(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

re:diaper
some ppl say dryper good. One of my frens didn't like it. She says that it leaks when she started on that for her new born.

shelisa, me too. i conciously keep the uncomfort to myself so tat he wun hv opportunity to nag at me. ha! my hubby's frens din remind him to be considerate leh. i hv to create my own opportunities, like wat bbjun had mentioned. i tried once, but hv to keep tab of wat i need to ask gynae monthly so tat he can give the right answer to remind my hubby is quite a challenge. i'll ask him abt the giddiness nxt. gd one!!

bbjun, my red blood cells is on the borderline. so mayb tat's why i feel giddy at times. and plus my sugar level is lower than the borderline. i dun nag at my hubby to tell him to be considerate. i don't know how to put it across. i don't like to make him do a lot of things out of his way jus bcos i'm pregnant. so i mostly jus wait for his care & concern to drop from the sky. unless once in a while (from preggie till now, i think twice bah), i'm really in a foul mood, will i scream at him to pls show more care in his words. i don't need him to do much, i dun mind to go out with him to where he wants to go although i was feeling outrightly nauseous and was puking along the way. but at least cut dwn the naggings at those little things tat this pregnancy had caused me to be. his life didn't change much with this pregnancy, our lives didn't change much too, he/we still do the things he/we does/do before, but the naggings affected me a bit mayb cos i'm more emotional now. i don't have frens like urs leh. sigh!

chidori, tat's a sad sentence to heard, esp fr your hubby. ha. tell him if not for him, you'll still b slim.

shelisa, i wake up every morning with backache too. no matter which position i sleep in, mostly on my back or on my left.

Mika, but sometime those serious thing like back pain i will tell him. in case anything happen to me at least he can tell gynae my tail bone is pain at certain time. I think wat we need is the correct timing to tell them and remind them.

ahnetsan, my gynae intro 'Dryper'. but after i heard bbjun say it leak. abit turn me down..

any better advise on diaper?

ahnetsan, my colleague's baby was given Pampers New Born from the hospital. as it was their first time being parents, they continue to use. before long, they realize that the pampers are too exp. costing 50 cents each piece and they switch to other ranges.

some of my friends like drypers, some dun like. think due to bb's size. cos it may leak for some, it may not for others. so have to try and see.

bing, Shelisa, bbjun, ahnetsan,

actually when i search for info on best diaper for newborn, besides the brands above, what's recommended is also liners + napkin cloth cos for newbown need to change very often. can be quite expensive to use diapers. so when going out then bring disposables but if at home use the nappy. the liner sort of answer my question abt how to clean the poo from the nappy. i think this is most economical and you can be very clean because not so heart pain if have to keep changing every 2-3 hours.

on the other hand, diapers cost between $0.20 to $1 each. pampers most expensive i think, and drypers is about $0.20-0.30. nepia brand pricing like mamy poko. basically they say these 2 are very soft on bb bottom so wont get rash but can imagine absorbency-wise maybe compromised a bit. suggest if you are using diapers to get small pack first and test because diff bb is suited to diff brands. some ppl say huggies better than drypers, some ppl say huggies always leak so must see which is most appropriate for your bb. need not be most expensive is the best, but if you bb adapts to most expensive like pampers..wah can be quite heart pain. i think those planning to be SAHM like me must sell nasi lemak to support hubby

some diapers even got line to show when it's time to change! for FTM like me, will surely be helpful.

i hope this helps, but there are also many forums out there discussing this topic but i only read a few. maybe even a thread in sgmotherhood, but i never chk. can also ask relatives or friends if they have some samples to share with you so you can try (pay them a bit lah..seems pampers is a prized commodity for mummies, just check out the WTG thread!)

hope this helps!

i thk drypers depend on bb's size. if it leak, mayb the size is not correct??

if thomson uses pampers, i swear i wont use pampers too... pampers way too expensive...very siong leh, in the long run

ahnestan,
for the left lean kicks, probably he is uncomfortable, try changing to the other side.Do check it out with your gynae..do not want to give you the wrong ans for this..heheh.

re: diaper
most hospital uses pampers newborn (as most nb has sensitive skin/bums)and it's costly leh..try it for 1st mth, for subsequent mths, perhaps can start trying other cheaper brands (tt's what most of my friend did)

wah i din knw some diapers got line to show when it's time to change! dat's brilliant man! den no need to be gong gong and blur blur always check . haha

pampers definitely a more expensive brand...

