with my obgyn's nurses and they will do up the relevant documentation stating my EDD and attending dr, hospital of choice and room-type requested. If I'm not mistaken, I need to "lodge" that with my hospital of choice. Not sure abt when deposit is to be paid though.

any of u wearing maternity bras? if not, why type of bra are u wearing? my bra size has increased and get uncomfortable with wired bras..

chidori, i find maternity bras colour all veri ugly leh, haha.

i was told even if u buy maternity bra nw, those nursing bra, later a few mths later, u stil haf to change, cos the size will increase further as the months go by.

if bustline wise, mayb can buy those extensions to hook to ur current bras.

im at hm everyday nw, i haf a habit of nt wearing bra at hm, cos its more comfortable rather than those wired bras.

or u can buy those cotton ones, without wire kind.

ahnetsan- i think u need to ask them when u go for checkup, don't worry.

chidori - I am thinking of going to get some nursing bras this week as it's getting uncomfy for me too.

Any recommendations for good support?

ahnetsan,
yup.. its ugly but support seems to be better.. just bought one from mothercare.. me was wearing extension until the cup could not fit much already.. used to go bra less at home but now cannot.. coz much heavier and I worry abt saging..

sweethalo,
I was advised by the mothercare staff to buy nursing bra only when 3 weeks before delivery as our bra cup will still change

cassey, we put our ROM date same day as our dating anniversary. So we dun have to rem extra dates. As for customary, we didn't bother to rem cos it was for his parents who insisted to have customary when we and my parents do not want the hassle. I used to forget our dating anniversary until we ROMed. LOL.

I bought cheaper soft bras from Minoshe. I tried non wired ones but cldn't tahan. They have soft wired bras which are not to ex. At first, they still feel like no wired bras to me but now, I kinda gotten used. I cannot use bra extensions liao. Cup size increase liao, use extension the cup still cannot cover properly leh. Super uncomfortable.

ahnetsan, u can ask ur gynae nurse at ur next visit lor. Perhaps some clinics' nurse more KS and do earlier? My clinic just ask all together when I was signing package with them at the same time. She told me can still think n let her know the next visit if I haven't decided it with hb but we oredi decided long ago. I think she is targeting to book room like 2mths before EDD? Just a guess.

chidori, hw much is yr bra from mothercare?
so ur bra is not nursing bra? normal kinda?
yeah lor, i was also told dat bra cup still will change later.

ahnetsan, my gynae also told me that at my next visit, just need to tell him which hospital I choose, and his clinic will take care of everything. But he didn't mention anything about the deposit. I'll just be mentally ready that I may need to pay some kind of deposit when I next see him. But doesn't make sense also right, should be pay to hospital, and not my gynae?

chidori, I'm the opposite, I feel very insecure wearing non-wired bras, cos feel as if got no support. So far since the increase in size, I have bought 2 more bras, but don't dare to buy more cos I know will keep growing. Now it's time to buy more again, but it's quite a hassle, cos my cup size has increased till I can only buy from certain places. I'll prob go La Senza to buy, cos got cup size, and it's still relatively affordable. But I did buy 2 maternity bras from Marks & Spencer, cost $59.90 for a box of 2pcs I think. They are cotton non-wired maternity bras, and I wear them at home and to sleep. I used to go around the house and also sleep without bra, but now, boobs have gotten so heavy that it makes sleeping uncomfortable, cos they feel like they're flopping around! I'm also afraid of severe sagging, so I just wear them all the time, go out wear the wired ones. I'll only buy nursing bras couple of weeks before delivery.

Wah.... Looks like all of you getting bigger for your cup size.... not like me.... i think i just got a bit increase only..... don't know next time i can feed my baby or not.....

cannot fit into my wired bras. =(

initially was abit worried that breast will sag but realise that it isnt that bad afterall. and the support bras i wore are very comfortable.
i am also applying bust-cream to prevent sagging la. hee.
for the support bras, i got mine from Mothercare during a discount. got 2 pcs for less than 40. 100% cotton from MODA.

comes in nice prints too. =D

tubby> yeah lor, i also think doesnt make much sense.. mayb this fri i will ask him, provided i remb. haha

eh i din knw Marks & spencer selling maternity bras... dat time got sale, din go and check it out... hmmm

hapeverafter, my cup size didnt increase significantly, just that the wired bra is becoming too uncomfortable and the width increases so i tot i might as well get 2 support bras to wear.

the amount of milk doesnt depends on the size of the breast. it depends how many milk glands u have. =D

my friend said massaging will help to create more flow.

ahnetsan, M&S got maternity and nursing both types, but not big selection. But they have other non-wired support bras, which I think does the job also, so I was thinking of going back there to get some more.

bing, I can't fit all my wired bras too, the wire started to dig in at the size, very uncomfortable. So went M&S to buy a couple more, now need to buy more again, cos grew again.

hapeverafter, breast size not increasing much doesn't mean u won't have milk, so don't worry.

ok think i will also go check M&S for non-wired support bras, i read somewhere it's better to wear non-wired bras, though i might not get used to it..

re maternity bras, i bought from mothercare when i was at 3 months, then bought another 2 more last week. was abt $59 for 2. how come u all got 10% discount?

chidori, sweethalo (& tubbymummy),
I PRAYING I DON'T INCREASE or I'll get mammoth boobs!!! But I think my girls have swelled a little. My first bra back in Pri school days has already been wired so I feel really uncomfortable wearing non-wired ones, like tubbymummy. When I wear wired ones, I get blocked ducts swelling at the end of the day on the underbust area.