Mika, don't be sad. i think my hubby also like that, he don't understand why when i sit on the floor i must call him and pull him away from his darling laptop to help me up. they cannot understand our pain, and the best we can do is tell them. but if they choose not to do anything, what can we do right? for me, at first after i got pregnant i became very dependent on him cos i thought he'd be excited and wont mind taking me water from the kitchen etc. but 9 months is a long time, and i realise the last thing he needs is a whiny wife like me (which i am very hor!). so now when he come back from work, im still cleaning the house or washing the clothes, he own self will come and help. i no need to ask, sometimes i even tell him it's okay i can do it myself. but i ALWAYS keep within my limits eg cannot carry heavy things, cannot clean cat litterbox. so he knows those are his responsibilities.

when i complain abt aches and pains, i told him i know there's nothing he can do to relieve it for me but i only expect a kind word or gesture. now when he sees me rolling on my back trying to get up, he own self will come and help.

i guess for me the tactic is to try and do it on my own, and when really painful i will tell him but he cannot help me. and if im not well, like giddy/cramp when we are out, i will just sit myself. after few steps, he will ask why i stop and if im okay. i will say that im not trying to get attention but im really not well, just need to sit for a while and i'll be fine.

even at work, i don't really like it when ppl fuss abt me, but when my back is pain after i stand too fast, i will look away and slow down. for me, this is my own battle. good to have others who care, but i cannot expect it. do you know what a great deed you are doing bringing a life into this world? subjecting your body to all sorts of pains, forcing yourself to eat supplements - all for the sake of the bb. so don't feel angry when hubby neglects you, for sure the mummies in this thread will emphatise and be here for you.

take care and don't be sad, not good for bb when mummy is sad. smile okay

Re: diapers
agree with bing. Think diapers - we may need to try diff brands at the beginning. Diff baby sizes fits differently for different brands. what may be good for one, may not be good for the other. So far, pampers is the only one that no one complains to me abt. But all find that too ex. They mostly use for nite time only and find cheaper alternatives like Pet Pet, or even the NTUC housebrand (one fren says it's good for day use) for the day.

Re:losing our waistline
Was quite depressed staring at the mirror the other day, lamenting the lost of my waist line. Then asked my hb if he feels I look fat n feel fat cos now he hugs me with a bump in between. Thank goodness he was sweet enuf to say that it's just our baby there and I don't look fat. Else I think I will end up super depressed. So sweet of him to add that he will still hug me but from behind when BB grows too big in between us.

Yes, must remind our hbs that we are losing alot of beauty thgs becos of them!

Mika, dont' give up la. Just write a list u need to ask gynae at each visit so that at least there is a monthly reminder sent to your hb.
If he is nice that day or on a occassion, just rem to thank him lor. If he feels good abt it, he may be doing something nice again soon.

hi ladies, was bz wif work since last fri mi on leave...wow so many posts no time to go through..juz to update u'll on my last fri detailed scan...mine result is ok bb is 380g...i m expecting a BOY...the sonographer say the whole morning she scan all boy no gal leh...tell u'll 1 funnie thing...b4 the scan my gynae told mi mine is a gal...so i nv tot dat will b boy...until she pointed to mi dis is bb penis!! i got a shock! penis?? my gynae say i m expecting a gal leh....so she quickly scan & cfm 2 x & say cfm is boy won't change to gal le....abit disappointed when i know is boy lo...but tink IL is happi since my hb is the onli son....my family say 1st wan boy is gd as i won't feel so stress!!

bbjun, i think some mummies (esp the slim ones) can look super hot during pregnancy. i cannot pull it off lah..but some mummies wear tube top and show off the bump plus their skin is very radiant. im sure most of you are like that..i so jealous

for me, i just wear most girly clothes (in pink! and many dresses and skirts) and take out all my branded bags (not many lah..i got a few only) and wear it. don't know why it makes me feel good to wear nice clothes, make up and trot around like im hot stuff. hehehehe

juz to let u'll know i bot capella stroller at kiddy palace last sat cos there is a promo at $199 so tot is quite worth it so we tot beter get it 1st....is quite light is 5.5kg...juz dat disadvantage is onli 2 wheel can move around & nid 2 hand to close....but tinking we dun drive beter can lighter wan...

bbjun, your hubby is so sweet. Makes me feel even sadder to think of how it feels to be apart. Maybe it's true that absence makes the heart grow fonder? My man reads the preggie books by my bedside every now and then. Sometimes I mention reading something but forgetting what it says, he can actually go flip to the relevant subject and show me. Hehe... Thank God for great hubbies! They're such a blessing!

Shelisa, naughty bb!! Maybe he doesn't talk to bb enough so bb doesn't know him. Tell bb if she angry with daddy then must kick him. & Remember to let us know when she finally kicks for daddy! *I forced myself to be good and ended up having yong tau fu instead. Only finished abt half tho. I think my boy doesn't like healthy stuff. Haha... excuses, excuses...*

dyva, I've read that... but can't do it. =) Like I said, I've always thought I sleep on my sides (& front) but now I keep waking up and finding myself flat on my back. =( So tiring neh.

Shelisa, you sure it's after getting preggie, then you sleep on back? Not that you're (we?) only realising now that we do flip onto our back in sleep? Hmm....

Mika Rei & Shelisa, sometimes men are not just being insensitive. They are SERIOUSLY just ermm... DENSE. Just like we're caught up with our pregnancy, they get caught up with their work and forget to think for us. Treat them like children and tell them how you feel? Will that help?

My hubby was a bit dismissive right in the beginning (Like... aiya, you're tired all the time anyway ma) but I shared with him from the articles I read and he started becoming more and more attentive. I can really see that he makes an effort to show me more affection and consideration now.. So I try to make it a special point to let him know it makes me feel supremely blessed to have him.

jam75, congras! haha. my friend also said the same: ur hb is the onli son, now u got a boy, you wont be so stress in the future le. u want a girl? then plan for a second one.

i think my IL is smiling in their sleep when they know it's a boy. they were expecting a boy even before i went for the detail scan.

jam75, congrats on your prince! im sure you got over your initial disappointment very quickly when you find out everyone so happy right?

aiyoh..now i scared mine also like that. dr also told me most likely a girl, skali go for scan turns out to be boy how????? i bought so many pink clothes already leh...haiyah...

my hubby also call me "fat fat". very sad lor, when i hear dat, it's like this little rascal is the one ruining my shape yet all u can say is i fat fat and round round.

bing & caramelle, hmm still can't get over disappointment yet leh...since 1 mth ago i hv been v happi dat mine is bb gal & realli not prepare to hv a boy leh....now shopping i still cannot control myself not looking at gal stuff...haha...but boy oso gd i can save $$$....

caramella, i was so shocked when i was told dis is bb penis??? bth mi & hb stare at each other f a while then i asked again r u sure mine is bb boi!! haha...tink u beter get prepare f detailed scan cos hb did ask mi r u prepare if detailed scan is a boy...i told him cannot b wan...how can gal bcome boy!!