So how I'm dealing with it sometimes is that if the top is suitable (& most are, even if they're V'necks / looser blouses or low-necked tops... I'll just wear a clingy tube top / bandeau to hold them boobies in plc instead of wearing a bra. I find it more comfortable and there's no swelling, just that sometimes it can get warm on the back, but not frequently so.

nursing bras
for cheap nursing bras, can get from john little. 3 yrs ago, i got some at $9.90 each. but its those ah-soh type la, can wear at home if baby is on breastmilk.

I also wear tubes! But I still feel insecure in them from lack of support. Maybe I need to buy tighter/smaller tubes?

I'm deliberating between public and private cord blood banking. I have been more supportive of public banks, but think I still wanna do more research, or speak to the banks personally.

bbjun, any reason why you chose Cordlife, if you don't mind sharing?

tubbymummy, if I m not wrong, public cord bank is for you to donate and the stem cells collected can be used for anybody, not reserved for you/your child. Private cord banking is only for you/your child. But it belongs to the mother until the child becomes adult. I have told Cordlife to donate mine to public cord banks under certain scenarios but they are supposed to seek my consent la.

Chose cordlife vs stemcord. I guess convenience ba. They are always available at TMC for me to ask qns whenever I go there for my check ups. They also have a promo at that time I signed up and I don't really have to fork out $ cos can use CDA account to pay. With the promo, they were cheaper than stemcord then. Hb n I have the intention to do this for our first child and we could donate to the public cord bank for our subsequent child. Cos siblings compatability is high oredi.

Kelly_Ng, sorry didn't log in for two days. i find KKH ok so far. Nurses have good knowledge. Waiting time is a bit longer than private clinics, but i always bring magazines and newspapers to read when i'm there. I'm see Dr K T Tan.

Having my detailed scan on Thurs! so exciting! my husband and i are counting down. =)

<font color="0000ff">i signed up with Cordlife too .. Anyone planning to sign up, can get my IC number and can get another $50 cheque after give birth. hee referral discount.</font>

Stickymouse - thanks for sharing the pic of Ethan fr the 4D scan... I think I might just get one for my little one later on

Thanks bbjun. Ya, I was told that if I donate to public cord bank, if I ever need it again in future, I can get it back, but there's no guarantee as they may have given it to someone else. However, if it is a blood disorder or whatever that cannot be treated with my child's own cord blood, then being a donor I also have so-called "priority" access to other people's cord blood. That's what I heard, but I haven't spoken to them to verify if this is true.

I also read somewhere that many of such illnesses are congenital, so even the cord blood of a sibling may not be useful, as it would have the same "problems" so to speak, and a cure may only be available through someone else's cord blood.

That said, it would be pretty devastating if it was something that my kid could use her own cord blood for, only to find that it has been donated to other people. Think I can best decide only after speaking to both the public and the private banks, then take it from there. Being able to use the CDA is a huge plus, no need to come out cash up front.

tubbymummy, ya. Forgot about that point cos that's what my fren told me some time ago when she was weighing options for her own child. There isn't a best of both worlds kinda decision cos of the pros n cons. What pushes me to go for cord blood banking was becos a fren of my fren was saved by her child's cord blood after realising she has leukemia a few mths after delivering her child. We also realizes how the cord blood could save others' lives n hence would like to donate our 2nd child's one when the time comes.

stickymouse, great minds think alike... Ermm, don't know if I'll still be around to see President Ethan. But at least our current one shares 4 out of 5 letters of his name huh?

hapeverafter, you're so funny! Big boobs doesn't mean good supply of milk, as bbjun already said. My single colleagues were also teasing me about my bb having an abundance of supply in future. I was like... Errmm... *roll eyes* Big can still be dry as a desert, hey!

ahnetsan, contrary to what you've read, a number of books and articles I've read say that by end of 2nd tri, beginning of 3rd, can buy maternity and nursing bras cos size not likely to increase anymore even after birth. I guess that's not taking into consideration any engorgement from breastmilk..

M&amp;S has plus-size nursing bras... 2 for $99.

tubbymummy, I only wear tube/bandeau with things that are darker coloured/have prints and are not clingy. Or if I'm throwing a cardi over it. Sometimes if the top is tight across the chest and I'm throwing a cardi over it, I go "commando" on top too. My sis commented once during CNY that she can see I'm not wearing a bra cos the fellas are lower than usual and shape not as nice. Haha... But I explained to her about the swelling and redness after a whole day of bra constriction, and she reckoned it was a good idea. She could tell cos she knows I sometimes go without. *heehee*

Ladies, no scrutinising on Fri huh!

bbjun, you're so fortunate to have same wedding and dating anniversary date... Just celebrate one day from the start of the relationship! =) I would LOVE that! Maybe then I won't keep remembering our wedding anniversary only after the date...

Hubby and I didn't agree with the local "version" of ROM so we had everything - church wedding &amp; solemnisation, as well as banquet - done 2 days over a weekend. We planned the wedding from overseas, with me flying in for gown fittings... Our wedding, photoshoot and fittings were all quite delicately timed to be completed within a 2.5-month vacation-in-Sg window.

Our dating anniversary date wasn't even an option cos of that 2.5-month window, and also because our parents are superstitious, and the date would have been right smack in the middle of HUNGRY GHOST FESTIVAL!! So much for thinking we can get super bargain with the hotels on the date =) Heehee...