I read in a book that it's normal for us to try sleep on our sides n find ourselves on our backs several times in the nite. It says that it's ok and normal and we just have to turn to the side again. Don't have to have unduly worries when u find yourself on your back cos that's not gg to cause a lot of harm. Just FYI.

ahnetsan, cheer up! i believe they are kidding la. i told my hubby that with bb inside, i dun look shapely le. and u know what he replied? he said, aiyo, before bb, u dun have waist liao ma. now also no diff, lolz.

ahnetsan, my hb call mi kong long lo...my bil call mi fatty and pegniun leh....during cny i realli pigging alot lo...juz 1 wk dis cny i put on 2kg so horrible!!

jam75, congrats! Totally understand how u feel cos while hb n I do like to have a gal as our first child, both of us are relieved that we are having a boy too cos he is the only son. My PILs are so happy yet, trying so hard not to show. Oredi, they are starting to spend money on my little boy. The first one that they insisted that it's an investment is to buy the year of Ox coins from Singapore Mint. Something that I and Hb totally can't appreciate but will just let them be. I m more worried abt managing my MIL's expectation of wanting to look after my boy boy. She is starting her first step to test my hb liao. I must find a nanny soon!!!

bing> wah, ur hubby say dat??

jam75> wah ur gynae told u it's a girl but detailed scan is boy? hmmm, hw can ur gynae miss dat little penis?

wah, nw im worried dat my detailed scan will change to be girl...
gynae told me it's boy leh... *choy choy* touch wood!

but anyway, hw was the detailed scan? did u drink orange juice or stuff like dat?

bbjun> hw did ur MIL test ur hubby? did she drop hints dat she's gg to take care of ur bb??
wah, y buy Ox coins? got value one meh? i cant appreciate too. haha

bing, i not onli eat bak kwa lo... i oso eat alot of cny goodies and yes soft drink too...

bbjun, tink IL is happi dat our is bb boy lo cos when gynae say is gal we told MIL she din say anything to mi lo till detailed scan hb say is cfm a boy MIL tell mi boy or gal nvm the more impt thing is bb healthy lo....so in the 1st plc when we say our bb is gal should tell mi the same thing le ma!

ahnetsan, but gynae din commit to mi is gal say look more like a gal a few time but ask mi to wait till detailed scanning lo....

ahnetsan,
she asked him who is gg to take care of our BB after I go back to work? Is it my mother? Before she let my HB reply, she oredi talking about her tuition assignments that she will finish by end of the year and she can don't continue wor. Then my HB quickly tell her, ya ya.. my mother gg to take care of the BB to shut her up. Of cos my mother is not gg to take care la... cos she is working in the mornings leh. So I have to tell my mother to pre-empt her cos my MIL will call my mother to check one. My mother just complained, that my MIL so ma fan to manage one, ask me quick quick find a good nanny.

I think she will continue to ask the same qn for the next two months to my hb before she has the courage to ask me directly. LOL.. So I have time to find a nanny. If not, just bluff her I oredi pay deposit for infant care liao.

Ladies struggling with "jerk" hubbies... teach them bit by bit? Ask them, dear, will you pls do such-and-such for me. My back is / legs are so sore... Then when he does it, tell him how good it makes you feel that he's tired but still made the effort? Make him out to be your superhero... then next time can ask him to do it again, then praise him... *like training dog hor?*

ahnetsan, I think it's bb ba... or maybe you have another alien living in your stomach playing with bb..

caramelle, waist bands will surely slip below tummy ma! So round and smooth, surely will slip below where there's less tension. I wear those that sit below the tummy now. Ditto with pants and most skirts.

chidori, your hubby's quite candid. If mine said tt I'd probably growl at him, laugh and again, pinch his grape til he squirms. *chuckle*

bing, thing abt nappies is that you then HAVE to do laundry more often. May pose a prob if bb gets nappy rash or has eczema on the butt butt. Then you get backache from hanging out the nappies and keeping them and folding them... I'm SO thankful in this day and age we have the option of disposables.

WHOA, Jam75, your bb is SO heavy!!!! Even heavier than stickymouse's! Were you 20 weeks at the scan?! I think I can imagine your reaction to the news. I was the same... hoping for a girl. Can't exactly say disappointed to be having a boy... but the elation wasn't quite there. But congrats! Another warrior to join the thread!

I'm going to gush again... So pls *be warned to SKIP THIS section if you have a grumpy hubby*

My man actually marvels with wonder as he notices the changes in my body. I think he's grown a bit more tender as he sees me swelling with our child. He sometimes looks at me quietly for a few moments. When I look at him, he looks at the the bump, then back at me and says, "Wow. We're having this *touches the bump* cos of our LUURRVVEEE... How cool it that?" Makes me giggle like a blushing school girl every time.

I'm quite happy cos hubby still sees ME when he looks at the bump. He sees his wife growing, not just a bb inside. Sometimes it's a little disconcerting when he comes really close and scrutinises my bare twin peaks in bed, then declares triumphantly that their "snow-caps" have grown larger or darker. Other times he lies in bed and inspects my bump, runs a finger down the emerging linea nigra and says, hmmm... it's definitely getting darker.

While the bedroom dept hasn't been in operation for weeks now, tender moments like these kinda soothe my "raging hormones", to quote Ling. Makes the lack of activity more tolerable. Keke!

wah bbjun, ur MIL and ur mother so close one ar, will call each other one... but are u staying wif ur MIL?
haha, skali she says she pay the deposit, ask u to forfeit it den how?

i already seriously warned my hubby dat after bb is born, my boy belongs to just me and him only... no one should interfere how i handle my boy... and my hubby jus shake his head and say ya ya, but hor, sometimes elders may know better mah... den i stare at him and say NO WAY. theirs is auntie and old style... i dun wan.... den my poor sandwiched hubby jus say ya ya and shake his head.

cassey, think jam75 BB is just slightly heavier ba. Mine is 290gm at week 19. Doc say between wk 18-20 it is about average 300gm, plus minus 20gm.

Wah went to take a nap and u ladies hv been really active! *fainted*

Shelisa- My std gear for the night is to hv ear plugs on.. hehehe... else can't sleep. even with ear plugs, still cana hear the orchestra... wht to do...

My dear fren also tells me that he doesn't need to talk to baby cos the baby will recognise his orchestra which he so faithfully conducts every night!!! hahaha

ahnetsan, soon you'll see the protrusions on the left side of your belly!!! Scary!! All the best for your detailed scan Fri!

ahnetsan,
no la. My mother dun like my MIL one... like me. My mother thinks she is quite fake and mafan to manage. Likes to create things to do when things can be done in easy ways. My mom will never call MIL. it's my MIL calling my mom. So have to pre-empt my mom to act act.

Thank goodness, not staying with MIL. She stays very far in Boon Lay. I stay Toa Payoh. Of cos, I dun think she can come up with the same stupid theory as the one she used on my SIL the last time: BL is more convenient to town than my TPY flat. So in the end my SIL and her hb had to stay at her BL flat when they came to visit us and everyday, they called me to rescue them from her house. LOL.

OMG, the 2nd video.... the tummy is SO BIG!!!!! 0_0" wah piang....

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, the stretch marks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG!!!!!!!!!! are they real????????????? i almost cried when i saw the pic.............

bbjun, my MIL also used to call to chat with my mum - just courtesy calls. "Hello, qing4 jia1, how have you been?" kinda thing. But thankfully, both sets of our parents pretty much respect our privacy and right to decision-making as a family unit. I really really REALLY hope you don't get MIL instead of hubby to start off your motherhood journey! *faint* So stressful, you'll have to get psychiatric help just to manage HER, before bb even gets thrown into the equation. Are you engaging a confinement nanny?

sweethalo, are you kidding? You need ear plugs FOR REAL? Just for his snoring?!

bbjun, haha. u plan so far liao. haha. even want to tell ur MIL that u paid the deposit.

i am going to open one eye, close one eye. and let my MIL take care of my bb for 2 yrs, then send full time infant care.

bbjun, re: bb weight, seriously, if you look at this early stage, average weight of our little ones is a mere 300g, the standard deviation is a mere 20g, which translates to <10%. So the difference in weight, tho insignificant on it's own, is quite large in relative terms!

MTBs, can I ask that u pls enter eligible bbs in for our very own...

HEAVY WEIGHTS @ 20 WEEKS Competition
Current reigning:
jam75's warrior/prince, weighing at in 380g!

1st runner-up:
stickymouse's warrior/prince, weighing in at 360g!